40 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Simple FAQ for Secondary School-Leaver, Guide for moving into tertiary education

tzeen
post Apr 30 2013, 05:14 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Apr 30 2013, 02:54 PM)
Since when I am interested in Mechanical Enginnering?  hmm.gif

Did I state that? blink.gif

Please don't make an ass out of you and me. (ASSUME)

You see, I aim interested in Culinary Arts. Hence you can the statement see below my avatar.
OMG so so sorry. haha i must have been looking at the wrong message la.

Culinary Arts is UCSI University is very well accepted. The government appointed them to lead the Tourism project for 2020!

http://www.ucsiuniversity.edu.my/fohtm/

Can check on their website. Quite impressive.
Btw, I visited the campus not long ago, the kitchen installed is so beautiful.
24 stations for culinary students with state of the art stoves, oven and all! drool.gif
5p3ak
post Apr 30 2013, 07:28 PM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

I see, thanks for the heads up will check them out smile.gif
bmwcaddy
post May 2 2013, 03:25 PM

513 posts

hey guys, I am interested in aeronautical engineering but I got offered by Taylor uni to study Foundation in Engineering + Bachelor in Mechanical Engineering

Can anyone tell md whats the difference in ME and AE? Do they differ alot? Im not interested in automotive and electronics nor mechatronic

May I know will i regret if stdy ME? Also, is there any local uni that offers master in aeronautics/aerospace engineering which i may further my study after graduating from Taylor uni ?

CSVegas
post May 31 2013, 10:48 PM

Hi guys! Which route do you think is better :

Foundation to degree/ Diploma to degree?

In terms of affordability and stuff.
tzeen
post Jun 3 2013, 10:59 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(CSVegas @ May 31 2013, 10:48 PM)

Which programme you are looking at though?
Depends on the institution you go too because the credit transfer for the diploma programmes may vary from place to place.

If you are sure of the degree programme you wana take, better just do the foundation. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
RED-HAIR-SHANKS
post Jun 10 2013, 03:37 PM

654 posts

Can anyone recommend me which institution/high school provide further mathematics course in Form 6/STPM? huh.gif
RED-HAIR-SHANKS
post Jun 10 2013, 03:53 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(soccergod @ Nov 21 2005, 01:23 AM)
The pros of being in Form 6.
1. Since STPM is rated among the hardest examinations in the world, so you can be more ready for your tertiary education. The most obvious example is STPM v Matriculation.

2. It is worldly recognised and same level as A-Level. So you have chance to enter local universities unlike A-level (very tiny chance).

Caution
In US Education system, they don't have pre-U. After their students completed their high school, they will sit for SAT (Student Applitude Test) then apply for university. So if you plan to further your education in the United States, think properly because although you can transfer your STPM to US, but the credit hours are limited.
I guess one of the main reason I'm attracted to STPM is due to it's renowned difficulty among the pre-university exams. It's been few years till now that there are some rumors spreading left and right about it's difficulty that placed itself in the top 5 or top 10 for being the most hardest university-entrance examination in the world. I have no idea how accurate and true about it, but I do believe that it's level is rival that of A-Level,in other words, STPM is quite recognized globally by any universities/institution. And not to mention that the number of Form 6 students who achieved 4 flat is extremely few. ohmy.gif
post Aug 12 2013, 02:02 PM

QUOTE(cynthia_tss @ Nov 29 2005, 02:32 PM)
I have some additional point, this is my first time here, my first post.

people tend to argue , which is better ?

alevel ? stpm ? matriculasi ? foundation fOR u ? , CPU , SAM , or etc

well , in my view of point , all of the courses listed above serve as a foundation for you to enter into tertiary education , u most likely hear from ppl that stpm is tough , matrix is much easier .

actuali, i see no reason y we hav to compare each foundation course ,
since i have mentioned earlier , each of them serve as foundation , once you enter degree course , the 1st yr subjects most of da time are the further and more deeper studies of your foundation subjects . You may say if u r doing stpm . it provide u a better foundation , but every foundation has it advantanges and disadvantanges .

example , we compare mcD, KFC , A&W & burger king

all are fast food. but McD fries are better ,KFC chicken better , burger king = burger better , A&w root beer better

what i am trying to say is , all foundation course carries its own advantanges and disadvantages .

the thing you should pay more attention is what degree course you want to take after your foundation  ? your financial background , your interest ? what career does the course you take provided in future ?

foundation course is just a small path leading you to a degree course .
but it is important as it determine which course you are qualified to enter .

i am from science background, if you need any advice, do no hestitate to email me ok. i will give you advice according to my experience .

thanks . hav a nice day . God bless you .
Hi im a form five student who's worrying about what pre-U course to take .....typical lost 18 year old human being.. hehe. Aniway , I am interested to study vetenarian science or zoology.If everything goes well im planning to work with Nat Geo as an explorer.I love animals and the outdoors.I hope I'm choosing the right thing though. But for now, Im planning to study the science subjects but not sure which course will be best for a science student.I dont want to not have a life and be memorizing some thick textbook through college. I want a balanced course which isnt too consistent , not only about memorizing but still very recognized?.....pls help! thankyou!
post Aug 12 2013, 02:03 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 30 2005, 01:51 PM)
i've been on this forums for a while, but recently just registered. i'm a lecturing architect in UTM, been here for almost 5 years now. i've been involved in several accreditation processes especially on private institutions in malaysia, and i would like to share what i've come to know. topic owner/moderators, u guys can edit this post as u see fit, for the benefits of all. i might be repeating a few points already made, but i'm just putting it down to preserve a little structure to my post.

AFTER SPM

assuming u're going for tertiary education, here are ur options (applies for both public or private institutions):
    i. study for STPM
    ii. study at A-level (or equivalent)
    iii. study in a matriculation programme
    iv. study for a diploma
    v. study for certificate level (last choice, my fren)

remember, the objective here is to get ur degree as soon as possible, coz there's no point of settling for anything less. here are the details:

i. study for STPM

STPM is accepted as an A-level qualification. some places regard this paper as even higher than A-level, but lets not touch on that. STPM is cheap. it's quite broad, covers a variety of subjects, and open for all. u can study/sit for STPM almost everywhere in malaysia. and it's quite easy to get in (compared to my time...)

STPM is also internationally recognized, so if u passed ur STPM, u can apply anywhere u want. be advised that u might need an IELTS or TOEFL to prove ur english proficiency (costs around RM400-RM550)

ii. study at A-level

a lot of institutions now offer A-level papers. i cant really say which institution offers the best. A-level is easier to pass than STPM, covers a variety of subject. the only catch is it can be a little expensive (for those who cant afford to pay by themselves). rate varies to institutions.

iii. matriculation

this is one of the more popular choice these days. the reason being, once u're in the programme, u just need to pass all exams to be admitted to a degree programme. but this applies only to the university offering the programme. for example: u cant use ur matriculation results from UM to apply for UPM.

this programme is not recognized outside of malaysia. so only apply if u're really sure that's the degree u r after. they offer limited subjects, and mostly are tuned/focused to the area of ur degree course.

iv. diploma

most universities and institutions in malaysia still offer diploma programme. u can enrol using ur SPM results. this is one of the most common choice amongst those who couldnt get through to STPM or matriculation programmes. the overall costs would be higher too, but with SPM results slightly lower than everybody, this is the best bet.

after ur diploma, u can immediately enrol to 2nd year degree programme, and sometimes if u excell, they'll let u skip 2nd year altogether (very special case lah).

v. certificate

this is ur last choice. certificate usually offers very, very generic skill, and usually does not involve manipulation or implementation of knowledge. (which i forgot to mention: skill and knowledge is two very different things). but due to its short duration, some of u might opt to take a certificate to boost ur application.

these can be very basic certs, for example: "cert of basic PC assembly and repair"; "cert of ledger management"; or "cert of autoCAD" (just to name a few). usually the course range between 3 days to 6 months, depending on the depth. but this will seriously BOOST ur applications.
so that's about all the options u have after SPM in malaysia. i'd be happy to answer any questions or queries.
Hi im a form five student who's worrying about what pre-U course to take .....typical lost 18 year old human being.. hehe. Aniway , I am interested to study vetenarian science or zoology.If everything goes well im planning to work with Nat Geo as an explorer.I love animals and the outdoors.I hope I'm choosing the right thing though. But for now, Im planning to study the science subjects but not sure which course will be best for a science student.I dont want to not have a life and be memorizing some thick textbook through college. I want a balanced course which isnt too consistent , not only about memorizing but still very recognized?.....pls help! thankyou!

This post has been edited by 2468: Aug 12 2013, 02:04 PM
azarimy
post Aug 12 2013, 08:34 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(2468 @ Aug 12 2013, 06:03 AM)
i'm going to go with either A-levels or STPM science stream. but it doesnt really matter if u take pure science or not, just make sure u have biology in it. but as most people would advice u, taking pure science at the moment gives the widest option available.
Makira
post Aug 16 2013, 07:38 PM

~Strive For Stars~
709 posts

QUOTE(2468 @ Aug 12 2013, 02:03 PM)
If you are really interested in veterinarian science, I suggest you to study under matriculation or STPM, get excellent results, then apply for UPM and UMK veterinarian.
#You will have field work. Eg : going to farms to squeeze milk from cow....
Makira
post Aug 16 2013, 07:43 PM

~Strive For Stars~
709 posts

QUOTE(CSVegas @ May 31 2013, 10:48 PM)

Duration matters.
Some courses only need diploma and some jobs emphasize more on experience than certificates.

Eldora
post Oct 8 2013, 05:38 PM

QUOTE(2468 @ Aug 12 2013, 02:03 PM)
Maybe International Baccalaureate (IB) and South Australian Matriculation (SAM) will do? IB doesnt only matter your curriculum but also requires you to complete assignments and all that, IB students will be exposed to more things. I'm not so sure about SAM though, only know that it's less exam-based compared to A-levels. You can try to look it up.

If money is the factor that stops you, go for STPM. People says it kills your brain cells, true that, but you study hard and play hard for one and a half year.

Nothing is easy though, but I hope you find something that you're into thumbup.gif
arconium
post Oct 21 2013, 12:04 AM

68 posts

Hey I'm currently a bit confused. If I'm aiming for Universities in the USA, should I go for A Levels, or should I apply for SAT? If I do apply for SAT, how do I study for it and take the exam?

To be honest, I am aiming high here, I'm hoping to get into Harvard University (good luck on that huh) but seriously, hope there's some solid advice as to what to take after SPM, hope to start planning Asap, because on their site it seems that they only require SAT tests as the foundation (even for international students) is this true? Why do you take the extra mile to take A levels when you could take SATs after SPM and just go?

Hoping for answers! ^.^ Thanks!!!
neuro4869
post Nov 13 2013, 07:37 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 30 2005, 01:51 PM)

iii. matriculation

this is one of the more popular choice these days. the reason being, once u're in the programme, u just need to pass all exams to be admitted to a degree programme. but this applies only to the university offering the programme. for example: u cant use ur matriculation results from UM to apply for UPM.

this programme is not recognized outside of malaysia. so only apply if u're really sure that's the degree u r after. they offer limited subjects, and mostly are tuned/focused to the area of ur degree course.

Hi, I don't understand this. I thought we do matriculation at matriculation college? Does this mean that if I go to matriculation at Melaka after I finished I have to do continue any other university at Melaka also? I'm confused.

Also, since when we have take matriculation at university? I thought they have their own special "matriculation college building" for that?
azarimy
post Nov 13 2013, 07:45 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(neuro4869 @ Nov 13 2013, 11:37 AM)
Hi, I don't understand this. I thought we do matriculation at matriculation college? Does this mean that if I go to matriculation at Melaka after I finished I have to do continue any other university at Melaka also? I'm confused.

Also, since when we have take matriculation at university? I thought they have their own special "matriculation college building" for that?
1st: that was written almost 10 years ago.

2nd: it's actually asasi (foundation), not matriculation. back then there's no difference between those two.

3rd: if you take asasi at one university, usually it's only valid to be used to apply to the same university. this is different with matriculation, which is open ended.
neuro4869
post Nov 13 2013, 07:54 PM

1,077 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 13 2013, 07:45 PM)
1st: that was written almost 10 years ago.

2nd: it's actually asasi (foundation), not matriculation. back then there's no difference between those two.

3rd: if you take asasi at one university, usually it's only valid to be used to apply to the same university. this is different with matriculation, which is open ended.
Thanks for explanation, I've noticed that the post was very old and should be updated cause it makes me confused. Anyway I read somewhere that some uni such as UiTM allow us to transfer credit to continue at other university? Is that true?

One more question, let's says that I want to take Asasi Sains Hayat with my SPM result(currently taking SPM 2013). Can I take Asasi Sains Hayat which I assumed is related with Biology but I don't take Biology subject for SPM(my school won't allow it since I don't get enough A's during PMR), can I still take Asasi Sains Hayat? I do takes other science subject such as Physic, Chemistry and Additional Mathematic though. I'm forced to switch Bio subject with ICT subject as for me right now.

This post has been edited by neuro4869: Nov 13 2013, 07:58 PM
azarimy
post Nov 13 2013, 09:35 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(neuro4869 @ Nov 13 2013, 11:54 AM)
Thanks for explanation, I've noticed that the post was very old and should be updated cause it makes me confused. Anyway I read somewhere that some uni such as UiTM allow us to transfer credit to continue at other university? Is that true?

One more question, let's says that I want to take Asasi Sains Hayat with my SPM result(currently taking SPM 2013). Can I take  Asasi Sains Hayat which I assumed is related with Biology but I don't take Biology subject for SPM(my school won't allow it since I don't get enough A's during PMR), can I still take Asasi Sains Hayat? I do takes other science subject such as Physic, Chemistry and Additional Mathematic though. I'm forced to switch Bio subject with ICT subject as for me right now.
perhaps u're new to online community forums. it's very hard for users to keep track of each posts that they made, especially since it's more than a year ago. i myself have chalked up almost 10,000 posts since i joined in. the easiest way to check on something is to ask and verify the validity of the information (which is what u're doing now).

credit transfers is common practice in all IPTs in malaysia.

sains hayat is directly related to biology. but i dont know if they would allow u to take them if u didnt have a basic in biology. this u will have to check with the school offering the foundation programme.
Andrew_1980
post Nov 16 2013, 02:38 AM

6,196 posts

If I am interesting in Computer, what should I go for?
hengisme
post Dec 2 2013, 01:25 PM

Anyone interested or have think about airline stewardship?? We do provide training courses on stewardship from A-Z as well as intern-ship. Interested pls sms or call me 016-4466939, John, for more details.

40 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:23 PM