SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE™ | V2, RRP RM2299

Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 09:06 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(kael90 @ Nov 13 2011, 09:05 AM)
anyone have the problem of downloading apps from android market?...the download will only load...it nvr starts
Try clear your Market cache.
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 09:34 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(lwl_80 @ Nov 13 2011, 09:26 AM)
how can u guys put in HD-1080p movie (size ~10GB) to the phone?
copy to SD Card? the Ironman avi file i tested only 800MB though, copied to external sd card.

Btw, i am looking for slim leather pouch and screen protector for the Note. The flip case ain't that suitable for me. Please share any info if you have any source to purchase. smile.gif
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 01:53 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

Updated mine with kk1 firmware. First, it does not break the root - great. Secondly, the s pen accuracy improved - now the pen tip and actual point on screen differ by max 1mm, depends on at what angle you hold the phone and the pen.

Actually personally i think the note is more as an artistics tool than an engineering device. So dun expect perfect 100% accuracy for the s pen.
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 01:55 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Nov 13 2011, 01:42 PM)
Nice uncle benny..

But as for me, i wish i dun hv to root this device.. security concern. But market enabler seems to poison me to root. Coz several of my paid apps not available in our  market..sighh
I rooted mine for use with Titanium backup and market enabler solely.
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 02:22 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

need some confirmations:
1. so our local sets does not come with chinese input? can't find it.
2. how to restart the phone? I can only shut down and turn it on again now.
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 02:40 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 13 2011, 02:27 PM)
1. install free app google pinyin for chinese input
2. root phone n install quickboot
thanks for the fast reply.

QUOTE(brainpower @ Nov 13 2011, 02:30 PM)
I tried typing chinese using pin yin. it works

press and hold on the "tap to enter message" area
choose input method>dio pen chinese ime
then at the bottom of the keyboard, next to "." the Ab button press it and there you'll get Pinyin to type chinese words
thanks a million. Dun know how i miss that at the input method setting.
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 04:18 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Nov 13 2011, 03:53 PM)
This is the most active thread in this section. Really needed to be managed. Can mods helps here?
wah... why so similar with the situation at Desire HD official thread when the DHD just launched last year. The TS has not updated the first posts frequently and kena tembak like hell. Ultimately TS kena banned in another sub-forum for some offence and thus i took over after the thread reach 2500 posts.

DHD thread kind of unique as we take turns to be TS. Thus, every incarnation of new thread will bring fresh ideas and some layout tweaks to the first post. icon_idea.gif It is not easy to be a TS so we shared the burden together. biggrin.gif
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 04:21 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(ozone9 @ Nov 13 2011, 04:09 PM)
Bro,I hv just rooted my Note.
Will i lose my root if i were to update to latest firmware fr my current?

nope. i rooted my Note yesterday and only update the firmware just now. Root is still intact after i check. thumbup.gif
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 04:36 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Nov 13 2011, 04:30 PM)
about this thread... I'd think it's simple... start v3 and put a note here to ask all to go v3 while waiting for ts to close this one.

someone just need to go start v3... ;-)
i think so too, else when reach 2500 post, all important info will be buried deep inside here, the next TS will sure have a hard time to gather all the info from here. and we kinda like start the same thread again with the same question and answer - very unproductive.
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 05:03 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(PrinceCaspien @ Nov 13 2011, 04:49 PM)
3 days missing is very bad edi, 3 days woh.......if cannot online everyday do not be the TS loh......
an internet or rather LYN addict is the per-requisite of a TS. laugh.gif Cannot just simply simply be TS leh. Dun be a TS if you cannot update at least once a day the first few posts with latest info - especially at the inception of the launch of the phone when many potential/new users would like to share/ask new info.
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 05:53 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(hussain @ Nov 13 2011, 05:44 PM)
Guys I need some.advice .I am.using sensation now
I waiting for galaxy nexus but poison by this.phone
Is the.phone really big and heavy to hold?
One thing nexus.no external storage so leceh a bit la coz used to sd card
So u think.the.price of this.phone will.drop a lot when nexus.is.out ?
Many also I heard don't prefer Samsung ui
I.wanna know from.current users la
What you guys think ? Can help me decide ah.
Pening la
sharing my experience upgrading from Desire HD:
1. Not really that big and heavy compared to DHD.
2. Note is the only 5.3" smartphone right now with a decent hardware. so dun think its price will drop a lot when nexus come out. quite different target users i think.
3. Yes, not so use to Samsung touchwiz - too Apple-ish. Still prefer HTC Sense.
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 06:05 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(daruma @ Nov 13 2011, 05:56 PM)
the batt life so sux la  sweat.gif

screen on 2 hours 4 min, aura on 9 mins . 14% left doh.gif

the battery life will improve after 5-6 full charge and full discharge cycles. smile.gif

QUOTE(hussain @ Nov 13 2011, 05:59 PM)
Thanks mate
no prob but i also think upgrading from Sensation to Nexus is quite pointless. The main reason i upgrade from DHD is becoz the Note's 5.3" screen, the S Pen and the big battery. thumbup.gif But traded in HTC Sense though. sad.gif

Added on November 13, 2011, 6:07 pm
QUOTE(patayabomb @ Nov 13 2011, 06:05 PM)
Guys. PLEASE NOTE: DO NOT BUY YOUR GALAXY NOTE FROM BBS. They are selling it as parallel import sets and they are fake SEPs. They tried faking me it's 2 years warranty. Now Samsung says I'm only getting 1 year sad.gif
Samsung Malaysia posted the SEP list at their facebook. You never check before buying? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: Nov 13 2011, 06:07 PM
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 07:16 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(arju @ Nov 13 2011, 07:06 PM)
i'l still using my nexus one. still loving it. plan to upgrade to future phone. too many poison here. plan to get galaxy nexus ( but no sd slot) so cancel, planning to wait n see galaxy note getting official ICS then decide to buy. Current crop phone not a big upgrade except ICS 4.0 UI. hopefully b4 CNY able to hold ICS 4.0.
i think fastest way to get ICS 4.0 is to buy Asus Transformer Prime, the father of all Android Tablet. laugh.gif Now i already got mother of all android phone - the Note, time to save up for the father. laugh.gif
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 07:19 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(daryl020189 @ Nov 13 2011, 07:07 PM)
yeah!!! gt my note....very happy....my charger also have the pssssssss sound when charging
mine no problem. Did you assemble the 2 pin plastic plug to the power plug securely? Maybe there is a loose connection at the plug?

Added on November 13, 2011, 7:21 pm
QUOTE(daryl020189 @ Nov 13 2011, 07:17 PM)
firmware updated ota to dxkk1...need to format the phone?
no need. But now the message "The phone firmware has been updated to xxxxxx" keep appearing whenever i restart the phone. doh.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: Nov 13 2011, 07:21 PM
Cynox
post Nov 13 2011, 11:43 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(norazwan79 @ Nov 13 2011, 11:25 PM)
If we dont apply sp for note, the screen will be scratch? Gorilla glass rite?
if using fingers of course should be ok but i will not take chance with the S Pen. The tip of the pen is quite hard, better to save the screen for prolong use. I am not going to use the Pen seriously until i got a SP.

This post has been edited by Cynox: Nov 13 2011, 11:43 PM
Cynox
post Nov 14 2011, 09:44 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 14 2011, 08:39 AM)
No. You should be able to draw at all the square/edges and get a 'PASS' pop up. Otherwise go for calibration at service centre

Congratz bro. Now do a FOTA as we're having a DXKK1 firmware already :-)
have you tested yours? Your Note can draw at the left and bottom edges in full? Just tested mine, exactly the same as manglersji.

But i think you will only get this limitation in the S Pen test. In S Memo and Photo Editor that i try to test this situation, there is actually some frame surrounding the area that you can draw. So you actually cannot reach the edges and notice this "defect" during normal usage in applications.

This post has been edited by Cynox: Nov 14 2011, 09:46 AM
Cynox
post Nov 14 2011, 09:59 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Nov 14 2011, 09:45 AM)
I know it's stupid, but how do we answer incoming call? I press on the green accept icon, but can't, do we need to slide as like lock screen?
lol... yes. It is quite embarassing too when i tested the demo unit at the roadshow - i dunno how to unlock the lockscreen and the promoter helped me. doh.gif There is no indicator in the screen that tell you how to unlock. doh.gif
Cynox
post Nov 14 2011, 10:08 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 14 2011, 09:46 AM)
just don't get too paranoid over the accuracy of the spen. it is not meant for fine detailed work. know what is it to be used for and one will not be dissapointed with some of its weakness
yes, agree. The S Pen is for us to do some artistic work, not precision engineering works. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(CoMMie @ Nov 14 2011, 09:58 AM)
After thinking about this logically i think this is normal. If you notice whenever you draw a line you will notice it is always few mm off from the tip and this is very normal.

explanation is here http://forum.xda-developers.com/archive/in.../t-1332439.html
hmm.... seems logical to me too. I won't go claim warranty for my perfect unit just simply of these minor "defects".

upgrading to KK1 really improved the accuracy - reduce distance between the tip of S Pen and the exact point on the screen from about 2mm to 1mm. Good enough for me. Still need to get use to writing on the glass - it is too slippery - hopefully later add a SP will have some drag.
Cynox
post Nov 14 2011, 10:19 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 14 2011, 10:12 AM)
Yes i test mine already and it's okay now. I can draw line and shoot dots into every small square in the S Pen test. No more shooting flying wild ducks in the arcade o_O ~~lolol~~
so yours can colour all the four edges with black completely at the S Pen test without leaving a slight uncoloured edge?
Cynox
post Nov 14 2011, 10:31 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(alieamin @ Nov 14 2011, 10:30 AM)
Mine even worst sweat.gif
i think most of us have the exact same things. hmm.gif

EDIT: after reading waveweaver's reply - can conclude ALL of us has the exact same thing. And since changing the setting from right handed to left handed will change the area affected from right to left - it is clearly not a hardware defect.

And I believe if there is too much complaint on this, Samsung might come out with an update to allow every single pixels on the screen to be access, since it can be fixed with software.

So Conclusion - our Note is in perfect condition. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Cynox: Nov 14 2011, 10:36 AM

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0447sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:51 PM