115 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V13, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

IwanAGP
post Nov 10 2011, 12:00 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(eteractive @ Nov 9 2011, 11:38 PM)
Hi, I have a question. Today the Unifi folks came over to install but told me they can't because there is too much 'gangguan' on the phone line.

Saying that the phone and electric cable are together so will cause 'gangguan'. Is there such case??

By the way it is a condominium running on copper.

TM suggestion was to pull a new line from the premise telephone box to my unit.

Please help/advise.
Ya. Because it's impossible to pull cable to each and every unit of condo. This centralized system is called VDSL. Newer condo has the system designed and built. Not sure about old condos. I think they did SNR test on your port and maybe the SNR is too low (means received data is very "noisy" while usable information is small in portion) so they didn't continue with the installation. Ask them quote you first and nego before they continue to do anything.
Kitkat88
post Nov 10 2011, 01:04 AM

31 posts

That is really fast... because i am getting about 5kbps only for Filesonic.
I am on VIP5.

QUOTE(victor87 @ Nov 9 2011, 09:29 PM)
Tried downloading from FileSonic as requested, average speed 320~346kb/s. Unless someone don't mind lending me their premium acc  brows.gif
rattan
post Nov 10 2011, 01:29 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

I realize, when I was using TM's DNS I could not load megaupload site.

Change to google DNS 8.8.8.8/ 8.8.4.4 , ka chinggggg... magic happens. Loading and loading faster. haha
StanleYz
post Nov 10 2011, 02:18 AM

http://www.opendns.com/compare-opendns-vs-google-dns

OpenDNS better smile.gif
rattan
post Nov 10 2011, 03:28 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

QUOTE(StanleYz @ Nov 10 2011, 02:18 AM)
Tested both. Google seems to perform better.
MX510
post Nov 10 2011, 03:47 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

45GB in 9 hours for 10 Mbps :-) yeay

Love my 10 Mbps Unifi Biz

Turnip
post Nov 10 2011, 07:05 AM

bonjour beau là-bas
1,111 posts

7.04am, speed back to normal hmm.gif
maybe it depends on time?
Report yours, people. smile.gif

Unifi VIP10
Asus RT-N13U Router
IDM
Windows 7
Kitkat88
post Nov 10 2011, 08:34 AM

31 posts

8:30am, now Filesonic is very fast... hitting 400kbps!
How is yours?

QUOTE(Turnip @ Nov 10 2011, 07:05 AM)
7.04am, speed back to normal  hmm.gif
maybe it depends on time?
Report yours, people.  smile.gif

Unifi VIP10
Asus RT-N13U Router
IDM
Windows 7
eteractive
post Nov 10 2011, 10:41 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 10 2011, 12:00 AM)
Ya. Because it's impossible to pull cable to each and every unit of condo. This centralized system is called VDSL. Newer condo has the system designed and built. Not sure about old condos. I think they did SNR test on your port and maybe the SNR is too low (means received data is very "noisy" while usable information is small in portion) so they didn't continue with the installation. Ask them quote you first and nego before they continue to do anything.
So most probably I will need to pull a new phone line? Just worry after pulling, it is happening again?

Just want to know did anyone face this issue before so that can share some experience.
Turnip
post Nov 10 2011, 11:21 AM

bonjour beau là-bas
1,111 posts

Seems everything back to normal, starting new download now

thumbup.gif
keithmin
post Nov 10 2011, 12:41 PM

75 posts

hey hey, juz installed VIP 5, download speed around 500+ kbps, quite satisfy tho smile.gif comparing with my ex-Streamyx @ 512kbps package... I have a few things to ask here...just wanna make things clear...

About the Wifi AP (DIR-615), there's 4 ports there, which everyone knows...
why isit separated with blue & red sticker...the Red port now is currently connected to my HyppTV, does it give it any priority?

1 more thing...according to D-link, there's a USB port in front of the wifi AP
it is for network printers/scanners or network storage, can I use HyppTV to connect to my storage that is plugged into the wifi AP to watch the movies inside it?

This post has been edited by keithmin: Nov 10 2011, 12:43 PM
AjkR06
post Nov 10 2011, 01:43 PM

that's me
1,558 posts

Yes, the red LAN (port 4) at your DIR-615 has been specially dedicated to the VLAN.600 tagging which carry the IPTV traffic..
outlife11
post Nov 10 2011, 01:46 PM

349 posts

any1 from subang usj having slow down?

Polytechnic
post Nov 10 2011, 02:04 PM

143 posts

tm unifi just installed unifi vip20 on my high rise house

i can still keep my old telephone number

those people said cannot are scammers

So far the speed is stable but how come download files from filesonic only 300kbps ?????????

Added on November 10, 2011, 2:08 pmcan i dont use the router and do a direct connection ?>

i tried that but cant

This post has been edited by Polytechnic: Nov 10 2011, 02:08 PM
james2306
post Nov 10 2011, 02:27 PM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,119 posts

imo, u still have to pay a separate bill for your old number
Polytechnic
post Nov 10 2011, 02:28 PM

143 posts

Old number bill is cheap

The point is i want to keep it
james2306
post Nov 10 2011, 02:33 PM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,119 posts

yep i believe some 20-26 ringgit a month just for rental without call plan.

im having my unifi installed tmrw. looking forward to the new phone line aswell coz my current copper wiring is problematic.. phone is always "noisy" and streamyx keeps dropping. Happens alot when it rains... its ridiculous.
Polytechnic
post Nov 10 2011, 02:36 PM

143 posts

why dl speed so slow while dling filesonic
james2306
post Nov 10 2011, 02:38 PM

A not so Senior, Señor
1,119 posts

if u read back few pages.. some ppl say filesonic has been having problems.

whats your package? what speeds do u get on megaupload/megashares?
Polytechnic
post Nov 10 2011, 04:06 PM

143 posts

my packagge is 20mbps

I havent try megaupload yet

So fat torrent can go up to 2mbps only

So what thing i can download is 10-20mbps

115 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top