33 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

[Bulk] PA2V2 portable headphone amp from Canada, Philips KOTH bundled package added in

TSDAViS
post Nov 10 2005, 09:55 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

QUOTE(bossnass15 @ Nov 10 2005, 08:25 PM)
no one reviewing the amp?  smile.gif
Wait until after this Saturday COD then you will know the result. smile.gif
creap
post Nov 11 2005, 10:42 AM

I would like a piece of punch line
3,306 posts

Got my amp this morning~!!
TSDAViS
post Nov 11 2005, 10:54 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

QUOTE(creap @ Nov 11 2005, 10:42 AM)
Got my amp this morning~!!
"Enjoy your amp!" Gary quote tongue.gif
Categg
post Nov 11 2005, 08:40 PM

Still A Forum Lurker
677 posts

w00t, i can finally enjoy mine tomorrow tongue.gif
TSDAViS
post Nov 11 2005, 09:01 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

QUOTE(Categg @ Nov 11 2005, 08:40 PM)
w00t, i can finally enjoy mine tomorrow  tongue.gif
PM sent to you guys smile.gif
TSDAViS
post Nov 12 2005, 07:56 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

1st bulk closed.

2nd bulk opened.

For first bulk buyers, please send me your name which like to appear in Gary website, serial number, photo shots* and review* (*if you want) to davis@japan.com

TSDAViS
post Nov 13 2005, 12:22 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

Just now I try differnt setup on cable location, the result is different smile.gif
I connecting the input cable directly from PC to the amp then only divide it using splitter.

Now the amp even marvellous, my headphone feels better now especially using PowerDVD to play the CD media instead of WindowsMediaPlayer.
Categg
post Nov 13 2005, 01:53 AM

Still A Forum Lurker
677 posts

LOL.. the headamp has just officially became my new peramp to my powered speakers tongue.gif O man.. the BASS.. the DETAILS....mama mia~ Whole nite going to be listening instead of sleeping flex.gif

Pity my headphones... laugh.gif
TSDAViS
post Nov 13 2005, 10:04 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

Yeap... it work as preamp to my speakers too... wah lao the sound even better tongue.gif
TSDAViS
post Nov 13 2005, 10:45 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

Categg still remember the "electrostatics" that I talk about?

1976 Introduction of the ET 1000, the first electrostatic headphones developed and manufactured in Germany.

http://www.headphoneclub.com/Article/Class1/Class14/200301/159.html

BEYER DYNAMIC, Germany

Dietrich, Bartholl,

Stereo-Kopfhörer ET 1000

Unterhaltungselektronik

Awarded

http://www.ifdesign.de/inhalt-1977_prod_A_E.html
This post has been edited by DAViS: Nov 13 2005, 10:46 AM
bossnass15
post Nov 13 2005, 01:00 PM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

QUOTE(DAViS @ Nov 13 2005, 10:04 AM)
Yeap... it work as preamp to my speakers too... wah lao the sound even better tongue.gif
ur headphones or speakers sound better?
TSDAViS
post Nov 13 2005, 01:47 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

QUOTE(bossnass15 @ Nov 13 2005, 01:00 PM)
ur headphones or speakers sound better?
Yes it is. You better experience yourself. smile.gif
Shogun
post Nov 13 2005, 02:15 PM

836 posts

Okay. Here is my take on the PAV2.

My friend medufsaid lent me his HD600 for a day so i could A/B the two headphones with the headamp. It seems that the PAV2 gave my HP1000 a VERY NOTICEABLE improvement, whereas the HD600... improvement was almost non existant. Don't know why. By improvement, I meant comparing headphone out on CD Player (Marantz CD5400) to the output on PAV2.

Since HD600 no big improvement, my review will focus onli on the HP1000.

When I first got it, and since so desperate, I used EVEREADY batteries laugh.gif (my rechargeable still with friend). Damn. Got Hissing sound. Beh tahan, so I turned it off, and waited until night time for my rechargeables. Hissing was gone of course. First impression, can hear much more details, instrumental rendition is even more realistic, separation of different instruments is better, tho when it comes to ultra complex parts (like damn lots of instruments in the orchestra are playing), still sounds a bit "rojak". Could be headphone limitation. Oh, and soundstaging has even markedly improve. When listening to classical music, it's not just left-right difference, I could even feel the near-far imagery in my mind. In other words, the music has become somewhat more 3-D.

However, initial impressions also noted slightly bloated bass, and highs not singing out enough.

I left the thing running non-stop for around 48 hrs and went back to it. Bass was not so bloated anymore; and highs were singing better now.

To give you guys a picture where this combo stands, CD5400 + PAV2 + HP1000 comes close to CD5400 + HD600 (not fully burned in).

Oh and finally, this thing does WONDERS for my AV-710. Now I can finally use my HP1000 with the computer. I haven't pitted the CD5400 against the AV-710 (playing audio CDs), but I'll save that for another day.

Phew. So long. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Shogun: Nov 13 2005, 02:18 PM
TSDAViS
post Nov 13 2005, 02:31 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

Thanks for the review.
Phew~~~ That was long!
What is your serial number?
Take any snap shots if you want.
Thank you.
Categg
post Nov 13 2005, 03:56 PM

Still A Forum Lurker
677 posts

QUOTE(DAViS @ Nov 13 2005, 10:45 AM)
Categg still remember the "electrostatics" that I talk about?
Hmm... very intresting stuff.. laugh.gif

Still burning in my amp. Bloated bass - definately.. not enough highs - check.. still but ohhh the soundstage and insturment separation are sweet flex.gif Bass does goes a tad more lower too despite it being bloaty. Somehow i think the improvement on my headphones are not as big as using them on my speakers, maybe it's the crappy thumbdrive mp3 player i loaned from my fren not good enough laugh.gif Overall sound seems much more refined compared to not using the amp.

This post has been edited by Categg: Nov 13 2005, 03:58 PM
mysticaldodo
post Nov 15 2005, 01:17 AM

1,030 posts

Anyone tried them with Grados?
bossnass15
post Nov 15 2005, 02:26 AM

Veni, Vidi, Vici
1,188 posts

tested them with the SHP895...
OMG...I'm hearing details on tracks that I've listened countless times that i've never hear before shocking.gif
damn hafto relisten to all my tracks again..(long night ahead..)

Paired it with the AV710..
Overall instrument separation is distinct and sound is richer, finer and a joy to listen to thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bossnass15: Nov 15 2005, 02:28 AM
TSDAViS
post Nov 15 2005, 10:54 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

Good to hear that so many positives feedback. My amp is getting better and better after did the trial tuning on volume for my headphone and speakers...

mysticaldodo,
Which headphone you are using? If I am not mistaken this amp can drive up to 300 ohm input impedance.
TSDAViS
post Nov 16 2005, 10:30 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

The 2nd bulk 3 units already sent out!
truckerjones
post Nov 16 2005, 11:27 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(DAViS @ Nov 16 2005, 10:30 AM)
The 2nd bulk 3 units already sent out!
drool.gif