QUOTE(kkm @ Oct 30 2005, 11:25 PM)
Not necessarily. May be better to get a regulated power supply, will cost you a little bit more, but the voltage will be stable...
Any idea or sample pic or specs?[Bulk] PA2V2 portable headphone amp from Canada, Philips KOTH bundled package added in
Oct 30 2005, 11:29 PM
2,503 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: http://davis-online-store.com |
Oct 30 2005, 11:39 PM
2,125 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
yeah dun mind spending abit more, as long as dun spoil the amp. low cost adapter later reduce the life of the amp
Oct 30 2005, 11:54 PM
2,171 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(DAViS @ Oct 30 2005, 11:14 PM) I believe it is hard to find those power adaptor which is just purely supply 2.4 volts and also if you study more on the rechargeable batteries. Usually they need higher voltage to charge. That's what i was worried about. To charge up the rechargeables the pd across the batteries will have to be higher than 2.4 volts. This will obviously mean that the supply going to the amp circuit is also higher than 2.4 volts as long as the adapter is plugged in and powered up. That's when the noise will creep in. Unless the idea is that you don't use the amp while it is in charging mode. Some adapters do already have regulated power supply, but as kkm pointed out, these are sold at a slight premium. |
Oct 30 2005, 11:56 PM
1,258 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(nles @ Oct 30 2005, 11:39 PM) yeah dun mind spending abit more, as long as dun spoil the amp. low cost adapter later reduce the life of the amp On second thought, mebbe should look at the circuitry first. If the adapter is only charging the batteries and not supplying power directly to the amp, then it is probably not so critical. |
Oct 31 2005, 12:45 AM
I guess all this question need to re-pass back to Gary let him answer it as I am not the product designer
Oct 31 2005, 09:45 AM
2,664 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Puchong |
Count me in for SS2 too. Thanks. Just let me know when.
SS2, McD: 1. kkm 2. March05 3. deng8895 4. creap 5. Categg 6. nles 7. PoorMan Times Square, Borders: 1. Medufsaid Desa Petaling: 1. Davis Poslaju: 1. bossnass15 |
Oct 31 2005, 09:48 AM
2,664 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Puchong |
Erm ... correct me if I'm wrong. The transformer is only required if you intend to charge the rechargeable batteries thru the amp. If I'm charging my NiMH somewhere else, then I don't need the transformer right?
Oct 31 2005, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(PoorMan @ Oct 31 2005, 09:48 AM) ...The transformer is only required if you intend to charge the rechargeable batteries thru the amp... i think u got the idea. But it is a bit troublesome to have to keep unscrewing the casing of the amp everytime u want to take out the batteries to replace or recharge. Ultimately the casing screw threads are going to get worn off if u do it everyday.this is a KISS product, so we may have to accept some design limitations. I can probably live with a little bit of extra noise during the charging period anyway. |
Oct 31 2005, 12:05 PM
http://www.electric-avenues.com/audio8.html
Perhaps we have to revisit his website again to find out more satisfaction answer. |
Oct 31 2005, 01:54 PM
QUOTE(DAViS @ Oct 31 2005, 12:05 PM) Perhaps we have to revisit his website again to find out more satisfaction okay, good suggestion. I just took another longer look at the page and it raised one more question after answering most of the others.answer. "A more strict, internal power supply circuit filters and eliminates the 60 Hz hum and distortion sounds some owners reported when listening with the AC adapter plugged in." Our problem here would be a 50Hz hum instead of the 60 Hz one the filter takes out. But in any case, it's not a serious problem, since i don't think i'll be using it while in charging mode anyway. Not if the batteries can last 100 hours between charges. |
Oct 31 2005, 02:35 PM
677 posts Joined: May 2005 From: 1s and 0s |
Just wana ask here.. when are we getting the amps? Thursday, friday or... ?
Oct 31 2005, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(March05 @ Oct 31 2005, 01:54 PM) okay, good suggestion. I just took another longer look at the page and it raised one more question after answering most of the others. I don't think that's a problem too "A more strict, internal power supply circuit filters and eliminates the 60 Hz hum and distortion sounds some owners reported when listening with the AC adapter plugged in." Our problem here would be a 50Hz hum instead of the 60 Hz one the filter takes out. But in any case, it's not a serious problem, since i don't think i'll be using it while in charging mode anyway. Not if the batteries can last 100 hours between charges. Now scouting the adapter in my hometown electronic store. QUOTE(Categg @ Oct 31 2005, 02:35 PM) Post office close from 3rd Nov till 7th Nov... I guess you roughly know when... |
Oct 31 2005, 02:47 PM
Oct 31 2005, 03:52 PM
Nov 1 2005, 12:42 PM
To make ourself syiok. (kind of masturbating
Check this out the review for Grado RA-1. http://202.186.86.35/audio/story.asp?file=...a&sec=audiofile |
Nov 1 2005, 11:22 PM
Just now went to my home town local HiFi shop to check the price for Whaferdale 9.2 a pair (RM10xx only!!!! Cheaper than KL alot) and also borrowed their tools soldered a 1 meter long 3.5mm male to male cable using Maruni Professional Microphone cable.
Nov 2 2005, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(DAViS @ Nov 1 2005, 11:22 PM) Just now went to my home town local HiFi shop to check the price for Whaferdale 9.2 a pair (RM10xx only!!!! Cheaper than KL alot) and also borrowed their tools soldered a 1 meter long 3.5mm male to male cable using Maruni Professional Microphone cable. Hmm.. i havent even start looking for cables.. probably would get canare cables + switchcraft jacks since ppl in this forum seems to like them alot..This post has been edited by Categg: Nov 2 2005, 12:49 AM |
Nov 2 2005, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(Categg @ Nov 2 2005, 12:49 AM) Hmm.. i havent even start looking for cables.. probably would get canare cables + switchcraft jacks since ppl in this forum seems to like them alot.. Hehh... I just can't wait to get the amp on hands faster *cursing post office close for so many days Canare + Switchcraft? Sounds cool and technical to me. Will do a search on it. |
Nov 4 2005, 12:25 AM
64 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
So is there a second bulk? Because if there is, put me down for 2.
Nov 4 2005, 09:45 AM
| Change to: | 0.0242sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:25 AM |