7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Cat Lovers Version 6 ^_^ Fabulous Cats & People

Listiani
post Feb 1 2012, 11:00 PM

Of courselah. Human also need attention after operation. Just keep your cats in the cage for at least 5 days for female & 3 days for male to heal. Just to make sure the wound from operation heal completely. After that, they back to normal. Not that difficult.

QUOTE(dfcloud @ Feb 1 2012, 08:41 PM)
tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
i read at Klinik Kembiri, says that need special attention after spay.
sked i will be busy and i kenot put them in cage. i very kesian them later, tried before sweat.gif

Added on February 1, 2012, 11:03 pmHappy to hear that. I cannot imagine if my cats and me got separated like that. cry.gif cry.gif

QUOTE(neshie @ Feb 1 2012, 09:41 PM)
We've managed to convince our housemates to allow us to keep our cats with the condition that we get a cage to put them in when we're not around.

Thanks for all the helpful comments smile.gif
This post has been edited by Listiani: Feb 1 2012, 11:03 PM
Listiani
post Feb 2 2012, 12:08 PM

My male cat, Pokemon weight 10kg. My friends said he is not cat but anak harimau. Hehehehehe!!

Pokemon is not fat but big and muscular. I brought him to the vet coz I was worried if he is overweight. But the vet told me he is not fat. He is muscular with big bone.

QUOTE(__mill @ Feb 2 2012, 11:57 AM)
er.. i dont know.. havent measure yet. i dont own a weight measurement. lol
Listiani
post Feb 2 2012, 12:48 PM

He was born on 9/12/2007. This year he will be 5 yrs old. Pokemon is super manja cat and super happy. He will become miserable if I am away even for several days. He wants to sleep on the same bed with me and my husband every nite. He also got a lot of toys to play with. biggrin.gif

Since he size his big, he always bully his siblings and friends. When they play, he lanyak them until the other cat penyek. So cute. tongue.gif

QUOTE(__mill @ Feb 2 2012, 12:14 PM)
wahh ~ 10kg ! how old is pokemon? must be a happy cat. grow up happily. hehee

Added on February 2, 2012, 12:49 pmYes, normal. Not too heavy & not too light.

QUOTE(dfcloud @ Feb 2 2012, 12:30 PM)
1year 3.5kg consider normal right? hmm.gif hmm.gif
This post has been edited by Listiani: Feb 2 2012, 12:49 PM
Listiani
post Feb 2 2012, 01:22 PM

It is actually a myth that cat getting fatter after neuter. Cat is fat because owner is overfeeding them. All my cats are neuter and none of them exceed 5kg (except for Pokemon).

You must buy your cats a lot of toys so they won't get bored. Eat & sleep all day without playing is equivalent eating and sleeping without exericise for human. Of course getting fat every day.

QUOTE(dfcloud @ Feb 2 2012, 01:12 PM)
so after neut, how much kg will he probably gain?
currently pn always look lazy sweat.gif
it wont be double right?
Listiani
post Feb 2 2012, 02:09 PM

Their metabolisme reduce by 30% after neuter. Owner tend to overfeeding their cats by giving freeflow feeding. This caused cat become overweight. Even though my cats are neutered but they didn't gain weight because I didn't overfeed them & give them a lot of toys to play. To exercise.

Lesser pray instinct?? Not my cat tongue.gif tongue.gif Every day I receive gift from them. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Aiko-chan @ Feb 2 2012, 01:57 PM)
Depends on body build. as long as he is not skinny to touch, he is all fine. xD
I do actually think it's true. Since after neuter = lesser prey instinct, cats became less active compared to non neutered ones. It's the owner's job to keep them away from getting fat. XD

No matter how active my cats are, they are still fat. oTL
This post has been edited by Listiani: Feb 2 2012, 02:11 PM
Listiani
post Feb 2 2012, 02:30 PM

Phew!! luckily my cats didn't gain weight blink.gif

QUOTE(Aiko-chan @ Feb 2 2012, 02:20 PM)
Lol! I feed them according to the packaging written feeding portion, still they gain weight. Especially Nico, he eat the same portion with Peko but he outgrown Peko a lot.

Just went to the vet and measure their weight yst.
Both Peko and Nico eats the similar portion, Kagehiko is double of their portion.
All weight are compared to 5th November:
Peko: 3.9kg, gained 150gram
Nico: 6.4kg, gained 350gram
Kagehiko: 4.5kg, gained 1.1kg (Still a little under weight)
Listiani
post Feb 2 2012, 04:23 PM

Most of my cats hide inside the carrier. Max is ok, he is manja with everybody. Pokemon is the worst. Salivating all the way because too scared. He is big but very chicken also tongue.gif

QUOTE(Aiko-chan @ Feb 2 2012, 03:43 PM)
How do your cats react in the vet?

My Peko and Nico is the chicken type that hide inside the carrier, but Kagehiko likes to manja with the vet. Kagehiko will rub his head on the vet's chest! xD
Listiani
post Feb 3 2012, 03:54 PM

Stray cats are the easy scapegoat for all disease. Most people blame strays for bringing FIP, FIV or FELV. But they never think about the cats got this diseases from the vet clinic or boarding. My cat got his FELV when I boarded him while I was away. The next thing I know, he got FELV and spread it to his siblings and friends at home. 5 of my cats died due to FELV. As what Cutiepie69 post, it is hard to pin point where these diseases come from.

Compare to FELV, cats with FIP still got chance to survive. Cats with FELV equivalent human with AIDS. No cure at all.

QUOTE(luc @ Feb 3 2012, 01:26 PM)
doc just called me up, as yesterday go take for blood test...

doc said that her body now is on hay wire....white blood cells are greater than the red blood cells, and the doc advice to bring it in and to jab on steroid....

i hope she can survive though!...damn it....
yeap..all quarantine....its just that, i dont know how and where this decease comes from...

is it from the food or stray cats or whatever?...
Listiani
post Feb 7 2012, 10:35 AM

This Clinic Veterinar in JLn Cheras is about 5 minutes from my house. You need to make an appointment for neuter. U also must give 2 vaccination before making an appointment for neuter.

The best choice is sent to UPM Vet Faculty.

QUOTE(Roz @ Feb 7 2012, 01:30 AM)
Greetings cat lovers! Need your help! I am planning to neuter my beloved cat. Since I'm just a student Im looking for a cheaper alternative sad.gif

I know about Klinik Kembiri SPCA but that is too far away. Im living in Bangi. Anyone have any suggestion? Thanks in advance smile.gif

-edited-

Does anyone know this place?

Hospital Veterinar Wilayah Persekutuan Km. 4, Jalan Selar 4 off Jalan Cheras, 56100 Cheras,
Listiani
post Feb 7 2012, 04:31 PM

Yes, very fussy if you want to neuter at Clinic Veterinar in Jln Cheras. According to friends, neuter service in UPM is about the same at all govt clinic. Around RM120 per cat.

KTAJ got FB. Maybe you can chk out more info in there. I have never try before their service and never contact them so I am dunno how they operate. Only here some stories about KTAJ activities here and there from friends.

QUOTE(Roz @ Feb 7 2012, 03:04 PM)
Vaccination  hmm.gif Fussy.

Do you guys know how much does it cost for neutering in UPM?  smile.gif 
This is the one in Serdang right?

I also notice someone mentioned in KTAJ (Kucingterbiaranjingjalanan) (Thanks Demolationz for your suggestion!  notworthy.gif ) that there's a Klinik Haiwan at No. 8012 Jalan BBN 5/3A, Desa Jasmin, Bandar Baru Nilai, 71800 Nilai that charge only RM50 for neutering. Anyone familiar?
Listiani
post Feb 9 2012, 08:32 AM

Last time Petfinder not allowed member to ask for donation from their forum. Now they change their policy?

Would like to help you but I have donate my money to Sabrina Furry Friend's Farm recently. Hopefully I can get more money this few days to help you.

QUOTE(Aiko-chan @ Feb 9 2012, 03:12 AM)
I've already got subsidy from them for 2 months (max RM500/case), along with AnimalCare. PetFinder will be contributing from next month onwards, but also max RM500/case. Sporo is a long term treatment, hence I'm here asking for additional donation as I'm not capable in paying the rest of the bill. Raising fund by myself is one of the way PetFinder asked me to do as well.
This post has been edited by Listiani: Feb 9 2012, 08:33 AM
Listiani
post Feb 9 2012, 12:15 PM

I wish TF can be use to cure cat with FELV positive. cry.gif

QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Feb 9 2012, 11:55 AM)
Hi D_L,

Yes, it is the same TF.
When the stray cat that I had rescued had sporo, I was given sporonox for the sporo and on top of that I used TF. 
What I did was opened up the TF and put the powder on top of the sporo wound.  In 2 to 3 days time you can see that the sporo had dried up and was getting smaller!  It really is a wonder.  Even the doctors at UPM was surprised to see that the sporo had cured so fast as the sporo was really bad.  Within 2 weeks the cat was free of sporo.  Bear in mind when feeding sporonox to the cats you will need to buy a supplement called LIV 52 for the liver as the medication for sporo is harmful to the cats liver.

People who came to my house was shocked to see the cat healed in such a short time.  I believe TF is very good for humans as well as animals.
Listiani
post Feb 10 2012, 01:32 AM

It could be earmites.

QUOTE(ax_86 @ Feb 9 2012, 07:46 PM)
Thanks for the information.. I already check his ear but nothing seem like brown-ish discharge.i already bring him to vet before for medical checkup and the vet cleans everything including his ear. I am newbie in this area so i think for the best i just bring him to vet tomorrow.. :-D And for the milk i'll start like u suggest tonight. Thanks..
Listiani
post Feb 10 2012, 10:31 AM

Did that to one of my FELV positive cat. But it didn't work out cry.gif

QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Feb 9 2012, 01:12 PM)
Dear Listiani,

You might not believe me if I told you that a friend's cat was diagnosed with FIP.
It was vrey weak and could not even stand up.
So this friend of mine who had recommended me TF also recommended this friend to give her cat TF.
She gave 5 TF capsules in the morning and 5 in the evening.
First few days reaction, cat could eat on its own.
Then could get up but still weak.
Then could get up and started to walk around.
The most surprising one is that we got a call from the cats owner crying and we thought that her cat had died.
However, she said 'no'.  She was crying because her cat was back to its usual self.
She told us that her cat had walked up the staircase and had greeted her outside her bedroom door like it usually did before.
We were estastic when we heard this.
Now the cat is still on TF but the dosage has been reduced.
TF is known to to strengthen the body immune system and building up the antibody to fight the bad virus that is attacking the body.
You might not believe me but this is based on a true story.

Added on February 10, 2012, 10:35 amGood to know Silver will be in good hand. I rather donate my money to FFF because of ther no kill policy than to you know which organisation brows.gif

QUOTE(Aiko-chan @ Feb 9 2012, 07:00 PM)
Opps! Idk why I missed out your comment lol.
Nope They never say I can post it in their forum, but they say I should try to raise fund by my self through facebook and so on.
It's okay if you can't donate, just share the info hoping for others to help! <3
Actually, Furry Friend's Farm will be the place Silver staying in the future! With the others FIV+ cats. Haha
It is a Ragdoll mix, not Siamese mix. =P
Check inside of his ear, got brown-ish discharge or not. If yes, sapu minyak gamat/ turmeric paste in his ear. Or bring to vet for Ear mites injection(twice and it will be gone for at least a year+).
Try dilute the milk with water? So at least he get the taste of it, start with maybe 1/8 and slowly replace with more water.
This post has been edited by Listiani: Feb 10 2012, 10:35 AM
Listiani
post Feb 11 2012, 06:30 PM

Woi! mengumpat apa tu tongue.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Feb 10 2012, 03:28 PM)
Listiani,

I met Dr. Jonathan last night when me and my friend brought a pregnant stray cat for an emergency ceaserean.
We 'sempat mengumpat' about you ha..ha...
Dun worry its good 'mengumpat' not bad one.
The pregnant stray had 6 babies.
The first one normal birth but the second one was stuck therefore had to do emergency ceaserean to save the remaining babies.
All together there were 5 babies.
But the funny thing is that the mum is a normal DSH but the babies are all DLH!
Their fur was so LONG and curly!
Now babies are with surrogate mum (also a stray) that I found in my apartment block.
The surrogate mum is so kind.  She welcomed all five babies like her own.
We are so thankful to her.
If babies survive, they will be put up for adoption.  smile.gif
Listiani
post Feb 16 2012, 10:23 AM

Kizwan,pls don't use Dettol on cats or to clean your house floor. Dettol is fatal to cat.

If you want to kill the germs in the house, use clorox. Mix it with water and rinse thoroughly.

QUOTE(kizwan @ Feb 15 2012, 08:50 PM)
I'm new to this cat thing. I adopted a stray cat few months ago. This is my first time I own a cat in my entire life. So, sorry for my noob questions. Can I use Dettol shower gel for cat hygiene & for bathing? Right now I use regular shampoo & I only bathed her if she have diarrhea. I'm just thinking, Dettol shower gel might suitable to clean/kill eggs/worms, if any, on her fur or skins.

Added on February 16, 2012, 11:00 amI am in Kota Kinabalu now. My mum's cat was sick and I brought him to the clinic last Tuesday. After blood test, if seems he was infected with fleas virus. But he is still in early stage so he is not in danger. He didn't want to eat and I wanted to buy A/D to stimulate his appetite. But the clinic doesn't sell A/D.

When I chk around, the nearest to my mum's house there's 1 clinic selling A/D. I called the clinic and the girl who pick up the phone said I can come and buy at their clinic. I went there around 11am. The girl who is manning the counter told me I cannot buy A/D from their clinic because my cat was not treated in their clinic and need vet presciption. All these year I have cats as my pet (I live in KL BTW), I have never encounter any problem buying A/D. In fact, vets encourage me to feed my sick cats with A/D if they refuse to eat their normal meals.

I have to argue with her until she agree to sell 2 cans of A/D for me. After that she gave me a supplier number somehwere near in town. She told me I can buy directly from this supplier. I bluntly told her, I only want to buy 2 can not 200 cans of A/D.

This post has been edited by Listiani: Feb 16 2012, 11:01 AM
Listiani
post Feb 16 2012, 11:31 AM

Welcome to Sabah. Full of sakais who don't know their things properly but acted as though they know a lot. I am Sabahan BTW but I hate the katak bawah tempurung mentalitiy in most Sabahans.

QUOTE(verulin @ Feb 16 2012, 11:09 AM)
i'd have to disagree with that. I often feed my cats raw chicken neck, gizzards, whatever part I can get. Actually raw bones are better than cooked, as cooked bones are more prone to breaking in splinters since they're so soft.
Dogs on the other hand, are a different story since they're bigger. long thin bones like chicken ribs are best avoided. But my sister's dog is a really slow eater and will slowly chew her food so she sometimes gets chicken necks

oh and btw,
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10150483534296693 biggrin.gif

Added on February 16, 2012, 11:11 am

since when did a/d need prescription? lol doh.gif
Listiani
post Feb 16 2012, 11:55 AM

Kita berdua ok bah. Steady jak tongue.gif

QUOTE(CutiePie69 @ Feb 16 2012, 11:49 AM)
Ahem...... sia pun bukan sakai kio  biggrin.gif
Listiani
post Feb 18 2012, 09:53 AM

Yeah, is not difficult to put the pill into the cat's mouth. I learned it once and I know how to do already. Just observe how the vet's did that once and I follow biggrin.gif

QUOTE(shukri77 @ Feb 17 2012, 11:19 PM)
Here
[attachmentid=2690077]
Open your cat's mouth
[attachmentid=2690081]
Hold the pill with thumb and index finger and insert the pill from side of her mouth deepest you can insert, if not deepest enough the cat can spill out.
[attachmentid=2690091]
Quickly close her mouth with two hands until u feel the cat swallow the pill. If the cat resist usually by reversing or escape backward, so u need to hold its back with your body or with someone help. My cat omei has no problem eat pill. If the pill is big, break it into two pieces. Thanks to Omei for being model.

Boiled fish has strong smell, i boiled the fish with pressure cooker for half an hour, so that the bone is soft like sardine. I keep in fridge, evertime i want to feed i take out the fish and pour some hot water so that the temperature is ok.
This post has been edited by Listiani: Feb 18 2012, 09:54 AM
Listiani
post Feb 21 2012, 07:34 AM

OMG!! so kesian this kitty. Her ears like buruk already cry.gif

Pls make sure you wash your hands repeatly or wear glove when handling cats with mange. Mange is contagious.

QUOTE(bfu9278 @ Feb 20 2012, 09:05 PM)
Hi everyone....few days back I adopted this pity kitty
from my backyard...been there maybe about a week
or so...until past few day success to caught her and brought
onto my house...I've name her Salji.

Was brought to vet asking advice and given a jap...the doctor said must
repeat few time...this friday will be the first repeat...
My question for 2nd opinion on this forum is....

1.what disease is it?
2.can it be cure?

some of her photo....

getting bath

drying session

thanks in advance... notworthy.gif

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top