Cat Lovers Version 6 ^_^ Fabulous Cats & People

kizwan
post Sep 30 2014, 01:41 AM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Sep 30 2014, 01:18 AM)
Sharing updated pics of my adopted cats i got from PAWS. Adopted them early this year  laugh.gif
Who says you cannot get nice breed from shelter house  icon_idea.gif
Meet Macaron Orange & Bella Snow

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by kizwan: Sep 30 2014, 01:41 AM
kizwan
post Sep 30 2014, 03:04 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Sep 30 2014, 11:49 AM)
Yes Sir! I'll not ask further question here. All answer are in elsewhere, just need to google. BTW I did not ask, just made some "stupid" opinion. What is the use of this forum anyway if not for people to learn and share? Haih.. some people ...  doh.gif
http://www.pet-informed-veterinary-advice-...html#pros-desex

Sound like pondan to me.
Sorry that someone rude to you. That's life. Just remember there's a lot of good people willing to help you here.

I don't know how you can summarize all that to pondan. That's wrong. I have seen a muscular un-neutered cat being chase away by a skinny un-neutered cat. I'm not kidding. Cat don't stop defending himself when threatened after neutered. He will remain fierce like he is before neutered when threatened. There's a lot of good article on neutering you can read. I can't list all of them. This article might be helpful to you.
http://www3.us.elsevierhealth.com/communit...structions.html

If you love your cat, neutered him. Seriously. Especially your cat is outdoor cat. After neutered, he will less likely to roam & therefore would not endangered himself.

You think you're helping the cat by not neutering/spaying it but in the end usually the cat is the one that always suffer. Not long time ago I've heard a mother cat & her kittens thrown away. Still little kitten got thrown away. I bet the person who throw them also once a cat lover who love cats that view neutering/spaying is a cruel thing. If the cat was spayed, this may not happened. Fortunately, someone took & adopt the mother cat & her kittens.
kizwan
post Sep 30 2014, 07:00 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(llssping @ Sep 30 2014, 06:12 PM)
1 year ago I posted about finding two stray kittens, and now here they are 1 year later! With a new addition ^^

[attachmentid=4153563]
one and only group shot
All three are chubby! thumbup.gif
kizwan
post Oct 3 2014, 03:52 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Oct 3 2014, 03:26 PM)
my cat right eye bengkak and looks wattery and red.

and he's coughing and sneezing ..

looks very bad..
They are symptoms of Feline Upper Respiratory Disease Complex. Your cat most likely got Feline Rhinotracheitis Virus. Bring your cat to vet. Vet will give your cat antibiotics to fight secondary bacterial infections. How old is your cat?
kizwan
post Oct 3 2014, 05:49 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Oct 3 2014, 05:20 PM)
2-3 years old.. he's a stray and became a pet.
He can get through this. Just bring your cat to vet ASAP. There's no cure for viral infection but the antibiotics will help him fighting the secondary bacterial infections. Keep him comfortable & warm. Also clean his eyes & nose regularly with warm water. I think I read somewhere advising using the warm salty water when cleaning the eyes & nose. If you have other cats, quarantine them & don't share food or even the bowl with the sick cat.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Oct 3 2014, 05:54 PM
kizwan
post Oct 8 2014, 03:28 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 7 2014, 08:43 PM)
tongue.gif

You would find similar article on dog on pro-cat blogs. I've read both kind of articles; cat is better than dog vs. dog is better than cat. Both usually written based on manipulated & flawed facts.
kizwan
post Oct 8 2014, 05:06 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 8 2014, 04:23 PM)
The scarier one is below. Not sure to belief or not. May be they are just cat hater but she claimed to be cat lover  rclxub.gif If my wife read this, she will probably ask me to get rid of my cat sweat.gif

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/01/07/c..._n_4520552.html
That was written by cat hater. He or she take the facts & manipulated it in negative way. Stop reading that blog! shakehead.gif
kizwan
post Oct 8 2014, 05:36 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Oct 3 2014, 03:26 PM)
my cat right eye bengkak and looks wattery and red.

and he's coughing and sneezing ..

looks very bad..
How is your cat doing?
kizwan
post Oct 14 2014, 11:27 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Oct 13 2014, 09:11 PM)
I was just reading through /k/ and saw this thread about a cat being eaten by python. Suddenly reminded of my cat which vanished 2 years ago. I spent weeks and weeks searching for him around the neighborhood but never saw him ever again. No remains, no nothing. Could it be the monitor lizards around my area which swims around in the storm drains sometimes. My cat was quite old, maybe...
Thinking of it just makes me sad again. I miss my cat a lot. Dear cat owners, please keep your furry friends safe always.

My area have monitor lizards roaming, not frequent but not rare too. Based on my observation, monitor lizards will avoid cats & cat's don't go near them. Monitor lizards will raise their body & their head to give a warning if there's any curious cat approaching them. I've seen cats trying to catch snake but not monitor lizard. Of course it doesn't mean there's no incident between them but most likely I don't think your cat died fighting or eaten by monitor lizards. If you didn't find anything, it's likely your cat still alive.

QUOTE(justsimply @ Oct 13 2014, 10:11 PM)
Hello!

I'm planning send my 8 month old male cat for castration at Damansara Heights Veterinary Clinic. Can anybody give a review/feedback about the vet? Thank you. biggrin.gif
I don't live in the area but googling doesn't show any bad review on them.

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Oct 14 2014, 03:19 AM)
QUOTE(itekderp @ Oct 10 2014, 03:53 PM)

So basically IAMS not as "good" as Royal Canin?
Currently feeding my cats IAMS, bought a pack of Royal Canin once and they wolfed it down in no time leaving the IAMS alone. =/

Whatever makes your cat's coat shiny and silky, and its bowel movements healthy, is what you should keep feeding your cat. Corn isn't that bad, and there are no real laws governing pet food manufacturers so I wouldn't 100% trust the labels.
I agree.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Oct 14 2014, 11:35 AM
kizwan
post Oct 14 2014, 09:22 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(muddy78 @ Oct 14 2014, 06:43 PM)
spunkberry, a few pages back i read an online "altercation" that you had with another fellow member and i put it down to simple online miscommunication. i'm still willing to believe that even with this kind of snarky response you gave me. perhaps you're the succint, brief, no-nonsense kind of person, so you think this kind of response is acceptable. or it comes across as snarky because you were in a hurry to feed your cats.

but here's the thing.

i understand that everything is google-able, i google everything these days. but i didn't ask the question simply because i'm too lazy to google. i want to know some first-hand experience from people who have done it. and yes, i have googled it. i can read a thousand articles on this but it's not the same as hearing it from someone who has done it. lest you forget, this internet forum is still a social place, and no matter how knowledgeable you are, if you come across as snarky and cold, it will all be for nothing. fyi, i read your replies to others and yes, the tone reads snarky and cold.

here's a suggestion: if you'd rather people google stuff instead, ask them to google for it, and then tell them if they have additional questions they can come and ask in this forum. save you from having to do the googling yourself, and you will come across not as snarky and cold.

that said, don't waste your time and energy replying to this. one unfabulous cat person is enough to turn me off this forum for good.
Relax bro. I have followed this thread for a long time. Some people can be rude sometime. You can ignore them.

Regarding your question, I have some experience in the subject. IMO, it's much easier to get young cats get along than adult cats. The first time I tried, I put them in the same place but the new cat stay in a cage. The idea is for both party can always seeing & smell each other. I found this create much relaxing environment & keep any tension to minimum. When I saw no aggressive behaviour I released the new cat & monitor whether they can get along or not. For the first a couple of days, I caged the new cat back when at night or when I'm not at home. I'm lucky because they get along quiet fast. The new cat when she was still in the cage, when she saw the other cats was playing, she actually jumping & running in the cage, like she want to join them.

The second time I tried, I just let the new cat roaming freely in the house. My cats because they used to meet other cats before, doesn't show any hostility or aggressiveness towards the new cat. Initially the new cat did hissing when she saw my cats but because my cats didn't show any hostility, the new cat also a bit relax. Basically if there's plenty space for all cats, they will live together without any problem. The new cat was basically have temperament like Ragdoll. She was very relax, well-behaved which contributed to the success.

The third time, I just did like I did the second time. This time involved adult male cats. Also a success because my cats was basically gave space for the new cats. The new cats did show little aggressiveness but no more than that.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Oct 14 2014, 09:27 PM
kizwan
post Oct 14 2014, 10:10 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Oct 14 2014, 09:52 PM)
Alamak just looked at my cat, she has fleas sad.gif

I don't understand how my indoor cat can get fleas. A week back I saw a small sand-grain sized bug on her neck. Managed to pull it out and crush it. I immediately showered her afterwards.

Today I saw 2 more, managed to pull them out. Then I saw a couple of really much smaller black dust like particles on a small area of her fur.
Anyone dealt with fleas before? Any measures to follow? Any products that I can get at local Malaysian petstores? Do I need to bring my cat to the vet? She's not exactly scratching yet, as she seems very normal to me.
Yes, even indoor cat also can get fleas. IMO, shampoo (I use Machiko Flea Shampoo) can't kill all the fleas & eggs. The funny thing is some fleas actually just "fainted" & I have to crush them before they awake. lol. Seriously.

I use flea & tick drops. It worked wonderfully by killing all the fleas in just less than 24 hours. I have tried flea & tick spray but they doesn't work as good as flea & tick drops kind. The drops kind, I just need a couple of drops on the back of their neck. If the cat have kitten, I just put on the mother cat & as long as the kitten sleep with their mother, the kitten will be free from fleas.

BTW, the black dust is actually the flea poop. All creature need to poop & this include fleas. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kizwan: Oct 14 2014, 10:20 PM
kizwan
post Oct 14 2014, 10:26 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Oct 14 2014, 10:19 PM)
My current shampoo doesn't kill fleas, probably that's why they're still on her.
Honestly, it isn't bad yet. She seems all normal, not even scratching. But I don't wanna wait till it gets worse.

Tomorrow going to the vet to buy the anti-flea shampoo.
What flea & tick drops do you recommend? Any particular brand for the drops and shampoo?
The flea & tick drops I use is "Detick" brand. Any brand should be good I think. If you use the flea & tick drops, you don't need to use shampoo because it will take care everything. You'll see, the next morning your cat fur will clean & silky smooth again.
kizwan
post Oct 14 2014, 10:34 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Oct 14 2014, 10:29 PM)
Alright thanks.
Now at night, panicking pulak since I can't get any treatment for her sad.gif

Are fleas on a cat easy to cure?
The flea & tick drops I use, "Detick", can protect the cats for months. You also need to wash & clean your cat bedding & surrounding area. Eventually in the future your cats can get fleas again. Just de-fleas them again so to speak. biggrin.gif
kizwan
post Oct 15 2014, 02:14 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Oct 14 2014, 11:17 PM)
Is this similar to the Spot-on or something drops? My cat had it a few months back, looks like lil' scratchy needs a booster shot.
Similar to the Spot-on. It's a very small bottle which contain enough liquid for two cats.

QUOTE(itekderp @ Oct 14 2014, 11:17 PM)
On another not quite related topic, an update on my litter problems. My cat has been confined in a room for close to a month, with daily walkabouts of 30 minutes or so outside. No accidents outside, but he still pees outside the litter box. And now he's taken to pooping on the floor beside the box as well now. Quite frustrated, considering I've changed his litter to his previous brand. He has 3 types of litter to choose from, his old favorite and 2 others.
Might take him to the vet soon to check for urinary problems and such. Anyone had any experience on costs and so forth?

That suck. I never have problem introducing cat litter, especially sand (clumping) type litter, to cats, even stray ones. Only one of my cats, Puteh (picture in my previous post), don't want to use pine wood litter that I tried to introduced it to her. She pees & poop on the floor but when I changed back to sand type litter, she don't have problem using it. I can understand your frustration. I hope he will want to use his old favourite litter soon.

BTW, I don't know whether you tried this but try get brand new litter box. Probably he doesn't like the smell of the current litter box. It's a long shot though.

If you see your cat pooping, try pick he up & put he down in the litter box. Sometime they just need a push.
kizwan
post Oct 15 2014, 12:35 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 15 2014, 11:55 AM)
This would be like Frontline spot-on, right? I googled for example of how to apply it but still not sure as the examples are on dogs. It says apply it between shoulder blades. It would be great if can get a photo showing exactly where to apply on cat.
Yes, pretty much like Frontline except one bottle for two cats. Between shoulder blades, my understanding it's at the back of the neck. That's where I was told to drops the liquid. tongue.gif

Seager@, I think any brands of flea & tick drops should works as good as Frontline & Detick.

"pinjal"? It should be translated to "kutu" because that is what Bahasa Malaysia word for "fleas". sweat.gif

This post has been edited by kizwan: Oct 15 2014, 12:37 PM
kizwan
post Oct 16 2014, 01:03 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Oct 15 2014, 01:42 PM)
Haha dunno la.
Doctor said this is very effective so I'll give it a try.

But what about my hall carpet and my bed area now? She hangs around there a lot.
Takut ada flea eggs sad.gif

Any spray I can use for household?
You can use vacuum cleaner. Throw away the bag or empty the container after. Don't want the surviving fleas/eggs re-building their community.

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 15 2014, 05:03 PM)
where to buy this? very good if it can last for months. how much is it? i have 9 cats. now using frontline. every month need to apply the spoton. so imagine the cost.  icon_question.gif
I got it from local pet shop, in Parit Buntar. RM12 per bottle, one bottle for two cats. Frontline should be good too. They suggest apply every month but it should protect your cat longer though. IMO, no need to apply every month. Did you means your cat get fleas problem again after a month? You should clean your cat beddings & surrounding area too.
kizwan
post Oct 20 2014, 12:19 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(naminakata87 @ Oct 16 2014, 01:09 AM)
After looking at that picture, my cat, Sophie said to me "It's like looking in the mirror!" tongue.gif

My first & oldest cat, Sophie.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Oct 20 2014, 12:20 AM
kizwan
post Oct 23 2014, 03:57 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(naminakata87 @ Oct 23 2014, 12:33 PM)
QUOTE(janggutbiru @ Oct 23 2014, 12:02 PM)

hello! get my name on da list, please.. thanks! i got 7 cats at home 5 females and 2 males... all rescued cats. icon_rolleyes.gif

I would want to spay them all. but the costs is making me uncertain.. guide me, please.
if cost strain try to spay 2 or 3 cat in 1 month, then males the last 1, i have 25 cat, took me around 8 month to complete spay them all.
I agree. You also can do one by one, one every month.

QUOTE(janggutbiru @ Oct 23 2014, 02:26 PM)
shakehead.gif
25?? you sure are a cat mother. sweat.gif

well, plan to start with the eldest one... which is this one crazy fella... rclxub.gif

I love batman cat or mask of zorro cat. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kizwan: Oct 23 2014, 03:58 PM
kizwan
post Oct 26 2014, 07:20 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Oct 26 2014, 04:49 PM)
Haiyaaaa my cat's got fleas on her again.
I showered her on Friday and now I just pinched out 2 live fleas from her fur.

I applied Advantage 2 weeks back. And it worked all till last night. I had some balance of my Frontline spray that I sprayed around her neck and shoulder area.

I'm afraid because I keep feeding the stray cats, I might be carrying up the fleas to my home sad.gif
Shampoo & spray doesn't work affectively in getting rid of the fleas. This is my conclusion after using two type of shampoos (regular & flea control) & two bottles (different brands) of spray. Use flea & tick drops instead.

Keep feeding the stray cats. thumbup.gif
kizwan
post Nov 20 2014, 01:14 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(Meow9 @ Nov 9 2014, 11:49 AM)
Hi, I just want to get some opinion here. Few months ago, a few cats came to my house and we are feeding it. Then, more cats came to my house. A female cat also gave birth to a few kittens. And now, we have almost 10 cats here. The problem is, our neighbours seems quite unhappy with that, as sometimes the cat will go play around in their car porch. So now I'm worried that they will go to complain to the MPSJ, and the cats will be caught and being put to sleep(maybe?) I'm really in a dilemma now. To continue feeding or stop giving food? I understand that sometimes the cats will go to people's house to do their 'business', but what can I do to stop them? I'm doing the job not for my own sake, but I just dont hope that they go across the road to find food and end up got hit by cars. Why people just can't understand? I'm doing so not for my own benefit! I even have to take my money out to feed them! Isn't it when we see something pityful we must have a compassionate heart to help? We got a stomach, they also have stomach right? Where is our loving society? Why people only care about those expensive or XX breeds? They don't have a choice to choose what breed they want to be right? See, the society is really sick now.
'The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated.'
I know the dilemma. I agree with the suggestions; spay/neuter & prepare litter boxes for the cat. This way they don't go do business at other people's house.

Also, kittens tend to play on the middle of the street at night. You might want to take necessary action to prevent that though.

QUOTE(LeonHooi87 @ Nov 19 2014, 09:57 PM)
need help!!!someone help me,if my kitten are cirit birit how i can save it,i try bring to vet dy ,but cant get it healthy ...anyone can teach me how can i do here?
How old is your kitten? I believe his/her stomach don't like the food you're giving to your kitten. You can try changing the food. If you currently give wet food, change to dry food. If your kitten is more than 2 months old, you can withhold food for a day. Just food, make sure your kitten have access to clean drinking water. Then give your cat boiled chicken.

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0568sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:16 AM