how does notification works in WindowsPhone??
Android is a dropdown on status bar.
please kindly share~~
thanks!!
Nokia Lumia 800, The first real windows phone by Nokia
Apr 30 2012, 03:21 PM
1,852 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: MalaoLand |
how does notification works in WindowsPhone??
Android is a dropdown on status bar. please kindly share~~ thanks!! |
Apr 30 2012, 05:33 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
35,468 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
Some will pop up some will appear on your tile window
May 2 2012, 12:46 AM
1,269 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Sibu, KL |
any1 who are using nokia symbian before jumping to wp7 phone?
whats r the limitation n restriction taht should be known/aware? care to list it pls |
May 2 2012, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(David900924 @ May 2 2012, 12:46 AM) any1 who are using nokia symbian before jumping to wp7 phone? Cons?whats r the limitation n restriction taht should be known/aware? care to list it pls 1. No bluetooth file transfer. File trnasfer can only be done though a software called Zune. 2. No Front Facing Camera for this baby. 3. No USSD support at this monemt. Means you can't *118#. But celcom is ok though coz *124# is working. 4. Not as many apps as iOS but that is due to developers still didn't see the potential of Windows Phone... 5. Non-Replaceable battery. 6. No extra memory support means no microSD support. 7. Apps are more expensive compare to iOS and Android 8. Its just a single core processor for future update might face challenges Pros? 1. Easy to use and elegant interface. 2. Fast and fluid. Very little lag you will see unlike Android. You will the very different if you migrate from old Symbian phone. 3. Even though not as many apps as iOS and Android, but seriously how many you will use? With about 10k of apps in the marketplace, your dad will still have a lot to choose~ 4. The Gorilla glass is scratch resistance, means basically you don't even need to buy screen protector. But even so plz don go do this resistance testing by scratching the screen with your keys... 5. Polycarbonate cover. The color is for the whole body. Means even if you scratch the body, the color will be the same. 6. Different from others. When you show this phone among all the other flooding IPhone and Androids, even they will be amaze by the design and beauty of this phone. 7. Ya...I know...No extra memory and only 13GB of storage (3GB is use for the OS itself) but hey, you have 7GB of free storage on skydrive that come free with Hotmail ID. And frankly, how many songs and picture you need to put inside a phone? 8. Social integration. Facebook, Twitter and Linkdln are built in with Windows Phone. You can straight away update your FB status, check What's New and notification, send photo straight away to FB, Twitter and email. 9. Built-in Office. Means you can edit pr view your doc on the go...For free! 10. Free Nokia Maps and Drive. Means free GPS, no need buy Garmin already~ 11. Integrated Messaging means facebook chat, SMS chat, Windows live messenger chat all integrated into one and can switch in between easily Posted by zidane28 improved by aspire2oo6 This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: May 2 2012, 12:54 AM |
May 2 2012, 08:40 AM
and lastly... how about the battery life??
my current MIUI can last me around 20+ hours with moderate wifi usage, 30mins call a day, and quite tonnes of sms.. please advise~ thanks!! Added on May 2, 2012, 8:54 amone more question, printscreen function?? thanks!! This post has been edited by RoxyMunky: May 2 2012, 08:54 AM |
May 2 2012, 09:18 AM
If your WP7 is modded u can take printscreen by default you cant.
My usage as follows 8.30am to 6pm left 40% usage with 15-30mins phone calls, average facebook,twitter, foursquare and alot facebook chat. so from your usage it should be enough but you must be in 2.5G mode aka EDGE. If 3G 6pm battery in power saving |
May 2 2012, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 2 2012, 09:18 AM) If your WP7 is modded u can take printscreen by default you cant. thats a good indication, assuming your on mobile data network.My usage as follows 8.30am to 6pm left 40% usage with 15-30mins phone calls, average facebook,twitter, foursquare and alot facebook chat. so from your usage it should be enough but you must be in 2.5G mode aka EDGE. If 3G 6pm battery in power saving Im only running on Wifi~ |
May 2 2012, 09:21 AM
If wifi its even longer. Mobile data tend to take much more power. Regardless u are on wifi or 3G the battery tend to drain more when your network is on 3G
May 2 2012, 10:36 AM
4,330 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Where is our documents stored when download from emails?
eg excel files.. I checked in Microsoft office its not there |
May 2 2012, 10:38 AM
default storage in "SD Card"??
it depends on how you download the file, via certain app which has their own configured storage location.. |
May 2 2012, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 2 2012, 12:51 AM) Cons? 1. No bluetooth file transfer. File trnasfer can only be done though a software called Zune. 2. No Front Facing Camera for this baby. 3. No USSD support at this monemt. Means you can't *118#. But celcom is ok though coz *124# is working. 4. Not as many apps as iOS but that is due to developers still didn't see the potential of Windows Phone... 5. Non-Replaceable battery. 6. No extra memory support means no microSD support. 7. Apps are more expensive compare to iOS and Android 8. Its just a single core processor for future update might face challenges Pros? 1. Easy to use and elegant interface. 2. Fast and fluid. Very little lag you will see unlike Android. You will the very different if you migrate from old Symbian phone. 3. Even though not as many apps as iOS and Android, but seriously how many you will use? With about 10k of apps in the marketplace, your dad will still have a lot to choose~ 4. The Gorilla glass is scratch resistance, means basically you don't even need to buy screen protector. But even so plz don go do this resistance testing by scratching the screen with your keys... 5. Polycarbonate cover. The color is for the whole body. Means even if you scratch the body, the color will be the same. 6. Different from others. When you show this phone among all the other flooding IPhone and Androids, even they will be amaze by the design and beauty of this phone. 7. Ya...I know...No extra memory and only 13GB of storage (3GB is use for the OS itself) but hey, you have 7GB of free storage on skydrive that come free with Hotmail ID. And frankly, how many songs and picture you need to put inside a phone? 8. Social integration. Facebook, Twitter and Linkdln are built in with Windows Phone. You can straight away update your FB status, check What's New and notification, send photo straight away to FB, Twitter and email. 9. Built-in Office. Means you can edit pr view your doc on the go...For free! 10. Free Nokia Maps and Drive. Means free GPS, no need buy Garmin already~ 11. Integrated Messaging means facebook chat, SMS chat, Windows live messenger chat all integrated into one and can switch in between easily Posted by zidane28 improved by aspire2oo6 any idea when will lumia 900 enter the market? and wp8? i read the news in google that ms wont giv an update to all the current phone to wp8. is this a drawback to all current windows phone? i hav some comment on the cons: cons 1. if there is no bluetooth file transfer than what else can u do with the bluetooth? 2. no front camera mean no video call? as in skype video call is not available in this phone? 3. I am digi user, does that mean I wont be able to check my balance or transfer money by using *126# or *128#? 4. I still can accept this since wp is new. 5. lets say if the battery is recharged until dead and out of warranty, can the battery be replace in nokia center? 6. what is the average memory space require for each apps? 7. yea i check on the marketplace, theres r couple of apps over 0.99 sen 8. does the processor core affect very much when u multitask? like music with browsing or browsing and watching video together? lastly, does this phone have leather cover or pouch or accesories? coz i dont want to risk by having no protection for handphone |
May 2 2012, 11:31 AM
1. if there is no bluetooth file transfer than what else can u do with the bluetooth?
can use with bluetooth devices like headset, earphones 2. no front camera mean no video call? as in skype video call is not available in this phone? Its available for chat but no video call because no front camera 3. I am digi user, does that mean I wont be able to check my balance or transfer money by using *126# or *128#? Certain codes work certain doesnt. Yea u cant 4. I still can accept this since wp is new. 5. lets say if the battery is recharged until dead and out of warranty, can the battery be replace in nokia center? Yes but you need to pay nokia battery hardly spoil like my Nokia N8 until today the battery still works fine its already more than 1 year 1/2months 6. what is the average memory space require for each apps? Very little only maybe 5MB to 20MB. 7. yea i check on the marketplace, theres r couple of apps over 0.99 sen Yea some can reach RM4 to RM30 8. does the processor core affect very much when u multitask? like music with browsing or browsing and watching video together? Depends on OS Wp7 even u multi task the lag is not noticable. lastly, does this phone have leather cover or pouch or accesories? coz i dont want to risk by having no protection for handphone Yes comes with a free rubber casing Here some video taken on my Nokia Lumia 800 This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: May 2 2012, 11:37 AM |
May 2 2012, 02:56 PM
2,221 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
May 2 2012, 03:47 PM
3,308 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(David900924 @ May 2 2012, 11:24 AM) any idea when will lumia 900 enter the market? and wp8? i read the news in google that ms wont giv an update to all the current phone to wp8. is this a drawback to all current windows phone? The cons of this phone is very much like iPhone, with very similar restrictions and limitation, but similar like the iPhone, it's also very stable and smooth. Except this is a 2D Flat look and feel design.i hav some comment on the cons: cons 1. if there is no bluetooth file transfer than what else can u do with the bluetooth? 2. no front camera mean no video call? as in skype video call is not available in this phone? 3. I am digi user, does that mean I wont be able to check my balance or transfer money by using *126# or *128#? 4. I still can accept this since wp is new. 5. lets say if the battery is recharged until dead and out of warranty, can the battery be replace in nokia center? 6. what is the average memory space require for each apps? 7. yea i check on the marketplace, theres r couple of apps over 0.99 sen 8. does the processor core affect very much when u multitask? like music with browsing or browsing and watching video together? lastly, does this phone have leather cover or pouch or accesories? coz i dont want to risk by having no protection for handphone For multi-tasking, you can watch this multi-tasking in detailed video. Basically, it is to show the behavior of the multi-tasking in Windows Phone OS, but you can also see the smoothness and stability. Basically, with good control and management, you don't have to worry much about the specs: This is the best part of Windows Phone, the amazing social networking service integration feature: |
May 2 2012, 07:51 PM
QUOTE(Andy214 @ May 2 2012, 03:47 PM) The cons of this phone is very much like iPhone, with very similar restrictions and limitation, but similar like the iPhone, it's also very stable and smooth. Except this is a 2D Flat look and feel design. both 2 videos very informative. like it For multi-tasking, you can watch this multi-tasking in detailed video. Basically, it is to show the behavior of the multi-tasking in Windows Phone OS, but you can also see the smoothness and stability. Basically, with good control and management, you don't have to worry much about the specs: This is the best part of Windows Phone, the amazing social networking service integration feature: |
May 2 2012, 09:21 PM
940 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(David900924 @ May 2 2012, 07:51 PM) Agree^^ Ty^^Btw, the windows ID a... We need to create a new id and link it to our fb and other sns sites on computer right? We can also choose to register our existing windowslive id in our phone right? What are the other methods to buy apps besides credit card? I would need to go through all the steps listed in this thread if i want to use Singapore ID right: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2125261 Thank you^^ |
May 2 2012, 09:43 PM
If u have existing Id u can use. ATM only credit card
May 2 2012, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 2 2012, 09:43 PM) Sad >< (Dun have a credit card) so it's like paypal where we need to provide credit card no? Or it will send us a bill and we have to pay using credit card?Btw, you are using Malaysia ID or SG ID? Cuz I dun feel like having all those apps in Malay >< Thank you^^ |
May 2 2012, 10:54 PM
SG ID because got xbox live and Nokia Music.
MY tak ada. U can use debit card if u have it works too |
May 2 2012, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ May 2 2012, 10:54 PM) How it works actually? I put the no of my credit card/ debit card along with the windows live id? and it will be added to my credit card bill? how about debit card? Straight away deduct money from there? It seem quite dangerous... my parents sure say NO lolxD afraid of hackers later scam all money ><Thank you^^ |
| Change to: | 0.0185sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:53 AM |