Nokia Lumia 800, The first real windows phone by Nokia

xcen
post Feb 9 2012, 01:38 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Feb 9 2012, 01:35 PM)
I have no complaints at all about Radar. It does what I need it to well enough which is mainly browsing. I'm not fussed on the screen size/quality because I'm happy enough with the Radar's. Hardly used the main camera let alone the FFC. It's the look of Lumia which is winning me over ever since I held that N9 in my hands. Now that I think about it, I might as well wait for Apollo devices to come out since aside from looks, its not much of an upgrade.
Indeed, Apollo will be a huge upgrade compared to 1st gen -> 2nd gen. What more compared to your 2nd gen -> 2nd gen in your case.

But if Nokia Drive is important for you, then you might want to consider it because I don't think Radar can currently sideload devices and ChevronLive tokens have sold out.
xcen
post Feb 11 2012, 12:49 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Feb 11 2012, 12:43 AM)
maybe just my own preference,after i get use with omnia 7 screen size,i cannot stand with lumia 800 screen size,thats all.and when i hold it on my hand,it feel small compare to omnia 7
Omnia7's size is actually about the same as my old HD2, which was a 4.3" screen. Some people call it inefficient use of space, I just find that you need to have a little bit of space to create a proper design, with proper width to height ratio to make Omnia7 really, really elegant.

Besides, HD2 is probably the 4.3" phone with the least 'useless space'. Even SII, Lumia 900 is bigger.

If I have a choice between Omnia7 and Lumia 800, I'll definitely go for the Lumia though. The hardware build quality is just too irresistible tongue.gif
xcen
post Feb 11 2012, 12:51 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(justifyer @ Feb 11 2012, 12:47 AM)
ahhh.. I tot there's something wrong with it.. silly me..  tongue.gif  I would love to try the omnia though.. I love the tactile start button.. easy to unlock..
The recessed buttons + capacitive buttons is kinda annoying though. Cause the buttons are so deep down, and the capacitive buttons are so sensitive, I notice most of the time I have to use my fingernails to press the start button if not my thumb will kena the capacitive buttons and activate Back or Bing Seach.

Maybe it's just me.

Added on February 11, 2012, 12:52 am
QUOTE(marcus20125 @ Feb 11 2012, 12:51 AM)
no matter we choose Samsung/Nokia/HTC,we are still WINDOWS PHONE,give a big clap to us
Proud Windows Phone users laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by xcen: Feb 11 2012, 12:52 AM
xcen
post Feb 11 2012, 10:45 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Get Lumia 800, wait for Apollo at the end of the year/Q1 next year biggrin.gif
xcen
post Feb 11 2012, 01:44 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Feb 11 2012, 01:20 PM)
To be frank... after playing with my lumia 800 for half day..
I still can't get use to screen size and resolution... as my previous 3 phone are on 4.3 and 4.6.. 3.7 is still a bit small...
But overall, it is a sleek phone and smooth UI if compare to my galaxy nexus... will give myself some to get use to the new platform...
I think it's all about getting used to it. I used to have a SE X1 with 3.0" screen (WVGA), and I still can read stuff, browse web LOL! Good thing about smaller screen is one-handed usability. I don't contend that bigger screen gives more comfortable viewing experience though. smile.gif
xcen
post Feb 11 2012, 02:00 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Feb 11 2012, 01:53 PM)
No, always use reason and be logical about your purchases. A phone can't make you unique. They may have good points in their bashing, not because they are common.
You'd be surprised how many people just buy a smartphone because it's the 'cool' thing to do. Nowadays phones are like fashion accessories, mesti ikut trend.

I have know countless of people who buy iPhone not for apps, but because everyone has one and they look cool with it. (They barely even know how to operate the phone.) They end up using Facebook, call and SMS only sweat.gif.

I also know a lot of people who buy a BlackBerry for the 'coolness' factor of being a 'business person'. Even though they're just students...
xcen
post Feb 11 2012, 04:28 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 11 2012, 03:39 PM)
Hi guys, finally able to get my hand on lumia 800 + purity HD headphone after queuing for 6 hours yesterday tongue.gif (number 30)

I havent really start using the phone yet... cause im thinking to port my line from Digi to Maxis (new mini sim card) b4 start with the new phone.

First impression is... i Charged my phone at night to full.. (no 8 hours charging)....go to bed...wake up 12pm.. check phone... battery = 75% left... I dont have sim card insert and no wifi connected (did play 10 minutes d night b4 though)... now battery is really as bad as wat ppl said...

So.. is there a problem if we just use Malaysia Windows Live ID? I havent registered any yet because of the problem u guys addressed. Can I access Marketplace + pay apps if using Malaysia ID? also May I know XBOX LIVE... is it really just for XBOX? So I do not need to bother about Xbox Live IF i do not Own a Xbox? I'll buy games from Marketplace for the phone instead?
Hmm... The battery problem sounds very serious. Which apps do you have that are running in the background?

EDIT: On second thought, since this is a new phone, you might want to use it for about a week first and then repeat the test to see if there are improvements.

Usually the phone shouldn't drain more than 5% unless there are a lot of incoming messages/push notifications.

This post has been edited by xcen: Feb 11 2012, 04:32 PM
xcen
post Feb 11 2012, 06:16 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 11 2012, 04:40 PM)
Actually after 100% charging.. i did try to  use it indoor but gps unable to detect... so exit and i tried the browser.. Surf lowyat.net.. scroll up n down.. close..

Since there is no proper way to close the apps we have opened. how do we know if there is actually any apps running on the background?
There are apps that continually update in the background. Like WhatsApp, and LiveTiles apps. You can go to Settings -> apps -> Background tasks. There you can see stuff that's updating in the background, you can go to advanced for those apps that you can't turn off the updating manually.
xcen
post Feb 12 2012, 07:43 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Feb 12 2012, 06:11 PM)
My friends brother now bought one nokia lumia 800 and this is his slight review on it

the battery isnt lasting even if its at the latest update.. iOS Safari is still better in rendering compared to IE9. Microsoft needs to improve its rendering and loading it faster. Oh yeah, camera isn't that good but an update will come soon.

flex.gif
Rendering is actually not really Microsoft's fault. They have been trying very hard to follow web standards, but a lot of web developers only develop their webpages for WebKit, which can be found in iPhone and Android browsers. That's why a lot of mobile/touch optimized sites don't work as good on IE9, which is using the Trident engine.
xcen
post Feb 12 2012, 08:58 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(troy13th @ Feb 12 2012, 07:49 PM)
can you detail on those bolded words? thx
bored of your s2 huh?

Hmm... Good example would be touch.facebook.com and m.gsmarena.com

Try that with Windows Phone and iPhone, you will get what I mean.
xcen
post Feb 13 2012, 11:28 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

I've been customizing Windows Mobile for about 2 years and Android for 1 year. Was never satisfied with it. When WP7 came out, kept trying to imitate WP look on Android.

Finally gave up, just went and bought myself an Omnia7 when the price was cheap. Never looked back.
xcen
post Feb 15 2012, 12:12 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(mudster @ Feb 15 2012, 10:00 AM)
I'm using digi with the lumia but with existing contract (still got 9 months left). what type of data connection error do you get? marketplace? IE9? all? or just some apps tied in to your WLID?

Added on February 15, 2012, 11:11 amBtw, after 2 days, my max battery charge (from the diagnostic tool) is 1330mAh. Anybody else got the same issue?
It is the diagnostics app problem. Nokia has already fixed it in the firmware so you get the maximum 1450mAh so don't worry.
xcen
post Feb 15 2012, 10:33 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(ViRaViRa @ Feb 15 2012, 09:29 PM)
If you are not good at rooting, Note is not going to impress you that much.
- Touch Wiz is crap.
- Had serious bugs and performance issues which affected the battery life A LOT. If you want to wait for Samsung to release a bugfix, you have to wait till you are old. I finally fixed it on my own by changing the kernel

Once that was done, i was happy with my Note, but still sold it off because I felt it was overpriced and thers's nothing special except for the large screen. There are many other large screen Android phones (4"++) which can give me similar experience for less money.
Thanks for the share. biggrin.gif
xcen
post Feb 16 2012, 10:48 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

I think if you see it in a purely OS perspective, I would say that WP7.5 is leagues better than iOS. WP7.5 has all the functions of iOS and maybe even more. Siri is a gimmick, don't get me started on that. People use that more as a game than for anything really productive.

Social integration is an even more useful feature that WP7.5 did tremendously well.

WP7.5's design has won many praise and awards but I ackowledge that different people have different tastes in design.

When it comes to ecosystem, iOS wins hands down simply because iTune is still better than Zune, and iOS has better and more apps compared to WP7.5. Will this catch up soon enough? We'll see later.

In terms of phone, I cannot deny that iPhone4S is better than Nokia Lumia 800. 4S has a faster processor, front facing camer, better back camera, higher resolution screen, and overall the build quality rivals Lumia 800. (They're both equally good IMO, but iPhone is so common that you don't have the feel of being unique anymore.)

But the hardware advantages of the 4S comes with a price, at RM2.3k, it's about RM600 more expensive than Nokia Lumia 800. You can buy another Galaxy Ace/2nd hand 1st generation WP7 phone with that amount of money already.

IMO the question shouldn't be 'which is the better phone' but 'which phone suits me best?'

Is front facing camera really used at all? I know I don't use them, at all.

Are apps important? I find that WP7.5 provides me with every apps I need EXCEPT for some local apps such as Maybank2U and cinema showtimes etc. But they can be substituted with web alternative, although they are not as nice to use.

Are YOU attracted to the Metro Design?

How important is viewing all social feeds and get timely updates to YOU?

How important is integrated Messenger/Facebook Chat/SMS to YOU?

How much do YOU use Windows Live Services from Skydrive to OneNote? I personally use Windows Live services to the almost maximum. I feel it's much better than anything Google could offer.

So start asking what do YOU want, instead of which is the one phone that is better and rules them all.
xcen
post Feb 16 2012, 10:06 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 16 2012, 08:03 PM)
Want to ask... I just realised when I sync my google account (which has all my contacts since i used Android)... I notice that the Lumia doesnt sync all the numbers....

for example.. most of my contacts has more than 2 numbers-3 phone numbers under the same Name...

When sync ... It only show one of the number while the rest of the number hilang... This is a real issue for me as I start to get a lot of call/sms which I dont know who they are (eventhough I used to have their numbers. to .. Anyway fix this?
Hmm... That's weird. I'm using Google for my contacts too. If I have a contact with 1 mobile number and 1 work number, it will appear no problem to me...
xcen
post Feb 17 2012, 12:06 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ Feb 16 2012, 11:36 PM)
Yes my Android phone still here. But I have already sync the contacts to my lumia.. anyway to revert back? Anyway.. i still like it to sync automatically with my gmail.... preferable to manage my contacts from there...
All my contacts with 2 -3 numbers.. fail to save into my lumia.. All become 1 number only..  sad.gif Anyone else can confirm it is suppose to sync Everything correctly?

Added on February 16, 2012, 11:47 pmI checked and realised... The Phone able to display multiple contact number.. IF.. it only has one Mobile Number + another one House/Office number...

It seems that if you have 2x Mobile Number.. the 2nd one will not be sync to the phone...

Anyway to overcome this problem? Only 1 Mobile number can be assigned... the 2nd number must be home/office/ other.. and the problem is if i assign a Hp number to Home.. I CANT SEND TEXT MESSAGE AT ALL?!
You can text work numbers.
xcen
post Feb 17 2012, 11:02 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 17 2012, 09:40 AM)
AMAZING! I mean... Microsoft? Seriously? Did they sub the WP OS to somebody else? They should not be someone new to mobile OS, plus, they also have their own DMBS software, etc. Even in their DB samples/tutorials, they know this... Seriously.
If it was the other fruit, then it's still understandable.
Especially when you consider back during the Windows Mobile days it was the king of contact management.
xcen
post Feb 17 2012, 08:37 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Feb 17 2012, 05:30 PM)
Always remember that if you're in an area where your signal constantly switches between 3G and E then there's a higher potential for power drain.

Because whenever your phone is on E, the radio will use up more power trying to get 3G.
Being in an area that's between E and 3G will really kill battery life. 1 hour can drain 20% no joke.
xcen
post Feb 18 2012, 09:53 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(Fazz @ Feb 18 2012, 09:43 AM)
i love this phone for its people hubs, calendar n contact management.
no need to fill up contact data so much, juz link with their fb n voila, u got their details included in contact data, such as place of work, home n even birthday..

those data kinda important when using this phone to manage my biz.

and also the sky drive and microsoft office, well, managing my project documents on the go is now possible rather than using 3rd party documents which sumtimes makes the format of the documents went amiss.

if i got sumthing to be negative about, then it would be the marketplace for now.
n i can't seem to find a flash player installer. viewing website with flash is inconvenience.

sorry, crappy review, not really a writer. but nonetheless, this phone still makes me speechless since I owned it on Feb 10.
Flash will never ever come to Windows Phone.

Flash will soon disappear from mobile devices forever.
xcen
post Feb 18 2012, 01:40 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Don't you guys think it's SUPER stupid for the SIRIM and whatever else sticker to be stuck on the back of the Lumia 800? It totally spoils the image.

Why iPhone doesn't have to undergo the same 'uglification'?

This post has been edited by xcen: Feb 18 2012, 01:43 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0260sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 08:27 PM