Nokia Lumia 800, The first real windows phone by Nokia

troy13th
post Feb 14 2012, 11:30 AM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 14 2012, 10:44 AM)
Hehe, it's normal, they love their phone, sure they want to win. I believe there's no point to argue with them, but try to share and agree on each of the pros and cons.
e.g. Windows Phone user agree and like the customizable feature and freedom on Androids.
Android user agree and like the simplicity, easy to use, smoothness on Windows Phone, and especially the People Hub.

If only there is one OS that combine all the best together. Flexibility, Freedom, doesn't mean the OS need to be complicated. At the same time, simple doesn't mean it cannot become flexible and put limitation and restriction (there's no need to follow what iOS did).
Camera is a very powerful tool, last time, it's not easy to use and complicated, but look at nowadays, it's so simple and easy to use, just point and shoot. BUT, does it have to "REMOVE" functions/feature and put restrictions? No...
Why iOS needs to do that? And why should others follow iOS footsteps? It's just so wrong to me, personally.
Nokia N9 Meego os could have been this, I think, if only nokia didn't abandon it.

ehhh who care, L800 for me rclxms.gif
troy13th
post Feb 14 2012, 12:07 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 14 2012, 11:40 AM)
MeeGo not really, MeeGo has ups and downs. Maemo is better, but it was abandon even more early, PR1.2 was the last update. MeeGo at least will have more updates, but still no match for Maemo.
ehhh i thought it's the same os?? maemo = meego

okay dunwan to derail this thread blush.gif
troy13th
post Feb 14 2012, 03:16 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(Nightengale @ Feb 14 2012, 01:28 PM)
They call it Meego simply because of marketing. Just like how some companies throw 4G buzzword when it's not LTE.

I love Meego a lot, but honestly, I would say the best thing about Meego exist in the 'User Experience.'

- Swipe Interface ( edge-to-edge to close apps/go back to homescreen)
- Triple Homescreen. ( mainly the Multi-tasking Screen. The notification and app screen were nothing special )
- Minor UE elements like 'double-tap to home, word-cloud for most visited sites in browser, auto-album word cloud in music app )

And the sexy looking Alarm Clock.

But aside from that, much of the experience, app-wise is no different from Android/iOS. Even for the Nokia-made apps, what they fall back to are having software buttons for navigating the apps, instead of utilising Swipe Interface inside the apps themselves.
agreed on those buzz words, just for marketing purpose sweat.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 14 2012, 01:56 PM)
A little different.

MeeGo is Nokia's Maemo + Intel's Moblin, merged.

If you look at the past Maemo version, it's very different from MeeGo.
Maemo have a Desktop which is extremely customizable like a Windows Desktop (place icons, shortcuts, widgets anywhere you want, even overlap one another), MeeGo has no proper homescreen, just 3 view.
Maemo5 is the first smartphone OS which support full flash, and the browser offers the best browsing experience, very much like a real mini laptop, and the shortcut keys works just like a pc, you canuse shift+a, ctrl+c, ctrl+v, etc. you can also activate the mouse cursor... To date, NONE of the smartphone can offer such experience. There're also many poweful apps and widgets which no smartphone can offer, and videos support is also the best with the available of mplayer and tons of codecs. It's only limited by the hardware.
What MeeGo has is simplicity and fluidity, and also the SWIPE. It's suitable for people who don't need all the above but a simple, easy to use and smooth phone. What it lacks it's the apps/games.

As for Windows Phone, it has many restrictions and limitations just like iPhone. So, it cannot really compare with other smartphones, but not everyone need all those features. Many people seems fine with all the limitations and restrictions of iPhone, so there's no issue for this phone for those people as well. Most important is the smoothness, stable and finally apps/games.
As Social Networks plays an important role in todays world, and most people already have facebook account, Windows Phone Social Network Integration, the People Hub, will be a very interesting and nice feature, a very good experience. Once they use it, most likely they will appreciate it, and to switch to another device without these feature, it's hard. Just like someone who has been using WhatsApp, it's hard to them to accept another smartphone which doesn't have WhatsApp support.
But, who knows, Apple may implement this in the future and then they may call it a new revolution, "this changes everything again.". It's all about marketing and also who markets it.
I see, thanks for the explaination, appreciated smile.gif
was going to buy N9, till nokia announce they're abandoning it?
I even save up for it but now it seem L800 is better choice

yeah the people hub features and nokia maps and music what really seal the deal for me
sigh really can't wait to hold my own sad.gif
troy13th
post Feb 14 2012, 03:46 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(Nightengale @ Feb 14 2012, 03:37 PM)
N9 is a great phone even as it is, don't let anyone dissuade you from it.

But just don't expect it to be much different if at all 1 year, or 2 down the road. The functionality you get out of the box will most likely be the same, with minor improvements here and there.

Lumia and WP will be the focus of Microsoft and Nokia combined, and they're clearly throwing all the stops at it.

But don't decide your choice based on what 'MAY BE' from Nokia. Just try both phones and buy the one you prefer overall.

Even now, I still prefer the N9 over the Lumia 800. But I've made the choice of investing myself into Nokia's future direction with WP, and will settle with what it has, believing Nokia will deliver a great, truly Nokia experience come Q3 when Apollo comes out.
nod.gif yeah like you said, I prefer to invest on Nokia's future too
this apollo is the win 8 os phone right?
is it confirm that l800 will get win 8 too after update is available?
troy13th
post Feb 15 2012, 03:16 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:27 PM)
No confirmation from Nokia/Microsoft.
okay, I see, got updates for apollo or not, still going to love this phone, thanks for reply
troy13th
post Feb 16 2012, 03:58 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 16 2012, 08:21 AM)
deep within OS integration can never be replace by an app. If thats true they should have did it a long time ago. 4S camera better? still waiting someone to show its better than the nokia N8 so i can switch. I notice most ppl do is use app to edit only.

Even iOS atm u need install facebook, twitter, foursquare, linked in all separately.
I will do a review SGS II vs Lumia 800 when i get my lumia unit.
you said it right
can't wait for your review biggrin.gif
and mine too, soon, almost got enough now
troy13th
post Feb 16 2012, 10:23 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

oh hey guys, this evening my friend just bought L800, so we connected it to zune to sync and update but keep getting error, video software not compatible :/

in the end still can use zune but no special effect de?

tmr we going to try and update driver for her laptop see.

anyone have similar problem?

troy13th
post Feb 22 2012, 10:48 AM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

story on Lumia 800 design
maybe ts can add to fp??

troy13th
post Feb 22 2012, 12:10 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 22 2012, 10:57 AM)
Story added thanks for share
icon_rolleyes.gif so already got your yet?
troy13th
post Feb 22 2012, 12:16 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 22 2012, 12:13 PM)
thumbup.gif wow you really good in camera technique
this is on par with n8 liao
can you teach me? any tips?

btw is tht you, aspire??
troy13th
post Feb 22 2012, 02:14 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Feb 22 2012, 12:19 PM)
no la just a model during photoshoot. Nope N8 still wins no matter what due to its megapixels and sensor size.
i see, wht about compare to n9? is it the same?
troy13th
post Feb 27 2012, 11:13 AM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Feb 27 2012, 11:07 AM)
@aspire2006
any downside for nokia L800?

my main concern for getting a new phone is wifi hotspot, but seem it will not serve me well
you mean wifi tethering?

I would like to know if they have included tht in yet?

Added on February 27, 2012, 11:14 am
QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Feb 27 2012, 11:07 AM)
@aspire2006
any downside for nokia L800?

my main concern for getting a new phone is wifi hotspot, but seem it will not serve me well
you mean wifi tethering?

I would like to know if they have included tht in yet?

This post has been edited by troy13th: Feb 27 2012, 11:14 AM
troy13th
post Mar 1 2012, 11:10 AM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

window phone can install firefox mobile? unsure.gif
troy13th
post Mar 16 2012, 08:16 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

how the battery performance for this device?
troy13th
post Mar 21 2012, 08:40 AM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

have you guys try this yet:

troy13th
post Mar 21 2012, 09:09 AM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Mar 21 2012, 09:01 AM)
unable to find the app in marketplace..
msia not yet maybe
troy13th
post Mar 21 2012, 11:55 AM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Mar 21 2012, 09:23 AM)
according the description, the offline mode enable in Nokia Drive.. and is not stated on the Nokia Maps... have to try it out only will know...

Added on March 21, 2012, 9:24 am
i tried to search in US Marketplace also unable to find it... hmm... hmm.gif
ehhh then dunno liao
me oso don't have the phone yet...planning to buy in april
troy13th
post Mar 21 2012, 01:42 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(bulkbiz @ Mar 21 2012, 12:59 PM)
Don't want to wait for Lumia 900? kekekeke
900 kinda too big and probably out of my budget blush.gif
800 just nice
troy13th
post Mar 30 2012, 09:59 AM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

hihi, how do you change window live i.d in lumia 800?
troy13th
post Mar 30 2012, 03:04 PM

pandajanggut
1,040 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 30 2012, 11:43 AM)
Simple hard reset your phone.

Added on March 30, 2012, 11:45 am

Simple hard reset your phone.
hard reset..nvm edi..i know wht problem edi

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Mar 30 2012, 02:53 PM)
welcome welcome... laugh.gif  laugh.gif
rclxms.gif hoy hoy..yay finally got mine cyan color

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled