Nokia Lumia 800, The first real windows phone by Nokia

aries323
post Mar 16 2012, 05:13 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Vyriix @ Mar 15 2012, 06:04 PM)
I think they wouldn't overcharge you for data plan, only limit your speed.

anyway if you didn't start viewing videos through internet, don't think you will finish 1gb of data in a month anytime soon.
Thank you. smile.gif Btw, that reminded me of something. I ordered my Lumia 800 from Digi online store. So about the warranty thing, do I need to register? Or I just have IMEI code thing then enough? Or Digi had done everything for me?

Is there any way for me to check?
aries323
post Mar 20 2012, 07:26 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Vyriix @ Mar 20 2012, 01:21 PM)
using a skinomi protector but it doesn't seem to be smooth and it collects dust on the top side. maybe it's my skills haha.

May I know how much you bought? And where did you get it? smile.gif
aries323
post Mar 23 2012, 02:55 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(Vyriix @ Mar 22 2012, 08:52 PM)
http://www.amazon.com/Skinomi-TechSkin-Scr...32420956&sr=1-1

I think you can't find any full size screen protector in the market at all and they probably will never come since N9 has been out for that long already. The sellers often cite that the screen is curve and they will tell you the screen protectors will never stick to the full glass. The ones on the market only cover the area of the screen, not the full size. Even Nokia original screen protector covers the screen size only.

Well, I prefer to cover the whole glass so I chose this, but it isn't really a screen protector as it collects alot of dust, sort of the type of plastics which just gives you a cover of the whole screen (I can remove it and restick it back easily using the water method), just that you have to somehow bear with the dusts collected and clean it often.

There's an OS limitation where your wifi sleeps when your phone sleeps (phone lock). When it is brought back to awake mode, it will reconnect wifi and start downloading whatever notifications pushes back (if your mobile data is off).

It has been addressed many times by users and probably this is something bugging users with heavy pushes and mails.
Thanks for your reply. Seems like I need choose whether need to buy it from Amazon. Costs me RM 35 while screen protector sells here is RM3 or RM5.

Btw, based on your explanation there, if I were to downloading something, the phone went to sleep, and downloading task is running in the background? It is not gonna to use wifi but use the mobile data? smile.gif
aries323
post Mar 24 2012, 10:08 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(Vyriix @ Mar 23 2012, 03:02 PM)
If i'm not mistaken it will always use wifi first regardless of carrier data mode (mms will be exception).

So it will be off when your screen saver kicks in, and will fallback to carrier data mode.

I don't know whether some programs have the ability to access more apis to run wifi every subsequent intervals to retrieve pushes or not. Things are quite vague on this. I do know that my whatsapp will only retrieve pushes when I run the program and keep it as one of the 5 tasks to multitasked.

But you can be assured that if you charge your phone, the wifi will not sleep, from what others say on other boards.
Thank you very much. Hopefully this limitation will be overcame in the Apollo update. There is no way to avoid the phone goes to sleep without touching it. The longest lock screen is 5 minutes.

Btw, the latest update of nokia, will it void the warranty if I do it manually? I knew how to do it manually, but how to revert it back? Can any sifus teach me? biggrin.gif
aries323
post Mar 29 2012, 01:57 AM

63 posts

Guys, for those who're having troubles about the updates, here is the link to check whether you Lumia 800 support automatic update from Zune or not.

http://europe.nokia.com/find-products/noki...te-availability

Just click at the region and country then check for the product code at the label on the back of your simcard holder.

Read more about the update here from Nokia conversations,

http://conversations.nokia.com/2012/03/28/...n-1todtmt3e4ae4

FINALLY, I updated the firmware automatically by Zune!! biggrin.gif

aries323
post Mar 29 2012, 01:12 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(deyamato @ Mar 29 2012, 02:17 AM)
a stupid question:
this model got viber app ?
There is no Viber for Windows Phone yet. But the app was already in the progress for quite some time. Predicted to release this year.
aries323
post Apr 5 2012, 06:55 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(troy13th @ Apr 5 2012, 03:22 PM)
can give me link how to do manual update, i use search, can't find the guide?
Check back previous posts. Plenty links out there. smile.gif

Is there any diagnostic tools after the new update? I thought the update change log included some new feature of the diagnostic tools? But I can't search mine.
aries323
post Apr 13 2012, 02:47 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(pekwky @ Apr 12 2012, 11:56 PM)
sifu lumian 800. how to put pdf file ( magazine ) in to my lumia 800
Download Adobe Reader and then upload the file to Skydrive. You can access it from the Office Hub at your phone.
aries323
post Apr 13 2012, 03:54 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 13 2012, 03:33 PM)
Let me explain to you the software of the iphone camera is tune to automatic get the right setting for your photo so most of the time u get acceptable result.

Nokia in the other hand camera are more details and sharper compare to iPhone but you must manually set the setting to achieve such results.

If u google most photos taken by iPhone they usually are edited or added filter. So depends what u want. I have an iPhone 4S I can tell u the camera is goddamn boring for me. That's why most ppl get brainwash with simplicity then when u give them a more challenging phone it becomes impossible.
Aspire, with all my respect, I think you should create a guide on how to capture pictures with the camera of Lumia 800. I'm a newbie when comes to camera thingy and it's sad to know that I'm not fully utilizing my Lumia 800. I tried to mess with the camera settings when capturing pictures but there is no fruitful result yet. cry.gif

Guess all I need is a professional sifu and the photos you took by Lumia are absolutely astonishing. Greatly appreciate it if you can make a guide on teaching the dummies like myself on capturing nice pics. biggrin.gif
aries323
post May 11 2012, 11:08 PM

63 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif tongue.gif

0.0199sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:41 AM