Nokia Lumia 800, The first real windows phone by Nokia

Vyriix
post Mar 25 2012, 12:05 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(aries323 @ Mar 24 2012, 10:08 PM)
Thank you very much. Hopefully this limitation will be overcame in the Apollo update. There is no way to avoid the phone goes to sleep without touching it. The longest lock screen is 5 minutes.

Btw, the latest update of nokia, will it void the warranty if I do it manually? I knew how to do it manually, but how to revert it back? Can any sifus teach me?  biggrin.gif
yes u will void it if you reflash. supposingly using cab sender you will not void it according to some at xda.

my wifi still sleeps when my phone locks after 12070 update. it doesn't even show up on my router device list and will reconnect back when it is awake.
Vyriix
post Mar 25 2012, 10:03 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(msh8h @ Mar 25 2012, 03:39 PM)
Do anyone know any good sniping/screenshot tools?

searched at Marketplace couldn't find any..
don't think there's an app for screenshot right now as the api is not open for developers yet
Vyriix
post Mar 26 2012, 05:35 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(lisahasan @ Mar 26 2012, 04:32 PM)
im using 2g only meh. but the lasting of the battery cannot cover until a whole day. at nite, 20%. shit !
There's many factors behind your issue. If you use edge mode and left it idle in an area with strong signal you would get at least 25to 28 hours of battery life.

Now that's a first for not being able to last long on the new firmware.
Vyriix
post Apr 1 2012, 08:51 PM

40 posts

U can get a matte screen protector which will cover most height but width of the screen only. The nokia stall at midvalley sells it.

Alternatively u can get skinomi as it is much suitable for curved screen.
Vyriix
post Apr 13 2012, 02:53 AM

40 posts

http://www.windowsphone.com/en-US/apps/672...3d-74183543d327

if you prefer another alternative
Vyriix
post Apr 13 2012, 10:57 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(troy13th @ Apr 13 2012, 08:34 AM)
may i know, how do you use the apps??
http://www.mobilejaw.com/articles/2011/01/...phone-7-device/

in case you didn't read the description.

From the PC File Download page:

Please read this:
(1) Windows phone does not allow third party apps to access office hub or other app's isolated storage. So there is no way for this app to directly put files into the Office hub or PDF reader's Isolated storage. It has to be via IE, unless your phone is unlocked.
(2) If this app download files to its own isolated storage, other apps won't be able to access it so it is useless.
(3) Since this app cannot access Office hub, it won't be able to upload documents back to PC.
(4) HFS is safe. This app is essentially a WP client for HFS. If you have problem please feel free to contact me directly. Othewise I won't be able to help because I cannot respond to your comments in Marketplace.

Why do you have to email yourself or upload your file to the cloud and then download to your phone when you are just sitting next to your PC? Why? Isn't that stupid?

Now with this little tool, you can directly transfer files from PC to your phone. Supported file types are PDF files and Office Documents, text files, etc. Can also stream media wirelessly if your firewall allows so.

You need a PC side server, unfortunately. The tool is configured to be used with the HFS ~ Http File Server (It's safe!), by default. Because I can not find anything easier than this. Just go to the website

http://www.rejetto.com/hfs/?f=dl

and download the current version of HFS and you are ready to go.

This post has been edited by Vyriix: Apr 13 2012, 10:59 AM
Vyriix
post Apr 13 2012, 12:48 PM

40 posts

all you need to do is just run that HFS server.

Make sure you leave the root directory of your server to have blank admin and password.

Then drag and drop whatever word, pdf, excel files you have to the root directory.

Then use the PC File Downloader app, set the correct server paths. Then refresh it and start downloading all the files you dumped in.

Then you can safely off your server, and uninstall if you wish. The files which had been downloaded will be stored on your phone and can be opened with the respective apps.

It works like a skydrive, offline mode. Pretty good if you do not have fast internet but you have a wifi router smile.gif

p/s: of course, you have to click save as for every files that you opened and save it to your phone first. Then you can find back all the documents you saved at Office Hub -> Locations -> Phone for all office files while PDF files saved will be at Adobe Reader app.

This post has been edited by Vyriix: Apr 13 2012, 12:59 PM
Vyriix
post Apr 18 2012, 06:24 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(amiranna @ Apr 18 2012, 11:42 AM)
anyone having problem with 3g connection? i notice my windows live id and whatsapp not working properly on 3g signal.

I didnt having any problem when connected with wifi at home.
You need to be specific on what problem are you facing. Is this just whatsapp and people hub on 3G? Or browsing too?

If you'd touched network setup app then you have to do a hard reset. Especially if you are using digi. It has been discussed some a month ago.

This post has been edited by Vyriix: Apr 18 2012, 06:25 PM
Vyriix
post Apr 18 2012, 08:36 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(DavidWKW @ Apr 18 2012, 06:55 PM)
You meant you didn't buy app using cash right? That's what I planning to do as well >< But US do have more apps updated than sg right?

Btw, I can always change the countries is it? Thank you^^
your windows live id is region locked. Check windowsphone.com Under account settings for credit card
Vyriix
post Apr 20 2012, 04:29 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(thejacker @ Apr 20 2012, 10:56 AM)
Guys just wondering, how much memory will is use for all the social network msg that we download in the ppl hub, is they anyway to check and clear for the old 1, cause currently it seem like that me around 1 gb plus already,
Memory or bandwidth?

If you set it to synchronize less frequently, like every 1 hour, you don't use much bandwidth. Then again it's about how you use your phone, if you keep flipping the people hub every 20 minutes, then that's of course a fast speed to 1gb bandwidth.
Vyriix
post Apr 22 2012, 12:49 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Jacson-X @ Apr 22 2012, 12:34 PM)
just now i try to set the internet APN setting by myself i feel my connection is faster than before i use the Nokia app "network setup" ? how come?
It has been discussed a month back that the Nokia network setup app has wrong values for DiGi. By default if you reset your phone and don't run the app at all your settings for digi is perfectly fine.

Right now just reset your phone, uninstall that app.

Oh and I've seen pics of Lumia supporting 5G, insane~
Vyriix
post Apr 24 2012, 10:53 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(afan92 @ Apr 24 2012, 08:58 AM)
sooo, saad..

anyone know how to install paid apps for free..
mls nk crik online.. huhu
icon_question.gif

Added on April 24, 2012, 9:00 am
really, i can just drag it to zune and it will install instant ??

rclxms.gif
tell me anyone, im really interested in LUMIA ! haha
not possible on lumia now. By the way, pay for it as they work hard to get you these apps.
Vyriix
post May 4 2012, 11:47 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ May 4 2012, 03:16 PM)
If you are referring to Lumia 800,I can't find any data counter,not even from 3rd party.Don't know for symbian,should be able to find right?

Btw,anyone tried using Car AC USB for Lumia 800?
It's not possible to get such data counter on Lumia 800 as the OS does not allow such requests as of now.

I'm using car ac usb for lumia. What about it?
Vyriix
post May 5 2012, 10:10 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ May 5 2012, 12:02 AM)
What is your power rating for the AC?How many amp?I'm gonna look for one,but a lil paranoid of chinna plug,is it any reliable?

Added on May 5, 2012, 12:03 amFrom what I have been observing so far,you need to manually press refresh,it doesn't automatically update.
get original charger.

you can define how often will it sync in 'settings -> emails + account -> windows live'

0.0205sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:55 AM