Bodybuilding Thread V10, READ STICKIES B4 POSTING

shanecross
post Oct 27 2011, 02:19 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 27 2011, 02:13 AM)
my turn, criticisms are most welcome! its far from perfect, long way to go. on another note, the 5 reps seemed easier than last time, probably from the GVT squats or form change, i dont know. either way im happy my strength level hasnt gone down ever since i started gvt.

100kg x 5 squat. did 105kg x 2, and 105kg x 3 after this set. lost balance on the third rep, weight got too in front on the way up.

60kg x 8 squat, last 2 reps stayed in the hole for a bit. this was the burnout set after the 105kg x 3

previous video of 80kg x 8 for comparison, i think the angle here quite similar so easier to compare

Nice squats! Very strong too ! And also great technique !! rclxms.gif
shanecross
post Oct 27 2011, 08:30 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(mikehuan @ Oct 27 2011, 10:37 AM)
Coming from the squats king himself. I'm pretty friggin honored haha. Thanks man!
Hey ! No squat king man ! I just happen to like that exercise quite abit thats all ! smile.gif Take it easy man, great stuff anyway !
shanecross
post Oct 28 2011, 11:51 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(razorboy @ Oct 28 2011, 10:47 PM)
I still don't get it. How does wearing a belt takes anything away? Your core muscles will come into play with or without the belt. Having the belt, helps keep the core muscles during the movement when one is trying to concentrate on everything else. It should be natural to have your core tight( imagine sucking your belly button in) whenever you are to perform a compound movement. I'm not sure how you guys train but I suck in deep and keep it tight before I put that belt on. And it's only on when I go for my last set / really fatigued. Otherwise, without the belt, my core will still be tight
Only so much your core can handle. I always use a belt when i deadlift and squat. It does tighten the midsection which allows your body to maintain the arch and no buckle your lower back. From the video you posted (180kg i think), you look like you were already struggling to keep your form steady. Another reason for that might be because you are doing partial lifts. Maybe a full deadlift would look different in the video. I'm not very familiar with the bb approach for a partial deadlift, but from a strength perspective, you might need to lower the weights and do a full deadlift because form is terrible and you might bust your lower back in no time.

Just a thought

S
shanecross
post Jan 23 2012, 04:35 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Just my 2 cents with the PR. I would always recommend wearing a belt when performing a PR. No PRs should be attempt without a belt. All the talk about one having their own "natural belt (e.g.; adonis belt)', hence the negligence of a good WL belt is flawed.

I like the fact that Mikehuan actually lifts barefooted (preferably with thin soled shoes, like those slip-ons). Ideally, on a deadlift, you would want to minimize the amount of contact distance between your foot and the floor.
I think Mikehuan's starting position is a little bit high. Try to get your hips lower when you start. If you can't you will need to not extend your hips until the bar passes your knee cap. Then you just hip-drive the thing.

Maybe you should try a touch-and-go deadlift rather than slamming the bar on the ground after every single rep. I find it less-pleasing when someone does that in a gym, and also touch and go deadlift will allow you to work with more volume. Only perform a full-reset when you want to work on form or your touch-and-go style is not progressing. Thats how I look at things. Legs shiver because hamstring is fatigued/worn out. So maybe some hamstring work will help. Also try elevated deadlift. Rack deadlift is also good to work on the upper phase of the lift. I find that deadlift with straps isn't the most ideal thing to do since it can actually give your wrist a lot of stress. Mixed grips is good. If you worry about grip, then use chalk/liquid chalk. Or as an alternative, you can do some grip work too.

This is how I interpret lifting. Low reps = Demonstrate Strength, Moderate-High Reps/Volume = Improve Strength and Grow. That is only one perspective though. You need to include other factors too. Not gospel by any chance. Oh, and don't overanalyze things. Notice the amount of time you spend between the moment you get the bar off the ground and the moment you step up towards the bar. To me, that is just mind-f**king, but thats just how I feel lah. Nothing too serious as long as you are ok with it. Another thing maybe you want to take note is to face away from the mirror and find a point to lock your eyes at (e.g.; ceiling fan, etc) just so that you can remain that nice arch/angle on your back when you lift. That way, you can lift safely and less chances of an injury.

Just something to think about. Hope that helps a little.

0.0182sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:57 PM