andise
post Dec 7 2018, 11:40 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Dec 6 2018, 01:24 PM)
My 2 cents on glaucoma ..

* on glaucoma treatment for the past 20+ years
* on eye drops treatment (3 types per day)
* pressures ranged from 11-20
* but dont assume you are safe when the pressure is below the alarm (24 I think) as glaucoma damage can still persist when the pressure is low.
* cost? From memory for standard glaucoma check RM100+. Normally, eye pressure test, field of vision and internal eye structure visual check (?). For additional eye check, like the retina thickness layer, rm200+.
* don't be too focused now on getting the best eye specialist. Just go to a good one for your initial check. Only later if that doctor says you need surgery etc, then consult another one.
* first treatment phase is by eye drops.
* second treatment phase is by surgery (laser to punch a hole for the drainage)
* third stage ?
* glaucoma is a silent killer, you don't feel or see the symptoms till too late. So strongly advise you to follow Nike's slogan

JUST DO IT!

Ha.

All the best.
Based on your experience do you think unhealthy food or sinus can give impact to Eyes pressure?

plumberly
post Dec 7 2018, 12:43 PM

4,612 posts

QUOTE(andise @ Dec 7 2018, 11:40 AM)
Based on your experience do you think unhealthy food or sinus can give impact to Eyes pressure?
I am not in the medical field, so best not to revert with my advice here other than:
* need daily nutrients for health eyes (eg vitamin A)
* no idea on sinus impact

SUSTham
post Dec 8 2018, 06:17 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(andise @ Dec 7 2018, 03:40 AM)
You can try Mirtogenol, which is a combination
of bilberry and pycnogenol.

Or you could take bilberry and pycnogenol separately.

https://www.mirtogenol.com

https://my.iherb.com/pr/life-extension-eye-...caps/37312?fv=1

Ideally combine with this to support your eyes for life.

https://my.iherb.com/pr/Life-Extension-Macu...-Softgels/69066

Effects of Mirtogenol® on ocular blood flow and
intraocular hypertension in asymptomatic subjects.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2447819/

Mirtogenol® supplementation in association with
dorzolamide-timolol or latanoprost improves the
retinal microcirculation in asymptomatic patients
with increased ocular pressure.

https://www.europeanreview.org/wp/wp-conten...reduces-IOP.pdf

andise
post Dec 17 2018, 10:17 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Dec 8 2018, 06:17 PM)
You can try Mirtogenol, which is a combination
of bilberry and pycnogenol.

Or you could take bilberry and pycnogenol separately.

https://www.mirtogenol.com
https://my.iherb.com/pr/life-extension-eye-...caps/37312?fv=1
Ideally combine with this to support your eyes for life.

https://my.iherb.com/pr/Life-Extension-Macu...-Softgels/69066
Effects of Mirtogenol® on ocular blood flow and
intraocular hypertension in asymptomatic subjects.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2447819/
Mirtogenol® supplementation in association with
dorzolamide-timolol or latanoprost improves the
retinal microcirculation in asymptomatic patients
with increased ocular pressure.

https://www.europeanreview.org/wp/wp-conten...reduces-IOP.pdf

After i read the benefit i think this medicine is not effective. After 6 month treatment just manage to lower the IOP until 22. Actually 22 still consider high.

I think Timol Eye Drops still more effective way to lower IOP. I can manage lower the IOP to 16.

This post has been edited by andise: Dec 17 2018, 10:18 AM
plumberly
post Dec 17 2018, 11:05 AM

4,612 posts

Sharing one tip (mind you, this is NOT a medical advice, just from my experience).

Do the eye movement exercise (up, down, left right, rectangle etc) once or twice a day. My belief is, this helps the eye muscle AND also dislodge any initial blockage of the drainage.

Welcome comments from eye doctors here. Thanks.
Jdite
post Dec 19 2018, 05:12 PM

374 posts

Anyone has any idea where to buy eye pressure tonometer to do self monitoring at home?
jialat
post Dec 19 2018, 11:47 PM

2,344 posts

QUOTE(Jdite @ Dec 19 2018, 05:12 PM)
Anyone has any idea where to buy eye pressure tonometer to do self monitoring at home?
Yes i know where to get the icare self assessment tonometer. Or u can pm me your contact so i can ask the salesman to contact u.
andise
post Jan 4 2019, 04:22 PM

63 posts

Currently i have Pressure for both of my eyes and doctor prescribe Timol for everyday and He said i should use it for the rest of my life.

My Vision Field test is normal for both of my eyes.

Am I really to use Timol for the rest of my life? Anyone other alternative to fix it permanently
geekofIT
post Jan 8 2019, 02:19 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Dec 17 2018, 11:05 AM)
Sharing one tip (mind you, this is NOT a medical advice, just from my experience).

Do the eye movement exercise (up, down, left right, rectangle etc) once or twice a day. My belief is, this helps the eye muscle AND also dislodge any initial blockage of the drainage.

Welcome comments from eye doctors here. Thanks.
would want any experts here to confirm if this helps.

thank you for the suggestion plumberly
Emimarson
post Apr 19 2019, 09:25 PM

632 posts

Guys...
My dad has glaucoma and eye stroke each side...
He went to Lam Wah Ee Penang years ago, the doctor just give him eyedrops, his sight become worse day by day, now couldn't even recognise heights of floor, always fall down when the floor is not flat.

I read the articles about glaucoma, the only way is surgery, I know it won't cure but at least my dad won't become blind...

My question is,
1. I heard sight will become worse after surgery , is it true?
2. Is my dad too late to go for surgery? 61 years old.

trencher10
post Apr 20 2019, 12:28 PM

Long-term AFK ...
665 posts

QUOTE(Emimarson @ Apr 19 2019, 09:25 PM)
My question is,
1. There is a RISK of transient vision loss with recovery, and a much rarer central vision loss risk. But the real aim of glaucoma trabeculectomy is to reduce the RISK of further vision loss.
2. Thankfully, opthalmological surgeries are one of the least invasive surgeries there are, so age is less of a risk factor. For those who opt for general anaesthesia (glaucoma surgery can be done with the patient awake), the general anaesthesia risk could be said to overshadow the trabeculectomy itself.

Wish your family well.
pohhua1980 P
post Aug 24 2020, 08:38 PM

Probation

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 31 2011, 08:33 AM)
Yes at 1st I was referred to Retinopathy Doc but after few test, he told me mine is not diabetic retinopathy bcos high preesure of >26. according to him normal is from 10 to 22. So i was referred to Glaucoma doc. She almost confirmed me suffering glaucoma dy except 1 test this Morning..Going soon
hi may i know how old r you when you got glaucoma. sorry for asking. what are the side effect taking the glaucoma eye drop. thank

feralee
post Aug 26 2020, 03:26 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Emimarson @ Apr 19 2019, 09:25 PM)
Guys...
My dad has glaucoma and eye stroke each side...
He went to Lam Wah Ee Penang years ago, the doctor just give him eyedrops, his sight become worse day by day, now couldn't even recognise heights of floor, always fall down when the floor is not flat.
I read the articles about glaucoma, the only way is surgery, I know it won't cure but at least my dad won't become blind...

My question is,
Depends on the type of glaucoma your father has. Need ophthalmology to check & advice

My mom done her glaucoma surgery at the age of 71 at Hospital Ampang KL.
Emimarson
post Aug 26 2020, 07:08 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Aug 26 2020, 03:26 PM)
Depends on the type of glaucoma your father has. Need ophthalmology to check & advice

My dad done surgery in government hospital, next is replace cornea.

Fucking Lam Wah Ee wasted our time for years
TSwacrop
post Feb 28 2021, 10:48 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Aug 26 2020, 03:26 PM)

mind to share what kind of surgery ? is laser or insert tube 1 ? and cost how much for the surgery ?
TSwacrop
post Feb 28 2021, 10:49 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(Emimarson @ Aug 26 2020, 07:08 PM)
My dad done surgery in government hospital, next is replace cornea.

Fucking Lam Wah Ee wasted our time for years
mind to share what kind of surgery ? is laser or insert tube 1 ? and cost how much for the surgery ?
Emimarson
post Feb 28 2021, 11:46 AM

632 posts

QUOTE(wacrop @ Feb 28 2021, 10:49 AM)
looks like cut a hole on eyeball to balance pressure in and out of eyeball

gomen hospital, the surgery and stay at hospital for around 5 days cost few hundreds only, too cheap to remember it compared to farking Lam Wah Ee

but replace cornea is RM700+ for the cornea alone, still very cheap compare to private
TSwacrop
post Feb 28 2021, 04:04 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(Emimarson @ Feb 28 2021, 11:46 AM)
looks like cut a hole on eyeball to balance pressure in and out of eyeball

gomen hospital, the surgery and stay at hospital for around 5 days cost few hundreds only, too cheap to remember it compared to farking Lam Wah Ee

but replace cornea is RM700+ for the cornea alone, still very cheap compare to private
I see, way cheaper compare to private hospital. roughly how long to wait for surgery ? I mean queue list
Emimarson
post Feb 28 2021, 04:28 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(wacrop @ Feb 28 2021, 04:04 PM)
I see, way cheaper compare to private hospital. roughly how long to wait for surgery ? I mean queue list
depends on severity then the doctor will arrange

my dad has this problem since years ago, went to Lam Wah Ee, and what they could do is just give my dad eyedrop and charge RM300+, they dun have specialist in this but keep sucking blood

the doctor in government hospital straightaway make a surgery appointment just around 2 weeks later.

if only our time didnt wasted by that shit private hospital, my dad's eyes will be fine

i am lucky with the government hospital quality, the doctors were so dedicated, they will go to find another specialists to discuss about my dad's condition

TSwacrop
post Feb 28 2021, 04:30 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(Emimarson @ Feb 28 2021, 04:28 PM)
depends on severity then the doctor will arrange

my dad has this problem since years ago, went to Lam Wah Ee, and what they could do is just give my dad eyedrop and charge RM300+, they dun have specialist in this but keep sucking blood

the doctor in government hospital straightaway make a surgery appointment just around 2 weeks later.

if only our time didnt wasted by that shit private hospital, my dad's eyes will be fine

i am lucky with the government hospital quality, the doctors were so dedicated, they will go to find another specialists to discuss about my dad's condition
good to hear that, 2 weeks is fast. i diagnostic with glaucoma early this month and there is some degree of damage but luckily no sight lost yet. you and you sibling better go check for it

This post has been edited by wacrop: Feb 28 2021, 04:33 PM

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0184sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:41 AM