Glaucoma ( 青光眼 ), Need help !

SUSTham
post Oct 28 2013, 08:23 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(wakjono @ Oct 28 2013, 09:09 AM)
Hi guys, just bump up to this thread as i was looking for an alternative/supplement diet to help reducing IOP level.

for your information, i had glaucoma surgery back on Sept 2013, using implant. max med no longer can reduce my IOP.
Mirtogenol (bilberry extract + pycnogenol)
Erigeron breviscapus, 短葶飞蓬, Chinese herb (caffeic acid and scutellarin)
Carotenoids - lutein, zeaxanthin, astaxanthin
Cannabis or marijuana
Vitamin C
Ginkgo
Vinpocetine
Pycnogenol
Dark chocolate
Resveratrol
Pterostilbene
PQQ (pyrroloquinoline quinone)
Coenzyme Q10
Melatonin
Vitamin E as tocopherol nicotinate (Hijuven)
Magnesium, as taurate
CDP choline, or citicholine
Fish oils
Cod liver oil
Alpha lipoic acid
Taurine
Curcumin
L-carnitine and Acetyl l-carnitine
Lycium barbarum (wolfberry)
Forskolin
Dan shen (Salvia miltiorrhiza)

Drugs :

Celecoxib
Hydergine
Nimodipine
Selegiline
Memantine
Rivastigmine
Galantamine (sold as supplement in the States)
Bis(7)-tacrine
Paracetamol

This post has been edited by Tham: Nov 4 2013, 01:12 AM
SUSTham
post Oct 28 2013, 08:41 PM

1,576 posts

" .... glaucoma is instead caused by a deficiency of of oxygen and blood flow
..... the result of insufficient blood flow due to agglutination (clumping together)
of the red blood cells and waste buildup in the cells and intercellular fluids. "

" These blood-corpuscle clusters cannot squeeze through the extremely
tiny capillaries in the posterior of the eye, so cannot deliver oxygen to the
mitochondria. This is what the problem has been all along, and if people
continue to eat soy and canola oils, a lot more of them are going to
experience vision irregularities - like retinitis and macula lutea degeneration.
"

" Death of the mitochondria in the cells in the posterior of the eye is due
to oxygen starvation, sodium toxicity and waste accumulation. When the
mitochondria die, the cells die and the posterior eye tissues atrophy. In this
respect, glaucoma has much in common with hair loss, Alzheimer's disease,
multiple sclerosis, cerebral palsy and hearing problems.
"

http://www.shirleys-wellness-cafe.com/Cons...ert/Canola.aspx

SUSTham
post Oct 28 2013, 08:44 PM

1,576 posts

The Life Extension Foundation's protocol for glaucoma.

http://www.lef.org/protocols/eye_ear/glauc...s.htm#AnchorSug

Healthnotes :

http://www.vitaminworld.com/pages/healthno...a%2fsupplements

Vision Health Part 2: Glaucoma.

http://www.optimumhealthvitamins.com/OptiB...84/Default.aspx

Visual field protective effect of Erigeron breviscapus (vant.) Hand. Mazz.
extract on glaucoma with controlled intraocular pressure: a randomized,
double-blind, clinical trial.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/20698715

Effects of Mirtogenol on ocular blood flow and intraocular hypertension
in asymptomatic subjects.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/18618008

http://www.mirtogenol.com

SUSTham
post Oct 28 2013, 11:30 PM

1,576 posts

The synthetic cannabinoid WIN55212-2 decreases the intraocular pressure
in human glaucoma resistant to conventional therapies.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/11168547

Effect of sublingual application of cannabinoids on intraocular pressure:
a pilot study

'' Two hours after sublingual administration of 5 mg Delta-9-THC, the IOP
was significantly lower than after placebo (23.5 mm Hg vs. 27.3 mm Hg. ''

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/16988594

Delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in the treatment of end-stage open-angle glaucoma.

'' There is an impression that this treatment can lower intraocular pressure, but
the development of tolerance and significant systemic toxicity appears to limit
the usefulness of this potential treatment. ''

Cannabinoids in health and disease.

http://www.dialogues-cns.com/publication/c...th-and-disease/

Therapeutic potential of cannabinoids in CNS disease.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/12617697/

Endocannabinoids in the retina: from marijuana to neuroprotection.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/18725316/

This post has been edited by Tham: Oct 28 2013, 11:36 PM
SUSTham
post Oct 29 2013, 02:22 AM

1,576 posts

Idebenone, the synthetic coenzyme Q10 analog, so-called ''Super Co Q10.''

Idebenone prevents human optic nerve head astrocytes from oxidative stress,
apoptosis, and senescence by stabilizing BAX/Bcl-2 ratio.

'' ..... idebenone may help to protect ONHA (optic nerve head astrocytes) in vivo,
and therefore might be helpful in preventing the progression of glaucomatous
degeneration. ''

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/23661043/

http://www.iherb.com/Kirkman-Labs-Idebenon...-Capsules/38856

Retinal damage caused by high intraocular pressure-induced
transient ischemia is prevented by coenzyme Q10 in rat.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/17678974/

Inhibition of oxidative stress by coenzyme Q10 increases mitochondrial
mass and improves bioenergetic function in optic nerve head astrocytes.

'' CoQ10 may provide new therapeutic potentials and strategies for protecting
ONH astrocytes against oxidative stress-mediated mitochondrial dysfunction
or alteration in glaucoma and other optic neuropathies. ''

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/24091663

This post has been edited by Tham: Oct 29 2013, 02:22 AM
SUSTham
post Oct 29 2013, 07:51 AM

1,576 posts

Jarrow Formulas, Blackcurrant extract plus lutein and zeaxanthin.

http://www.iherb.com/Jarrow-Formulas-Black...ggie-Caps/12691

Effects of blackcurrant anthocyanins on intraocular pressure
in healthy volunteers and patients with glaucoma.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/23046438

Two-year randomized, placebo-controlled study of blackcurrant
anthocyanins on visual field in glaucoma.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/22377796/

Antioxidants treatment of ocular diseases.

http://www.oftalmo.com/seo/archivos/maquet...BF/articulo.pdf

Cataract is a self-defence reaction to protect the retina from oxidative damage.

'' Extracting the opaque lens elevates the retinal oxidative stress and
increases the rate of age-related macular degeneration.
''

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/21354712

This post has been edited by Tham: Oct 30 2013, 12:28 AM
SUSTham
post Oct 30 2013, 12:26 AM

1,576 posts

Curcumin, lutein, zeaxanthin, saffron, EGCG, ginkgo,
ginseng, resveratrol, danshen, quercetin.

Botanical Compounds: Effects on Major Eye Diseases.

'' ...... all these diseases are associated with aging, and their etiology or
pathophysiologies share some common mechanistic pathways. These pathways
include oxidative stress, inflammation, and apoptotic factors, which provide insight
for potentially targetable areas. Indeed, in many cases of eye diseases,
oxidative stress due to reactive oxygen or nitrogen species and lipid peroxidation
lead to ocular cell death.
In addition, many pathogenic pathways include
inflammatory factors such as the tumor necrosis α (TNF-α) and nuclear factor-kappa B
(NF-κB). Interestingly, these pathways often intersect with the mechanism
of action of many botanical compounds.
''

'' Although IOP is one of the main factors in glaucoma, many cases progress
despite the lowering of eye pressure to standard levels.
In those cases, it is
necessary to find new and innovative ways to prevent or limit the damages other
than lowering the IOP. Since apoptosis plays a significant role in glaucoma,
investigations of compounds described as neuroprotectants may lead to promising
results. Numerous botanical compounds possess such neuroprotective properties,
which may be effective in the prevention and treatment of glaucoma. ''

http://www.hindawi.com/journals/ecam/2013/549174/

Neuroprotection with carotenoids in glaucoma.

'' Lutein and zeaxanthin, with its strong antioxidative effects, can
represent a viable solution in the complex treatment of glaucoma. ''

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/15083692/

The association of consumption of fruits/vegetables with decreased risk of glaucoma
among older African-American women in the study of osteoporotic fractures.

'' There was a protective trend against glaucoma in those consuming more fruit/fruit juices,
fresh oranges, fresh peaches, and collard greens/kale. Higher consumption of carrots and
spinach also showed some associations. Individual nutrient intake from food sources found
protective trends with higher intakes of vitamin A, vitamin C, and α-carotene , and close to
statistically significant trends with β-carotene, folate, and lutein/zeaxanthin. ''

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3448787/

This post has been edited by Tham: Oct 30 2013, 12:37 AM
SUSTham
post Nov 4 2013, 02:57 AM

1,576 posts

Astaxanthin.

Suppressive effect of astaxanthin on retinal injury
induced by elevated intraocular pressure.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/?term=20457203

Astaxanthin, a dietary carotenoid, protects retinal cells
against oxidative stress in-vitro and in mice in-vivo.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/18812030/

The medical research of astaxanthin on eye health.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/18812030/

Potential health-promoting effects of astaxanthin.

http://xa.yimg.com/kq/groups/21528364/1622...iew%2Bpaper.pdf

'' Astaxanthin one of the most neuroprotective supplements yet discovered; fat-soluble carotenoids protect the nervous system, brain and eyes. ''

http://www.naturalnews.com/035989_astaxant...protection.html

'' Beyond Eye Health : How Astaxanthin Combats Degenerative Disease ''

http://www.lefeurope.com/fr/magazines/118459

SUSTham
post Nov 5 2013, 03:34 AM

1,576 posts

Intraocular pressure decreases in the Japanese with age.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/2194306

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18039350

Primary open-angle glaucoma patients have reduced levels
of blood docosahexaenoic and eicosapentaenoic acids.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/16410047

Dietary omega 3 fatty acids decrease intraocular pressure
with age by increasing aqueous outflow.

http://www.iovs.org/cgi/pmidlookup?view=long&pmid=17251475

Cod liver oil: a potential protective supplement for human glaucoma.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3340802/

SUSTham
post Nov 13 2013, 03:53 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 7 2013, 09:49 AM)
Just to update my latest condition. Since my last posting in Early Apr 2013, and thereafter prescribed with another new drop i.e Alphagen as an additional to COSOPT & the night drop of Lumigen, my IOP now stabilised at 17 both eyes for the past 2 visits.

On the 1st visit ~ Jul/Aug, wth pressure reading at 17, I started taking Lutein (2 caps/day) + omega 3 fish oil (2 caps/day) supplements just to check the effectiveness eventhough my Doctor told me Lutein will not helps in reducing my IOP.

On the 2nd visit last mth, my eyes pressure maintained at 17. confirming that Lutein + omega 3 actually not really effective. Anyway, I'm still taking Lutein & Omega 3 and waiting for my nxt visit in Jan'14. I will update my pressure after that visit.. to further confirm the effectiveness of supplements.
The drops - PGF2 alpha analogs, beta blockers, carbonic anhydrase inhibitors,
cholnergics, sympathomimetics - are all just treating your symptoms.

The key is to treat or ameliorate the cause, and while the causes of glaucoma
are quite complex, one of them has to be a poor circulation system.

The arterioles to your eyes are tiny, so it doesn't take much to clog them up.

" .... glaucoma is instead caused by a deficiency of of oxygen and blood flow
..... the result of insufficient blood flow due to agglutination (clumping together)
of the red blood cells and waste buildup in the cells and intercellular fluids. "

" These blood-corpuscle clusters cannot squeeze through the extremely tiny
capillaries in the posterior of the eye, so cannot deliver oxygen to the mitochondria.
This is what the problem has been all along, and if people continue to eat soy and
canola oils, a lot more of them are going to experience vision irregularities - like
retinitis and macula lutea degeneration. "

" Death of the mitochondria in the cells in the posterior of the eye is due to oxygen
starvation, sodium toxicity and waste accumulation. When the mitochondria die, the
cells die and the posterior eye tissues atrophy. In this respect, glaucoma has much
in common with hair loss, Alzheimer's disease, multiple sclerosis, cerebral palsy
and hearing problems. "

http://www.shirleys-wellness-cafe.com/canola.htm

The key would then be to improve microcirculation to the eye.

There are two nutrients I can think of which can help with this :

Vinpocetine
Tocopherol nicotinate (HIjuven)

Vinpocetine is marketed as a drug in Europe (Cavinton), but sold in
the States as a supplement, because it is extracted from the periwinkle.

http://www.iherb.com/vinpocetine

Effect of vasoactive drugs on visual functions and ocular
hemodynamics in patients with primary open-angle glaucoma.

'' Increased blood flow velocity in the ocular arteries after a course of
therapy with cavinton forte suggests a better retinal blood supply,
which is a favorable marker for the prediction of the disease.
''

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/19062562

Tocopherol nicotinate is an ester compound of vitamin E and niacin (B3),
developed by Eisai and marketed here as ''Hijuven''. Eisai's products
are distributed here by Diethelm, now DKSH.

Not many pharmacies stock it. One is Fairchem Pharmacy in Jln SS 2/67,
a few doors from Eu Yan Sang.

It now costs $100 a box of 100, but you could ask them for some discount.

Otherwise you could try buying it direct from Diethelm.

It improves peripheral and microcirculation throughout your body,
as well as improves your cholestrol profile, espeically lipoprotein (a).

This is an old Hijuven brochure.

SUSTham
post Jan 6 2016, 10:42 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 13 2013, 09:36 AM)

And those machines that shoots air into the eye to get
pressure readings are really useless and inaccurate.

I was getting a bit of eye irritation and itchiness at the inner
bottom corner of my right eye.

So when I was in Sri Hartamas Shopping Center last night, I dropped
by at Optique Eyeworks optometrist on the ground floor, where they
had one of these ''puffer'' machines.

The reading on the right eye came out to ..... 20 !

The two optometrists there, however, said this was normal, and
they usually referred their customers to eye specialists only above 25.

It was one of those newer improved models, Reichert 7CR, which
accounted for the cornea's curvature in its computations :

http://www.reichert.com/product_details.cf...kuTk=1035455555

This was the reading :

IOP cc -
Right 20.0, Left 13.8

IOP g -
Right 18.6, Left 15.5

'' IOP cc '' compensates for the corneal curvature.

'' IOP g '' is the Goldman standard with the older machines, such as
their Reichert 7, or the readings usually done by an opthalmologist.

http://www.reichert.com/product_details.cf...kuTk=1035259555

Now I'm wondering if I should get this checked out at an opthalmologist.

SUSTham
post Jan 7 2016, 07:56 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 6 2016, 09:43 AM)
Air puff non contact tonometry and anterior chamber angle are not accurate, its best to check the optic cup disc ratio and compare between the 2 eyes.

normotensive open angle glaucoma will give false negative on tonometry and angle.

If CDR is abnormal or asymmetrical, then do visual field test to check how much vision is preserved.

if you live in subang area, you can go to my optometrist friends shop (usj optometrist in taipan) for screening, they do non mydriatic fundus photography and check angle for free. they can help you check all eye disease and monitor it yearly.

Yes, I am aware that those puffer machines in optical shops
are not very precise. However, the one in this particular shop
was an advanced model which took into account the corneal
curvature.

True, raised intraocular pressure is just a risk factor, and glaucoma
can occur in people with normal pressures, even children.

Conversely, there are also people who have higher than normal IOP
but who do not have glaucoma or other problems.

The optometrists there did mention that I could do a visual field
test to confirm at an opthalmologist, or other optometrists who
have the machine.

SUSTham
post Jan 7 2016, 08:37 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 6 2016, 08:01 AM)
Bro, you stated the one that you tested with is the never model. So, I guess it should be more "accurate" than the older models that I was tested with.

And what qualification the so called 2 optometrists have? Only recommend to go see specialist if reading is 25 and above!!!

FYI, my daughter at age 14, while in Melbourne went to an optometrist (who obtained a Doctor of Optometry from Uni of Melbourne) and had her eyes' pressure tested with the puff machine ( Ramjade - you taught me an easier way to described the machines, haha) and got readings of 24 and the Optometrist was so worried that she insisted that my wife takes my daughter to a specialist and was willing to refer my daughter to one! And when my daughter revisited the optometrist to get another pair of specs a few months later, she reminded my wife to make sure that my daughter go seek an specialist's opinion in respect to her high eyes pressure readings. Of course, my daughter have since then visited a specialist.

Bro, if any family member (auntie or uncle included) of yours have Glaucoma, I strongly recommend that you go a specialist to have your eyes pressure test taken. And if you feel your vision has deteriorated, even slightly, I suggest to go take a vision test too for your records so that in the future you have some reference to check if you vision deteriorates any future.

Seeing a specialist and taking the vision test here in Malaysia is cheap compared to what I pay in SG (afer conversion). But, if you are ever told you need to go for an operation, best you get a second opinion from SG. I have been seeing my SG specialist for 5 years (after being told here by a so called top Glaucoma specialist in KL that I need to go for an operation) and my pressure has maintained and I'm still using the same medication she prescribed to me when I first met her.
Thanks. I will get it checked out at Dr Harris Loo in Sentosa Medical
Center next week.

I was examined by him a few years ago. If I remember correctly,
I believe he actually measured the IOP in the same eye at about
19 or 20 at that time, but found no problems with my fundus or
retina, or any visual problems, so he said I did not need treatment.

Regarding your daughter who tested 24 on the puffer, what did
the eye specialist find out when she saw him ?

On calling the optometrists at that place today to enquire whether
a reading of 20 was common and normal with their other customers,
they replied correct - many in fact, and they did not have glaucoma !

The surgery which the glaucoma specialist advised you to do -
trabeculotomy - does not last very long, typically 5 years.

My late mum had glaucoma. She had a trabeculotomy done by
Hardeep Singh in Ipoh Road in the early 80s. Results were not
very good and did not last anyway.

Hardeep and Shukri Eye Center was one of the more well-known
eye specialists in Ipoh Road in those days, if you check around.

While waiting for the surgery in his ward, Hardeep gave her
indomethacin, knowing very well she was a gastric ulce patient.
Needless to say, she went into severe gastric pain and complications,
and we nearly had to transfer her to a better equipped hospital
for treatment.

Hardeep's place was just a small ward on the upper floors for
eye surgery.

Common sense would tell anyone, even a layman like me, that
indomethacin would be the last drug you give to a gastric ulcer patient.

Indomethacin must have been the strongest NSAID at that time.
They didn't have COX-2 selective drugs like Celebrex or even
meloxicam in those days.

It's like giving strong steroid eye drops to a glaucoma patient.

(That is why you read so often of iatrogenic deaths being causd
by doctors.)

They didn't have the newer prostaglandin drops which you are likely
on now, nor the newer carbonic anydrase inhibitors like dorzolamide
- all she has was Timoptol and Propine (dipivefrin), a prodrug
of adrenalin.

Before that, one hopeless elderly Singh opthalmologist in Campbell
Road placed her on antique pilocarpine eye drops, which caused spasms
in her eyes.

This post has been edited by Tham: Jan 7 2016, 09:15 AM
SUSTham
post Jan 7 2016, 10:36 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 6 2016, 03:10 AM)
You should. As puff can be quite inaccurate. Glaucoma symptoms can be silent until it is too late. With opthalmologist check, they can check the the retina, something the shop cannot check.
Yes, will get it checked out at Dr Harris Loo, ophalmologist in
Sentosa a bit later.

I called my GP schoolmate yesterday, told him about this, and he
asked if I saw rainbow halos, had headaches, visual disturbances.

I replied no, and he said it was unlikely I had glaucoma.

SUSTham
post Jan 9 2016, 01:11 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 7 2016, 05:32 AM)
Basically my daughter is still young and we just have to monitor. I was actually warned that I will have Glaucoma more than 25 years ago by an Optometrist while I was doing my undergraduate in USA. I then returned to KL and went to Husein Onn Eye Center and the doctor told me not too worry... fast forward 20 years, one of my eyes 70% damaged.

Obviously one can't expect miracles, and your optic nerve damage
is already quite old, but have you ever considered homeopathy ?

I do not know If he can treat adult vision loss, but Dr Zuhairni,
well-known and experienced homeopathic doctor in Jalan Gurney,
related to me years ago that he attempted to treat a case of
congenital blindness, one of many he had treated in his practice.

http://zuhairnihomeopathy.com/

Obviously both the physician and the infant's mother did not
exactly have high hopes in such a difficult condition.

I do not know how long the treatment went, but apparently one day,
the mother was stunned out of her daylights when she realized that
her child could actually SEE.

The overjoyed mother quickly took her baby to show Dr Zuhairni,
probably the happiest woman in the world.

When I met him a few months ago at his daughter's wedding and
asked him again about this case, Dr Zuhairni said that the vision recovery
was not perfect, but the infant managed to regain about 70 to 80 percent
of his sight.

Role of homoeopathy in ophthalmological conditions.

Optic Atrophy

'' From the usual stand point, this should be an irreversible change.
Please do not ask what is the mechanism of the reversal, but I have
seen considerable clinical improvement in a number of such patients.
The remedies most used are Phosphorus and Tabacum. ''

http://www.ijo.in/article.asp?issn=0301-47...48;aulast=Chand

SUSTham
post Jan 9 2016, 01:25 AM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 8 2016, 05:19 PM)
Bro, if you really free and got nothing to do - click here and read my freaking long article titled - The Secret To Eternal Happiness where I mentioned I do not want to be cured, hahaha.
I haven't read that and it is immaterial anyway - but do I understand
that you do not want to recover your eyesight ?

SUSTham
post Dec 8 2018, 06:17 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(andise @ Dec 7 2018, 03:40 AM)
Based on your experience do you think unhealthy food or sinus can give impact to Eyes pressure?
You can try Mirtogenol, which is a combination
of bilberry and pycnogenol.

Or you could take bilberry and pycnogenol separately.

https://www.mirtogenol.com

https://my.iherb.com/pr/life-extension-eye-...caps/37312?fv=1

Ideally combine with this to support your eyes for life.

https://my.iherb.com/pr/Life-Extension-Macu...-Softgels/69066

Effects of Mirtogenol® on ocular blood flow and
intraocular hypertension in asymptomatic subjects.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2447819/

Mirtogenol® supplementation in association with
dorzolamide-timolol or latanoprost improves the
retinal microcirculation in asymptomatic patients
with increased ocular pressure.

https://www.europeanreview.org/wp/wp-conten...reduces-IOP.pdf

0.0242sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:20 PM