Teana is indeed a gorgeous car. The car has this elegant look. Camry is pretty good too. Accord is just too uncle look.
2.0l Car, Teana vs Camry vs Altis, which one a better choice?
Dec 29 2011, 09:27 PM
433 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Teana is indeed a gorgeous car. The car has this elegant look. Camry is pretty good too. Accord is just too uncle look.
Dec 30 2011, 04:56 PM
1,750 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Oh boy, opinions!
The only thing Teana's got going is the 2.5 V6 engine and its exterior look. Its inside is so ahpek and its rims are the smallest amongst all the D-segment cars. Take away the 2.5 and it's just a sluggish nice-looking car. Pick the Camry and Accord, for those who always worry about resale value. For those wanting to be daring abit, go for the Mazda6. Looks stylish, is the lightest and quietest (when idle) car in its segment, complete CBU from Japan, and has more features than the average Camry/Accord. If you're talking about the resale value, the difference in value would have already been negated by the additional features that it has. |
Dec 30 2011, 04:59 PM
250 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Dec 30 2011, 04:56 PM) Oh boy, opinions! +1The only thing Teana's got going is the 2.5 V6 engine and its exterior look. Its inside is so ahpek and its rims are the smallest amongst all the D-segment cars. Take away the 2.5 and it's just a sluggish nice-looking car. Pick the Camry and Accord, for those who always worry about resale value. For those wanting to be daring abit, go for the Mazda6. Looks stylish, is the lightest and quietest (when idle) car in its segment, complete CBU from Japan, and has more features than the average Camry/Accord. If you're talking about the resale value, the difference in value would have already been negated by the additional features that it has. look at the Mazda 6 sun roof. if you let me choose golf 1.4tsi or mazda 6, i will pick mazda 6, so manly. ( in a mall, saw they put golf and mazda6 side by side) |
Dec 30 2011, 09:07 PM
544 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Mazda 6 is a Passat competitor, Golf is supposed to go against Mazda 3.
Teana looks nice though. Interior from outside also looks nice. And small rims are a good thing. It is ridiculous what these manufacturers put onto their cars nowadays, totally ruins the ride. First thing I'd do is buy smaller rims/tyres with most "premium" cars. |
Dec 30 2011, 09:55 PM
1,750 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 30 2011, 09:07 PM) And small rims are a good thing. It is ridiculous what these manufacturers put onto their cars nowadays, totally ruins the ride. First thing I'd do is buy smaller rims/tyres with most "premium" cars. well, from your post you sound like an old chap, so I won't want to argue with you on the rim size and interior thingy since we're decades apart in age and our opinions would differ greatly. I'll agree to disagree with you then. |
Dec 30 2011, 10:24 PM
1,447 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Taste is always different. No point argue but the rim thing got to said need to be just right too big ride not so comfortable too small look ugly.
Dec 31 2011, 12:47 PM
15 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Dont touch french cars. the maintenance will kill you. I used to own a 405 SRI but it keep giving me problems. first the gear box which is almost 20k at that time. then the ECU another 10k. I sold it off after that.
If you are comparing price, assuming around 150k( camry 2.0G) i would suggest you go for the new optima. it is much loaded in accessories than camry. however i have not test the car so cant say anything about the ride. |
Dec 31 2011, 01:30 PM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(wsmw @ Dec 31 2011, 12:47 PM) Dont touch french cars. the maintenance will kill you. I used to own a 405 SRI but it keep giving me problems. first the gear box which is almost 20k at that time. then the ECU another 10k. I sold it off after that. Well those are the older Peugeots i guess. We had 2 Peugeots in our family in those days and only 1 gave alot of problems while the other was problem free for many years. Plus back then there wasnt any reliable service centre for Peugeots. MBF did a hopeless job with after sales service. Most of the techies didnt know anything bout the car at all. If you are comparing price, assuming around 150k( camry 2.0G) i would suggest you go for the new optima. it is much loaded in accessories than camry. however i have not test the car so cant say anything about the ride. I think the current Peugeot 508 and Kia Optima deserves some consideration. Im too looking to upgrade and have been analysing various makes for the past year. But so far, the Kia Optima impresses me the most. BUt im still a Toyota man and will probably wait for the upcoming Camry before i make my decision. But after sales service and reliability will be issues high on my list. |
Dec 31 2011, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Dec 30 2011, 09:55 PM) well, from your post you sound like an old chap, so I won't want to argue with you on the rim size and interior thingy since we're decades apart in age and our opinions would differ greatly. lol, I'm 26. Have you driven a Touran? With stock rims it is stiff, but bearable. Fun to drive. Put huge rims on it, and it becomes downright ridiculous. It's not a Ferrari! Performance isn't as good anymore, FC is higher, ... it just doesn't make sense whatsoever, unless you only care about looks. And why would a Citroen C5, which has only one purpose, to drive very smooth, provide a magic carpet ride and be comfortable, have big rims? Totally defeats the purpose. Hey, I'm driving a Ferrari... with bicycle wheels for better fuel economy.I'll agree to disagree with you then. Btw., the old BMW 5 series (E34 and E39) looked great with small rims... and absolutely horrible with big ones. The new ones are unfortunately designed with big rims in mind. Also, if a car is very loud and has a very fast looking bodykit, it better be very fast. Otherwise I laugh and laugh and laugh when I pull away in my (unfortunately stock engined) Kangoo. The other way round it's better, a car that looks slow, but is insanely fast. There is a Opel Corsa A (A segment car from the 80s) with 2 engines and 740 hp, that looks pretty stock. I'd love to drive _that_. Even though it has oversized rims, but there they make sense. (http://opel-specials.de/boostbeast.htm) |
Dec 31 2011, 01:39 PM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 29 2011, 12:01 AM) A German AFAIK will not earn 4 times as much as a Malay for the same sort of work, after all taxes are deducted. And even if, cost of living is higher. Want to buy a house? Expect to pay at least 100000 Euro... ours would probably sell for around 170-200000, and it's an average terraced house in a slightly above average area. Going out for lunch/dinner? 10 Euro minimum. I dont think ure getting the point. You should NOT do any currency conversion. The only ppl that do currency conversions are tourists and those doing import/export business. You are working in a foreign country, earning in their currency and spending in their currency. Compare apple to apple and dont make conversions. A young copilot may earn 4000 Euro, if you work at Tesco it's probably more around 1000. On average married people earn 2141 Euro, unmarried ones 1771 (in 2007). I agree that it's very tough here, and those ridiculous car taxes are unnecessary. But at least many do have a car, no matter how awful it is, and they can afford to run it. You could consider a new good and expensive car a luxury good, at least you have something that can bring you from A to B at a reasonable cost (relatively affordable fuel), so you can get to work. Even if it is neither comfortable nor safe to get there. But what good is it to own a car, but not to be able to use it to go to work cause you can't afford the petrol? Also the fuel prices go up way faster than the earnings. A typical engineer in a consultancy firm in UK earns about 4,000 pounds which is the same as a Malaysian earning RM,4000 in Malaysia. But how much does meals, transport, housing cost in UK? A person earning 4K pounds in UK can survive pretty well. Can a Malaysian earning RM4K survive pretty well in KL? Surely not. Dinner costs 10 Euros. So what? How much does dinner cost in Malaysia? Isnt it the same or more expensive depending on where u eat? You can get a really good roast beef sandwich in Tesco Express London for only 1 pound. Can you get the same sandwich for RM1 in KL? U can barely get teh tarik for that price. As i said before, when ure earning and living in a foreign country, do not do currency conversions. U are not a tourist. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Dec 31 2011, 01:40 PM |
Dec 31 2011, 01:50 PM
Ok, I agree (mostly). I still think though that cheaper fuel is more important to the poor than a cheap car new imported... at least Malaysians have the chance to own and drive a car, even if it is a lousy one. The taxes are ridiculous though.
Dec 31 2011, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Dec 31 2011, 01:50 PM) Ok, I agree (mostly). I still think though that cheaper fuel is more important to the poor than a cheap car new imported... at least Malaysians have the chance to own and drive a car, even if it is a lousy one. The taxes are ridiculous though. Haven't u read my post last page.. the tax thing and cheap oil is not really worth it... 18 years of pumping only get to cover back the different of the price of an altis with tat time I used with the 50k I can already invest in other stuff. |
Dec 31 2011, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(0300078 @ Dec 31 2011, 03:02 PM) Haven't u read my post last page.. the tax thing and cheap oil is not really worth it... 18 years of pumping only get to cover back the different of the price of an altis with tat time I used with the 50k I can already invest in other stuff. Yes, I did. But does a poor family need to drive a brand new Altis? It's not a human right to drive a new BMW either. I also think that the taxes are way to high... bring them down to a European level for all cars (around 20%), and then maybe add 20-30% for CBU and 10-15 for CKD. I'd also introduce tax breaks (or rather penalties) for safety equipment (with a higher base tax perhaps). So maybe it is expected that a car has ABS, ESC and 4 airbags. Any car. Less than that, for each missing feature 5% more tax. Got more airbags, 5% discount for each. That way it won't be more expensive for manufacturers to put in safety equipment. An extension would be to conduct crash tests on the base spec model, and the cars would be taxed according to the results. A car that is safe only in high spec would also be taxed higher because base spec is what counts (and the manufacturer is only allowed to advertise with the crash test result of the low spec car, though they are free to add that the higher spec one is better equipped with safety equipment). The good thing about the high taxes on fuel in Europe is that contis and most cars sold there usually have a low FC. But then again FC is a big concern in Malaysia too, unlike the US. |
Jan 1 2012, 07:43 AM
I do agree they should bring down the price like u said.
But I would also make proton lower down their car price.. make it fair... No way a UK persona is 10k cheaper than Malaysia one and comes with more airbag. What is the point of this? Proton want to sell higher price so they make the government put hight price on all other brand so they themselves can sell higher too. |
Jan 1 2012, 02:01 PM
But government apparently puts a 75% tax on _all_ cars (and more on top of that on CKD and CBU ones). Including Proton. I mean... how can Proton bring down the price even more? People already complain about poor quality... The car is taxed 75% here, in UK maybe 20% + shipping. So it will probably despite higher specs still be cheaper, just because the government isn't so keen on making money. Get it down to a European level and force manufacturers to not make a single cent more. Then the price would go down a lot, and it really should.
Malaysians do earn less than others, so they should pay less for their cars too. (Same with electric appliances (a noname front loader washing machine (you can't get nonames of this type here) would cost perhaps RM 800-900), TVs (seen a 50" FullHD LG plasma for around RM 2000, but with a bit of effort it was available for 1700. Here that would only get you a HD ready 42" model...), cameras (Olympus E-PL1 is 1799 in shops here, 1000 in Germany), phones (LG Optimus 7 a few months ago RM 650, here just now it was like 1700 when I asked...), ...). Simply not fair at all, especially since they should have higher taxes than Malaysia (19% on almost everything in Germany). |
Jan 2 2012, 12:45 PM
Sometimes I just dun get it.. and this is also why some foreiner said why Malaysia things are expensive.
Jan 2 2012, 02:51 PM
@0300078 (totally off topic):
I think it has to do with competition. Maybe 15 years ago consumer electronics were rather expensive, I remember that I smuggled a computer and everything that belongs to it from Sim Lim Square to Germany. Many computer shops next to each other competing heavily vs. no computer shop at all within the next 50-100 km... so the one that was 100 km away could charge anything they wanted to. Nowadays people just order anything online, there are many online shops fighting hard for customers, and there are websites that let you compare prices. Margins must be pretty low. Btw. I have just seen that very 50" LG I mentioned above for 2099 at Giant. Similar price as in Europe. |
Jan 2 2012, 06:46 PM
1,003 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
50 inch LG is 2099?i bought my samsung 32 inch ld tv for 2099.but it was 2 years ago.
Jan 2 2012, 07:09 PM
250 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(kadajawi @ Jan 1 2012, 02:01 PM) But government apparently puts a 75% tax on _all_ cars (and more on top of that on CKD and CBU ones). Including Proton. I mean... how can Proton bring down the price even more? People already complain about poor quality... The car is taxed 75% here, in UK maybe 20% + shipping. So it will probably despite higher specs still be cheaper, just because the government isn't so keen on making money. Get it down to a European level and force manufacturers to not make a single cent more. Then the price would go down a lot, and it really should. i think u're bullshit on the price here.Malaysians do earn less than others, so they should pay less for their cars too. (Same with electric appliances (a noname front loader washing machine (you can't get nonames of this type here) would cost perhaps RM 800-900), TVs (seen a 50" FullHD LG plasma for around RM 2000, but with a bit of effort it was available for 1700. Here that would only get you a HD ready 42" model...), cameras (Olympus E-PL1 is 1799 in shops here, 1000 in Germany), phones (LG Optimus 7 a few months ago RM 650, here just now it was like 1700 when I asked...), ...). Simply not fair at all, especially since they should have higher taxes than Malaysia (19% on almost everything in Germany). e-pl1 at rm1000 in germany? can u show me a link to prove this? good news for you, E-pl1 in Old klang road is rm999, beats the german price http://www.lelong.com.my/olympus-pen-e-pl1...2-05-Sale-P.htm but then, nobody said malaysian should have cheaper goods, we only have cheaper labours to offer. and usually those 3rd world countries comes with high price stuff. go USA, low price everyday. This post has been edited by turbocharged: Jan 2 2012, 07:12 PM |
Jan 2 2012, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(green_algae @ Jan 2 2012, 06:46 PM) Yup, the 50PT250 plasma. I have the smaller brother, 42PJ350 (paid 1699 a year ago... *sigh*). The 50" only has a very low resolution (thought it was a FullHD model, my bad), but it is huge. And with an aerial TV signal they shine, colours and black levels also (not in the show room or bright living rooms, but at night... very nice). |
| Change to: | 0.0239sec
5 queries
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:19 PM |