using 5w20 on 5w30 engine, how bad can it get in reality?

TSupontheriversky
post Oct 16 2011, 09:53 PM, updated 14y ago

hi,

i have read several articles on oil suitability on engines and im quite confused with the rigidness of the classification.
my kelisa is currently using 5w30 but im planning to try 5w20 for lesser friction, more power and better FC

i know technically saying 5w20 will expose the engine to faster wear but at what rate? what if i use race-grade 5w20 on daily rev engine? sounds to me it would protects better than low grade 5w30

my thoughts were perodua recommends 10w30 to accomodate users with standard quality perodua engine oil to safeguard their reputation on reliability and also legal issues, but if i have a much higher budget, logically race quality 5w20 oil should not breakdown at 1.0 engine heat right?

i mean myvi 1.3 engine is recommended to use 10w30, my brother honda 1.4 is also recommended to use 10w30 too and both these engines produce a lot more heat than mine under the same weather condition. i read in outside forums, cars like miata use 5w20 as recommended by mazda

so i think 1.0 engine and below like 660 and 850 kancil can use 5w20

thoughts please?

This post has been edited by upontheriversky: Oct 16 2011, 10:00 PM
sinister_sid
post Oct 16 2011, 10:42 PM

u think so much for wat
the rating is to determine the oil holding strenght for specific tempreture la
can use but it will evaporate very fast la
but having said small displacement engine ir kcar can tolerate low viosious rating
TSupontheriversky
post Oct 17 2011, 02:19 AM

no im just curious and trying to justify my decision on using 5w20, so i need supporting reasons smile.gif ive read some oil threads here but they tend to get personal in the end, so i opened this discussion

how faster will it evaporates?
anyone knows the average engine temp of kcar size? if i know this then can probly refer to the oil spec

ive got 1 ok now, thanks

Quazacolt
post Oct 17 2011, 04:33 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Oct 17 2011, 02:19 AM)
no im just curious and trying to justify my decision on using 5w20, so i need supporting reasons smile.gif ive read some oil threads here but they tend to get personal in the end, so i opened this discussion

how faster will it evaporates?
anyone knows the average engine temp of kcar size? if i know this then can probly refer to the oil spec

ive got 1 ok now, thanks
oh LOL.

anyways seriously, i personally think you should follow the rating that your engine/manual, i dont think risk of faster engine wear is something worthy of consideration.

on a related note, racing oils are meant for engines that are rebuilt before/after races so they dont need any cleaning agents to keep your engine clean and are totally focused on the performance factors of its lubricating properties
TSupontheriversky
post Oct 17 2011, 10:27 PM

ive done some research to challenge the conventional thoughts on engine oil recommendation:

this is the used oil analysis done by owner of an acura comparing his mobil 1 5w30 to amsoil 5w20

although does not differ much but we can see here that amsoil syn 5w20 seems to protect better judging by lower amount of iron, aluminium, chromium (piston ring) and copper (bearing) considering it is a lower viscous oil.

surprisingly, from the chart, mobil 1 has much more molybdenum than amsoil but protection is about the same

this is another comparison i found on a forum, however it is done on different engines:

same pattern here, amsoil 5w20 offer better if not the same protection over mobil 1 5w30. even though this comparison was done on different engines, we can still conclude that it is possible to safely use lower viscous oil provided that it is a high quality one.

and most importantly, most of the cars where oil is being used and tested produce lot more heat than my car and it seems that it does not harm their engine since the wear level is acceptable. i even read from a forum that a 4.0L V6 is using 5w30 on daily ride and no one seems to object:)

i have also extracted the flash point of several quality 5w20 oil that i prefer and all of them have more than 200 degree celcius flash point, i dont think a daily stock/lightly modded car especially like mine can even go higher than 150 celcius even on hot days

so from these facts, i think if the engine does not have leaks, it is safe to use lower viscous oil than manufacturer recommendation and this only applies strictly on high quality oil.

lesser friction, more power, same or better mileage while still providing sufficient protection to engine

This post has been edited by upontheriversky: Oct 17 2011, 10:30 PM
ulet
post Oct 18 2011, 09:34 AM

1,700 posts

ermmm.. though i support of using 0w-20 or 5w-20 but i still have skeptisicm on using it in small engine(below 2000cc).
the characteristic of this small engine is high revving while 4.0l v6 for daily drive i believe is low revving(1-3k rpm) because of the nature high torque it has.
though i still say go for it!!!
vr2turbo
post Oct 18 2011, 05:12 PM

My friend use before in Honda CT. Seems it won't evaporate (disappear) if revs kept below 3to 4k rpm.
Highway runs then seems to consume some oil.
Another friend in his kelisa use 5w-30 2L mixed with 5w-20 1L...... tongue.gif
ulet
post Oct 18 2011, 05:23 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Oct 18 2011, 05:12 PM)
My friend use before in Honda CT. Seems it won't evaporate (disappear) if revs kept below 3to 4k rpm.
Highway runs then seems to consume some oil.
Another friend in his kelisa use 5w-30 2L mixed with 5w-20 1L...... tongue.gif
i did that in myvi but was running Redline oil and from 10k to 20k je
no lost in oil
vr2turbo
post Oct 18 2011, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(ulet @ Oct 18 2011, 05:23 PM)
i did that in myvi but was running Redline oil and from 10k to 20k je
no lost in oil
5w-20 oil??
ulet
post Oct 18 2011, 07:21 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Oct 18 2011, 05:47 PM)
5w-20 oil??
2 quarts redline 5w-30 + 1 quart redline 5w-20.
Quazacolt
post Oct 18 2011, 07:45 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Oct 18 2011, 07:21 PM)
2 quarts redline 5w-30  + 1 quart redline 5w-20.
is it ok to mix different viscosity rating oil?
TSupontheriversky
post Oct 18 2011, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(ulet @ Oct 18 2011, 09:34 AM)
ermmm.. though i support of using 0w-20 or 5w-20 but i still have skeptisicm on using it in small engine(below 2000cc).
the characteristic of this small engine is high revving while 4.0l v6 for daily drive i believe is low revving(1-3k rpm) because of the nature high torque it has.
though i still say go for it!!!
i agree with the rev range comparison between small and large engine but we cant be sure the heat produced by 3 cylinder 1L at 5k rpm can even match the heat from a 4L having twice the no of cylinders revved to 3k rpm and my gut is telling me that it will be lower in 1L

critically thinking, i think the grade of oil we can use depends more on driving habit and engine normal rev range. all i have to do is to learn how to read and compare different oil specs and see if it protects the engine at my rev range heat, if it does, get the thinnest one for best lubrication. if want to use thinner oil, go with bigger budget, its a calculated risk biggrin.gif

i might fork out some money for UOA just to be sure, this result can mean a big change on the rigid classification when recommending oil to others, oil option can be made more flexible by having smarter consumers smile.gif

thanks for the supporting comment biggrin.gif

u have just boosted up my confidence buddy! thanks biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 18 2011, 07:45 PM)
no right answer until we try it on and do UOA on the oil. my guess is ok, like mixing used cooking oil and fresh one, both have different viscosity but when heated they mix and come to one final viscosity but then the oil we have in the car now will not have same characteristics of the original spec on neither of the bottles

2 5w30 and 1 5w20, chances are the oil in general would behave like a very light 5w30 but it could be more complex hehe

This post has been edited by upontheriversky: Oct 18 2011, 11:04 PM
ulet
post Oct 19 2011, 12:40 AM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Oct 18 2011, 11:02 PM)
i agree with the rev range comparison between small and large engine but we cant be sure the heat produced by 3 cylinder 1L at 5k rpm can even match the heat from a 4L having twice the no of cylinders revved to 3k rpm and my gut is telling me that it will be lower in 1L

critically thinking, i think the grade of oil we can use depends more on driving habit and engine normal rev range. all i have to do is to learn how to read and compare different oil specs and see if it protects the engine at my rev range heat, if it does, get the thinnest one for best lubrication. if want to use thinner oil, go with bigger budget, its a calculated risk biggrin.gif

i might fork out some money for UOA just to be sure, this result can mean a big change on the rigid classification when recommending oil to others, oil option can be made more flexible by having smarter consumers smile.gif

thanks for the supporting comment biggrin.gif
u have just boosted up my confidence buddy! thanks biggrin.gif
no right answer until we try it on and do UOA on the oil. my guess is ok, like mixing used cooking oil and fresh one, both have different viscosity but when heated they mix and come to one final viscosity but then the oil we have in the car now will not have same characteristics of the original spec on neither of the bottles

2 5w30 and 1 5w20, chances are the oil in general would behave like a very light 5w30 but it could be more complex hehe
i dont really worry about the heat because i believe all the engine optimum temprature is 95 celcius to 115 celcius.
no matter where u are and normal petrol engines will operate at tht temprature.
im more worry on the oil film strength because the higher the rpm = higher pressure on the oil = higher temperature(temperature of the oil at the contact point).
ThunderGod_Cid
post Oct 19 2011, 11:27 AM

158 posts

what about worrying about viscosity being too thin that causes oil pressure loss and losing the capability of keeping the conrod and main bearings in full-float mode via lubrication?
gagak_84
post Oct 19 2011, 11:33 AM

132 posts

The new grade from idemitsu introduce is 5w20 also, and the manufacturer claim that FC will be lower than if we used 5w30.
ThunderGod_Cid
post Oct 19 2011, 11:36 AM

158 posts

nobody's asking. lol
gagak_84
post Oct 19 2011, 11:39 AM

132 posts

TS asking lol
ThunderGod_Cid
post Oct 19 2011, 11:46 AM

158 posts

so ure gonna pour 5w20 into a k-car?
ulet
post Oct 19 2011, 12:09 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Oct 19 2011, 11:27 AM)
what about worrying about viscosity being too thin that causes oil pressure loss and losing the capability of keeping the conrod and main bearings in full-float mode via lubrication?
y oil pressure will be loss?

*side topic
both of u grow up before report button will be use!
ThunderGod_Cid
post Oct 19 2011, 12:57 PM

158 posts

too thin of a viscosity?
ulet
post Oct 19 2011, 01:51 PM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Oct 19 2011, 12:57 PM)
too thin of a viscosity?
not thicker vicosity = harder pump to work = lost of oil pressure ?
ThunderGod_Cid
post Oct 19 2011, 03:22 PM

158 posts

pump still works with rotation of the engine purely mechanically. If you put water through the pump, it's just not thick enough to maintain the oil pressure. I'm sorry I don't really know how to put it in words mate.

vr2turbo
post Oct 19 2011, 08:28 PM

Oh! like my friend.....

Added on October 19, 2011, 8:29 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 18 2011, 07:45 PM)
Same brand of oil..... tongue.gif

Added on October 19, 2011, 8:32 pm
QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Oct 19 2011, 03:22 PM)
pump still works with rotation of the engine purely mechanically. If you put water through the pump, it's just not thick enough to maintain the oil pressure. I'm sorry I don't really know how to put it in words mate.
Too thin or no volume, but I think 5w-20 still have the volume, but not sure can stand how hot?

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Oct 19 2011, 08:32 PM
Quazacolt
post Oct 19 2011, 09:41 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Oct 19 2011, 08:28 PM)
Oh! like my friend.....

Added on October 19, 2011, 8:29 pm

Same brand of oil..... tongue.gif

Added on October 19, 2011, 8:32 pm
Too thin or no volume, but I think 5w-20 still have the volume, but not sure can stand how hot?
what about different brand, same viscosity? because i need to get rid of some left over hi-rev semi syn my mom used to use for her car. thats pretty shit compared to torco, but yea the price. i guess its justifiable LOL
bobbychin
post Oct 19 2011, 10:17 PM

605 posts

from what i know

wether the oil evaporates or not is depending on the base oil used to manufacture them. low quality base oil makes lousy lubricant oil, like those what we call "kancil" oil. The flash point temperature of the oil is low, therefore if put into big/hot engines, they will evaporate quickly, coz the oil breaks down. Branded manufacturer's use good base oil, thus their oil can withstand high temp. U'll need to search for oil specification if u really want to know which oil can last better in high temp.

wether the oil evaporates or not, is hard to tell. Coz if your engine is lousy engine, where piston ring tolerance is large, the thin oil will sip through and burn off in your engine too. thats y ppl recommend 20w-50 for old engines.
TSupontheriversky
post Oct 20 2011, 11:19 AM

low oil pressure is a concern and there is no way i know for sure that its gonna be too low so i referred to sample of uoa reports, judging by what ive seen and ones posted here it should not be a problem.

ive poured in torco 5w20, the viscosity index, hths and tbn number on it is convincing so the oil should be stable. only need to test it and see, its a calculated risk

people told me not to think too much and be dare to try but sometimes they tend to do the same by raising up concerns..thats ironic and confusing :-)

This post has been edited by upontheriversky: Oct 20 2011, 11:22 AM
ulet
post Oct 20 2011, 11:21 AM

1,700 posts

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Oct 20 2011, 11:19 AM)
low oil pressure is a concern and there is no way i know for sure that its gonna be too low so i referred to sample of uoa reports, judging by what ive seen and ones posted here it should not be a problem.

ive poured in torco 5w20, the viscosity index and tbn number on it is convincing so the oil should be stable. only need to test it and see, its a calculated risk

people told me not to think too much and be dare to try but sometimes they tend to do the same by raising up concerns..thats ironic and confusing :-)
y torco? not redline or others.
i still doesnt believe in torco though, it is only popular in msia same like chemlube.
if we were to search in bitog, there is very little info on them.

This post has been edited by ulet: Oct 20 2011, 11:22 AM
TSupontheriversky
post Oct 20 2011, 11:29 AM

oh torco is easily found here, only way i know how to get redline oil is thru mail order from jb. ive poured in engine flush before i plan to use redline so cant afford to wait

i would like to try redline mtl gear oil though. ive seen one of the uoa, mtl was used in turbocharged engine plus several racing use and it was drained at more than 20k yet the result looks good

This post has been edited by upontheriversky: Oct 20 2011, 11:33 AM
vr2turbo
post Oct 20 2011, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 19 2011, 09:41 PM)
what about different brand, same viscosity? because i need to get rid of some left over hi-rev semi syn my mom used to use for her car. thats pretty shit compared to torco, but yea the price. i guess its justifiable LOL
What car? For my old car actually I do mix. Some time needs some top up, so see what is available.... biggrin.gif
TSupontheriversky
post Oct 20 2011, 07:59 PM

just found out something useful about oil pressure vs. flow. apparently good lubrication can be dependant mainly on oil flow, not on the pressure.

lower oil pressure gives more rapid flow rate which is better at minimizing wear especially at high engine speed

further info is here:
http://lubricants.s5.com/oil_pressure.htm

Quazacolt
post Oct 20 2011, 08:54 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Oct 20 2011, 06:12 PM)
What car? For my old car actually I do mix. Some time needs some top up, so see what is available.... biggrin.gif
4+ year old nissan sentra, ok to mix? lol

Added on October 21, 2011, 1:20 pm
so anyone can provide a definitive answer to if we can mix oils of different brands/different viscosity regardless of car model/year?

if yes, why?

if no, why?

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 21 2011, 01:20 PM
vr2turbo
post Oct 21 2011, 08:20 PM

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Oct 20 2011, 07:59 PM)
just found out something useful about oil pressure vs. flow. apparently good lubrication can be dependant mainly on oil flow, not on the pressure.

lower oil pressure gives more rapid flow rate which is better at minimizing wear especially at high engine speed

further info is here:
http://lubricants.s5.com/oil_pressure.htm
If high pressure means block also...... tongue.gif

Added on October 21, 2011, 8:22 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 20 2011, 08:54 PM)
4+ year old nissan sentra, ok to mix? lol

Added on October 21, 2011, 1:20 pm
so anyone can provide a definitive answer to if we can mix oils of different brands/different viscosity regardless of car model/year?

if yes, why?

if no, why?
To me is Yes. No chemical reaction and have use many times like that, even FS mix with SS oil.....hahahhaha biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Oct 21 2011, 08:22 PM
TSupontheriversky
post Oct 21 2011, 08:32 PM

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Oct 21 2011, 08:20 PM)
huh..?
Quazacolt
post Oct 21 2011, 08:33 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Oct 21 2011, 08:20 PM)

Added on October 21, 2011, 8:22 pm
To me is Yes. No chemical reaction and have use many times like that, even FS mix with SS oil.....hahahhaha biggrin.gif
hmm mine are all semi syn, so i guess no harm trying it out on my old iswara. maybe can leave the Sentra out lol
vr2turbo
post Oct 21 2011, 09:00 PM

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Oct 21 2011, 08:32 PM)
huh..?
If oil pressure becomes too high, oil channels may be blocked......

Added on October 21, 2011, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 21 2011, 08:33 PM)
hmm mine are all semi syn, so i guess no harm trying it out on my old iswara. maybe can leave the Sentra out lol
Have been using for years, especially when change brands, and viscosity. Then get balance here and there, so mix and use loh... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Oct 23 2011, 02:24 PM
ThunderGod_Cid
post Oct 21 2011, 09:59 PM

158 posts

ive no time to read that link yet.. but, cant be too thcik cant be too thin.

too thick, cant flow through the channels and lubricate the main and conrod bearings. Yes, these are full float bearings.

Exact viscosity gives you good pressure and flow, but if it's too thin... hailat.
vr2turbo
post Oct 22 2011, 02:52 PM

Best is still to follow car manufacturer recommendation in car manual...
If modify a bit may be okay but not too much.
sinister_sid
post Oct 23 2011, 01:47 AM

new honda semi syn is 5w30
dont know y dont ask me
TSupontheriversky
post Oct 23 2011, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Oct 21 2011, 09:00 PM)
If oil pressure becomes too high, oil channels may be blocked......
oh ok now i understand smile.gif yes, it is true

anyway i think when choosing and comparing oil, best for reliability and performance would be oil that has all these common features:

-lowest v@100 and v@40 for minimum friction and wear during startup and in driving, giving best FC and engine performance. Pressure is lowered but the trade off is higher oil flow gain, fast flowing oil is what keeps 2 metals apart, pressure keeps the oil being pumped up against gravity easier for the cams, i think tongue.gif
-highest viscosity index for oil film thickness stability across different temp for bearings and cam, this contributes to tappet noise reduction too
-highest TBN number for fuel dilution resistance to reduce acid build up rate in oil giving a longer drain interval, giving less maintenance to worry about
-lowest NOACK volatility for minimum oil weight reduction from evaporation, so oil will have higher resistance to thickening throughout usage, also for long drain interval thus less maintenance
-highest HTHS for minimum oil breakdown from shearing at high temp condition such as 3 hours traffic jam during bersih or long haul high speed highway cruising

i dont think have to worry about cam and bearing wear from oil being too thin if the viscosity is really low but having a really high VI, some amsoil and redline has these combo.

if like to cut slack on oil change interval, then pay attention to highest TBN and lowest NOACK oil, amsoil has these combo.

if always change oil at 5-6k interval no matter what, can afford to get low TBN and NOACK and trade it off for lowest viscosity and high VI for best FC and performance. redline is ester based, it is cleaner on the engine than pao based while having high VI and low v100 so its good for FC and performance, although its not good at fuel dilution so have to change more often.

i concluded all the above by comparing among synthetics only regardless of the pricing, so not sure for semi or mineral.

and also on the side note, some racing oils are not advisable to use on the street or is "not street legal" because of U.S tight emission regulation, not because it has less or no protective agent that it is not safe to use on street engine, the excessive amount of protective agent in racing oils contribute to poisonous emission. But since we have no emission test in malaysia, we can use "not street legal" racing oil

correct me if im wrong

This post has been edited by upontheriversky: Oct 23 2011, 07:02 PM
vr2turbo
post Oct 25 2011, 07:41 PM

Not sure, but racing oil do not have additives for prolong use or something....my 2 sens.... blush.gif
TSupontheriversky
post Oct 26 2011, 01:56 AM

yea just found out that too, apparently there are less or no detergent like calcium, boron and magnesium
vr2turbo
post Oct 26 2011, 06:30 PM

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Oct 26 2011, 01:56 AM)
yea just found out that too, apparently there are less or no detergent like calcium, boron and magnesium
They only want the oil for lubrication and one race only, then change already.....
TSupontheriversky
post Dec 1 2011, 02:28 AM

just an update to the trial, clocking 3k now with no oil loss yet. blotter spot test on oil showed good result but got smell of gasoline a bit indicated fuel dilution

will cut open filter after oil change soon to see if any visible metal present.
vr2turbo
post Dec 1 2011, 01:16 PM

Changing at 5k km??
TSupontheriversky
post Dec 4 2011, 07:06 AM

probably at 7-8k. torco has low tbn number so the oil gets acidic quicker as compared to amsoil and redline, and it doesn have much detergent packed in so i guess thats why its popular in racing use but not for longer term purposes, same goes for redline but it lasts longer than torco for sure
vr2turbo
post Dec 4 2011, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Dec 4 2011, 07:06 AM)
probably at 7-8k. torco has low tbn number so the oil gets acidic quicker as compared to amsoil and redline, and it doesn have much detergent packed in so i guess thats why its popular in racing use but not for longer term purposes, same goes for redline but it lasts longer than torco for sure
Through the years of using engine oil, I now prefer to use cheaper oil and change more often because you will take away all the dirt, soot etc., and the engine gets new oil....... nod.gif
Oh! that is for my turbo that is. Runs very hot. I use to do 10k km or 6 months on FS, but not shorten to 3 months only.

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Dec 4 2011, 09:49 AM
TSupontheriversky
post Dec 4 2011, 03:48 PM

yes i think that would be more practical, use cheaper oil and change it more often before it starts to oxidize and get acidic, leaving residues and sludge

also i think it wont be much good if using good oil that sustains longer but the normal filter still built to last way shorter

what i do is i just put a mindset and get used to "rm40 per liter oil is standard", at least for now haha biggrin.gif
noblesse
post Dec 4 2011, 05:05 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Dec 4 2011, 03:48 PM)
yes i think that would be more practical, use cheaper oil and change it more often before it starts to oxidize and get acidic, leaving residues and sludge

also i think it wont be much good if using good oil that sustains longer but the normal filter still built to last way shorter

what i do is i just put a mindset and get used to "rm40 per liter oil is standard", at least for now haha biggrin.gif
may i know what is the difference between 5w20 and 0w20?

possible to use any of these (fully synthetic) on perodua viva 1.0?
daily driven, spirited drive once in a while..
easily traveled 100+km perday

considering between redline 5w20 / torco 0w20 or 5w20

This post has been edited by noblesse: Dec 4 2011, 05:08 PM
vr2turbo
post Dec 4 2011, 08:49 PM

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Dec 4 2011, 03:48 PM)

Yup, exactly. I want to remove the dirt if not sludge since still early. If kept longer may just turn to sludge....
I am using even cheaper then that at RM22 per L. Just got some at warehouse sales at RM70 per 4L.... biggrin.gif

Added on December 4, 2011, 8:51 pm
QUOTE(noblesse @ Dec 4 2011, 05:05 PM)
may i know what is the difference between 5w20 and 0w20?

possible to use any of these (fully synthetic) on perodua viva 1.0?
daily driven, spirited drive once in a while..
easily traveled 100+km perday

considering between redline 5w20 / torco 0w20 or 5w20
the w denotes winter, therefore 0w is even lighter then 5w, but both are not use in Malaysia weather as we never have winter here, therefore even if you have 10w-20, not much difference.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Dec 4 2011, 08:51 PM
noblesse
post Dec 4 2011, 10:39 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Dec 4 2011, 08:49 PM)
Yup, exactly. I want to remove the dirt if not sludge since still early. If kept longer may just turn to sludge....
I am using even cheaper then that at RM22 per L. Just got some at warehouse sales at RM70 per 4L.... biggrin.gif

Added on December 4, 2011, 8:51 pm
the w denotes winter, therefore 0w is even lighter then 5w, but both are not use in Malaysia weather as we never have winter here, therefore even if you have 10w-20, not much difference.... tongue.gif
thanks for the clarification bro. how bout the viscosity? suitable to use 20 for daily drive?
vr2turbo
post Dec 5 2011, 07:45 AM

QUOTE(noblesse @ Dec 4 2011, 10:39 PM)
thanks for the clarification bro. how bout the viscosity? suitable to use 20 for daily drive?
Firstly, what is the recommended viscosity written in your car manual. Should follow that.
Other that that, basically if you want to follow the chart by oil manufacturer, they recommend by ambient temperature and from what I see they will recommend at least 30 weight oil for our weather.
But oil technology have come a long way and I do see a few distributor bring in 20 weight oil nowadays, therefore I am not too sure who to follow. Therefore, I still stick to my car manufacturer recommendation.
My take, is 30 weight for smaller engines and 40 weight for larger capacity, 50 weight for hot running and/or worn engines. I had a friend on a kenari and he mixed 5w-20 with 5w-30........maybe he dare not use 20 so get 25..... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by vr2turbo: Dec 5 2011, 07:47 AM
cfc-free
post Dec 6 2011, 04:45 PM

157 posts

i would gladly try 0w-20 on both my kelisa and swift if someone is willing to sponsor tongue.gif
vr2turbo
post Dec 6 2011, 06:40 PM

QUOTE(cfc-free @ Dec 6 2011, 04:45 PM)
i would gladly try 0w-20 on both my kelisa and swift if someone is willing to sponsor tongue.gif
Fuyoh! Torco is not cheap woh........ tongue.gif
noblesse
post Dec 6 2011, 10:26 PM

65 posts

haha, what is the big difference between 20 and 30 btw?
could they probably recommend 30 due to the fact of taking cost and availability of the oil into account? since 20 is more exp and not widely available by all brands..

seriously thinking of trying.. torco sr1 0w20.. or sr5 0w20
vr2turbo
post Dec 6 2011, 11:35 PM

20 ans 30 weight difference is only the viscosity thickness, cost of making don't know...
TSupontheriversky
post Dec 15 2011, 02:16 AM

QUOTE(noblesse @ Dec 6 2011, 10:26 PM)
haha, what is the big difference between 20 and 30 btw?
could they probably recommend 30 due to the fact of taking cost and availability of the oil into account? since 20 is more exp and not widely available by all brands..

seriously thinking of trying.. torco sr1 0w20.. or sr5 0w20
that is exactly my point of why oem recommends 10w30, it is cheaper and widely available to accomodate all range of users. i bet they would recommend 0w30 or 5w30 if everyone can get it off the petrol stations. i think prius is using 0w20 and its not a small engine, toyota recommended it to score Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE) rating if im not mistaken since fuel economy is its main selling point

just pour in sr-1 5w20, im using it now for more than 3k with no oil loss and i think its going to stay that way. power and smoothness gain is highly noticeable compared to last royal purple 5w30

0w20 is in fact thinner than 5w20 if we closely compare the viscosities at 100 celcius. redline 0w20 - 8.2, redline 5w20 - 9.1, redline 10w30 - 10.7, redline 10w40 - 14.6, torco sr1 HPS 5w20 - 7.37 (thinnest i found so far)

from these figures, u can see the big difference between 10w30 and 5w20 and all w30 oil to 10w40 oil

i suggest redline for max engine cleanliness and performance, torco for high revving and long haul drive, amsoil for longer term oil drain. ive studied the spec and compound of these 3 oils hence the conclusion, other brands yet to be known

best combo i personally suggest would be amsoil with torco mpz - longer term drain from amsoil with insanely lots of moly from torco mpz

This post has been edited by upontheriversky: Dec 15 2011, 02:26 AM
Quazacolt
post Dec 15 2011, 02:25 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Dec 15 2011, 02:16 AM)
that is exactly my point of why oem recommends 10w30, it is cheaper and widely available to accomodate all range of users. i bet they would recommend 0w30 or 5w30 if everyone can get it off the petrol stations. i think prius is using 0w20 and its not a small engine, toyota recommended it to score Corporate Average Fuel Economy (CAFE) rating if im not mistaken since fuel economy is its main selling point

just pour in sr-1 5w20, im using it now for more than 3k with no oil loss and i think its going to stay that way. power and smoothness gain is highly noticeable compared to last royal purple 5w30

0w20 is in fact thinner than 5w20 if we closely compare the viscosities at 100 celcius. redline 0w20 - 8.2, redline 5w20 - 9.1, redline 10w30 - 10.7, redline 10w40 - 14.6, torco sr1 HPS 5w20 - 7.37 (thinnest i found so far)

from these figures, u can see the big difference between 10w30 and 5w20 and all w30 oil to 10w40 oil

i suggest redline for max engine cleanliness and performance, torco for high revving and long haul drive, amsoil for longer term oil drain. ive studied the spec and compound of these 3 oils hence the conclusion, other brands yet to be known
thanks for the effort/studies, i guess i know what oil to pour to my future new car thumbup.gif

(sticking to semi liqui moly for my current proton iswara lol)
TSupontheriversky
post Dec 15 2011, 02:30 AM

come to think back, engine oil is always a matter of preference no matter what others say, kudos for sticking to good quality oil biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by upontheriversky: Dec 15 2011, 02:31 AM
vr2turbo
post Dec 15 2011, 08:22 AM

Could the 0w-20 be meant for colder Japan Climate?
I tried using 5w-30 for my turbo, but once heated up, the engine became very noisy, so had to switch back to usual 5w-40.... blush.gif
shinjite
post Dec 15 2011, 08:38 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

Did your 30 oil vaporize fast too in your turbo?
low yat 82
post Dec 15 2011, 09:25 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

best combo i personally suggest would be amsoil with torco mpz - longer term drain from amsoil with insanely lots of moly from torco mpz
Ic.. I guess m gonna try out 5w30 for my sagalmst.. or would 0w20 fits better? Need advice..lol
vr2turbo
post Dec 15 2011, 09:48 AM

QUOTE(shinjite @ Dec 15 2011, 08:38 AM)
Did your 30 oil vaporize fast too in your turbo?
I took it out after a week. Cannot stand the noise. Even for 5w-40 some amount will vaporize, so 30 will be worst....but I do take it up to high revs.

My friend who tried 5w-20 of course in newer NA car, did have some oil consumed if he takes it up to high revs. If drive normal it is okay, but I think he change back to 30 already.....
Quazacolt
post Dec 15 2011, 09:49 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 15 2011, 09:25 AM)
Ic.. I guess m gonna try out 5w30 for my sagalmst.. or would 0w20 fits better? Need advice..lol
IINM saga specs are said to use xw40

so imho xw30 is as low as you can get, if no significant oil consumption, can continue, else stick back xw40

=edit=
oops edit to add in "no significant"

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Dec 15 2011, 10:13 AM
vr2turbo
post Dec 15 2011, 09:57 AM

LMST is recommended to use 10w-40 if not mistaken.....
DSV4600
post Dec 15 2011, 05:45 PM

432 posts

I'm currently using 10W-30 for daily drive & town use...
No problems also, mind you, this is mineral oil.

Of course, if you worried about oil evaporation due to always high revving, change more often lah. And don't use this oil for track use, duh...
vr2turbo
post Dec 15 2011, 08:48 PM

10w-30 for LMST is okay, but if go to track better use at least SS 10w-40.....
low yat 82
post Dec 15 2011, 09:58 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Dec 15 2011, 05:45 PM)
I'm currently using 10W-30 for daily drive & town use...
No problems also, mind you, this is mineral oil.

Of course, if you worried about oil evaporation due to always high revving, change more often lah. And don't use this oil for track use, duh...
thanks for d info... huhu

wats if not mineral oil? evaporate more?

d standard saga lmst is 10w40 smile.gif
noblesse
post Dec 15 2011, 10:09 PM

65 posts

thanks for the positive feedback! w20 oil on my nxt service smile.gif
vr2turbo
post Dec 16 2011, 07:38 AM

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 15 2011, 09:58 PM)
thanks for d info... huhu

wats if not mineral oil? evaporate more?

d standard saga lmst is 10w40 smile.gif
To me oil don't evaporate. Oil consumption is due more to the car and driving style.
Lighter viscosity is said to slip through worn pistons and rings and get burnt off.
I do drive fast and using lighter viscosity oil in my worn engine, I have to add more in, between my OCI.....
low yat 82
post Dec 16 2011, 08:52 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Dec 16 2011, 07:38 AM)
To me oil don't evaporate. Oil consumption is due more to the car and driving style.
Lighter viscosity is said to slip through worn pistons and rings and get burnt off.
I do drive fast and using lighter viscosity oil in my worn engine, I have to add more in, between my OCI.....
oo....in dat sense ,i guess it wont harm anythin if i use thinner oil... will d burnt oil bcome like 'sludge'? u noe. like burnt oil.. leave bhind some black marks...lol.
vr2turbo
post Dec 16 2011, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 16 2011, 08:52 AM)
oo....in dat sense ,i guess it wont harm anythin if i use thinner oil... will d burnt oil bcome like 'sludge'? u noe. like burnt oil.. leave bhind some black marks...lol.
If the oil get through to the combustion chamber it will be burnt off, meaning gone. That is why your oil gets less.... tongue.gif
Sludge is formed when oil is used too long and not changed..... sad.gif
GEFORCEXTREME
post Dec 16 2011, 01:54 PM

60 posts

5W-30 is ok la, not much different compared to 10W-30 in actual real life application. Only thing is better cold start protection.

The ability of the oil to protect the engine does not lies in the VISCOSITY rating (assuming the thin oil don't evaporate to nothing!), it lies in the shear strength of the oil. Synthetic oils have higher shear strength compared to mineral.

This post has been edited by GEFORCEXTREME: Dec 16 2011, 01:54 PM
vr2turbo
post Dec 16 2011, 05:56 PM

Hydro Cracked FS as good as POA and Esther base? I don't think so..... sad.gif
GEFORCEXTREME
post Dec 20 2011, 04:02 PM

60 posts

What are you talking?
vr2turbo
post Dec 20 2011, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Dec 20 2011, 04:02 PM)
What are you talking?
There are different grades of oil, from mineral to Full Synthetic (FS).
Even in FS, have 3 types.
Hydrocracked Crude oil (Mineral Base) - Group 3
PAO - pure synthetic hydrocarbon (SHC) - Group 4
Esters - fully synthesised from a reaction between acids and alcohols - Group 5

Read more here.....
http://www.balancemotorsport.co.uk/images/...ICS%20v%202.pdf
TSupontheriversky
post Dec 22 2011, 02:01 AM

it can be hard to compare same grade of oil from different brands coz all of them may have the same level of certification but they may perform in totally different manners

so for ease of comparison, the spec at the back of the oil is categorized the same for all oils such as viscosity at 40 and viscosity at 100. u will never see oil spec of viscosity at 200 or 65 degree to avoid confusion.

so here are some guides of what i think most crucial when comparing different brand of oils to see which is best suited for ur application:

1) viscosity at 40 and 100 - the lower the number, the thinner the oil, the better the lubrication. from here, we may sometimes see 0w30 can be much thinner than 10w30.

2) Viscosity index - oil ability to behave at rated viscosity at wide range of temperatures. Higher number means higher viscosity stability. important for high heat engine - turbos and high rev NA. lower number means, the viscosity will change a lot from what stated at the back of bottle at different oil temperature than 40 and 100 celcius so it is not good.

3) NOACK volatility - oil weight loss due to evaporation, the number is in percentage. the lower the better. important for turbos coz even branded oil may have high NOACK number which contributes to oil evaporation even in no-leak engines. As oil evaporates, the lighter weight will give up first, leaving the heavier oil so oil becomes thicker and less performance.

4) High temp/high shear viscosity - oil ability to sustain the mentioned condition, the higher the better. most important for turbos and racing engines.

5) Total Base Number - this is the most important feature for all average users like me to see whether the oil can actually be used for long time or not. this is the reserved alkalinity to resist fuel dilution of engine oil from combustion. Fuel dilution makes the oil acidic and therefore oxidized faster. The higher the better. Higher TBN also usually means the oil has lots of detergent which is good for engine cleanliness. Amsoil has the highest as far as i know. So there is no need for rigid classification of fully syn has to be changed at 10k, semi at 7k and so on, look at the TBN and do ur own comparison. Whatever close to 10 is good, higher is best and lower is so-so only. minimum would be 7-8 as dictated by SAE if im not mistaken

To sum up, 0w20 oil may be very thin but if the Viscosity Index and NOACK is really good, u wont experience as much oil loss or bad engine wear as compared to 10w30 having really bad NOACK and Viscosity Index. The specs are there, we just need to learn how to interpret so that we can all stop beating the bush when it comes to what oil is suitable for our application.

For enthusiast/speed chaser:
- pay attention to all specs mentioned above

For average daily drive and normal maintenance:
- pay particular attention to Total Base Number

If the brand of oil you are comparing does not provide any of the info above, it can simply means that the oil did not pass the test or the test result is not impressive that they hide it so people would still buy. We wont be able to say its bad until we see bad test numbers, so hide it and call it good stuff, people will still buy and call it good. Its all about sales in the end biggrin.gif

for example, try see castrol oil spec whether they have half of the specs i mentioned above and see amsoil, redline and torco specs on the web, these branded oil have nothing to hide biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by upontheriversky: Dec 22 2011, 02:18 AM
Quazacolt
post Dec 22 2011, 02:54 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

thanks for the info!

another thing though, hiding specs is one thing, what about unethical oil companies (unknown brand for example) posting fake numbers/specs?

vr2turbo
post Dec 22 2011, 07:58 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 22 2011, 02:54 AM)

thanks for the info!

another thing though, hiding specs is one thing, what about unethical oil companies (unknown brand for example) posting fake numbers/specs?
They are unknown so what is stopping them to print those numbers. I think the fake oil scam is worse... ohmy.gif
TSupontheriversky
post Dec 22 2011, 11:45 AM

QUOTE(vr2turbo @ Dec 22 2011, 07:58 AM)
They are unknown so what is stopping them to print those numbers. I think the fake oil scam is worse... ohmy.gif
i 2nd ur opinion bro, nothing is worse than paying for a fake oil in our engine

but is fake oil as in using recycled oil still an issue these days here? i heard of it long time ago (fake mobil 1 and castrol) but rarely these days. what are the brands that are still being imitated?
vr2turbo
post Dec 22 2011, 02:27 PM

QUOTE(upontheriversky @ Dec 22 2011, 11:45 AM)
i 2nd ur opinion bro, nothing is worse than paying for a fake oil in our engine

but is fake oil as in using recycled oil still an issue these days here? i heard of it long time ago (fake mobil 1 and castrol) but rarely these days. what are the brands that are still being imitated?
I think still have...

Tesco today got sales on....
Tesco promo this long weekend (ends 26 Dec 2011):

4L Castrol Magnetec 10W-40 - RM 89.88
4L Mobil 1 5W-50 - RM 149.88

These oil Made in the EU...

sarjantulang
post Feb 22 2012, 01:27 PM

44 posts

as salam,

the good oil are depend on their type of BASE OIL and their SECRET ADDITIVE package...

and for 5W-30 and 5W-20 oil, search for an info about their FLASH POINT, POUR POINT, VISCOSITY INDEX, and some others point that only available on website...

sarjantulang

0.0430sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:41 PM