6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

MilesAndMore
post Jan 12 2012, 10:40 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 12 2012, 07:16 PM)
There is news going around that UOB Bank is going to raise the required AUM for UOB Privilege Banking to RM500K soon. There goes my UOB Privilege Banking Credit Cards. And I guess that is why a fellow Bro in Credit Card section mentioned that UOB launching the Visa Infinite in Malaysia.
I think this will happen very soon. UOB SG raised the entry requirement fortheir Privilege Banking in Singapore from SGD300K to SGD500K last year sweat.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 12 2012, 07:16 PM)
Nice!!! I'm going to get the UOB Bank one biggrin.gif

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 12 2012, 10:06 PM)
I guess I only chance is to buy lottery in order to be a private banking customer. =(
Aim for Premier Banking/Priority Banking first smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jan 12 2012, 10:43 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jan 13 2012, 01:20 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 13 2012, 01:02 PM)
I also want to OT abit.
Here is something more realistic, put rm5000 and get rm124 return every month. More then 30% p.a. effectively. Datuk seri Najib guarantee one. SARA 1Malaysia.
Many people here are not eligible though.

MilesAndMore
post Jan 13 2012, 04:13 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 13 2012, 01:29 PM)

That is way better than any FD. Must go find more info on it.
You are also ineligible for it biggrin.gif But 30% return... yet they keep on warning us to stay away from all investment schemes that give a return that seems too good to be true. 30% seems too good to be true to me too whistling.gif

You don't like dragons do you  tongue.gif
I don't just like Dragons. I worship Dragons laugh.gif You are talking to one who was born in 1988, sometime in the month of Leo tongue.gif

The reason i am so keen to get the UOB Bank ang pow is because i have never gotten any UOB Bank ang pow before. I want to get it this year to add in to my ang pow collection biggrin.gif Seriously, i would have gotten the Citibank one with gold dragon but too bad there is no Citibank branch in KK.

Anyway, the AmBank one does look nice too with the big dragon word in Chinese. I'll go to AmBank to update my savings passbook next week and ask for some biggrin.gif

By the way, no one has seen the Public Bank and HSBC ang pow for this year yet ?

How nice of you to take the time to upload all the ang pow and share them with us rclxms.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jan 13 2012, 06:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 13 2012, 05:27 PM)
Walaueh! U a Dragon baby and somemore double No.8. No wonder lah you are so always ahead of others and prosperous smile.gif 
I wish i was born on 8th August, so that my MyKad number will start with 880808-xx-xxxx. That'd be real awesome laugh.gif

Anyway, i still have a long way to go. I wish to have multiple Premier/Priority/Privilege/CitiGold accounts like you and then eventually, Private Banking tongue.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 13 2012, 05:27 PM)

I was thick skin enough to go ask for Ang Pows from Citibank where I have closed my account with them  and StanChart Bank even tho I already no more Priority Banking Status, haha. But my ex-CB  Personal Banker was nice enough to give me few packets smile.gif SCB damn stingy tho.
Getting HSBC's next week. I got no account with Public Bank anymore so won't be getting any from them. Maybe if I not too lazy wil drop by Maybank.
Yeah, Standard Chartered is always so stingy. They gave me just two packets last time and they refused to give me more whistling.gif

Anyway, has anyone opened the Islamic FD at KFH yet ? You must open a savings account with them too right ? The savings account comes with a high profit rate too. The KFH in KK just opened last year in the former premise of UOB Bank, in the Great Eastern building. The branch looks pretty luxurious but i still prefer the interior design of the newly built UOB Bank building just across the street.
MilesAndMore
post Jan 16 2012, 05:13 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 13 2012, 11:25 PM)
My son's MyKid starts with "080808". brows.gif
Not bad biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 16 2012, 01:34 PM)
HSBC is very stingy this year. I was initially given only two packets of Ang Pow and i was told they were only given very limited amount of Ang Pow this year. My RM gave me another extra two packets and that's it doh.gif

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 16 2012, 01:39 PM)
No CIMB Preffered and Public Bank Red Carpet (Got ah?) ang pows?.. must go get so can complete your collection.  brows.gif
The PBB branch i went to this morning ran out of Ang Pow already doh.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 16 2012, 02:28 PM)
Ugly meh ? Not bad wor, one full length golden dragon at the front.
Got dragon ? Ok. I'm going to CIMB Bank tomorrow tongue.gif

By the way, many people went to PBB this morning to open new FD (Prosperity Rates). The power of a good/well-known/reliable brand brows.gif
MilesAndMore
post Jan 17 2012, 10:59 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Jan 17 2012, 09:37 AM)
Why talking about ang pow here? it should be talking fixed deposit here.
If you look at those posts posted by the seniors here, you'll notice that each reply may consists of a FD-related reply to avoid going completely OT. And i just happen to be the lenient one. So yeah. It's fine by me.

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 17 2012, 10:15 AM)
that's right when my new post was closed and ask to move here by the moderator, i wonder if he is even doing his job to moderate this thread as i find pretty much redundant of information posted here. hope he is doing his job first before asking people to follow this thread.
As well as a lot of informative information posted by the seniors here yet i don't hear they get praised ? Some moderators will just close your thread and lead you to the existing thread to avoid any thread duplication (so that we can pile all the information for our own benefits as well as other people) while some will merge it with the existing one. Whoever closed your post (or topic) must had a good valid reason to.

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 17 2012, 10:23 AM)
I guess all those talk about angpao need to be removed by other Mods
As i said, posts posted by some seniors consisted of a FD-related reply to avoid going completely OT. So it won't be possible to remove all the posts without editing the original content of the post and it is not recommended to edit one's post unless it contains a flaming message. Besides, you've posted quite a few OT replies in a few other threads too and i've been very lenient about it biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 17 2012, 10:30 AM)
I wonder if those people knows that the 3.98% is for the 12th and final month only.
I think some of them do and some of them don't. That's the power of a well-known/well-established banking house. While the majority of us here do like to check out and compare the interest rates offered by various banks and will actually take all the problem to withdraw and close the bank account when another bank is offering a much more attractive interest rate, the general public just couldn't be bothered i guess biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jan 17 2012, 11:09 AM
MilesAndMore
post Jan 17 2012, 11:22 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jan 17 2012, 11:13 AM)
So the good offers on interest rates are from OCBC, UOB, Kuwait Finance at this moment?
Yes. And the best one would actually be KFH as they pay you the interest upfront. So if you do celebrate CNY, it means better cash flow for you this CNY tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jan 17 2012, 11:23 AM
MilesAndMore
post Jan 17 2012, 04:23 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jan 17 2012, 11:23 AM)
But very limited branches for KFH...
Yes. Won't be a problem to those working/living in a place with a KFH branch nearby. Otherwise, other bigger banks such as OCBC and UOB make more sense. Anyway, it usually is those foreign banks with limited branches that are very aggressive with their FD products. Big players such as Maybank, CIMB, Public Bank and RHB Bank just couldn't be bothered most of the time sweat.gif The only local bank that sometimes offers a very attractive interest rate is AmBank (and Hong Leong Bank too with their Junior FD - info provided by Gen-X).

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 17 2012, 11:51 AM)
hi MilesAndMore,

let's be clear about this, sharing of info is not about getting praised . it's not about left hand out, right hand in. if we have this school of thought from the traditional and convention way i seriously hope that, that person find another place else where and not to mention i do share info in lowyat for the sake of others but little expectation of being recognized. i doubt you are that person but you need to be clear on this.  I believe in Sharing with no frill or medal on honor.

Once a while it's ok to fill the forum with some jokes and other irrelavant stuff but the sign of spillover had took it cause thus the reaction of this post is by mean unnecessary but it happen spontaneusly.
The whole point about getting praised was to show that usually a very puny thing gets picked on but when people actually do something right or have contributed something, it usually goes unnoticed. I'm not saying that anyone here is hungry to be thanked for the information they provided, else many people who frequent this section won't be bothered to post anything here or to share the information they know anymore. I bet that you probably can get a better information here rather than directly from the bank and many people here actually speak through their experience, thus the information provided are usually the latest and accurate.

Besides, this whole ang pow discussion started because many people have gone to the bank in the past few weeks mainly to renew their FD (SCB FD 5% offer came to its term). As CNY is just around the corner, they were also given ang pow and some people just want to share it here. So it's kind of indirectly related. It's like one met B because he/she was there to meet A in the first place and so the conversation started.

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jan 17 2012, 11:51 AM)
Let's move on.
You were only asked to use the existing thread to post whatever questions you have in mind. The moderating team is doing their best to keep an eye on this forum. Anyway, yes. Moving on...

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jan 17 2012, 04:25 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jan 18 2012, 11:02 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Jan 18 2012, 09:21 AM)
is it paid full for 4%? or only certain % from 4%?
Full.

MilesAndMore
post Jan 18 2012, 11:17 AM

9,301 posts

CIMB Bank 5% bonus interest is ending soon. You do need to be a CIMB Preferred customer to be eligible for this promotion.

http://www.cimbbank.com.my/promo/bonus_interest/
MilesAndMore
post Jan 18 2012, 12:01 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Jan 18 2012, 11:36 AM)
5% for how long?
For another two weeks only. This promotion started back in October last year.

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 18 2012, 11:44 AM)
I got an offer of cash on call, annual interest just 3.6% flat.

Thinking to get this and invest in FD.. .then earn 0.4%
You still need to pay them back in installment on a monthly basis. It means that you won't get the 0.4% interest. It's so much less than that. Citibank offered me a similar deal last month. I was thinking to take up the offer and put it all into my mom's ASB but in the end, i rejected the offer.
MilesAndMore
post Jan 20 2012, 12:19 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Jan 19 2012, 05:26 PM)
normally islamic FD will share interest with bank ..u sure can get 4% full for interest?
If the profit rate is 4%, then yes. You'll get 4%, full. Still in doubt ? Go open one yourself.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 19 2012, 08:01 PM)
Also for OCBC 4%, it is NOT guaranteed as it is GIA ! I ended up going for OUB 3.75% fd.
Once again, the OCBC Al-Amin GIA is exactly the same as HSBC Amanah AGIA-I, AmIslamic Bank GIA (just to name a few) and the profit rate shown to you is fixed!

MilesAndMore
post Jan 20 2012, 05:40 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Jan 20 2012, 09:25 AM)
Do not simply challenge people.
refer to url below it is no fixed.

http://www.ocbc.com.my/OCBCAl_Amin/persona...ral-investment/

General Investment Account-i

This investment account is an alternative to the conventional fixed deposit account. The difference is there is no fixed returns. Instead, OCBC Bank shares earned profit with you based on an agreed profit sharing ratio.
You also do not simply challenge people who have actually invested their money in this kind of Islamic FD before lah whistling.gif

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Jan 20 2012, 10:05 AM)
he is the 1 rude..asking me to open account to test...why cannot advise me to check with bacnk instead asking me to open bank acc to test?
And why didn't you show me the link to OCBC earlier ? Asking you to open an account to test is considered rude ? Wow, we do learn new things everyday eh ? shocking.gif

QUOTE(smsbusiness2u @ Jan 20 2012, 10:05 AM)
why cannot advise me to check with bacnk instead asking me to open bank acc to test?
Test it yourself to believe it! Simple enough! Why make it so complicated ? Many of us speak through our experience. If you are constantly in doubt of our answers, then you should just try it yourself and put this all to rest once and for all.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 20 2012, 10:08 AM)
To me fair statement as it will answer your disbelieve once and for all, I myself went and open one to "test"  biggrin.gif
Well done! Since there is no way to convince anyone who is still in doubt (bank staffs also seem to be giving a different answer), the only way to find out is to do what Gen-X did! Learn learn... No point arguing with those who have had this Islamic FD before if you never had one yourself. There are times that we may provide a wrong information here. However, for this particular case, i am actually speaking through my experience.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 20 2012, 11:03 AM)
I was in OCBC yesterday and talked to their customer service. The quoted 4% is not guaranteed. Thats why it is called GIA. The 9 months 3.8% is fixed FD rate. Anyway, if the profit they got is higher, not sure if they will pay out higher than 4%. Well I rest the case............. Thanks for the info here as I have been looking for FD info recently.
It's fixed but many bank staffs don't seem to know it. I'm speaking through my experience as i have had Islamic FD (profit rate shown to me was 3.7% when i opened the account but by the time it matured, BNM had cut the OPR several times and the profit rate was only 2%. However, the total profit i received was based on 3.70%) smile.gif

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jan 20 2012, 04:56 PM)
Yes... Just sharing my own real life experience of similar Islamic product in AmBank back in Dec 2010, where the AmIslamic Bank having promo for 11-month tenure with indicative 3.321% p.a. return. Upon maturity in Nov 2011. I get exactly the indicative 3.321% p.a. up to the 3rd decimal places, no more no less, no surprises.   smile.gif  Been there, done that, tested.
Been there, done that too smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jan 20 2012, 06:25 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jan 31 2012, 08:23 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 31 2012, 04:32 PM)
I had a look at the T&Cs for the TD-i products (past and present). While the interest rate is indeed attractive, I notice that you need to have funds with HSBC, what they call TRB (total relationship balance).

Is this correct?
I don't quite get what you were trying to say. TRB stands for total relationship balance and from what i remember, the catch usually is that you need to sign up for HSBC Premier. For existing HSBC Premier client, you only need to come up with new funds.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 31 2012, 05:50 PM)
OPR maintain, for now, that is not bad news for us FDMC gamers.
Yes. Can be considered as a good news. It's been widely reported since last week that economists around the world expect Reserve Bank of Australia to cut their key interest rate. They already cut their key interest rate once last year and should this trend continues, central banks around Asia may follow suit too.
MilesAndMore
post Feb 1 2012, 11:26 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 1 2012, 07:30 PM)
I just updated my blog and noted that RHB lowered it's 12 months FD rate and SCB across the board! Updated 1st post too, many of the promotions only end this month.
Man... this is not good.

QUOTE(jchong @ Feb 1 2012, 10:26 PM)
What I meant was that a person has to have some existing funds with HSBC to enjoy that promotion. I guess when you sign up for HSBC Premier you have to commit some funds to the bank?

In other words, those attractive rates are not available to a walk in customer.
Nope. The promotion is applicable to new customer as well. You just need to sign up for HSBC Premier. Basically, they are asking you to deposit RM200k with them.
MilesAndMore
post Feb 14 2012, 01:36 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 13 2012, 12:52 PM)
And UOB PB status now requires AUM RM500K.
Aiyo!!! But they don't really offer much for their Privilege Banking service compared to other banks.

MilesAndMore
post Feb 14 2012, 08:46 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 14 2012, 01:44 PM)
UOB PB better than any other PB, free coffee and cold drinks for the entire family at their branch at Orchard Road  tongue.gif PBB also need AUM RM500K and their CC no better than UOB's. UOB PB hall is usually crowded, too many people got PB Status. I guess with inflation, we can expect more banks to increase the required minimum AUM.
Please please please don't cry.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 14 2012, 01:44 PM)
OT, I attended a dinner hosted by UOB just b4 CNY and the food was excellent, but I did not get the invitation, the person who was invited wanted a driver and I volunteered, hahaha.
Which hotel ? They only invite those who recently bought some insurance, structured products, unit trusts etc. from them. Need to continue to be a "good" customer to them in order to get invited to all these fancy dinners sweat.gif

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 14 2012, 04:55 PM)
Also, I have yet to get my OCBC PB Debit card. I think sure we get as system already shows it smile.gif 1.5 months to go and then got to find new promo again, hehe
I wasn't aware there is a special OCBC Premier Banking debit card. I expect a picture from you mate (as soon as you get it) biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Feb 15 2012, 11:35 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Feb 14 2012, 09:08 PM)
The dinner at Oriental Banquet PJ, no need buy anything smile.gif But it was not for PB but organized by their commercial banking.
Commercial Banking ? Man, that's an even bigger fish biggrin.gif
MilesAndMore
post Mar 5 2012, 06:51 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Linspire @ Mar 5 2012, 04:26 PM)
Is it stable, seem some people discuss about PIDM stuff.
Since I'm not account holder for this bank,an non-malay also, also eligible ?
You do not need to be a Malay to open a bank account at Bank Rakyat.

MilesAndMore
post Mar 8 2012, 12:48 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 7 2012, 10:31 PM)
the more $$ u put into single bank the less interest they give u
Yes and no. Anyway, when you have at least a few Millions Ringgit, the can always negotiate for a more favorable rate actually.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 7 2012, 10:54 PM)
I heard that for a single account of more than RM1 million, the FD rate will not be "normal". Meaning the rate will be lower.

So for more than RM1 million, it is better to spread to more than 1 bank.
Tier-2 rate applies but as i said, if you have at least a few Millions Ringgit, you can always negotiate for a better rate.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0416sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:00 AM