5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

post Jun 9 2012, 12:04 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 9 2012, 11:38 AM)
For non-promotional rates it's considered high lar

Pls dun compare with those with T&C...like depo 10K kena depo 10% in CASA and earmark for X no. of months punya rubbish doh.gif
Nop, I'm just comparing with UOB, OCBC etc., no involvement of CASA.

Copied from first page of this thread .. I was told the UOB promo extended till end Jun.

UOB Bank Latest Fixed Deposit Promotion Rates for May 2012 - Minimum RM10K.

1 Month - 3.2%
3 Months Step Up - 1st and 2nd Month 3.2% and 3rd Month 4.2%. Average 3.53%
6 Month -3.5% (same as previous month's offer)

OCBC Bank Malaysia Promotion until 30th June 2012. Minimum Fresh Fund RM10K

3 Months 3.5%
6 Months 3.65%

This post has been edited by 1282009: Jun 9 2012, 12:06 PM
post Jun 9 2012, 12:12 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 9 2012, 12:09 PM)
both also only for short period...probably they expect BNM rates to go down soon? hmm.gif

UOB...I can't find anything on that on their web page hmm.gif
Not sure also. I went to open the 1 month FD tenure on 30th May thinking it would be expired but the guy told me the end promo is 30th Jun.

post Jun 10 2012, 11:09 AM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jun 9 2012, 08:16 PM)
Monthly basis is not worth it. Min 3 mths as rate is very much better.

FD rates due to economy wont go up, can only go down so its better to lock in for longer period.(if you think not utilising of course)..

Added on June 9, 2012, 8:18 pm

12 mths 3.25% what is the big dealĀ  whistling.gif
Monthly tenure will be good for those who might require cash in the following month. This is useful for my case wink.gif

This post has been edited by 1282009: Jun 10 2012, 11:10 AM
post Jun 12 2012, 12:42 AM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(vincentboleh @ Jun 11 2012, 03:48 PM)
Replied shown in BR facebook:
"All deposit in Bank Rakyat will be protected by the Malaysian Government under the Ministry of Finance (MOF).
Bank Rakyat is categorized as Cooperative Bank and we are not bound to be the member of PIDM."
thumbup.gif

Added on June 12, 2012, 12:43 am
QUOTE(magika @ Jun 11 2012, 01:52 PM)
Its KFH not HLB, wont interest you as very few branches...
lol laugh.gif

This post has been edited by 1282009: Jun 12 2012, 12:43 AM
post Jun 14 2012, 11:46 AM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(margarita90 @ Jun 14 2012, 11:33 AM)
[attachmentid=2893056]

the bank rakyat 1 year 4.01%, is it Qiradh General Investment Account-i (Mubeen)? is it actually a savings account or fixed deposit? very confused. anyone invested into this?
Yes, I did.

post Jun 16 2012, 01:32 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jun 15 2012, 11:11 PM)
Hmmm, even with the RM500 in HSBC Amanah Advance Account-i, it still yield higher than other bank at the moment.
E.g. 10k with 5% interest after 3 month = RM10,125, hence effective interest rate = 4.76%.
If     50k with 5% interest after 3 month = RM50,625, hence effective interest rate = 4.95%.

Seems the highest among all current promotional FD, right? drool.gif
Another "complicated" promo like SCB? I've a hard time understanding SCB promo last round.. hmm.gif

Added on June 16, 2012, 1:33 pm
QUOTE(tbheng @ Jun 16 2012, 10:07 AM)
Does anyone know if HSBC accept personal cheque (instead of Banker's Cheque) for opening new FD?
Hope they don't ask to go and collect the FD cert a few day later (like what I read here for Bank Rakyat's FD).
Not sure if the reason is to ensure cheque is cleared and then dated the FD start from cheque cleared date.  hmm.gif
The 2nd sentence is not true for my case. I got the cert the same time I opened the FD with banker's cheque.

This post has been edited by 1282009: Jun 16 2012, 01:33 PM
post Jun 16 2012, 11:22 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 16 2012, 10:50 PM)
If you read the HSBC Amanah T&C, it's "simpler" than SCB lah  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

Step 1 - Open HSBC Amanah Advance-i account with RM500
Step 2 - Open HSBC Term Deposit-i account with RM10000 or higher
Step 3 - Wait for 5% interest to be creditted into HSBC Amanah Advance-i account opened in Step 1
Step 4 - Close all accounts in HSBC Amanah Kota Damansara. thumbup.gif  sweat.gif
Ok thanks for the summary. I can see that the promo will end at 30th Sep only and tenure available is 3 months. Will try that in July when my another FD is matured.

post Jun 23 2012, 12:23 PM

4,228 posts

Interested to know what's the offer for July too.

post Jun 24 2012, 11:26 AM

4,228 posts

Ok so far the best 1 month tenure in July will be 3.00% only.

post Jun 24 2012, 12:30 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 24 2012, 12:19 PM)
Bro, you forgot the check Affin's rate - 1 month  3.05%
Thanks, left that one out wink.gif

post Jul 3 2012, 10:05 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jul 3 2012, 05:28 PM)
Say FD rm10000 at 4.5% and SmartSaver rm2000(20% of FD) at 3%, average out
(10000*4.5%+2000*3%)/12000= 4.25%

Your calculation is based on equal amount on both FD and SmartSaver.

What is the HLB junior acc interest? What portion on FD and Savings? What is the effective rate, but I doubt it will be more than 4%?

Addition:

After checking the HLB website,
the effective rate from the promo is 3.9455%, based on FD rm10000 @ 3.95% and JuniorAccount rm1000 @ 3.9%.
Seems like quite attractive rates here! hmm.gif

post Jul 5 2012, 11:30 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jul 5 2012, 03:02 PM)
Hi Guys,

I would like to know if anyone participated in the SCB promotion last 2 months where every RM 10k deposit will get cashback RM 100.

I was just wondering how would we know if we qualitfy for it or is there any notification?
I did it in May but I'm not sure exactly how they will know - system tracking I guess.

I didn't make any withdrawal via ATM so far but I did use the debit card and also did online fund transfer.

This post has been edited by 1282009: Jul 5 2012, 11:31 PM
post Jul 15 2012, 10:18 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 15 2012, 07:53 PM)
if you have RM1 million , your passive income is no longer RM2465 only.

It could well be in the range of RM5800 a month.

Even though RM 1 million is considered  peanut, we must not forget alot of people dont even have 500k by the end of their life.
Very true sad.gif

post Jul 19 2012, 09:16 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 19 2012, 12:00 PM)
UOB never post their promos on website doh.gif
Last time I got to know UOB promo also from this thread only .. wink.gif

post Jul 24 2012, 02:10 AM

4,228 posts

Quick one guys. If the FD maturity date is 25th July, the withdrawal can be made on 25th or 26th without losing the interest?

post Jul 24 2012, 11:15 AM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 24 2012, 02:58 AM)
You can withdraw on Mautiry Date, which is 25th
Thanks bro.

post Jul 27 2012, 02:07 AM

4,228 posts

Anyone received sms for the RM300 cash rebate promo for applying SCB credit card online? I could not see there's clause saying the duration we need to keep the card or did I miss it? hmm.gif

post Jul 28 2012, 06:46 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jul 28 2012, 06:39 PM)

Guess have to go back to OCBC for 3 mths as have a number of FDs maturing next month though on different dates.
Wonder whether can top up?..
I've one expiring in mid-Aug. Guess will go for UOB - 3 mth @ 3.55%, more straight forward. The rest is really too complicated in calculation.. rclxub.gif

post Jul 28 2012, 07:14 PM

4,228 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 28 2012, 06:57 PM)
Bro, not complicated if you just going for 4.5% combo. As pointed out by another member previously, the 20% in the savings account does not need to be maintained in the Smart Saver for 90 days. Only thing is got to maintain minimum RM20 in the Smart Saver Account. So you got to consider deducting this said RM20 when calculating the effective interest rate.
Thanks, bro.

post Aug 1 2012, 05:52 AM

4,228 posts

Anyone received the RM300 cashback for the SCB promo in last May/Jun for the CASA a/c opening?

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0463sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:47 AM