8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V2, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

magika
post Jun 26 2012, 09:43 AM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jun 26 2012, 08:09 AM)
Hi Ronnie,

Thanks for your formula. I just made a quick table with your formula and if you don't mind, can you help me verify ? (I'm sure this is already on top of your head hehe)

I just took an example of RM5,000. I'm deciding on weather to put on 1 month basis or 12 month basis. For example PBB now gives 3% for 1 month and 3.15% for 12 months. I do not plan to touch this money till 12 months later so If I put on a 1 month basis, I will let it roll.

So with your formula, I came up to a total of $5,149.97 after 12 months on a 1 month basis (3%). Compared to $5,157.50 after 12 months on a 12 month basis (3.15%).

Please tell me there is an error with my calculation. If not, just a mere "increase" of $7.53 ???

That being said, if I really had some kind of emergency right on the 364th day, if I go for the 12 month I will end up with only RM 5,000 - probably RM 20 for penalty right?? If I were to go for 1 month basis, I should still end up with $5,137.30 - 20 because I'd have roll over 11 months of interest?

Is my calculations correct ?
RM5k - 3.00% (1 mth) = RM152.08 (12mth) compound interest
RM5k - 3.15% (12 MTH) = rm157.50
dIFF = rm5.42

magika
post Jun 26 2012, 04:05 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jun 26 2012, 09:45 AM)
Hi thanks for your reply smile.gif Well based on the table I came up with, even with 50k, the difference is also only $75.32 (just times 10? lol?). My table correct onot lol ... so I mean risking not touching money for 12 months just to get 75bucks ? Abit the what right ... eat less 1 nice dinner oredi got more than 75bucks oredi ...
For RM50k, would it interest you if the difference is RM350.43 ?? tongue.gif
magika
post Jun 26 2012, 04:28 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(dewVP @ Jun 26 2012, 04:13 PM)
Maybank 2 months onwards only need 1k, 2 mths 3% and 3 months 3.05%

Do you all advice to put for 2 months or 3 months?

I plan to put 1k for every month, so that every month one FD mature, and I can still take it out if I need them. Advice?
eFD is it, very convenient.
It would be better to grow your money at a faster rate. Go for Bank Rakyat 3mths 3.65%..
magika
post Jun 26 2012, 08:50 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(dewVP @ Jun 26 2012, 06:06 PM)
Ya. I know best is 5k per month. But don't have that earning power yet. That's why I ask 2 months and above.

eFD? Can transfer your money to FD using M2U?

Added on June 26, 2012, 6:07 pm

What is eFD? Can transfer money to FD using m2u?

Bank rakyat? Don't have account there.
Yes , can deposit and uplift go direct back to savings account. Thats what i did for my funds below 30k, break it into 5k each(min i think), if needed instantly uplift. Do not need account with Bank Rakyat, if you want higher rate without complicated terms, then I say go for it. Your choice of course. nod.gif

Added on June 26, 2012, 8:53 pm
QUOTE(dewVP @ Jun 26 2012, 08:07 PM)
i tried. but they said i dont have a FD account. need go branch open only can manage online, no?
If not mistaken need to have fd account once then only can, sorry forgotten as i used to have quite a number of FD accounts with Maybank. Oops 1k can but min 2mths.

This post has been edited by magika: Jun 26 2012, 09:08 PM
magika
post Jun 27 2012, 02:57 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 27 2012, 08:16 AM)

Added on June 27, 2012, 8:17 am

eFD and FD are not related. eFDs can only be placed and managed online.
For MBB, eFD need to use old FD account number added with i , if not mistaken, thats why without previous FD account number has to go to bank to open.

Oops, sorry no i..

This post has been edited by magika: Jun 27 2012, 03:05 PM
magika
post Jun 27 2012, 03:13 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jun 27 2012, 03:05 PM)
i dun think so...my ex did not hv FD with MBB b4, and she can just place eFD over M2U hmm.gif
Quote from M2U

5. When is the effective date of my eFD?
If you already have a Fixed Deposit account with us, the new placement under eFD will be effective immediately. If you do not have a Fixed Deposit Account, the placement will be effective when your banking account is debited and the eFD is created by our branch (on the next working day upon making a placement request via Maybank2u.com).

So maybe without previous FD account, eFD effective only next working day..

Not very sure as I have a few previous FD account with Maybank.
magika
post Jun 27 2012, 03:18 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jun 27 2012, 03:14 PM)
same here, i only have a saving account in MBB.
can create eFD from M2U at home
That means is confirmed do not need previous FD acount, but effective date whe, is it same date of placement?
magika
post Jun 27 2012, 03:28 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 27 2012, 03:24 PM)
If this is your first-time opening Maybanka eFD account, the effective date is the NEXT WORKING DAY.
Subsequent eFD will be on the same day you open the eFD account as it will share the same eFD account number, but with different cert number  whistling.gif
Its not the first time, already have previous FD account, eFD also done last month I think..
magika
post Jun 29 2012, 07:57 AM

2,606 posts

Saw newspaper advert Hong Leong Bank 3 mths at 1%+ 2.95%. Not sure whether any complicated t&c..

Added on June 29, 2012, 8:00 am
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 28 2012, 04:57 PM)
Except for HSBC new branch promo, which other bank give free gift for FD? AS for UOB, you open Privilege Banking you do get free gifts.

As for the PIDM, the answer is yes. Even if the person B has RM100K in his own account, the separate joint account with you is still insured up to  RM250K. Google PIDM to see example.
Bank Rakyat ?

This post has been edited by magika: Jun 29 2012, 08:00 AM
magika
post Jun 30 2012, 11:36 AM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 29 2012, 11:44 PM)
Anyway, in my Fixed Deposit Page at my blog, I have included Bank Rakyat's Qiradh Investment Account. After checking thru the various accounts, I now understand why some mentioned that one can get monthly "profit" instead and not upon maturity. To get the monthly "profit", need to deposit RM20K and above.
I have ask the counter clerk before n it seems more than 3 mths only can get monthly profit. Not very sure. My next musical chair round will be around August, then only will confirm..

The first round with Bank Rakyat, I was not aware of monthly profit with quite substantial deposit mad.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Jun 30 2012, 11:44 AM
magika
post Jul 13 2012, 01:34 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 13 2012, 12:18 PM)
Service fee only applies if your total relationship balance falls below the required RM300,000 for that particular month. Not too sure how much is the service fee though. You may just walk into any OCBC branch with Premier Centre to upgrade your account to Premier Banking account.
There is a grace period of 6 mths before the service charge kicks in. So my RM told me.

magika
post Jul 16 2012, 10:01 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 16 2012, 07:12 PM)
I guessed he just plug number from the air by doubling the number.....may be what he is trying to say is if you have one million cash, you won't be putting it into FD
Most of us will be very happy indeed to get such a return.. rclxms.gif
magika
post Jul 17 2012, 08:21 AM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 16 2012, 10:47 PM)
put into EPF
Can deposit as we like ?
My EPF account still 0 withdrawal. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Jul 17 2012, 08:22 AM
magika
post Jul 17 2012, 05:52 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(joycelyn33 @ Jul 17 2012, 04:28 PM)
can i check with bank who deposit money to my account?
i have an amount deposited to my account, but i hv no idea who bank in to my account
Thats what happens to me to me too something lke #svc giro cr#
dont know what it is. My missus once ask the bank also they blur..blur or lazy to check. vmad.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Jul 17 2012, 05:54 PM
magika
post Jul 18 2012, 07:47 AM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jul 17 2012, 09:34 PM)
Nowadays e-dividend adopted by listed company using Giro to bank in the dividend paid.
Yea i know however date n amount dosent tally.
Thanks but must have a better way offinding out. Imagine for those dealing with contractors, transfer to our account regularly then report to MACC.. mad.gif
magika
post Jul 24 2012, 08:02 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(Happyman @ Jul 24 2012, 04:27 PM)
Just open 3 accounts with OCBC.

1.  50% funds 3 months FD 5% P.A
2.  50% funds 3 months FD 4.5% P.A, 20% from this 50% has to put in smart saver and get 3% P.A
3.  Saving Account

I think this is the best short term FD package.
Could not find it on the website? Is it for new premier customer promotion, which previously for aum?

magika
post Jul 28 2012, 10:12 AM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jul 27 2012, 04:34 PM)
Hi, can you advice how do you get RM152.08 from RM5k for 3%, 1 month tenure?
The original question from GymBoi was whether its more worth it to roll 3% 1 mth fd for 12 mth consecutively vs 12 mth 3.15% one placement. I merely correct the calculation as his calculation did not take into account compound interest.

Thanks Human Nature to clarify on behalf.. rclxms.gif

Just to clarify further, 1 mth fd rollover for 12 mths vs 12 mth one placement. Normal principle is 1 mth fd placement is better for small funds (5 - 20k) that there is a possible 50% odds that you may need to uplift it before the maturity date thereby losing the interest for the mentioned period. For me I placed it using eFD as it will be faster to uplift to savings account. For this the interest rate % doesnt really matter. Funds with a 25-35% odds (around 50 k) that maybe needed before mature date, i placed around 3 mth period. Funds higher(not needed) will be placed 12 mth FD. Usually we play musical chairs on fd placement period between 3mth - 12 mth though for retirees it will be better to placed at 60mth(read my lips BR) with interest monthly credited to savings account. My way only of course.. tongue.gif

Added on July 28, 2012, 10:49 am
QUOTE(ascend @ Jul 24 2012, 08:48 PM)
That OCBC FD @ 5% (up to 50% of total funds only) is the Fixed Deposit Purchase with Purchase campaign.
thanks..

This post has been edited by magika: Jul 28 2012, 10:49 AM
magika
post Jul 28 2012, 11:43 AM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 28 2012, 11:23 AM)
the compounded interest is based on the assumption that the monthly interest does not change throughout the twelve month periods which may be tough at this moment.

another way of playing musical chair is having FD mature every month, that will take care both short and long term (1 year) needs
3% 1 mth 3.15 % 12 mth not that tough

Ideally place FD 12 mth mature every mth , but to take advantage of most promotion ie Premier Banking most of us lump up if possible so taking min sum at RM300k x 12=RM3.6million will be tough. Though some banks do offer competitive board rates, thats where I m concentrating at the moment. Butbased on my assumption that max emergency funds that is currently needed does not go more than RM20k, so quite safe. If emergency funds exceed 20k it means that there is no proper planning. tongue.gif
magika
post Jul 28 2012, 12:16 PM

2,606 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jul 28 2012, 11:56 AM)
every month rm300k? nobody is talking about this amount every month. If that guy has that much then he wont be playing muscical chair.  icon_idea.gif Further more some banks provide similar offer to non-premier customer, UOB example.

I am just sharing alternative approach of playing musical chair. There is nothing wrong to need emergency fund exceed 20k, example medical needs. .emergency is something unplanned or couldn't be planned like natural disaster, accident...the emergency amount is also dependent on that person spending pattern.
Yup do agree that different person have different approach. Most of us are trying to maximised our return though sometimes quite tiring playing musical chairs..
magika
post Jul 28 2012, 06:39 PM

2,606 posts

Guess have to go back to OCBC for 3 mths as have a number of FDs maturing next month though on different dates.
Wonder whether can top up?..

This post has been edited by magika: Jul 28 2012, 06:39 PM

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0455sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:00 PM