6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Rooting your Samsung Galaxy SII (I9100G), also updating/repairing a bricked one

EightPhantomz
post Oct 29 2011, 06:44 PM

1,766 posts

Thanks TS for doing this. Really appreciate it. Will try it when the custom ROM is available. wink.gif
EightPhantomz
post Oct 31 2011, 06:35 AM

1,766 posts

Been following this thread quite frequently... must say, I'm very thankful with TS for sharing this here...

Just got my White color G model fon few days ago.
I did rooting on my tablets, so I'm not really missing any...
But I might someday... if I can find anything frustrating on the stock fon.

Hoping to see MIUI ROM maybe for our fons.

KUDOS!
EightPhantomz
post Nov 2 2011, 01:03 AM

1,766 posts

Hoping to get custom rom soon. sad.gif
EightPhantomz
post Nov 2 2011, 06:14 PM

1,766 posts

Best is not to root if warranty is still your concern.
EightPhantomz
post Nov 10 2011, 10:47 PM

1,766 posts

Successfully rooted my phone. That was easy. But still nervewrecking while doing it. Phew!

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Nov 10 2011, 11:29 PM
EightPhantomz
post Nov 11 2011, 01:28 AM

1,766 posts

Just installed CWM from Market. Tried to Backup Current ROM but failed.
EightPhantomz
post Nov 11 2011, 12:19 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Nov 11 2011, 06:19 AM)
Dude, there's no CWM apps in the market o_O
Okay, you can try this link first on how to get CWM
http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/how-to...-android-phone/

And if you still fail to get your CWM then only you use this link below
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1327509

Good luck

Added on November 11, 2011, 8:40 am********
FIRST CUSTOM ROM FOR I9100G PHONES
-------------------------------------+--------------------+
Okay heads up guys. Your very first custom rom is ready to beautify your phones. Don't forget a little donation to the creator of this custom rom.. Apply at your own risk**
~~enjoy~~

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1341288
Actually I downloaded ROM Manager from the Market.
Anyway thanks for the links to get CWM. Will try it later.

First Custom ROM?! Woot! Awesome!
EightPhantomz
post Nov 11 2011, 01:22 PM

1,766 posts

I'm trying to get CWM via MyKernel. Done. Got CWM but with yellow triangle.
Then trying to get rid of the yellow triangle by;
Reflashing the original kernel. No yellow triangle but the CWM is gone aswell. It went back to original?

How to get rid of the yellow triangle again? Other than using USB Jig.

Added on November 11, 2011, 1:23 pm
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Nov 11 2011, 01:14 PM)
Can Samsung Galaxy W be rooted using the same method? Sorry newbie here. Paiseh!
Its better to ask in Galaxy W thread. Try search the Android section.

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Nov 11 2011, 01:24 PM
EightPhantomz
post Nov 11 2011, 02:30 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Nov 11 2011, 02:24 PM)
U can use MyGkernel flash it over ur stock one it is confirm to work
Hi fuzore, did you managed to get rid of the yellow triangle?
Its no biggie though, just at the startup only. But if theres a way, want to do also.
EightPhantomz
post Nov 11 2011, 03:14 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(I9100G @ Nov 11 2011, 02:44 PM)
Thanks waveweaver. I've included the information in the first post.

Also included new way to root SGSII I9100G WITHOUT flashing with ODIN. I bet it will also work with I9100.
NICE! My binary counter is already 3. blush.gif Ordering USB Jig now.

Added on November 11, 2011, 3:25 pmSo if I want to upgrade to 2.3.6 baseband DZKJ2, I can just use DooMLoRD's toolkit?

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Nov 11 2011, 03:25 PM
EightPhantomz
post Nov 11 2011, 03:35 PM

1,766 posts

I just flash MyKernel and cant seem to get rid of the yellow triangle...
So since USB Jig can also reset the counter, thinking of buying it.
EightPhantomz
post Nov 11 2011, 07:56 PM

1,766 posts

This is so confusing.

I'm gonna stick with 2.3.5 DZKI1 with MyKernel for awhile.

Wanted to try the First Custom ROM but now, I'm kinda lost. LOL.
EightPhantomz
post Nov 11 2011, 08:17 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(Keatsan @ Nov 11 2011, 08:11 PM)
The first custom ROM is base on DZKI1. So you can still use it. But it'll be 2.3.5
Ah ok. Just notice that while at the xda forum. Anybody else tried the First Custom ROM already?
Hows it? Any significant impact?
EightPhantomz
post Nov 11 2011, 11:32 PM

1,766 posts

The older technique can be used for both firmwares. Just that the new DZKJ2 doesnt have a rooted kernel.

Anybody with DZKJ2 can confirm this? I'm still with older DZKI1. wink.gif

Added on November 12, 2011, 12:41 amStill waiting for reviews on the First Custom ROM.

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Nov 12 2011, 12:41 AM
EightPhantomz
post Nov 12 2011, 05:34 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(Sulendil @ Nov 12 2011, 05:19 PM)
Oh, I tried that button before, which also didn't solve the problem. However, like I have mentioned previously, my laptop recognize my phone just fine when my phone is in download mode, so I highly suspect there's some sort of bug with Samsung's firmware. Well, guess if I want to root my phone, I have to do it the old fashioned way then. smile.gif
Sounds like KIES problem. Up until now, I didnt managed to solved it.

This post has been edited by EightPhantomz: Nov 12 2011, 05:37 PM
EightPhantomz
post Nov 12 2011, 05:42 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(premk71 @ Nov 12 2011, 05:33 PM)
Confuse confuse.Pening.
I upgrade to 2.3.6. Used mykernel method to root. and used CWM recovery to install the first custom rom ( release yesterday and based on DZKJ1).

In about phone, it says
Android version 2.3.5
Baseband version ....DZKJ2
Kernel version  2.6.3.5 Android-2.3.5@myGKernel # 5
Build number  Juffo.DZKJ1

Is the baseband version supposed to show DZKJ2?
Also I tot flashing ROM via CWM will also change the kernel, but seem the kernel is original.

Will ask juffo in xda if there is alternative ways to flash this without CWM.
I had MyKernel on 2.3.5 before. And last night I tried to upgrade to 2.3.6 but failed. Then I flashed back to DZKI1 kernel and tried to upgrade again. Successful.
Maybe you can try this method.

Now I'm gonna try the new method to root 2.3.6 before flashing to the Juffo's Custom ROM.
EightPhantomz
post Nov 12 2011, 06:02 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(I9100G @ Nov 12 2011, 05:45 PM)
Hmm... Too bad... you would loose the latest firmware.

If you manage to save your files/data somewhere/somehow, you can always do a Factory Reset to clear up EVERYTHING, then you can dial *2767*3855#. Warning, you'll loose EVERYTHING, including data inside the internal sd.
I9100G, can you update the 1st page with link for DZKJ2 aswell? Its for those who cant upgrade from phone and Kies.

I managed to update via phone but its after I removed MyKernel. And I'm having neverending problem with Kies on the PC.

Appreciate it! wink.gif
EightPhantomz
post Nov 12 2011, 08:24 PM

1,766 posts

Successfully flashed to Juffo's Custom ROM for 2.3.6 DZKJ2+MyKernel.

EightPhantomz
post Nov 12 2011, 09:18 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Nov 12 2011, 08:29 PM)
Got big difference or not
Not that apparent. Except for the orange color for most folders/icons, got % battery indicator, more options when press POWER button.

Cant say its smoother than before aswell. Probably the same.

And as for batt life, will need to check back later. Just charged.
EightPhantomz
post Nov 12 2011, 10:29 PM

1,766 posts

Loon78a, can u paste the whole log here?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0383sec    0.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:34 AM