QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jan 3 2012, 05:51 PM)
Not only you i know a few having the similar issue like yours few days okay and later having no sim card error.
Yes, that what I said lo, many people have this problem. So, prevention is better than cure.Nokia N9 - V02 - [Fluidity King For Nokia], Let~~~ SWIPE~~~ all~~~ the~~~ way~~~
Jan 3 2012, 05:53 PM
3,308 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Jan 4 2012, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Jan 3 2012, 08:38 PM) In Melaka there is only one main Maxis Centre, if I recall correctly, it doesnt open at nite or Sundays/Public Holidays & not nearby. If those who stay in rural areas even further. Takan they want travel all the way. So, cutting sim card is what we normally will do. No, you're giving suggestion based on your experience and what you have. When giving suggestions, it's "usually" better to give something that will is less risk and less problem.Anyway, I mention the 2nd phone because battery dead situation is more probable to happen than sim card fail situation. Therefore, that is safeguard also lor, bring 2 phones, can use the old dumphone which is cheap & light. Unless one is super duper unlucky both also out of order. Like you say, prevention better than cure, there are many prevention methods. In same way, when giving suggestion, I'm giving point of view of those who dont stay in big cities. ____________________________________________________________________________ Wow aspire, you take photo of micro sim some more:lol: No lah, how can expensive smartphone put in bag, wait get stolen. My other phone is E6, that's my main line. Sometimes I bring my N9 & an old dumb phone, always two phones. My 'other phone' will always be regular sim card size, avoid sim card fail prob, rough edge prob,etc, hehehe. Cutting is also free at Nokia Dealer if we buy the phone from the shop. 1. Because you have other alternatives (e.g. 2 phone line), it doesn't mean others will have. 2. When recommending, if you ask people to cut, if the SIM card decided to fail on the person one day when he/she needed to use the phone... who should he/she blame? The card? You? Or himself/herself? If Mr. A doesn't face any problem with all his/her sim card which goes through cutting, it doesn't mean it won't happen to others. So, when recommending to others, one should be aware of what are the consequences and risk. Of course, it's not wrong to suggest cutting, but these whole thing started because I suggested replacing, then seems like people started to disagree and suggest cutting instead as if cutting is a better recommendation. Now, that in my opinion, is not good. I have explain why I said replace is better and the risks involved for cutting. Replacing is only a small fee which last you a long long time... If anyone still disagree with me and thinks cutting is better, then there's no point to continue the "discussion" because clearly the point of view and understanding is very different. QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Jan 3 2012, 11:27 PM) Dont misunderstand it depends on individual of course we recommend everyone to get a new micro sim but in some cases like mine. Not all my phones can fit a micro sim so two hassle will happen to me. No need to find adapter, the micro-SIM by default comes with the original SIM size, you can stick it back and hold it with tape just like what you show me before... if the person is not willing to pay extra RM10 just for the adapter "lah".1) I can only use that simcard on phones that can fit microsim 2) I need to go find someone that sells the adapter to convert So for some of us by cutting it to micro sim i can immediately without hassle can use it on any phones with or without micro sim but in some cases like the ones happen to Nokia N9 forumers you need to replace it. Anyway, it's no big deal, try to think far, the SIM is use for long-term, years? RM10 is what? How much is one paying for the calls, data plan, which is MONTHLY? And how much is the phone? Sometimes, it's really wonder how some people values something. Just like my friend, e.g. Camera Bags, a very well built and good quality camera bag, with protection, paddings, tough, raincover, can last years and years, cost less than RM500, he claim it's expensive, but he willing to pay for some branded bags which at least 95% of the cost is for the "brand" itself and he calls it "value for money". The same applies for many other things, above just one simple example. This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 4 2012, 09:27 AM |
Jan 4 2012, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Jan 4 2012, 01:48 PM) I think he want to do something like speedtest.I suppose one way is to tether the connection to your PC or other device which have the speedtest app or browser which support flash? But not sure if the speed will be affected. Or maybe can check with aspire sifu since he did a lot of extensive test before. |
Jan 4 2012, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Jan 4 2012, 02:27 PM) I would subscribe to aspire's reason as addition to the reasons I stated. I have found using 'ori' micro sim more problematic than cut one. Just taping to sim tray would not work. Micro sim can also fail and have failed before, not just cut one, whether use in regular size tray or micro. taping is aspire's idea, not mine As for using 2 phones, people who work outside the office usually will have this as long term contingency. Prepaid starter is cheap, 8.80 only, old dumbphone cannot sell anyway, so,use lor. It's just a suggestion, for battery suddenly go dead in the middle of nowhere situation. And it's NOT taping to the SIM tray, maybe you have no replace Micro-SIM before? It comes with the size of the FULL SIM, where you can detach as a micro-SIM........ just like you CUT the normal SIM card..... but this is MUCH MORE CLEAN AND PROPER. I really don't know what to say; Go and cut "lor"... P/S: Like I said, some people need to experience only can understand, maybe when they suggest to someone they know, and the person face problem, later found out replace is so easy and cheap; come back and scold them 'kaw kaw' why you ask me cut! Give me all the problem. But then, some people never need to face these issues in life, so it's hard to comprehend/understand. This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 4 2012, 02:56 PM |
Jan 4 2012, 02:56 PM
Jan 4 2012, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(Tuyin @ Jan 4 2012, 03:06 PM) ok...thanks anyway for replying... Another guy here face problem with the micro SIM, go back to DiGi, DiGi claim something about the micro SIM 'bent'. Anyway, if it's micro-SIM, the problem that occurs, is the telco/provider's fault and you can claim new SIM and complain.about the sim... I cut my old sim and it works fine on my n9 until i used the sim in my old phone and when i used it again on n9...no network available ..dem then i bought a micro sim...works fine until i used the micro sim again on my old phone...dem again...no network connection bought another micro sim and this time not going to use it on my old phone... But if cut, that's different story. Plus, cut sim, the edges maybe uneven or have sharp area, if unclucky, it can damage certain phone SIM slot; If that happen to someone, who to take the blame? The person blames the person who recommend? Then the person who recommend blame the person why put in other phone? It don't happen to everyone, in fact, it's rare, so it's hard for people to understand or even simulate/think so far, and most of the time, people don't take responsibility. This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 4 2012, 03:30 PM |
Jan 4 2012, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Jan 4 2012, 05:14 PM) The maxis ipad plan came with the full size sim detachable and exactly the one that gave me problem. If want to change, need to travel 1 hour to maxis centre, during office hours. No easy thing like big cities. People in big cities usually say " easy only what, here got, there got" like it's coffee shop. Brother,I can also say, if people never experience the problem, hard to understand. And if the method dont work to whoever I recommend, they will scold me more 'kaw' than cutting sim card. They can complain yes, but who got time to handle the hassle, keep going & complain, need to work also. As I said, it's NOT about you. If you prefer CUT, by all means, go and CUT; When giving recommendations, we should look OVERALL and RISK involved, which is better. Besides, I've mention it BEFORE, if really inconvenient, can CUT first and replace later when convenient.... Why die die must CUT ONLY? And cannot replace? Funny the scenario and story you give: 1. If micro-SIM don't work, why they need to blame you (even Nokia themselve recommend replace instead of cutting, that's the PROPER WAY)? It's obviously the micro-SIM problem, this is to blame the person who provide the micro-SIM. Example: If you change new Brake Disc, got problem, you can Complain and CLAIM NEW with the manufacturer/workshop 2. CUTTING --> NOT PROPER WAY (Read: NOT PROPER --> Isn't this clear enough?) So, any problem, can you complain to the telco or Nokia? First thing they see, WHY YOU CUT. Example: If you SKIM the brake disc, got problem, CAN YOU COMPLAIN AND CLAIM? Please be rational... If the phone sim slot damage by: 1. replace micro-SIM = whose fault? Can complain/claim/report? 2. CUT SIM = whose fault? Can complain/claim/report? That time, the person who recommend will probably be MIA. OMGosh.... Added on January 4, 2012, 6:06 pmIn short: 1. Is it better to recommend PROPER WAY or NON-PROPER method? 2. When suggesting/recommending, it's important to state the risk and possible problem that may occur, but I don't really see people telling the risk AND also the alternative like they can actually replace the micro-SIM for a small fee. Instead, it's more like 100% on cutting. AND the small fee, RM20, is ONLY once, you can use the SIM for years and years, calculate per day is what... NOTE: This is like recommending people to SKIM the brake disc instead of replacing brake disc and never tell them any risk involved. It's really amazing and funny after all the discussion, examples and points provided, still got hardcore supporting cutting and seems against replacement as if replacement is a crime or bad. Gosh... This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 4 2012, 06:06 PM |
Jan 4 2012, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(eaglehelang @ Jan 4 2012, 07:05 PM) Like I said, it's the micro sim that gave me problems, the so called proper way. Of course I would not go thru a method(again) that gave me problems & hassle, even if it's the 'proper way'. WOW... Funny, cutting is not SAME as changing manufacturer. Of course the person will scold, they have to go thru the hassle of changing the thing, which is much more of a hassle than cutting. More so since they know the 'proper way' did not work for me, I go recommend some more, look more funny. If I had problems the brake disc from ABC manufacturer, I would not recommend ABC manufacturer/authorised seller to people. I recommend Ah Kau workshop cos his service excellent all this many years,although not within warranty. No need to say like saving the world green forest issue. Using micro sim from telco gave me problems( I am not the only one), so naturally I hesitate to recommend. Your tone is like cutting is a big crime although you keep stressing ' by all means go & cut'. 'People never experience before, find hard to comprehend' kan? This is the other end of experiencing, I'm one of the unlucky types with the proper way. Cut at own risk. Proper way is to change to micro sim, done. ___________________________________________________________________________________ Ok, back to our beloved N9 Cutting is like doing the non-proper way. e.g. Instead of replacing the wires, you cut-and-join the wires instead. Similarly, it doesn't mean cut-and-join wires will give you problem, but it's not recommended and may give problems. Anyway, do what you want; aspire has clearly mention and understand what I'm trying to say. Thank gooodness. QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jan 4 2012, 08:18 PM) To summarize in brief: In the first place, there is NO cutting; It's not a recommended way either.1) Cut doesn't mean you will get network problem. 2) Buy micro-SIM doesn't mean no network problem. So what is the proper way? There is no proper way, so just do what you feel comfortable with. Secondly, point (2) doesn't sound valid in this context. Yes, it doesn't mean no network problem, that applies to ANY sim. But cutting, is another issue. 1. Cutting may give network problem 2. Cutting may give OTHER problem as the edges are not smooth and there may have sharp edges; There is risk of damaging certain phone sim card slot. I didn't say CANNOT cut, I said it's recommended to replace, and it's only cost a small fee, then I explain WHY and provide reasons, and problems from cutting, the risk; But seems people keep promoting cutting is better but without proper reasoning. I've provided many examples and clearly, people have mentioned the rational suggestion is to replace. At first, why pay RM20 lah... after I said, RM20 only for years of usage, phone price, etc and provide comparison; then switch topic give another reason. Well, if really not willing to pay RM20, just say "I'm not willing to pay RM20' lo, what's so hard? I also not willing to pay for somethings that people think it's worth it anyway, nothing wrong. But then, that's PERSONAL preference, when we're recommending, we should be thinking about OTHERS, so the proper shouldn't it be, you can cut, or you can replace at small fee, cut can be free but you may have risk; something like that...... QUOTE(Upsilon @ Jan 4 2012, 08:27 PM) agree with the fact that there's no PROPER way to the problem and mainly depending on your luck Read above, CUT was never the proper way. The proper way is to replace. CUT --> POTONG. Maybe to some people they think is proper, but think as GENERAL, obviously, it's NOT proper.for most people, cutting is a faster way (why run to telco and spend time waiting in queue if clipping takes only seconds? and not forgetting it is usually free). so if it fails, fall back to telco and request for a micro-SIM at a price (expecting RM8-20?) One person not willing to pay and replace, doesn't mean other should follow. I don't ask others to follow me either, I'm just highlighting the point since everyone suggesting cutting, and when I suggest replace, people actually go against it and say just cut it. That's why I started explaining, giving examples, reasons. People are still free to do what they want. Cutting is faster, yes, isn't I've said it, we can still recommend them to replace when they have the chance. Read: Recommend. But instead, here is like, do only 1 thing and 1 thing only. What if the cutted SIM Card failed? Of course, as I said, it's very normal, nobody cares or takes responsibility; Blame the shop lor, blame the phone lor, or simply "you're bad luck, haha; now go replace". Added on January 4, 2012, 10:40 pm ADDED: I did not say any of you who CUT is wrong and will have problem; so no need to keep explain about your case (never have problem), or how you have other alternatives when the sim card fail. We're on the topic about others in general, when we recommend, we don't know if they have alternatives or more than 1 phone, etc. And either cutting or replacement is not a wrong decision, just which is BETTER (as in less problem, risk, etc). One funny thing, even I provided this example, seems people didn't see it, or maybe they're too worked up: 1. Cut and NEW phone got problem - blame who? Can complain/report/claim? 2. New Micro-SIM and NEW phone got problem - blame who? Can complain/report/claim? Obviously, IF you CUT, you're taking the RISK; So, if let people know about this and let them decide what they want to choose on their BRAND NEW RM1.5K++ phone, how many will choose (1) and how many will choose (2)? Bah, think again, these are probably too rare to happen. Why do I care anyway? Just recommend what you guys want to recommend-lah. It's not about WINNING or LOSING, I'm just trying to explain it's BETTER to replace, and share my experience, reasons, and so on. I don't mind LOSING the argument but I just hope people get my point and will take note of it, but it seems people still don't get it and keep telling me how their experience has no problems instead (about them, not thinking WHAT MAY happen to others). Since like this, no point in winning the argument because that's not the purpose; people just give up, let go and doesn't get the meaning and point at all. This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 4 2012, 10:50 PM |
Jan 5 2012, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jan 5 2012, 07:48 AM) this thread is getting more and more ridiculous with the sim cutting issue, bottomline just get a new microsim for the most minimum hassle. Looking on the "bright side"; initially, it was about telling people it's better to replace with reasons, examples, etc. It could be a good discussion whereby we share understanding on the risk and problem that could happen and why should we suggest A over B, it's suppose to come to a mutual understanding, but I guess EGO gets over everyone and we go overboard (yes, me included). Let's just say, winning or losing is not the matter, because what's important is that I share my point and I can only hope that people actually gets it. Thanks goodness someone who has done many sim cutting experience and have no problems with is able to stay calm, understand and think rational. Respect to him i think you guys have more problem to worry about regarding your n9 unit, especially early adopters. I found some difference in the display for newer unit compared to the old one. please refer to the following thread for more details. http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=81217 Sometimes, it take some people to step up and speak/inform others. We can choose to keep quiet or inform others about the risk involved and said it's better to do certain things (there're many types of scenario, such as, brake disc skimming, etc). If others disagree, that's normal, then we share our information/knowledge/experiences and try to understand each other; but from some of the recent reply, it's shocking and disappointing to read after all these, that was the reply, that was what was understood, that's what they think? I hope it was just EGO gets in the way, if not, I have nothing else to say; as I said, it defeats the purpose already. This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 5 2012, 09:36 AM |
Jan 9 2012, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(rathian_mhfu @ Jan 6 2012, 11:43 PM) My data bill reached rm700..last month..so i investigated and findout that the cause was due to the phone n9 of mine send to nokia care for repair..and the date shown on data usage of rm700 was on the day of my phone in the nokia care..it was my fault by leaving my phone with my sim card in it..and the biggest mistake is i lost my receipt of reparing my phone at them..moral is..dont left ur phone to repair with ur simcard in If you're under Maxis and have subscribe to data plan, there is a maximum cap of RM250.![]() If not, you can try to negotiate with the customer service to ask them to waive off some or even full amount, tell them your situation. RM700 is a lot, the charges per use is too high, especially for Maxis. They never really change since long ago, back then there's no HD yet, we already have 3GB data plan. Now with all HD and phones supporting up to 1080p video recording, we're still on 3GB data plan and at ridiculous rate. QUOTE(Yong_5290 @ Jan 6 2012, 11:52 PM) Android is good if you want apps and customization. If you apps but want simple and smooth, then iPhone.N9 is lack of apps, but the usage wise, it's actually better, especially the true multi-tasking; Android multi-tasking is.. not good and memory management,... not good, consume lots of memory and always restart some processes, even homescreen; In my point of view, the core process like homescreen, phone, etc. should have high priority and shouldn't be disrupted/restarted, it should be stable and given high priority. Anyway, the experience with true multi-tasking is just sooooo much better. Android can't give this feeling, but if you want apps and customization, Android is a whole lot better except you would need to bear with the shortcomings of Android, and get a good spec Android... the higher the ram the better. 512MB is not enough. QUOTE(Yong_5290 @ Jan 7 2012, 12:41 AM) so well does it have tonnes of free apps? maybe some cool games and some basic apps Limited apps; If you're into Apps and Games, you have to look elsewhere.like battery saver,cool skin or background,useful widgets etc No skin or background, there's no homescreen, so no widgets. In short, no customization. QUOTE(Yong_5290 @ Jan 7 2012, 09:18 PM) since it has real-time multi tasking so means if u open up many many apps the battery will drain up very very fast? Yes and no; Depends what apps you're running. Not all apps runs in the background. Some apps still stop/pause. Video player will stop/pause, camera will sleep, etc.Web Browser will continue to run, so you can do other stuffs while the page is loading. The only drawback is no flash support, thus you can't load videos in the background while you do other stuffs. |
Jan 9 2012, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jan 9 2012, 11:24 AM) I think the max cap of RM250 also apply even if you have no data plan but Maxis is perverse in that it doesn't always follow its own rules until customers go and argue with them. If not wrong, according to the rules or terms and condition, it only state for Data Plan only. That's what I experience before as well, luckily I was on data plan that time, I even call up Maxis to confirm mine was capped at RM250 since I was on data plan. For non-data plan, as I know, it's not capped as my friends kena before and they negotiate with the customers service to waive off. My brother hava data plan including roaming data, but not all country applicable, he hit a huge amount while roaming over there; That was a disaster to "negotiate" but the amount is crazy high. |
Jan 9 2012, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(yeohsheng @ Jan 9 2012, 12:50 PM) regarding the maxis broadband. I got friend who bought the phone along with broadband package, when he receive his first bill, the bill show RM20+k due to the internet usage he use. He haven cross the link of 3gb, but how come so high? Its coz he was charged using normal rate, not the broadband rate.haha If he subscribe to the data plan, in the bill, at first it will show the normal rate, which can go over RM20K++Then it will be deducted again. |
Jan 11 2012, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jan 9 2012, 10:59 PM) 64GB model bit overkill for N9 because there's hardly any proper applications that needs large space.Unless you store lots of movies & songs then it's a different story. Can get DiGi internet gila promotion, you pay only RM48 for 3GB data instead of the normal RM68, and you can get the phone around RM1.1K brand new; OR you can buy from people who want to take the plan but don't want the phone. I suggest you to get the 2nd hand 16GB model from garage sale.There are some people selling for decent price. I'm looking for N9 16GB model for around RM1.1K.I know it's a quite low price but can't afford to throw money around now If I managed to get it's back to having fun with terminal & hacking.Android sucks in this department. I've been using SGS II for almost 4 months now.Although I'm very happy with the general performance & there's just things that keeps me look for N9.Everytime I go to DiGi center I'll definitely play around with N9.For me this plastic slab is simply irresistible. Android still lags, it needs a lots of RAM especially with all the services and apps available; the worst part is the homescreen keeps restart; These important processes like phone, etc. should be kept in memory so we can access it fast. I guess you need to root it and install some apps to control this. Anyway, the most lacking part is the lack of true multi-tasking. QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Jan 11 2012, 06:35 AM) And have to agree on you there. WP7 is limiting. Very limiting. Yet, tbh, the main reason why it (My Dell Venue Pro) replaces my N8 as my main phone is purely due to the fact that everytime I picked it up, it just work. No lagging, no hanging, just fluidly moving between apps to apps. And boy do I love that Peoples hub. Thats why N9 struck me the most. Its like an uncuffed WP7! True, WP7 is really stable but it's also very plain and simple, 2D. If fluidity is what you're looking for, N9 or WP7 is what you need. If you need apps, WP7 will have more prospect and the upcoming updates should have more functions and features available plus refinements.If you planning to get Android device, the device will need lots of ram available especially if you plan to install many apps which provides background services. Plus, the widgets too. Still, Maemo FTW! Despite how old it is. |
Jan 11 2012, 02:18 PM
QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Jan 11 2012, 01:24 PM) But you need to pay RM500 advanced for for the DiGi Smartplan right? RM500 advance payment is for the monthly payment, so you don't need to pay anything for like 10 months+. There're people willing to do it, but mostly they do it for Galaxy Note, and of course, they won't be selling at the price they bought, they might sell it higher to earn some profits. (e.g. RM1.3K for N9 16GB?). For Galaxy Note, they're selling like around RM2K, during when it's on high demand, it can go up to RM2150 or more.I don't think there will be anyone want the smartplan but don't want the phone.If iPhone plan then it's a different story. For Android I think you need around 768MB RAM to make everything smooth.When I first used SGS II I was quiet shocked to see the phone using 450MB+ RAM for regular operation.That's higher that my still rocking windows xp running pc.Even after all sort of modding mine still need around 380MB+ during idle.Google should try to optimise Android more. Sony Ericsson(yours) & Samsung(mine) always had issues with software side.Hence the crashes & etc.However in recent time uncle Sammy got slightly better while Sony,well still suck.Aside from some logging tool crash I haven't experienced any crash with my SGS II(on both stock & custom tom) Like what I said before,in term of functionality Symbian is better than WP7.If Nokia give Symbian a proper UI overhaul I think Symbian still can be competitive. From what I can see now Windows Phone 7 starting to gain some track now from developers side.Plus it has decent value added services now.Most of this things happened because of Nokia's involvement in WP7.But it's remains to see what's the end users perception on WP7. @Andy You won the N9 from the Rangers contest? No, for the contest, they haven't request back from us *yet*. I'm disqualified as I didn't submit my review on time, they need it on the first week which I'm busy. For me, I like to run many background services/apps, like Skype, YM, FB, etc. All these consume memory, too bad it's not like Maemo/MeeGo, with true integrated accounts, don't have to manually open these individually. Memory management and maintaining core processes is crucial, but seems it's not well perform on Androids, keep seeing the homescreen restart; After some research, seems this is normal for Android, need to root and install some apps to control this. Anyway, for Symbian, starting with Belle, there's much improvements and gives a better experience, make people want to meddle with it more. As for WP7, I guess it has it's own target audience, it's simple, 2D flat UI, maybe business people who don't want any fancy-looking UI, widgets, etc. or what they call, professional? QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jan 11 2012, 01:55 PM) If you want plain and simple why not go for iphone? At least it has a big appstore to console you. For those who are not into customizing the UI I can't think of any reason to get WP7 over iphone. Malaysians cannot even buy WP7 apps. Depends who you're recommending; Not everyone wants an iPhone. Any smartphone, to me, it's still better than iPhone (even my old 6600 running old Symbian, or my old Windows Mobile 2002 SMARTphone with NO Touchscreen), which is just an iPod Touch with integrated Phone feature, basically an evolved iPod. Personally, I won't consider iPhone as a smartphone. Well, that's for me. This post has been edited by Andy214: Jan 11 2012, 02:19 PM |
Jan 12 2012, 09:18 AM
Jan 12 2012, 12:02 PM
I think recently DiGi got announce something about they're upgrading their network, not sure if it's related.
Jan 13 2012, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(yeakhon @ Jan 13 2012, 06:05 AM) It is my baby, but I am selling it off The problem is, people can get NEW at that price or cheaper; How to justify getting 2nd hand at that price, UNLESS you found water-fish or people who didn't know they can get NEW at that price (e.g. those only bought at Nokia Centre @ RRP). In Forums or Internet, it'll be harder.Not all relationship ends with happy endings, so does phones. Sometimes somethings have to be let go, no matter how much you loved it. In this case my N9 Sorry for the drunk speech, am high working on night shift after some time Here's the catch: If you really intend to sell, then you need to consider carefully as the longer you keep, the value drops further faster, especially with technology devices; Soon more and more powerful and demanding phones will be available and at cheaper price. If it's not, then you can try your luck while enjoy your phone and sell when the time is right. As for trade in or selling to dealer, the normal rate is 30% off NEW price, regardless you only use it 1 day. How long N9 can hold it's value, it will affect your resale value in future. |
Jan 17 2012, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jan 16 2012, 05:10 PM) ohmy, 10 hours.. I was expecting days.. as in 3-4days..LoL Depends on your usage. 4 days no problem "lah" if you hardly use it. Cannot compare with N78, the display already so small and what it can do compared to N9.I'm not heavey-user, will use for texting (less than 10 smses a day,maybe a call or 2 that won't even last 5minutes/day).. yea, basically - that's what my usage is If it were the same usage on N9, can it be more than 4days? For your usage, should have no issue last 4 days (if you're lazy to charge); BUT I doubt you will use like that since this phone have FB feeds, apps, games, etc. If you use those or just play with the phone, it will consume more power (e.g. display consume power as well, and quite a lot). Lastly, just charge anytime you can/convenient. Nowadays battery have no charging issue, no need to wait until low battery only charge, in fact you should prevent the battery phone from turning off due to low battery. If it turns off, you should NOT try to turn it on. Don't worry about over-charging, there is cut-off, which means it will stop charging when it's full and won't re-charge until it drop below certain level. You're using a smartphone; Just enjoy it. QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jan 16 2012, 05:20 PM) ho ho..someone should try it!! Read above about battery. OR you can google to read more about it yourself.unless..there's some sort of device that allow solar charging, then I wouldn't mind using it a little more often |
Jan 17 2012, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(arsaa @ Jan 17 2012, 05:03 PM) I believe there's no smartphone that can last more than a day....what's the use of a smartphone if you keep it idle without using it....summore you pay huge money to get it but in the end just use it like normal Nokia Sabun (3310)? haiyaa... Like buying a sports car, then drive like a turtle wanna save fuel. |
Jan 18 2012, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(Upsilon @ Jan 18 2012, 12:19 AM) LoL, then depends where it happens, haha.Back in those days, it's more about BOOM BOOM, the modded cars will wind down windows and blast their sound system and drive slowly through the mamak stalls, with interior lights, etc. That's pure showing off, haha. |
| Change to: | 0.0487sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:11 PM |