Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??
Sumofwhich
Aug 15 2018, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 15 2018, 08:58 AM) Here you go. Not so easy to switch. For PRS just pick one. No need pening kepala to pick so many funds. Thanks Ramjade. Yeah, I picked the CIMB Growth PRS Ex-Japan, but then it's correction time now, also found out that FSM actually provided 0% SC for PRS, wondering why CIMB charged me SC, should have just signed up via FSM?
Sumofwhich
Sep 18 2018, 01:06 PM
I have 3, Ponzi 2.0, KGF, and Affin Hwang PRS Growth Fund, the latter is doing well, the first 2 not so much. And I didn't know about FSM, went to CIMB to open Ponzi 2.0 kena SC charges This post has been edited by Sumofwhich: Sep 18 2018, 01:07 PM
Sumofwhich
Oct 5 2018, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(lwhtiffany @ Oct 5 2018, 12:33 PM) Hi Sir/Madam Can final propose which PRS provider better, Affin Huang PRS Moderate (Asia ex-Japan) or CIMB PRS growth fund Malaysia market only... as i will buy 1 PRS next week also for RM3000 tax relief purposes. Th Lol don't need to be so formal on this forum. Good to refer to MorningStar, here's a good post by PPA https://www.ppa.my/prs-providers/prs-funds-information/
Sumofwhich
Oct 11 2018, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 11 2018, 11:50 AM) FSM or eUT Malaysia. Both zero percent service charge. Only RM8/year. If you don't topup, no charge. But wasted la. PRS money still your money at the end of the day. Income tax money paid is not your money Avoid public bank. They may be one of the most popular but they are one of the worst in the market You must know what you want to to buy. Don't simply buy because someone told you so. Read more about unit trust. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4193169Again choose what you are comfortable with. You have to understand that unit trust is a basket of stocks which invest in stocks or bonds. To make profit from unit trust, your buying price have to be way lower than selling price. RM8/year? So it isn't entirely free with them, that was the catch, RM8/year for each PRS account with them?
Sumofwhich
Oct 11 2018, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 11 2018, 08:43 PM) RM 8 per year goes to PPA not PRS provider.  QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 11 2018, 08:58 PM) RM8 charged yearly per provider.....(not payable in the year the account was opened and in the year where there is no contribution). https://www.ppa.my/joining-prs/other-important-information/Thank you! I have 3 PRS, thought buying with bank will be least charges, kena slapped with 3% SC, whereas FSM is 0% Through agents is 1.5%, but they said they will help you monitor This post has been edited by Sumofwhich: Oct 11 2018, 09:18 PM
Sumofwhich
Oct 11 2018, 09:21 PM
Yeah exactly, just buy from FSM, wonder if I'll be charged RM10 again if I sign up the same CIMB PRS with FSM when I already opened one with CIMB last time, hopefully not (but RM10 is minimal)
Sumofwhich
Oct 19 2018, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 18 2018, 02:23 PM) LGE doesn't look like Nobita?  LOL thank you, seems like I will give him a new nickname now
Sumofwhich
Oct 19 2018, 11:43 AM
Btw, anyone managed to switch PRS funds? Wonder how is the process like and any charges to it, asking because of an impending crash
Sumofwhich
Oct 19 2018, 12:57 PM
Thanks for the input. Crash is anyone's guess, but it sure is looming. QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 19 2018, 12:13 PM) switch to same provider or different provider? if really thinking of an impending crash.....try switch to a conservative PRS fund....(more on FI)...it "may" help preserves more of your value. Prolly same provider as in switch to the conservative one, for different provider not sure if there are charges, I did not register with FSM last time, should have done so.
Sumofwhich
Oct 19 2018, 01:47 PM
Will do so, tq!
Sumofwhich
Oct 30 2018, 04:21 PM
1k free money (100% gain), 1k as tax relief
Sumofwhich
Jan 9 2019, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(Jack&Guild @ Jan 9 2019, 04:38 PM) Only now I know PPA account no is own IC no. Between, I didnt see deduction of RM10 for PPA account opening fees in my FSM acc. All the money goes into the PRS investiment. Is the deduction comes later? BTW is by the way, not between.
Sumofwhich
Jan 10 2019, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(Jack&Guild @ Jan 10 2019, 11:27 AM) yeah. first time. bought it on mid dec for disposal of tax purpose. Already checked with FSM, yes apparently they didnt realised that I am new, so now they will inform the fund house on this matter. But since i invested in mid dec, so i assume this is valid for tax disposal? lol so honest of you. Yes eligible for tax relief.
Sumofwhich
Mar 6 2019, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 6 2019, 11:11 AM) The incentive is only disbursed twice a year. I think the incentive is still extended after 2018. PPA website says otherwise, prs youth free 1k link is invalid and removed
Sumofwhich
Feb 3 2020, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(mephyll @ Jan 7 2020, 11:00 PM) Remember deposit to PRS via FSM will receive RM40 voucher code? Anybody received it? Or when suppose to receive the code? I remember the code will send via email. Received weeks ago. invested on last few days of promotion period
Sumofwhich
Feb 21 2020, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(MUM @ Feb 21 2020, 04:53 PM)  The Securities Commission is liberalising the regulation of private retirement schemes (PRS) This would include allowing conservative funds to invest in foreign markets and PRS funds to invest in exchange-traded funds based on physical gold to increase asset diversification into alternative investments. "Meanwhile, PRS also enables its members to access funds to ease their financial burden in times of need,” said SC chairman Datuk Syed Zaid Albar. https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...irement-schemes  can take out also  "in times of needs", prolly property or hospital medical bills
Sumofwhich
Apr 14 2020, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(Wong Kit yew @ Apr 14 2020, 05:27 PM) First buy buying (account opening) through PPA website. Should be gains from your fund lo