Bluray king of playability player

TSbetaiso
post Oct 2 2011, 03:44 PM, updated 15y ago

110 posts

in the bygone days of DVD, Philips used to be the King of playability for DVD disc, what about bluray disc? which brand is the King of playability?

no Pana brand pls, my sister has a Pana 60 player that cannot play half the bluray disc that she bought.

is it still philip?

going to buy a bluray player, please assist/advise

buffalowings
post Oct 2 2011, 03:57 PM

225 posts

My Philip 3000 sucks my batman n transformers from amazon can't play just got a new Sony n so far so good
geforce88
post Oct 2 2011, 04:00 PM

2,841 posts

sony is so far the best, havent got any problem playing blueray.......
willkso
post Oct 2 2011, 04:57 PM

993 posts

my 1 year old Sony BDP-360 so far play all the blu-ray that I throw to it.. including the ahem disc.. biggrin.gif
dirtrun
post Oct 2 2011, 05:02 PM

3,136 posts

Oppo / dune bdp oso ok wat ...
Andrewtst
post Oct 2 2011, 05:12 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,777 posts

I had Sony & Samsung.

I got to said Sony is the king! It can play all disc I bought and load disc faster than Samsung.

** I already facing two titles got problem in my Samsung player even after firmware updates.
sonerin
post Oct 2 2011, 08:54 PM

8,739 posts

My pana bdp60 had never failed me before. Had been using for 2 years
TSbetaiso
post Oct 3 2011, 01:56 AM

110 posts

thanks for all the feedback, it seems Sony is the way to go notworthy.gif
Ngto
post Oct 3 2011, 08:15 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Oct 2 2011, 08:54 PM)
My pana bdp60 had never failed me before. Had been using for 2 years
But BDP60 poor at playing Ahem BD discs smile.gif
Bishop
post Oct 3 2011, 08:39 AM

Diagonal Views
816 posts

Blu Ray technology developed by Sony.

Think the PS3 is the testing benchmark.

Ngto
post Oct 3 2011, 09:13 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(betaiso @ Oct 2 2011, 03:44 PM)
in the bygone days of DVD, Philips used to be the King of playability for DVD disc, what about bluray disc? which brand is the King of playability?

no Pana brand pls, my sister has a Pana 60 player that cannot play half the bluray disc that she bought.

is it still philip?

going to buy a bluray player, please assist/advise

I too bought Pana BD60 , around 2 years ago. Same problem playing ahem 25GB Bluray disc. Played only a few discs, then gave up and hardly used it at all .

After that bought a MKV Media player , using it till today.

Anyone wants to buy a hardly used Panasonic BD60 player? Other than TS of course smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 3 2011, 09:16 AM
RoxyMunky
post Oct 3 2011, 09:14 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

using Phillips BDP-3200 player since early of this month...

so far can play all the BR discs thrown in, including ahem ones...

but the loading speed is really pathetic~ doh.gif

even loading up top menu takes like 5-10secs~ doh.gif

is it normal or its just that this Phillips is a srowporku?
low98944
post Oct 3 2011, 09:49 AM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 3 2011, 09:13 AM)
I too bought Pana BD60 , around 2 years ago. Same problem playing ahem 25GB Bluray disc. Played only a few discs, then gave up  and hardly used it at all .

After that bought a MKV Media player , using it till today.

Anyone wants to buy a hardly used  Panasonic BD60 player? Other than TS of course smile.gif
I use my Panasonic BD60 without any problem for around 3 years. blush.gif However, never tried ahem. Play original discs without any problem.
Ngto
post Oct 3 2011, 10:37 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Oct 3 2011, 09:49 AM)
I use my Panasonic BD60 without any problem for around 3 years.  blush.gif  However, never tried ahem.  Play original discs without any problem.
Original Disc sure no problems smile.gif. Ahem disc 50-50 chance only.
sonerin
post Oct 3 2011, 11:44 AM

8,739 posts

Support original
xpilon
post Oct 3 2011, 10:50 PM

55 posts

Hi Bro,

If you look for Full HD Media Player then I would recomend Popcorn Hour. You won't regret.
silbii
post Oct 4 2011, 02:23 PM

963 posts

try lg 550 ... but make sure u bring all your types of BDs to test out... and the mkv functionality is fabulous...plays everything so far

after having samsung / philips and this LG ... LG is the best so far ...

mensa
post Oct 5 2011, 12:23 PM

487 posts

using sony bdp 370..throw everything can play...(so far) dvd region free..fast start up..no regret smile.gif
karyeowl
post Oct 5 2011, 01:10 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Oct 4 2011, 02:23 PM)
try lg 550 ... but make sure u bring all your types of BDs to test out... and the mkv functionality is fabulous...plays everything so far

after having samsung / philips and this LG ... LG is the best so far ...

LG 550 cannot play DVD of other regions, except Region 3 and 0. sad.gif
karl7077
post Oct 13 2011, 05:20 PM

92 posts

agree sony bdps370 is the best but has stop production
silbii
post Oct 13 2011, 09:18 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(karyeowl @ Oct 5 2011, 01:10 PM)
LG 550 cannot play DVD of other regions, except Region 3 and 0. sad.gif
oh really? i havent played dvd for ages ... so don't really bother about dvd hehe tongue.gif

mezzi-quan
post Oct 13 2011, 09:19 PM

450 posts

i use ps3 to play bluray movies...............nt bad......
johnsontys
post Oct 14 2011, 08:58 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Oct 2 2011, 05:02 PM)
Oppo / dune bdp oso ok wat ...
Bro,

Do you know where can I buy Oppo /Dune in KL?
Should I invest in Oppo 83 or 93

To my understanding, Oppo do not have a distributor here - so do you know how will the warranty be insured?

sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Oct 14 2011, 10:47 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

QUOTE(johnsontys @ Oct 14 2011, 08:58 AM)
Bro,

To my understanding, Oppo do not have a distributor here - so do you know how will the warranty be insured?

Dune i think u can get it from one of our forumer e-life (sort of the nick).
Oppo no distributor in Malaysia i guess. The best bet is Spore
takuma2046
post Oct 14 2011, 12:42 PM

Plan this year end will buy sony or pioneer blu ray player. brows.gif I recommend SONY BDP-S380 OR PIONEER BDP-140 for normal user,for high end user can think about SONY BDP-S780 OR PIONEER BDP-440(will available around november or december) biggrin.gif
dirtrun
post Oct 14 2011, 03:30 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(johnsontys @ Oct 14 2011, 08:58 AM)
Bro,

Dune got e life like Bro S said..
Oppo is avlbl in hifi 4 sale webbie.. d last I saw..
Uhm 83 is discontinued.. can maybe find used one if u look hard enuff.. replacement model is 93.. If u get d sgp ed, it comes bundled wif a hrd ware rgn free hack wif full warranty [gud for sgp]
For me ; a one yr warranty is nuthin.. unless u are extremely unlucky.. most of tis decent rvwd gear ; warranty is jus a pc of paper n u dont really need to use it.. my sgp bought bd80 is more than a yr ol - no problems at all..

D

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Oct 14 2011, 03:31 PM
firestream
post Oct 19 2011, 04:16 PM

50 posts

Any idea how much is the Sony bdps 380 ?

This post has been edited by firestream: Oct 19 2011, 04:17 PM
takuma2046
post Oct 19 2011, 05:20 PM

QUOTE(firestream @ Oct 19 2011, 04:16 PM)
IF I NOT MISTAKE BDP-S380 PRICE AROUND RM400. tongue.gif
Skylinestar
post Oct 19 2011, 08:37 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(firestream @ Oct 19 2011, 04:16 PM)
was RM299 during the sale at Sony @ The Gardens.
now... i think about RM400.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Oct 19 2011, 08:37 PM
jimbet1337
post Oct 20 2011, 01:43 AM

meh
2,672 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 19 2011, 08:37 PM)
was RM299 during the sale at Sony @ The Gardens.
now... i think about RM400.
One time deal eh. Too bad I missed it.
silbii
post Oct 20 2011, 07:23 AM

963 posts

sony bdp 370 / 280... can these play mkv files too? coz prefer an all-in-one unit thats not too costly

might get one if it's that good smile.gif

cy97
post Oct 22 2011, 09:47 PM

1,140 posts

Just bought sony BDP-S380 @ RM 399 @ jusco! Super cool can connect to my router n watch u tube online!
harun368
post Oct 22 2011, 10:17 PM

QUOTE(cy97 @ Oct 22 2011, 09:47 PM)
Just bought sony BDP-S380 @ RM 399 @ jusco! Super cool can connect to my router n watch u tube online!
Care to share which jusco you bought it...I am also looking for this player ...
cy97
post Oct 22 2011, 10:30 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(harun368 @ Oct 22 2011, 10:17 PM)
Care to share which jusco you bought it...I am also looking for this player ...
I bought it at jusco metro prima but look like last set lo! U can try check out!
TSbetaiso
post Oct 23 2011, 08:44 PM

110 posts

I wish I have the uplight, super cool to watch video with uplight at home, me kids too naughty

got to fix it on the wall soon icon_rolleyes.gif

junchoon
post Oct 23 2011, 08:50 PM

411 posts

Can someone confirm if Sony s-380 support divx? Thanks.

WPS
berrymaniac
post Oct 27 2011, 11:56 AM

198 posts

I think Philips is 1 hell of good blue ray player. I mean comparing the low end models with other brands.
richard912
post Oct 27 2011, 12:04 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

My BD60 is still running strong. Plays anything I slot into it
junchoon
post Oct 28 2011, 08:53 AM

411 posts

anyone who has the sony S380 can confirm Divx support?

thanks.
wps
Skylinestar
post Oct 28 2011, 05:02 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

as far as i know S380 plays xvid, not divx
wyxyz
post Nov 5 2011, 09:53 AM

730 posts

a harvey norman salesman recommended pioneer bdp 140. says can play ahem disc also...around rm599 during promo. hmmm
VeeJay
post Nov 8 2011, 01:58 PM

3,853 posts

Yup, most of current BD players, has connectivity to Youtube...not a problem....its kinda smooth as well.
siauann
post Dec 5 2011, 01:54 PM

Music-Movies-Coffee
3,375 posts

just got my sony s380 from seng heng. RM299 promotion price. have not test it out yet smile.gif
RoxyMunky
post Dec 5 2011, 02:06 PM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(wyxyz @ Nov 5 2011, 09:53 AM)
a harvey norman salesman recommended pioneer bdp 140. says can play ahem disc also...around rm599 during promo. hmmm
i thought H/M is pushing their Phillips BDP-3200 which they claim can play ahem disc all the time without any problem??

this is what they told me at Ikano branch back in Sept2011~ hmm.gif

i guess they're pushing certain models at a time to move the stocks out. laugh.gif
ryder_78
post Jan 3 2012, 11:05 AM

2,064 posts

A lot of Sony users here.

Anybody owns a Panasonic BDT110? Would appreciate some information on the playability aspects of it.

sw88
post Jan 4 2012, 06:25 PM

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Jan 3 2012, 11:05 AM)
A lot of Sony users here.

Anybody owns a Panasonic BDT110? Would appreciate some information on the playability aspects of it.

I also want some feedback on user of panasonic bdt 110 as i saw in mid valley harvey norman selling 699. btw, any user for sony s485 yet ? what is the price you can get ? my dealer in kk told me tat sony and panasonic is very sensitive and chosy in disc selection ...... issit true rclxub.gif
willkso
post Jan 5 2012, 05:31 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(sw88 @ Jan 4 2012, 07:25 PM)
I also want some feedback on user of panasonic bdt 110 as i saw in mid valley harvey norman selling 699. btw, any user for sony s485 yet ? what is the price you can get ? my dealer in kk told me tat sony and panasonic is very sensitive and chosy in disc selection ...... issit true  rclxub.gif
So far my S485 have no problem playing the DVD and blu-ray I 'throw' to it.. be it ori or uncle Ho version..
sw88
post Jan 6 2012, 09:25 AM

QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 5 2012, 05:31 PM)
So far my S485 have no problem playing the DVD and blu-ray I 'throw' to it.. be it ori or uncle Ho version..
how is the loading time and AQ & PQ ? How much did u get it for ? Thanks
willkso
post Jan 7 2012, 09:23 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(sw88 @ Jan 6 2012, 10:25 AM)
how is the loading time and AQ & PQ ? How much did u get it for ? Thanks
Loading time definitely faster than my older BDP-S360. AQ not much concern if the processing part done by AVR as the AVR will determine the AQ. If the audio was just depending on the TV speaker, then there's nothing to talk about. As for the PQ, it's great to my eyes but I think it won't different much for those mass market blu-ray player.

I got mine bundled with Sony Bravia package but the RRP was RM999
sw88
post Jan 9 2012, 11:14 AM

QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 7 2012, 09:23 PM)
Loading time definitely faster than my older BDP-S360. AQ not much concern if the processing part done by AVR as the AVR will determine the AQ. If the audio was just depending on the TV speaker, then there's nothing to talk about. As for the PQ, it's great to my eyes but I think it won't different much for those mass market blu-ray player.

I got mine bundled with Sony Bravia package but the RRP was RM999
thanks bro for the info ...... is it good at upscaling dvd ?
MugenK20A
post Mar 24 2012, 03:18 PM

1,244 posts

no one use Samsung Blu-Ray players?? Any feedbacks? sweat.gif
sonerin
post Mar 24 2012, 10:09 PM

8,739 posts

Samsung is not good
piscesguy
post Mar 25 2012, 07:31 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 24 2012, 10:09 PM)
Samsung is not good
Panasonic is better.. biggrin.gif
MugenK20A
post Mar 26 2012, 01:01 PM

1,244 posts

Thanks for the feedback guys. So which Sony BD players is the best buy lately? Models & price?
Skylinestar
post Mar 26 2012, 03:20 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Mar 26 2012, 01:01 PM)
Thanks for the feedback guys. So which Sony BD players is the best buy lately? Models & price?
Best buy is Sony BDP-S380. No hiccup in playing my Star Wars BD.
MugenK20A
post Mar 26 2012, 03:22 PM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 26 2012, 04:20 PM)
Best buy is Sony BDP-S380. No hiccup in playing my Star Wars BD.
Tx for the input. Selling price how much? Where to get the best deal? Sony Centre? Tesco?
Skylinestar
post Mar 26 2012, 06:25 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Mar 26 2012, 03:22 PM)
Tx for the input. Selling price how much? Where to get the best deal? Sony Centre? Tesco?
Used to be RM 299. Price now is RM 3XX.
MugenK20A
post Mar 26 2012, 11:29 PM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 26 2012, 07:25 PM)
Used to be RM 299. Price now is RM 3XX.
Tx man. Will pay Sony Centre a visit this week biggrin.gif
VeeJay
post Mar 27 2012, 11:15 AM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Mar 24 2012, 03:18 PM)
no one use Samsung Blu-Ray players?? Any feedbacks?  sweat.gif
Samsung is fine as well, its your choice.

You may read, owners comments here...
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1557314

ronaldkwok
post Mar 27 2012, 01:05 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Mar 26 2012, 11:29 PM)
Tx man. Will pay Sony Centre a visit this week  biggrin.gif
Don't bother with Sony Centre, they usually sell at RRP (recommended retail price) and for BDP380 it is RM599 (or is it RM699, cannot remember). Better look for it at other electrical shops or even hypermarkets where can get at RM399 sometimes. Also the Samsung 5500 has some complaints on playback problems with original BD - see Andrew san's comment in other threads here; don't know if the newer 5600 has similar issues. In my opinion, the Sony 380 is the best value for money entry level BD player, especially if you can find it at RM299! Also not region locked for DVD so can play those that come with BD from UK.

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Mar 27 2012, 01:11 PM
MugenK20A
post Mar 27 2012, 01:12 PM

1,244 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Mar 27 2012, 02:05 PM)
Don't bother with Sony Centre, they usually sell at RRP (recommended retail price) and for BDP380 it is RM599 (or is it RM699, cannot remember). Better look for it at other electrical shops or even hypermarkets where can get at RM399 sometimes. Also the Samsung 5500 has some complaints on playback problems with original BD - see Andrew san's comment in other threads here. In my opinion, the Sony 380 is the best value for money entry level BD player, especially if you can find it at RM299! Also not region locked for DVD so can play those that come with BD from UK.
Thanks for the tips bro. I only play BD on the BD player, no DVD to protect the lens. Then visit Giant or Tesco then. Haha.
nobody#2
post Mar 27 2012, 01:20 PM

380 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Mar 27 2012, 01:12 PM)
Thanks for the tips bro. I only play BD on the BD player, no DVD to protect the lens. Then visit Giant or Tesco then. Haha.
Last week I found RM359 at Desa LowYat.. Good Luck..
MugenK20A
post Mar 27 2012, 09:25 PM

1,244 posts

Went to Sony Centre. BDP-S380 selling at rm699 NO DISCOUNT. After that go Carrefour. They only sell Philips BD player.

Added on March 29, 2012, 2:24 pmI was recommended 2 Sony BD player. BDP-S370 & BDP-S380. Any info on these 2 models? Price diff around rm100. Thanks.

This post has been edited by MugenK20A: Mar 29 2012, 02:24 PM
Mea Culpa
post Apr 5 2012, 11:53 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Mar 27 2012, 01:12 PM)
yeah right!

some "low quality DVD" will make the drive spin like crazy, if hold the player you can feel its wacky vibration, that was way too much sometimes. Avoid these kind of DVDs on your BD-Player.

better use dedicated dvd player instead, just use those region-free china brand.

Fubar20
post Apr 5 2012, 11:56 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(MugenK20A @ Mar 27 2012, 09:25 PM)
Went to Sony Centre. BDP-S380 selling at rm699 NO DISCOUNT. After that go Carrefour. They only sell Philips BD player.

Added on March 29, 2012, 2:24 pmI was recommended 2 Sony BD player. BDP-S370 & BDP-S380. Any info on these 2 models? Price diff around rm100. Thanks.
Senheng Seksyen 7 Shah Alam is selling at RM299.
Sakai1
post Apr 8 2012, 09:07 AM

39 posts

Anybody has any experience using Sharp BD player?
MugenK20A
post Apr 8 2012, 02:06 PM

1,244 posts

Got my Sony Blu-Ray player from SenHeng for rm299 rclxms.gif
baynedeangelo
post Apr 14 2012, 12:58 PM

bought sony bdp-s485 3D blu ray player for 399 at pc fair yesterday can play just about anything except rmvb and can play files from external hard disk up to 1TB just like the philips 3200/98. has on board web browser 2 mic inputs for karaoke and if you are an audiophile can also play the rare sacd . I have both of them and they are equally good and reliable
alesi616
post Apr 15 2012, 09:31 PM

810 posts

is there any bluray-player can play the USB RMVB file?? I checked the Sony BDP380, Samsung BD-D5300, Pana DMP-BD75 all not supported...

wanted to buy for a bluray player that can support DLNA (or AllShare) feature, so that I can play the WMV/WMA/RMVB files from my laptop wirelessly. So far I checked these 3 player, feature as below:

Sony BDP380: no DLNA, no support RMVB

any other blu-ray player that can play RMVB files? I was told Philips might able to play RMVB by a salesperson.

Samsung BD-D5300: DLNA, no support RMVB

Pana DMP-BD75: DLNA, no support RMVB/WMA/WMV
iman_210
post Apr 15 2012, 10:05 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

what about sharp bd-hp25a?
alesi616
post Apr 18 2012, 01:09 PM

810 posts

hi sifu-sifus,

anyone using Philips BDP-3200 or BDP-3300 bluray player?? The only bluray player in market that can play RM/RMVB format files besides the other common file format (WMV/MKV/MP4/etc).

BDP3300 support DLNA1.5 standard, meaning that you can link your PC or handphone or other DLNA compatible device to share/stream photo,song,movie wirelessly..... just curious anyone using this model?

BDP3200 don't supprt DLNA1.5
g8dnitez
post May 7 2012, 03:11 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Apr 18 2012, 01:09 PM)
hi sifu-sifus,

anyone using Philips BDP-3200 or BDP-3300 bluray player?? The only bluray player in market that can play RM/RMVB format files besides the other common file format (WMV/MKV/MP4/etc).

BDP3300 support DLNA1.5 standard, meaning that you can link your PC or handphone or other DLNA compatible device to share/stream photo,song,movie wirelessly..... just curious anyone using this model?

BDP3200 don't supprt DLNA1.5
The RMVB can support up to 720p or 1080p?

I was went to Harvey Norman last week n sales person recommend me Philip HTS-3562. He told me that it plays RMVB but i am not sure is support up to 720p or 1080p or not..

jasonctx
post May 28 2012, 04:22 PM

71 posts

any good 3d blu ray players to recommend?
thanks.
Mea Culpa
post May 29 2012, 12:46 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(jasonctx @ May 28 2012, 04:22 PM)
any good 3d blu ray players to recommend?
thanks.
I'm not so sure what they meant by "king of playability" ,but if you're talking about BDMV on BD-R and BD-RE disc, I'd say SONY is the King, and 2nd to that would be philips.

All brands plays BD-ROMs without hiccups, but some brand especially samsung will not even bootup some of recordable media; BDMV BD-Rs or ahem.. ahemm.. disc.

For entry level 3D, go for Sony's BDP-S485, 3D Blu-ray and Karaoke support. It doesnt freeze and stutter like S380 sets.

The best of all, Its CINAVIA FREE out-of -box, so better not to update to latest firmware. All x90 series however has the Cinavia firmware right out-of-box before updates.

ALL Samsung BD-Dxxx and BD-Exxx has CINAVIA, only the Cxxx series doesn't.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: May 29 2012, 01:29 PM
alesi616
post May 29 2012, 03:47 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ May 29 2012, 12:46 PM)
I'm not so sure what they meant by "king of playability" ,but  if you're talking about BDMV on BD-R and BD-RE disc, I'd say SONY is the King, and 2nd to that would be philips.

All brands plays BD-ROMs without hiccups, but some brand especially samsung will not even bootup some of recordable media;  BDMV BD-Rs or ahem.. ahemm.. disc.

For entry level 3D, go for Sony's BDP-S485, 3D Blu-ray and Karaoke support. It doesnt freeze and stutter like S380 sets.

The best of all, Its CINAVIA FREE out-of -box, so better not to update to latest firmware. All x90 series however has the Cinavia firmware right out-of-box before updates.

ALL Samsung BD-Dxxx and BD-Exxx has CINAVIA, only the Cxxx series doesn't.
how abt philips model bdp3200 and bdp3300 ? is they have CINAVIA too ?
Mea Culpa
post May 30 2012, 12:24 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ May 29 2012, 03:47 PM)
how abt philips model bdp3200 and bdp3300 ? is they have CINAVIA too ?
ya some 3300 has cinavia that i tested, test bdr with cinavia Battle : Los angeles .

Perhaps for philips you need to check the box manufacturing date, be sure its before august 2011 something not so sure.. The philips BD display set may have different firmware than the new stocks.. so becareful..

To be 100% safe, get the sony's S380 or S485. They have cinavia free 0415 , 0427 firmware out-of-box.

Dont buy samsung if you plan to use BDR media on it.

Added on May 30, 2012, 12:34 amThose planning to get CINAVIA FREE BD Player better get it now before its too late, its now or never.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: May 30 2012, 12:37 AM
alesi616
post May 30 2012, 01:12 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ May 30 2012, 12:24 AM)
ya some 3300 has cinavia that i tested,  test bdr with cinavia Battle : Los angeles .

Perhaps for philips you need to check the box manufacturing date, be sure its before august 2011 something not so sure.. The philips BD display set may have different firmware than the new stocks.. so becareful..

To be 100% safe, get the sony's S380 or S485. They have cinavia free 0415 , 0427 firmware out-of-box.

Dont buy samsung if you plan to use BDR media on it.

Added on May 30, 2012, 12:34 amThose planning to get CINAVIA FREE BD Player better get it now before its too late, its now or never.
issh....like that susah to check the manufacturing date of the BDP3300 lah......i prefer BDP3300 because it support DLNA and also can play RMVB compare to those Sony players..

so with the CINAVIA feature in, those ahem ahem bluray disc all cannot play rite? even the ahem DVD also cannot play?

so far there is no countermeasure for this CINAVIA security?
sooieweng
post May 30 2012, 02:16 PM

57 posts

im interest on OPPO BDP-93, anyone know the current price and where can i get it?..i look for some shop and cannot find this player...
Mea Culpa
post May 30 2012, 09:48 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ May 30 2012, 01:12 PM)
issh....like that susah to check the manufacturing date of the BDP3300 lah......i prefer BDP3300 because it support DLNA and also can play RMVB compare to those Sony players..
so with the CINAVIA feature in, those ahem ahem bluray disc all cannot play rite? even the ahem DVD also cannot play?

BDP-S485 supports DLNA.

RMVB format only supports up to 480p. The average dual core PC can converts RMVB to avi 2 hours length movie in less than 30 mins.

Added on May 30, 2012, 9:50 pm
QUOTE(sooieweng @ May 30 2012, 02:16 PM)

im interest on OPPO BDP-93, anyone know the current price and where can i get it?..i look for some shop and cannot find this player...
There's no OPPO distributor in Malaysia, try Singapore.

Added on May 30, 2012, 9:55 pm

new protection for audio-video called Cinavia. It is reported to be used for protection of movie from theaters and disc releases on DVD & Blu-ray. It consists of a multi-level watermark that is embedded in the audio track and, while being theoretically transparent(not-audible) for the listener, it is supposed to resist various transformations of the audio stream like re-compression, analog playback&record, re-sampling, pitch shift, etc. The base levels are analog, but on the top level there’s the watermark payload that contains some restrictions regarding the playback environment.

ahem ahem blu-ray disc CAN play provided the audio track is NOT CINAVIA infected, you can still play old movies, but not the new ones and the coming 2013 movies. Cinavia protection needs the player to be cinavia compliant to work, you need both hands to clap.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: May 30 2012, 10:29 PM
Mikeyz
post May 30 2012, 11:16 PM

586 posts

Only certain Audio shop in Malaysia ( depend on location) import Oppo BDP on pre order basis, u may wanna check this out
http://audioiconic.com/oppo-bdp-93-3d-bluray-player/

They are having the GSS on the 93 @ SGD 999 included GST, heard is included mod to regoin free too, better grab while stock last. Cheers

This post has been edited by Mikeyz: May 30 2012, 11:17 PM
chungf1
post May 31 2012, 12:21 AM

205 posts

I saw Oppo BDP-93 and 95 at KLIAV JW Marriot Hotel last year suggest you wait probably on July same venue.
tcb2010
post May 31 2012, 12:46 PM

120 posts

Even DVD from Blu Ray recording carries the Cinavia...I have experienced from 2 DVD BR recording movies on my Samsung BD-D5300, after firmware update.

So far, for out of the box model...s380 and Samsung BD-D5300 is ok but do not update.

Getting older stocks now seems like a wise advice.
alesi616
post May 31 2012, 01:34 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ May 30 2012, 09:48 PM)
BDP-S485 supports DLNA.

RMVB format only supports up to 480p. The average dual core PC can converts RMVB to avi 2 hours length movie in less than 30 mins.

Added on May 30, 2012, 9:50 pm

There's no OPPO distributor  in Malaysia, try Singapore.

Added on May 30, 2012, 9:55 pm

new protection for audio-video called Cinavia. It is reported to be used for protection of movie from theaters and disc releases on DVD & Blu-ray. It consists of a multi-level watermark that is embedded in the audio track and, while being theoretically transparent(not-audible) for the listener, it is supposed to resist various transformations of the audio stream like re-compression, analog playback&record, re-sampling, pitch shift, etc. The base levels are analog, but on the top level there’s the watermark payload that contains some restrictions regarding the playback environment.
ahem ahem blu-ray disc CAN play provided the audio track is NOT CINAVIA infected, you can still play old movies, but not the new ones  and the coming 2013 movies. Cinavia protection needs the player to be cinavia compliant to work, you need both hands to clap.
so you mean if we get a old bluray player which is not CINAVIA compliant, it can play the new movie with CINAVIA protected without problem rite?

so the new bluray player with CINAVIA compliant with cause problem with CINAVIA protected bluray pirated movies....

sigh....that's the dilemma.....
Mea Culpa
post May 31 2012, 11:56 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ May 31 2012, 01:34 PM)
so you mean if we get a old bluray player which is not CINAVIA compliant, it can play the new movie with CINAVIA protected without problem rite?

so the new bluray player with CINAVIA compliant with cause problem with CINAVIA protected bluray pirated movies....

sigh....that's the dilemma.....
Yes, absolutely.

Even if you recorded it from cinema with a camcorder to be played with a pendrive, a Cinavia compliant player will stop the playback. The cinavia "sound" can even be captured through the microphone.

Added on May 31, 2012, 11:59 pmSo far ONLY LG allows firmware downgrades.

Added on June 1, 2012, 12:03 am
QUOTE(chungf1 @ May 31 2012, 12:21 AM)
I saw Oppo BDP-93 and 95 at KLIAV JW Marriot Hotel last year suggest you wait probably on July same venue.
The new models might carry the cinavia tho..

As of 1st February 2012, Cinavia Compliance is mandatory for BDA certification as well as anything that carries the AACS licensing.

ALL BD players MUST comply with AACS, else they wont boot an Original Protected Blu-Ray disc.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jun 1 2012, 12:13 AM
sonerin
post Jun 1 2012, 07:50 AM

8,739 posts

Final conclusion support original
jasonctx
post Jun 1 2012, 11:08 AM

71 posts

anyone using LG BD-660? any good?
Mea Culpa
post Jun 3 2012, 01:11 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jun 1 2012, 07:50 AM)
Final conclusion support original
theres really no justification with the current blu-ray pricing, they force us to actually funding for the DRM technology.. you see..

alesi616
post Jun 5 2012, 04:31 PM

810 posts

i checked the Philips BDP3300 (with DLNA and play RMVB) manual, in copyright section it mention:

"This product uses Cinavia technology to
limit the use of unauthorized copies of some their soundtracks. When a prohibited use of an unauthorized copy is detected, a message will be displayed and playback or copying will be interrupted."

so it means all this product (regardless of manufacturing date) is CINAVIA protected rite? oh my gosh!!

Then I check another player BDP3200 (no DLNA, play RMVB too) user manual, it didn't specify anything about CINAVIA though, I believe this is an earlier model (compare the new BDP3300).

So, dilemma again, between DLNA feature, RMVB playability, and CINAVIA avoidness......why I cant have these 3 feature under 1 player!!!

:-(

This post has been edited by alesi616: Jun 5 2012, 04:32 PM
slackinux
post Jun 5 2012, 11:01 PM

407 posts

How about Philips HTS 3541? Free from Cinavia?
Mikeyz
post Jun 6 2012, 09:10 AM

586 posts

Have anyone seen the Sony S380 still on sale at 299??

er650
post Jun 6 2012, 01:21 PM

i'm using Toshiba BDX1250.... played all ahemm... disc..(so far) RM279... wink.gif
d888
post Jun 6 2012, 09:41 PM

FYI sony s380 march batch is now CINAVIA infected out-of-the-box.
Mikeyz
post Jun 6 2012, 10:11 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(d888 @ Jun 6 2012, 09:41 PM)
Dang... Cant be helped. Any players manufactured after Feb 2012 is CINAVIA compliant, do u know how much the S380 is selling??
tcb2010
post Jun 8 2012, 12:16 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jun 6 2012, 10:11 PM)
Dang... Cant be helped. Any players manufactured after Feb 2012 is CINAVIA compliant, do u know how much the S380 is selling??
Try looking at Sen Heng whether they still carry the older s380 batches...with M06.R.0415 firmware...or older Samsung D5300 with 1022 firmware...

I am sure there some shops still carry some old batch stocks.
alesi616
post Jun 10 2012, 10:53 PM

810 posts

went to see SenHeng, Courts....no more Sony S380 for rm299.

anyone using Philips BDP3200 or BDP3300 and notice whether they are CINAVIA infected??

BDP3200 sell around rm350 (with HDMI cable) and BDP3300 sell for rm399 (without HDMI cable).....both can support RMVB media file.

Tempting.....but scare bought the CINAVIA unit....

Mikeyz
post Jun 11 2012, 01:06 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Jun 10 2012, 10:53 PM)
went to see SenHeng, Courts....no more Sony S380 for rm299.

anyone using Philips BDP3200 or BDP3300 and notice whether they are CINAVIA infected??

BDP3200 sell around rm350 (with HDMI cable) and BDP3300 sell for rm399 (without HDMI cable).....both can support RMVB media file.

Tempting.....but scare bought the CINAVIA unit....
Went around KL & PJ area and S380 already no stocks, i caled a friend in Kuching, there are many stocks left but RM399, but no sure the firmware version. Zzzzz

Added on June 14, 2012, 10:14 pmGot my S380 at Sony Gallery Kuching with firmware M06.R.0415 , RM399 free 2GB Sony Camera Thumbdrive.

This post has been edited by Mikeyz: Jun 14 2012, 10:14 PM
Mea Culpa
post Jun 15 2012, 11:46 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(d888 @ Jun 6 2012, 09:41 PM)
Are you sure? Im not sure they're still producing the x80, they are moving to x90 already.

I bought 3 sets for friends around early May, All three sets has 0415 fw.

Added on June 15, 2012, 11:48 pm
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jun 8 2012, 12:16 AM)
Try looking at Sen Heng whether they still carry the older s380 batches...with M06.R.0415 firmware...or older Samsung D5300 with 1022 firmware...

Btw. Samsung E5300 stocks are dated April 2012 right on the box.

Added on June 15, 2012, 11:55 pmBDP-S485 (3D Blu-ray, karaoke) is on promotion for RM499 at sony centres. FW rev. 0427 is not cinavia compliant.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jun 15 2012, 11:56 PM
Mikeyz
post Jun 16 2012, 12:05 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Jun 15 2012, 11:46 PM)
Are you sure? Im not sure they're still producing the x80, they are moving to x90 already. 

Added on June 15, 2012, 11:55 pmBDP-S485 (3D Blu-ray, karaoke)  is on promotion for RM499 at sony centres.  FW rev. 0427 is not cinavia compliant.
S485 is RM599 @ kuching, sarawak. What a huge gap.

encikapas
post Jun 17 2012, 01:30 AM

56 posts

Lucky me lah...Seng Heng Kuantan sold me Sony BDP S380 for RM240.. laugh.gif

tcb2010
post Jun 18 2012, 09:16 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(encikapas @ Jun 17 2012, 01:30 AM)
Lucky me lah...Seng Heng Kuantan sold me Sony BDP S380 for RM240.. laugh.gif
Bro, encikapas,

Which branch and when u bought it...RM240 is fabulous deal !!

I bought mine at RM299 at the Bukit Ubi branch about two months ago... Thought of getting another with old firmware if still available....
encikapas
post Jun 18 2012, 04:43 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jun 18 2012, 09:16 AM)
Bro, encikapas,

Which branch and when u bought it...RM240 is fabulous deal !!

I bought mine at RM299 at the Bukit Ubi branch about two months ago... Thought of getting another with old firmware if still available....
Kuantan branch..depan Megamall Kuantan.... bounght 2 days ago..last unit form Shen Heng...i already tanya itu Sony Megamall dan East Coast Mall semuanya harga RM699.. shakehead.gif

btw..which firmware paling best? noob here.. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by encikapas: Jun 18 2012, 04:45 PM
Mea Culpa
post Jun 18 2012, 10:27 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(skeelee @ Jun 18 2012, 09:29 PM)
Unknowingly, I updated my S380 to firmware M06.R.0600 when prompted, before reading about CINAVIA here. Luckily, all my ahem discs still can play without any problem.
Anyway, exactly what types of discs will be blocked by CINAVIA?
NOT all titles contains cinavia. But more or perhaps all future titles will have cinavia embedded.

If the disc is not the original BD-ROM, playback will be interrupted on your standalone player. A BD-R or BD-RE will be blocked even if AACS is enabled on the disc.

Here's some of the titles

Mikeyz
post Jun 18 2012, 10:57 PM

586 posts

Looks like Sony Pictures had implant the Cinavia to every BD titles they own.Sure other production companies wil follow up soon

This post has been edited by Mikeyz: Jun 18 2012, 11:00 PM
Liquid Snake
post Jun 19 2012, 05:57 PM

219 posts

Im quite confused with this Cinavia thing. I never play ahem BD and playy any files apart from original BDs on my player. Should i be concerned about this? Should i update my firmware or dont? I use Sony BDV-E380.
Mikeyz
post Jun 19 2012, 07:53 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Liquid Snake @ Jun 19 2012, 05:57 PM)
Im quite confused with this Cinavia thing. I never play ahem BD and playy any files apart from original BDs on my player. Should i be concerned about this? Should i update my firmware or dont? I use Sony BDV-E380.
If ur BDs are genuine, there is no harm updating your firmware and use your current player,the Cinavia act is concern to those titles where it is Cinavia compliant where is duplicated as ahem discs or digital media downloads.So in near future ahem disc may face some problem playing on a player which has Cinavia on them.

Liquid Snake
post Jun 19 2012, 07:59 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jun 19 2012, 07:53 PM)
If ur BDs are genuine, there is no harm updating your firmware and use your current player,the Cinavia act is concern to those titles where it is Cinavia compliant where is duplicated as ahem discs or digital media downloads.So in near future ahem disc may face some problem playing on a player which has Cinavia on them.
Phew. I thought if i dont update my firmware i cant play future bluray titles that comes with Cinavia. I never bought ahem disc anyway. Thanks for the info bro smile.gif
Mikeyz
post Jun 19 2012, 08:07 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Liquid Snake @ Jun 19 2012, 07:59 PM)
Phew. I thought if i dont update my firmware i cant play future bluray titles that comes with Cinavia. I never bought ahem disc anyway. Thanks for the info bro smile.gif
no problem man.just take note that future BDs titles from various production company will have Cinavia on them and BD player manufactured since Feb 2012 already had Cinavia in it.So soon both BD and the BDP must be match during a Cinavia verification,if is ahem.then errors starts to pop out.

junchoon
post Jun 22 2012, 10:00 AM

411 posts

the other day while at a friend's home, he played BDs via his Pioneer BDP-140. to my surprise, the player seems to be able to skip the annoying warning from the start of the BDs.

is there a way to do it with my sony s380?

thanks,
wps
Mikeyz
post Jun 22 2012, 03:04 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(junchoon @ Jun 22 2012, 10:00 AM)
the other day while at a friend's home, he played BDs via his Pioneer BDP-140.  to my surprise, the player seems to be able to skip the annoying warning from the start of the BDs.

is there a way to do it with my sony s380?

thanks,
wps
So far i know is that Cinavia will work if the player has their netwrok running into the internet. U can try disable the S380 from any netwrok connection and try to prevent the player to do a Cinavia audio verification to some servers by via internet.see if it helps or not?
Your friend's BDP 140 is Cinavia infected player or not??

junchoon
post Jun 22 2012, 03:08 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jun 22 2012, 03:04 PM)
So far i know is that Cinavia will work if the player has their netwrok running into the internet. U can try disable the S380 from any netwrok connection and try to prevent the player to do a Cinavia audio verification to some servers by via internet.see if it helps or not?
okay will disable network and see

i am not sure about his bdp140. seems like new unit

thanks,
wps
Skylinestar
post Jun 22 2012, 05:45 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jun 22 2012, 03:04 PM)
non-networked BD players are free from Cinavia? hmm.gif
If that is true, then everyone will just have to unplugged the LAN cable/wifi.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jun 22 2012, 05:46 PM
Mikeyz
post Jun 22 2012, 06:16 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jun 22 2012, 05:45 PM)
non-networked BD players are free from Cinavia? hmm.gif
If that is true, then everyone will just have to unplugged the LAN cable/wifi.
Is a 50/50 bet. Why is said is becuase my PS3 was infected by Cinavia since i updated the firmware and the error 3 mag had pop up randomly in some movies ( while the media was stream by my LAN netwrok), it does not happen always but it comes and go.
Then i did try unplugged the network and so far it works for me but i suspect the Cinavia infected on my PS3 is perhaps not matured enough - just my opinion.
My other media devices are Cinavia free so i cant do blind test so hopefully u guys out there can share some experience on bypass or overcome the Cinavia when playing your BD or media files.

tcb2010
post Jun 22 2012, 10:16 PM

120 posts

Its got nothing to do with the network...if the player is with Cinavia, and the disc title also Cinavia protected..the message will pop up..and not immediately after movie start.

My player does it and i have not plugged into network at all before.

I think the earlier commenter that mentioned that the Pioneer BP-140 can skip the message, probably not sure what the Cinavia thing is. The error code 3 likely to pop up about 20-30 min into the movies. Its not those FBI warnings that can be skip sometimes at the start of the disc.

So far, the cinavia thing carries to DVD-9 as well...and the media so far i tried that does not induced Cinavia kick-in is MKV stuff. Maybe these kinda of files bypasses the Cinavia protection.
I tried Midnight in Paris MKV...suppose to be a cinavia infected title, on my Cinavia infected player....and nothing happens.. smile.gif
junchoon
post Jun 23 2012, 03:11 AM

411 posts

Oops. I think I mix up what cinavia is to the message I saw. I don't have ahem BR discs - all are genuine lah.

I am actually referring to the those annoying FBI warnings I got all the time.

His bdp140 is not networked at all.

Nonetheless I tried disconnect but still show the FBI warning lah

WPS
Mikeyz
post Jun 23 2012, 07:30 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(junchoon @ Jun 23 2012, 03:11 AM)
Oops.  I think I mix up what cinavia is to the message I saw.  I don't have ahem BR discs - all are genuine lah.

WPS
Hahaha. Then yours is a complete diff story. Since u support originals, then u have no worries on Conavia.

Will.i.am.Smith
post Jun 25 2012, 02:19 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(junchoon @ Jun 23 2012, 03:11 AM)
Oops.  I think I mix up what cinavia is to the message I saw.  I don't have ahem BR discs - all are genuine lah.

WPS
The Pioneers be able to skip those warning messages because there's a option in a player to turn it off if you can access it. I cant recalled what's that feature called but some players came with it disabled. You need to access the player's factory menu to be able to adjust this feature.

As far as CINAVIA concerned, so far i only got it from the "infamous" PS3 which it's left in the corner collecting dust now. I dont support any SONY players because there're equivalent players out there that give me peace of mind than "piss" of mind when it comes to all these copyright problems. As far as i know, Panasonic bluray players seem to gathered good review from WhatHifi in UK and i personally using it and find it as good as the SONY if not better. Discs that were unable to play on the PS3 were blazed through on the Panny brows.gif

It's wise NOT to connect to the internet all the time for your bluray players if you dont want to deal with the CINAVIA and equivalent problem. Also, read up on the latest firmware version before going for the update. You might lose some very important control over the player, just like the PS3.

Added on June 25, 2012, 2:29 am
QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jun 22 2012, 10:16 PM)
Its got nothing to do with the network...if the player is with Cinavia, and the disc title also Cinavia protected..the message will pop up..and not immediately after movie start.

My player does it and i have not plugged into network at all before.

I think the earlier commenter that mentioned that the Pioneer BP-140 can skip the message, probably not sure what the Cinavia thing is. The error code 3 likely to pop up about 20-30 min into the movies.  Its not those FBI warnings that can be skip sometimes at the start of the disc.

So far, the cinavia thing carries to DVD-9 as well...and the media so far i tried that does not induced Cinavia kick-in is MKV stuff. Maybe these kinda of files bypasses the Cinavia protection.
I tried Midnight in Paris MKV...suppose to be a cinavia infected title, on my Cinavia infected player....and nothing happens..  smile.gif
What CINAVIA did is to access your player details determine if this movie for the region you're located. If you have a region FREE player that you can set your region anytime you may, then CINAVIA has little effect on you. CINAVIA cannot be wiped from title because the technology they're using is encoded into the AUDIO track. It's located at the subsonic frequency, ie. > 20kHz we'll not be able to hear it and neither these CINAVIA enabled players willd decode it and output as audio. Unless they're filtered during the copying process which make it very "inconvenient" for the pirated companies. Though cats and dogs can hear these frequency so train and bring them to buy your next disc then laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Will.i.am.Smith: Jun 25 2012, 02:29 AM
skeelee
post Jun 29 2012, 06:00 PM

285 posts

So I updated my S380 firmware by mistake to R0600, ended up with a cinivia set. Checking the net for firmware downgrade didn't find any solution.
I downloaded R0579 firmware, supposedly the last version without cinivia, created a CD and placed it into the player. As reported widely, downgrade is not possible. The player just proudly announced that it is "Already Updated".
I then downloaded R0615 firmware and used its ID file together with the R0579 firmware to create another CD. The player believed that it was R0615 and started the updating process. It progressed from 0/9 to 1/9 and then stayed there for a long while before skipping directly to 9/9, and happily declared that its firmware was updated to R0615.
But it wasn't. The firmware remained at R0600.
Now I am on my own again looking for another way to trick the player into performing a firmware downgrade.

This post has been edited by skeelee: Jun 29 2012, 08:56 PM
alesi616
post Jun 29 2012, 06:23 PM

810 posts

up until today there is still no way to hack this stupid CINAVIA thing? I am sure there will be some experts out there to bypass/crack this.....just like the Apple IOS jailbreak....

yes? no ?
Mikeyz
post Jun 29 2012, 08:11 PM

586 posts

Also do take note that not only BDs contain Cinavia, downloaded BD material via torrent that has been Rip or compressed also contains Cinavia by default.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 30 2012, 11:03 AM

12,696 posts

Sorry for asking may be the obvious to you people.

It's now time for me to chuck away my decade old DVD player and get myself a Bluray player instead. I mainly use it to watch 'ahem' DVDs from Pasar Malam on my 50" HDTV. So I suppose the Bluray player I am looking for would be:
1. Relatively cheap.
2. Good upscaling to 1080(?)
3. Tolerance to all sort of 'ahem' DVDs and Bluray(?)

Can someone please show me the way by giving me some advise? I hope to pick one up in the forthcoming KLAV shows next month. Thanks
Mikeyz
post Jun 30 2012, 01:09 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 30 2012, 11:03 AM)

It's now time for me to chuck away my decade old DVD player and get myself a Bluray player instead. I mainly use it to watch 'ahem' DVDs from Pasar Malam on my 50" HDTV. So I suppose the Bluray player I am looking for would be:
1. Relatively cheap.

Can someone please show me the way by giving me some advise? I hope to pick one up in the forthcoming KLAV shows next month. Thanks
If you have the $$ to buy an entry level why not??
First few days when i had my BDP S380, i played ahem DVDs, BDs, CDs, genuine US & UK BDs, all worked out fine. Tolerance lvl for me was worth every cent i spent.
Upscaling for DVDs was a significent imporvement to the PQ even for those ahem DVD 9 dual layer copies.
Would advice u bring your fav DVD or BD and do some test run on a demo set on KLIAV or audio shops u prefered to go.
Do look up for Cinavia free units to prevent any dissapoiment from ahem discs playback errors. jMHO!

This post has been edited by Mikeyz: Jun 30 2012, 07:25 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 30 2012, 01:33 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jun 30 2012, 01:09 PM)
If you have the $$ to buy an entry level why not??
First few days when i had my BDP S380, i played ahem DVDs, BDs, CDs, genuine US & UK BDs, all worked out fine. Tolerance lvl for me was worth every cent i spent.
Upscaling for DVDs was a significent imporvement to the PQ even for those ahem DVD 9 dual layer copies.
Would advice u bring your fav DVD or BD and do some test run on a demo set on KLIAV or audio shops u prefered to go.
Do look up for Cinavia free units to prevent any dissapoinent from ahem discs playback errors. jMHO!
Thanks a lot. So is this S380 a Sony? And what's the street price nowadays?

And what is this Cinavia you are talking about?

Mikeyz
post Jun 30 2012, 04:03 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 30 2012, 01:33 PM)
Thanks a lot. So is this S380 a Sony? And what's the street price nowadays?

And what is this Cinavia you are talking about?
Ya is from Sony. Is 2011 model. Street price from 299-399 depends on location, limited stocks left.
Cinavia issue please read 2-3 pages back from this thread to get your answer. Thx
ronaldkwok
post Jun 30 2012, 04:41 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 30 2012, 11:03 AM)

1. Relatively cheap.

It is really sinful to watch DVDs on a 50" HDTV. cry.gif Advice? Check the threads here on Blu-ray Players or you can refer to my Blog below on BD player for an overview. It has not been updated but apart from the Cinavia thingy, it is still largely applicable.

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Jun 30 2012, 04:46 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 30 2012, 04:59 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jun 8 2012, 12:16 AM)

How do you know what firmware just by looking at the box/player without it hooked up to TV?

Added on June 30, 2012, 5:05 pm
QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Jun 30 2012, 04:41 PM)
It is really sinful to watch DVDs on a 50" HDTV.  cry.gif
I have a DUNE for the other stuff. Just wanted a cheap Bluray for ahem DVDs sometimes.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jun 30 2012, 05:05 PM
ronaldkwok
post Jun 30 2012, 05:32 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 30 2012, 04:59 PM)
How do you know what firmware just by looking at the box/player without it hooked up to TV?

I have a DUNE for the other stuff. Just wanted a cheap Bluray for ahem DVDs sometimes.
My apologies about the sinful part! Like teaching grandmother (or is it grandfather?) to suck eggs! blush.gif
About the firmware. Some brands of BD player have their production/manufacture date on the box. I believe any player produced before February 2012 should be free from the Cinavia curse. Just my guess.

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Jun 30 2012, 05:39 PM
Mikeyz
post Jun 30 2012, 07:30 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 30 2012, 04:59 PM)

U could ask the sales person to show u the firmware on their available stocks or google on how to read the manufacture date on diff brands of the BDP.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 30 2012, 09:48 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jun 30 2012, 07:30 PM)
U could ask the sales person to show u the firmware on their available stocks or google on how to read the manufacture date on diff brands of the BDP.
The staff are clueless and they are asking for 500 - 700.
Mikeyz
post Jul 1 2012, 12:28 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 30 2012, 09:48 PM)
The staff are clueless and they are asking for 500 - 700.
What BDP u asked till they qouted u 500-700?
Staff clueless = bad service ( i hate the most)

No worries man. I m sure when u look around enough, u will definatly find a player that suite your budget and needs.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 1 2012, 12:50 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jul 1 2012, 12:28 AM)
What BDP u asked till they qouted u 500-700?
Staff clueless = bad service ( i hate the most)

No worries man. I m sure when u look around enough, u will definatly find a player that suite your budget and needs.
S380. I need to know how to check firmware. Is there any code or something on the box sticker telling us which firmware? The staff genuinely don't know anything.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 1 2012, 12:51 AM
Mikeyz
post Jul 1 2012, 10:14 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 1 2012, 12:50 AM)
S380. I need to know how to check firmware. Is there any code or something on the box sticker telling us which firmware? The staff genuinely don't know anything.
Dont worry on the sales person, just tell them to hook up the S380 and from the menu go to System Settings --> system info.
Make sure the firmware is M06.R.0415 or older so is confirmed a Cinavia free unit, if the firmware is beyond what i just stated then is a Cinavia effected unit which will have error playing ahem discs.
That was what i did when i got mine and the sales person also don't know much except hooking up the BDP to the TV, LOL!!

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 1 2012, 01:36 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jul 1 2012, 10:14 AM)
Dont worry on the sales person, just tell them to hook up the S380 and from the menu go to System Settings --> system info.
Make sure the firmware is M06.R.0415 or older so is confirmed a Cinavia free unit, if the firmware is beyond what i just stated then is a Cinavia effected unit which will have error playing ahem discs.
That was what i did when i got mine and the sales person also don't know much except hooking up the BDP to the TV, LOL!!

tcb2010
post Jul 2 2012, 12:44 PM

120 posts

Yeah ..i concur with Mikeyz...that's the safest bet...
alesi616
post Jul 2 2012, 12:57 PM

810 posts

anyone checking the CINAVIA possibility on Philips BDP 3200 or BDP 3300 player?? or the Samsung BD-D5300 ?

what is the firmware version of those above which is free of CINAVIA?
tcb2010
post Jul 3 2012, 12:44 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Jul 2 2012, 12:57 PM)
anyone checking the CINAVIA possibility on Philips BDP 3200 or BDP 3300 player?? or the Samsung BD-D5300 ?

what is the firmware version of those above which is free of CINAVIA?
For samsung D5300, Firmware 1022 and earlier. 1023 and onwards is Cinavia enabled.
-kytz-
post Jul 3 2012, 02:32 PM

12,573 posts

hello. May i ask how to connect my normal Astro to my 3D Blu ray HT system?

Astro uses the red,white and yellow wire. I want astro sound to be played through the HT sound system.

icon_question.gif

Update: fixed

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 3 2012, 04:40 PM
Mea Culpa
post Jul 3 2012, 03:34 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Jun 29 2012, 06:23 PM)
up until today there is still no way to hack this stupid CINAVIA thing? I am sure there will be some experts out there to bypass/crack this.....just like the Apple IOS jailbreak....

yes? no ?
Cinavia has very low entropy, they may have incorperated some very strong error correction. So far its still unbroken.

The ONLY option available is to make the sets to not detect cinavia, like hacked PS3 sets. So far CINAVIA is UNREMOVABLE.

Another plus for S380 is its also capable of 1080i analog component output. All other brands don't offer component out other than 480p composite.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jul 3 2012, 03:45 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 3 2012, 06:59 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Jul 3 2012, 03:34 PM)
Cinavia has very low entropy, they may have incorperated some very strong error correction. So far its still unbroken.

The ONLY option available is to make the sets to not detect cinavia, like hacked PS3 sets.  So far CINAVIA is UNREMOVABLE.
Another plus for S380 is its also capable of 1080i analog component output. All other brands don't offer component out other than 480p composite.
I think I got the last unit of the non-Cinavia S380 in my town. icon_rolleyes.gif
Mikeyz
post Jul 3 2012, 08:56 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 3 2012, 06:59 PM)
I think I got the last unit of the non-Cinavia S380 in my town.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Good for u,i had mine as last few units left also in Sarawak. rclxm9.gif
I went to Kl/PJ and hunted for non-Cinavia units for Sony...all 2011 stocks sold out...now left new ones with Cinavia infected. sweat.gif

takashi24
post Jul 4 2012, 05:20 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 3 2012, 06:59 PM)
I think I got the last unit of the non-Cinavia S380 in my town.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Can I know what is your player serial number? I looking for non-Cinavia S380; at least a guideline for me. Since worry buy a Cinavia effected S380 to replace my current PS3.
Mikeyz
post Jul 4 2012, 09:24 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(takashi24 @ Jul 4 2012, 05:20 PM)
Can I know what is your player serial number? I looking for non-Cinavia S380; at least a guideline for me. Since worry buy a Cinavia effected S380 to replace my current PS3.
I suggest u check the firmware b4 u do the purchase to counter any dissapointments.

This post has been edited by Mikeyz: Jul 4 2012, 09:25 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 4 2012, 10:00 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(takashi24 @ Jul 4 2012, 05:20 PM)
2034xxx
takashi24
post Jul 5 2012, 12:38 PM

30 posts

Thx guys. Finally got it at a remote Sony shop. All major 1 sold out. However the price they still follow as retail price @ RM499.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 5 2012, 01:30 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(takashi24 @ Jul 5 2012, 12:38 PM)
Thx guys. Finally got it at a remote Sony shop. All major 1 sold out. However the price they still follow as retail price @ RM499.
There are still S380 around but they have never firmware. More luck looking at smaller shop or demo unit for one with older firmware.

takashi24
post Jul 5 2012, 01:40 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jul 5 2012, 01:30 PM)
There are still S380 around but they have never firmware. More luck looking at smaller shop or demo unit for one with older firmware.
Ic....but I did ask the seller power up and show me the firmware version. Is non-Cinavia version. Hence without hesitation buy it even the price is high consider some of u guys bought a below RM 400.

xsi
post Jul 5 2012, 02:27 PM

186 posts

question...ahem disc got true-hd/dts-ma audio or not? tried once on my samsung...seems like dont have.
Mikeyz
post Jul 5 2012, 06:27 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(xsi @ Jul 5 2012, 02:27 PM)
question...ahem disc got true-hd/dts-ma audio or not? tried once on my samsung...seems like dont have.
Majority ahem disc like those BD does not come with HD audio . It mainly contains upto compressed DTS or Doldy Digital audio which would give u a 25GB BD content.
A genuine BD with Loseless HD audio is 50GB, which why movie lover would spent on. That is so far what i have seen between both sides
Mea Culpa
post Jul 5 2012, 10:25 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jul 5 2012, 06:27 PM)
Majority ahem disc like those BD does not come with HD audio . It mainly contains upto compressed DTS or Doldy Digital audio which would give u a 25GB BD content.
A genuine BD with Loseless HD audio is 50GB, which why movie lover would spent on. That is so far what i have seen between both sides
Got lahh.. 50GB BD-R , i compared it with my original silver BD-ROM they're the same. You can use AnyDVD HD to defeat AACS to compare with the original files.

But 25GB ones most likely get recompressed if removing other audio tracks and extra stuffs still taking above 25G.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jul 5 2012, 10:35 PM
tcb2010
post Jul 7 2012, 01:19 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jun 22 2012, 10:16 PM)

I tried Midnight in Paris MKV...suppose to be a cinavia infected title, on my Cinavia infected player....and nothing happens..  smile.gif
Dang!!!...Just got hit by a few MKV movies with Cinavia too....Wrath of the titans, Moneyball and 21 Jump Street...Seems like no escape for MKV stuffs too..even with DTS audio remux to AC3 Dolby Digital. Luckily still have the option to play directly from my plasma...bypassing the Cinavia headache on my Bluray player..
Xstan
post Jul 7 2012, 02:48 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Jun 15 2012, 11:46 PM)

Added on June 15, 2012, 11:55 pmBDP-S485 (3D Blu-ray, karaoke)  is on promotion for RM499 at sony centres.  FW rev. 0427 is not cinavia compliant.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge, Mea Culpa

I'm getting LG 3d tv ...am thinking of buying LG BD660 3d player on offer @ RM460. After reading about Cinavia, want to get Sony 3d bd player S385 instead. But what is FW rev. 0427 ? Is all S385 not Cinavia compliant? Regret reading this thread late. Saw only S490 is out launch. Probably avoid it.

Thanks ahead pal. Your wise advice is much appreciated. Thanks pal. smile.gif
Mikeyz
post Jul 7 2012, 07:06 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Jul 7 2012, 02:48 AM)
Thanks for sharing your knowledge, Mea Culpa

I'm getting LG 3d tv ...am thinking of buying LG BD660 3d player on offer @ RM460. After reading about Cinavia, want to get Sony 3d bd player S385 instead. But what is FW rev. 0427 ? Is all S385 not Cinavia compliant? Regret reading this thread late. Saw only S490 is out launch. Probably avoid it.

Thanks ahead pal. Your wise advice is much appreciated. Thanks pal.  smile.gif
As it had been said a few times, BDP manufactured from Feb 2012 onwards are all Cinavia infected. 99% of the general brands out there. Do take note.

Xstan
post Jul 7 2012, 08:41 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jul 7 2012, 07:06 AM)
As it had been said a few times, BDP manufactured from Feb 2012 onwards are all Cinavia infected. 99% of the general brands out there. Do take note.
I rush out asking all available Sony Outlet but most priced S485 @ RM699 while S490 @ RM 499. Finally got a shop & grab S485 @ RM499. But after unbox it, I still can't find or locate manufacturer date . Where izzit?
Btw, what is FW Rev 0427.

The Sony outlet got a shock when I told him about Cinavia. I can't find other models label Cinavia compliant sign in other boxes.

Would appreciate sifu advice. Thanks again....very much.
Mea Culpa
post Jul 7 2012, 08:52 PM

5,184 posts

[cool.gif
QUOTE(Xstan @ Jul 7 2012, 08:41 PM)
I rush out asking all available Sony Outlet but most priced S485 @ RM699 while S490 @ RM 499. Finally got a shop & grab S485 @ RM499. But after unbox it, I still can't find or locate manufacturer date . Where izzit?
Btw, what is FW Rev 0427.

The Sony outlet got a shock when I told him about Cinavia. I can't find other models label Cinavia compliant sign in other boxes.

Would appreciate sifu advice. Thanks again....very much.
FW stands for firwmware revision, all the last stocks selling around jun 2012 has cinavia free firmware. I bet all S380 and S485 are cinavia free, but i cant say the same for S190 and S490.

The newer models do not have component 1080i output, only left with composite 480p, so they can remove the high quality DAC for lower cost.

Xstan
post Jul 7 2012, 09:07 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Jul 7 2012, 08:52 PM)
[cool.gif
FW stands for firwmware revision, all the last stocks selling around jun 2012 has  cinavia free firmware. I bet all S380 and S485 are cinavia free, but i cant say the same for S190 and S490.

The newer models do not have component 1080i output, only left with composite 480p, so they can remove the high quality DAC for lower cost.
Thanks Mea..meaning to say, I still got to check firmware to confirm. Thers no way to look for manufacturing date at the system?
Mea Culpa
post Jul 7 2012, 09:15 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Jul 7 2012, 09:07 PM)
Thanks Mea..meaning to say, I still got to check firmware to confirm. Thers no way to look for manufacturing date at the system?
goto the system setting, look for system information. look for this M07.R.0427
Cinavia infected FW is M7.R.0615

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jul 7 2012, 09:22 PM
Xstan
post Jul 8 2012, 11:33 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Jul 7 2012, 09:15 PM)
goto the system setting, look for system information. look for this M07.R.0427
Cinavia infected FW is M7.R.0615
Donno if ts good...the player I got is with firmware M7R.0263. I suppose is outdated. Shd I upgrade it to 0427. Guess mine is old unit.
I also tested Mirror Mirror 25g china imported & it plays fine. I knew the title is infected with Cinavia.

I compare it with my Phillips 3000 old unit, I find it's darker but it's sharper. Btw, how do I go back to play, where I last watch from setting. Each time It seems I do need to restart the disc again which I find it annoying. Probably I haven't master it. Appreciate tips? Thanks bud. Thanks a lot.
Mea Culpa
post Jul 10 2012, 03:27 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Jul 8 2012, 11:33 PM)
Donno if ts good...the player I got is with firmware M7R.0263. I suppose is outdated. Shd I upgrade it to 0427. Guess mine is old unit.
I also tested Mirror Mirror 25g china imported & it plays fine. I knew the title is infected with Cinavia.

I compare it with my Phillips 3000 old unit, I find it's darker but it's sharper. Btw, how do I go back to play, where I last watch from setting. Each time It seems I do need to restart the disc again which I find it annoying. Probably I haven't master it. Appreciate tips? Thanks bud. Thanks a lot.
Thats the problem for discs with java menu. yep its annoying..

Added on July 10, 2012, 3:45 pm
QUOTE(Xstan @ Jul 8 2012, 11:33 PM)

Check for list of titles that are Cinavia inffected.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jul 10 2012, 03:45 PM
Xstan
post Jul 10 2012, 10:35 PM

175 posts

Today I happen to know a fren who just got Sony bd player S380 frm Aeon 2months back. He complaint the player very sensitive can't play many of the pirated disc. I finally realized his unit is Cinavia compliance. He just played pirated Wrath of Titans & it was rejected. I know Wrath is Cinavia infected.

One of the vendor in my area complaint some of his client complaint that the player rejected many new pirated BD. culprit are Pioneer, Samsung , Panasonic (most sensitive player, no need Cinavia, just can't play pirated ) player. Now I know what is Cinavia . Thanks to you guys...
Mea Culpa
post Jul 11 2012, 10:40 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Jul 10 2012, 10:35 PM)
Today I happen to know a fren who just got Sony bd player S380 frm Aeon 2months back. He complaint the player very sensitive can't play many of the pirated disc. I finally realized his unit is Cinavia compliance. He just played pirated Wrath of Titans & it was rejected. I know Wrath is Cinavia infected.

One of the vendor in my area complaint some of his client complaint that the player rejected many new pirated BD. culprit are Pioneer, Samsung , Panasonic (most sensitive player, no need Cinavia, just can't play pirated ) player. Now I know what is Cinavia . Thanks to you guys...
they are cinavia free out-of-box, until you update it at sony network with cinavia enabled firmware.
low98944
post Jul 11 2012, 11:09 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Jul 10 2012, 10:35 PM)

On the other hand, Panasonic is quite good and can play all original BDs without problem (so far still haven't encounter any problem except region locked BDs). Some players do have problem playing original BDs, although very rare. tongue.gif
Titan_Gunners
post Jul 12 2012, 09:30 PM

1,573 posts

plan to buy bdv e380 at Jusco at rm999.
Can the player play ahem disc??
podrunner
post Jul 13 2012, 11:46 AM

2,214 posts

I've tried playing iso files (stored on my HDD) but it seems the player is not recognising the files, as they do not show up at all on screen. Is there a firmware update for this, or it doesn't play iso files at all.
Mikeyz
post Jul 13 2012, 03:36 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 13 2012, 11:46 AM)
I've tried playing iso files (stored on my HDD) but it seems the player is not recognising the files, as they do not show up at all on screen. Is there a firmware update for this, or it doesn't play iso files at all.
The E380 only aupports limited format from via USB such as
Supported media formats Disc playback: 3D Blu-ray, Blu-ray, DVD-Video/DVD±R/DVD±RW, CD DA, SACD; File formats: AVCHD, XviD HD, AAC, MP3, MKV, WMA, WMV, MPEG(1/2/4), JPEG
Firmware wise to support other formats may be unlikely but should follow up on newest firmware features for a better playback experience.

Added on July 13, 2012, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(Titan_Gunners @ Jul 12 2012, 09:30 PM)
plan to buy bdv e380 at Jusco at rm999.
Can the player play ahem disc??
Bring along your fav ahem disc and ask them to play on the E380 before you buy to avoid any dissapoinments.

This post has been edited by Mikeyz: Jul 13 2012, 03:39 PM
mikapoh
post Jul 13 2012, 03:49 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jul 13 2012, 11:46 AM)
Hi podrunner, long time no heard from you. Glad that you are still in audio game. Do you still listen to your audiolab system?

podrunner
post Jul 13 2012, 07:38 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Jul 13 2012, 03:49 PM)
Hi podrunner, long time no heard from you. Glad that you are still in audio game. Do you still listen to your audiolab system?
Hi!, yes, still do. Listening to quite a bit of FLACs too though. Really have not had that much leisure time to really see to the hobby, of late. Hope you're well.

Added on July 13, 2012, 7:44 pm
QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jul 13 2012, 03:36 PM)
The E380 only aupports limited format from via USB such as
Supported media formats Disc playback: 3D Blu-ray, Blu-ray, DVD-Video/DVD±R/DVD±RW, CD DA, SACD; File formats: AVCHD, XviD HD, AAC, MP3, MKV, WMA, WMV, MPEG(1/2/4), JPEG
Firmware wise to support other formats may be unlikely but should follow up on newest firmware features for a better playback experience.
Thank you!

This post has been edited by podrunner: Jul 13 2012, 07:44 PM
jasonctx
post Aug 3 2012, 03:52 PM

71 posts

any good blu ray players to recommend?...
Sony S485 or LG BD660?....what about pioneer?...thanks.
Xstan
post Aug 3 2012, 05:03 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(jasonctx @ Aug 3 2012, 03:52 PM)
U will b lucky if u manage to get none Cinavia compliant unit. All player are now complied, thus u can't play pirated DVD, bluray or downloaded ones. I grab 2 units of S485 include my fren..thank god they were none Cinavia compliant. Ii kept 1 as spare. Anyway, S485 got good ratings & bet most of its unit is none compliant.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 3 2012, 06:09 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Aug 3 2012, 05:03 PM)
U will b lucky if u manage to get none Cinavia compliant unit. All player are now complied, thus u can't play pirated DVD, bluray or downloaded ones. I grab 2 units of S485 include my fren..thank god they were none Cinavia compliant. Ii kept 1 as spare. Anyway, S485 got good ratings & bet most of its unit is none compliant.
Don't worry. Sooner or later, there will be player from China that can play ahem disc.

geforce1999
post Aug 3 2012, 08:26 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 3 2012, 06:09 PM)
Don't worry. Sooner or later, there will be player from China that can play ahem disc.
nod.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
XPS
post Aug 3 2012, 08:37 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(jasonctx @ Aug 3 2012, 03:52 PM)
Panasonic DMP-BDT220 had good reviews and its not expensive either.
Xstan
post Aug 4 2012, 01:44 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Aug 3 2012, 08:26 PM)
nod.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Howdy Old pal, GeForce.
geforce1999
post Aug 4 2012, 09:14 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Aug 4 2012, 01:44 AM)
Howdy Old pal, GeForce.
Hehehe, what's up? biggrin.gif Hopefully next time I'm in PJ we can meet up with others, been a while since we last met rolleyes.gif
ezlife
post Aug 4 2012, 02:34 PM

121 posts

What if I choose audio passthru and my AV receiver no cinavia? Will my BD player still play the movie?

I mean if the watermark is stored in audio, if I enable audio passthru in my BD player, theoretically it will work right provided my AV receiver has no cinavia?

Does AV receiver also need cinavia certified starting 2012?

This post has been edited by ezlife: Aug 4 2012, 02:36 PM
Mea Culpa
post Aug 4 2012, 04:47 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 3 2012, 06:09 PM)
Illegal stuffs wont be available in open market. Any BD player with AACS decryptor without cinavia as of feb 2012 is ILLEGAL.

They can still make it LEGAL without Cinavia Blu-Ray player, but got one problem, these players will NOT PLAY ORIGINAL Blu-Rays, only pirates with ripped AACS.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Aug 4 2012, 04:47 PM
Mikeyz
post Aug 5 2012, 10:42 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(ezlife @ Aug 4 2012, 02:34 PM)
What if I choose audio passthru and my AV receiver no cinavia? Will my BD player still play the movie?

I mean if the watermark is stored in audio, if I enable audio passthru in my BD player, theoretically it will work right provided my AV receiver has no cinavia?

Does AV receiver also need cinavia certified starting 2012?
Your AVR is no concern to it. The BDP and the BDs that are Conavia infected will play the movie even you passtrough the audio but your AVR is only decoding and output the audio format which is available in your main source.
So if your BDP / main source are Cinavia infected. Then errors will pop out if pirated media are detected while playback.

fishmango
post Aug 5 2012, 05:53 PM

796 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Aug 4 2012, 04:47 PM)
Illegal stuffs wont be available in open market. Any BD player with AACS decryptor without cinavia as of feb 2012 is ILLEGAL.

They can still make it LEGAL without Cinavia Blu-Ray player, but got one problem, these players will NOT PLAY ORIGINAL Blu-Rays, only pirates with ripped AACS.
Does this mean old player b4 feb 2012 has better playability than new player since they can play both original and ahem bd??
Mea Culpa
post Aug 5 2012, 10:43 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(fishmango @ Aug 5 2012, 05:53 PM)
Does this mean old player b4 feb 2012 has better playability than new player since they can play both original and ahem bd??
Nope the updates doesnt affect playability.

Playability only deals with the servo and the laser parts.

Cinavia compliant player will not play copied/backup cinavia infected titles. no problem playing backup/copied non-cinavia titles .

Mikeyz
post Aug 5 2012, 11:18 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(fishmango @ Aug 5 2012, 05:53 PM)
Yes, Cinavia free BDP gives u the advantage to play genuine and ahem BDs / downloaded media.
Morpheus2be
post Aug 6 2012, 08:32 AM

464 posts

<removed> I read the relevant post. Question answered.

Tq

This post has been edited by Morpheus2be: Aug 6 2012, 08:41 AM
zephyryj
post Aug 6 2012, 08:44 AM

140 posts

can recommend me budget bluray player? budget <RM400

all bluray player sold are region free? or need to ask the Salesman?

fishmango
post Aug 6 2012, 11:02 AM

796 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Aug 5 2012, 10:43 PM)
Nope the updates doesnt affect playability.

Playability only deals with the servo and the laser parts.

Cinavia compliant player will not play copied/backup cinavia infected titles. no problem playing backup/copied non-cinavia titles .
QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Aug 5 2012, 11:18 PM)
Yes, Cinavia free BDP gives u the advantage to play genuine and ahem BDs / downloaded media.
thks for replies n info. I got a sony non-cinavia BDP, the only thing it can't play is region B, C disc.
Bishop
post Aug 7 2012, 12:30 PM

Diagonal Views
816 posts

Which 3D player have separate HDMI for audio and video. Have an old amp that don't support HDMI 1.4 3D.
ameenskywalker
post Aug 8 2012, 04:32 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Aug 7 2012, 02:30 PM)
Which 3D player have separate HDMI for audio and video. Have an old amp that don't support HDMI 1.4 3D.
Oppo BDP-93 has 2 hdmi out. I was recommended to this player due to my amp/receiver is not 1.4 3D but my TV is. So, Video straight to TV but audio to my amp/receiver.

Mikeyz
post Aug 9 2012, 12:11 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(fishmango @ Aug 6 2012, 11:02 AM)
thks for replies n info. I got a sony non-cinavia BDP, the only thing it can't play is region B, C disc.
Regoin B & C are locked and not applicable to our local BDP cause it only supports Regoin A / Region Free BDs.

Xstan
post Aug 9 2012, 01:50 AM

175 posts

[edit] List of known devices and players that contain Cinavia protection
Sony PlayStation 3 (with firmware update version 3.10+)
Sony BSP-S190, BDP-BX39, BDP-BX59, and BDP-S590 with firmware released later than 3/26/2012
Sony BDP-S185 / BDP-S186 (with firmware update version M09.R.0033+)[7]
Sony BDP-S390 (with firmware update version M11.R.0147+)
Sony BDP-S480 / BDP-S485 / BDP-S580 / BDP-S780 (with firmware update version M07.R.0615+)[8]
Sony BDP-SX1000 (with firmware update version F01.R.0102+)[9]
Pioneer BDP-V6000
Denon DBP-1611UD
Marantz UD5005
LG BD570 Main Ver: BD8.31.288.C Servo Ver: H80591 (H08SAN)
LG BD550 – firmware H80591
Samsung BD-D5100 (1019.3)
Samsung BD-D5300
Samsung BD-D5500
Samsung BD-D5700
Samsung BD-D6500 (1023)
Samsung BD-D6900
Samsung BD-D8900
Samsung BD-D7000
Samsung HT-D5300
Samsung HT-D6759W

[edit] Blu-ray players/media players that do not contain Cinavia
Dynex DX-WBRDVD1 firmware PKG_DVD_3_3_022_02_DYN_14_BestBuy
LG BD550 BD.8.31.339.C firmware, some firmwares earlier than 300.C contained cinavia
LG BD560 BD.8.31.339.C firmware, some firmwares earlier than 300.C contained cinavia
LG BD570 BD.8.31.339.C firmware, some firmwares earlier than 300.C contained cinavia
NETGEAR EVA8000 media streamer, all known firmware revisions
NETGEAR EVA9000-based media streamers (e.g.: EVA9150, EVA9110), all known firmware revisions
Samsung BD-P1590 latest firmware v2.13 and older
Samsung BD-C5900-XAA firmware BSP-C6900WWB-1019.1 and older
Samsung BD-C6900 up until firmware version BSP-C6900WWB-1018.1
Samsung BD-D6500 firmware 2011/08/05_001022 or older (newer firmware is affected)
Samsung HT-D5550 firmware 2011/09/28_001012 or older
Sony BDP-S300 firmware v5.30 and older (unknown if v5.40 is protected)
Sony BDP-S301 firmware v5.30 and older (unknown if v5.40 is protected)
Sony BDP-S350 firmware 024 and older
Sony BDP-S360 latest firmware 007 and older
Sony BDP-S370 firmware M03.R.315 and older
Sony BDP-S550 latest firmware 024 and older
Sony BDP-S560 latest firmware 007 and older
Sony BDP-S570 firmware M04.R.624 and older
Sony BDP-S1000ES firmware 011 and older
Sony BDP-N460 firmware M02.R.123 and older
Sony BDP-CX960 firmware v013 and older
Oppo BDP-83 latest firmware and older
Oppo BDP-93 latest firmware and older
Panasonic DMP-BD85 - firmware v1.70 dated 2010/10/15 and older
Panasonic DMP-BDT350 - firmware v1.73 dated November 22, 2010 and older
Panasonic SC-BT230 firmware 1.50 and older
Panasonic DMP-BD75 - firmware v1.50 and older
Panasonic DMP-BDT300 - firmware 1.59 and older
Philips BDP9600 firmware 1.53
Pioneer BDP-51FD and BDP-05FD firmware v1.70
Pioneer BDP-320 V3.70 firmware and older
Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player 1st Gen - model: WDAVN00 (latest FW v1.03.01 and older)
Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player 2nd Gen - model: WDBABF0000NBK-NESN (firmware 1.01.70 and older)
Western Digital WD TV Live HD Media Player 1st Gen - model: WDBAAN0000NBK (latest beta Firmware v1.03.35 and older)
Western Digital WD TV Live Plus HD Media Player 1st Gen - model: WDBABX0000NBK (latest Firmware v1.03.29 and older)
Vizio VBR100 firmware unknown

Morpheus2be
post Aug 9 2012, 10:39 AM

464 posts

Briefly tested Avatar 3D on my PS3 (latest firmware updated). Simply awesome...

Didn't get to a point where the Cinavia protection kicked in tho. When it asked to connect to the internet, I simply set "no".

Do the cinavia workarounds on the PS3 work?
Xstan
post Aug 9 2012, 11:44 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(Morpheus2be @ Aug 9 2012, 10:39 AM)
Briefly tested Avatar 3D on my PS3 (latest firmware updated). Simply awesome...

Didn't get to a point where the Cinavia protection kicked in tho. When it asked to connect to the internet, I simply set "no".

Do the cinavia workarounds on the PS3 work?
Cinavia begins with PS3. However me guess old movie like Avatar is Cinavia comply thus u can run the pirated version. I mayb wrong.
Mea Culpa
post Aug 10 2012, 10:26 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Aug 9 2012, 11:44 PM)
Cinavia begins with PS3. However me guess old movie like Avatar is Cinavia comply thus u can run the pirated version. I mayb wrong.
AVATAR is not cinavia protected.

Bishop
post Aug 11 2012, 01:48 PM

Diagonal Views
816 posts

QUOTE(ameenskywalker @ Aug 8 2012, 04:32 PM)
Oppo BDP-93 has 2 hdmi out. I was recommended to this player due to my amp/receiver is not 1.4 3D but my TV is. So, Video straight to TV but audio to my amp/receiver.
Bro got anything more affordable? For peasant set up le.
nobody#2
post Aug 12 2012, 11:52 AM

380 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Aug 11 2012, 01:48 PM)
Bro got anything more affordable? For peasant set up le.
For share - this unit have 2 HDMI output
Sony BDP-790
Is there any user of this player, I asked the sales assistant, since there is no button on the player, so how do I control the unit, then he told me everything is under control by the remote control. Is it true?
jasonctx
post Aug 16 2012, 11:26 AM

71 posts

hey bros,

can suggest a good and reasonable price 3d blu ray player if i dont mind it is cinavia affected?
willkso
post Aug 16 2012, 03:01 PM

993 posts

Groupon Sony BDP S-485 at RM599 for 1 unit. 2 unit at RM658.90.. biggrin.gif

Anyone? Too bad they don't deliver to Sarawak..

Groupon Sony BDP S-485

Added on August 16, 2012, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(willkso @ Aug 16 2012, 04:01 PM)

Groupon Sony BDP S-485
Oh.. Just read back the details again.. It's 2 years extended warranty.. oops.gif

This post has been edited by willkso: Aug 16 2012, 03:29 PM
eye
post Aug 16 2012, 06:24 PM

1,166 posts

two good bdp that supports 2hdmi outputs :

sony s790

panasonic bdt500

if u buy from spore, about s$499 for the s790, the bdt500 about the same price, klang valley can't find the models at all

some of the newer tvs have audio relay control on their hdmi2, u can connect an hdmi out from the tv to an older amp.

This post has been edited by eye: Aug 16 2012, 06:25 PM
Mikeyz
post Aug 16 2012, 08:15 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Aug 16 2012, 03:01 PM)

Groupon Sony BDP S-485

Added on August 16, 2012, 3:29 pm
Oh.. Just read back the details again.. It's 2 years extended warranty..  oops.gif
Sony Gallery in Kuching Boulevard Mall also selling it at RM599, don't know still got stocks left around today.

Xstan
post Aug 16 2012, 10:38 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(jasonctx @ Aug 16 2012, 11:26 AM)
hey bros,

can suggest a good and reasonable price 3d blu ray player if i dont mind it is cinavia affected?
Sony BDP S485 which has good ratings & reasonable price player. I got it at @ RM499. Since its a bargain, I got 2nd unit as spare.. Really ...no regret as the price for this old model is high in demand & am lucky as it was not Cinavia comply. Now good price is RM599 at many stores. Originally is RM799 me heard.
sunnyboy
post Aug 17 2012, 11:53 AM

1,446 posts

BDP S485 is a good buy player for newbies?
kkthen
post Aug 17 2012, 04:02 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(jasonctx @ Aug 16 2012, 11:26 AM)
hey bros,

If don't mind cinavia affected. I think get the latest model sony bdp-s490 is good buy. Desa home theater is selling RM499. If you always do the dlna streaming, please don't update the latest firmware & off the auto update feature. After I update mine, my sony bluray player cannot read most of my video file from media server, But read from usb port still ok.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Aug 17 2012, 04:04 PM
sunnyboy
post Aug 17 2012, 09:41 PM

1,446 posts

for cinavia issue, if i use original disc only.....nothing affect, correct?
Mea Culpa
post Aug 20 2012, 01:15 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Aug 17 2012, 09:41 PM)
for cinavia issue, if i use original disc only.....nothing affect, correct?
not just disc, it doesnt play downloaded rips (through USB) it will not work if they're ripped from cinavia protected BDs.

Added on August 20, 2012, 1:19 am
QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Aug 17 2012, 11:53 AM)
BDP S485 is a good buy player for newbies?
the current best and the last 3d model without cinavia. better than s380 performance but less than s470.

Added on August 20, 2012, 1:26 am
QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Aug 9 2012, 12:11 AM)
Regoin B & C are locked and not applicable to our local BDP cause it only supports Regoin A / Region Free BDs.
for region free BD playability , HTPC is recommended (BD drive), only DVD is region locked.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Aug 20 2012, 01:26 AM
PAJAK GADAI FS
post Aug 23 2012, 09:49 PM

I have checked the s380 at Harvey Norman, the fw stated as m06.r.579. And for the s485 model the fw is m07.r.609. Just to check whether both models are free from cinnavia. Thanks.
Xstan
post Aug 24 2012, 02:10 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(PAJAK GADAI FS @ Aug 23 2012, 09:49 PM)
I have checked the s380 at Harvey Norman, the fw stated as m06.r.579. And for the s485 model the fw is m07.r.609. Just to check whether both models are free from cinnavia. Thanks.
U can check frm the list I gv earlier. But I guess the S485 is Cinavia compliant.

Try check out Desa @ 1U for the S485 unit which I head is selling at RM499. Not sure if it's Cinavia compliant.
Mikeyz
post Aug 24 2012, 08:55 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Aug 9 2012, 01:50 AM)
[edit] List of known devices and players that contain Cinavia protection
Sony PlayStation 3 (with firmware update version 3.10+)
Sony BSP-S190, BDP-BX39, BDP-BX59, and BDP-S590 with firmware released later than 3/26/2012
Sony BDP-S185 / BDP-S186 (with firmware update version M09.R.0033+)[7]
Sony BDP-S390 (with firmware update version M11.R.0147+)
Sony BDP-S480 / BDP-S485 / BDP-S580 / BDP-S780 (with firmware update version M07.R.0615+)[8]
Sony BDP-SX1000 (with firmware update version F01.R.0102+)[9]
Pioneer BDP-V6000
Denon DBP-1611UD
Marantz UD5005
LG BD570 Main Ver: BD8.31.288.C Servo Ver: H80591 (H08SAN)
LG BD550 – firmware H80591
Samsung BD-D5100 (1019.3)
Samsung BD-D5300
Samsung BD-D5500
Samsung BD-D5700
Samsung BD-D6500 (1023)
Samsung BD-D6900
Samsung BD-D8900
Samsung BD-D7000
Samsung HT-D5300
Samsung HT-D6759W

[edit] Blu-ray players/media players that do not contain Cinavia
Dynex DX-WBRDVD1 firmware PKG_DVD_3_3_022_02_DYN_14_BestBuy
LG BD550 BD.8.31.339.C firmware, some firmwares earlier than 300.C contained cinavia
LG BD560 BD.8.31.339.C firmware, some firmwares earlier than 300.C contained cinavia
LG BD570 BD.8.31.339.C firmware, some firmwares earlier than 300.C contained cinavia
NETGEAR EVA8000 media streamer, all known firmware revisions
NETGEAR EVA9000-based media streamers (e.g.: EVA9150, EVA9110), all known firmware revisions
Samsung BD-P1590 latest firmware v2.13 and older
Samsung BD-C5900-XAA firmware BSP-C6900WWB-1019.1 and older
Samsung BD-C6900 up until firmware version BSP-C6900WWB-1018.1
Samsung BD-D6500 firmware 2011/08/05_001022 or older (newer firmware is affected)
Samsung HT-D5550 firmware 2011/09/28_001012 or older
Sony BDP-S300 firmware v5.30 and older (unknown if v5.40 is protected)
Sony BDP-S301 firmware v5.30 and older (unknown if v5.40 is protected)
Sony BDP-S350 firmware 024 and older
Sony BDP-S360 latest firmware 007 and older
Sony BDP-S370 firmware M03.R.315 and older
Sony BDP-S550 latest firmware 024 and older
Sony BDP-S560 latest firmware 007 and older
Sony BDP-S570 firmware M04.R.624 and older
Sony BDP-S1000ES firmware 011 and older
Sony BDP-N460 firmware M02.R.123 and older
Sony BDP-CX960 firmware v013 and older
Oppo BDP-83 latest firmware and older
Oppo BDP-93 latest firmware and older
Panasonic DMP-BD85 - firmware v1.70 dated 2010/10/15 and older
Panasonic DMP-BDT350 - firmware v1.73 dated November 22, 2010 and older
Panasonic SC-BT230 firmware 1.50 and older
Panasonic DMP-BD75 - firmware v1.50 and older
Panasonic DMP-BDT300 - firmware 1.59 and older
Philips BDP9600 firmware 1.53
Pioneer BDP-51FD and BDP-05FD firmware v1.70
Pioneer BDP-320 V3.70 firmware and older
Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player 1st Gen - model: WDAVN00 (latest FW v1.03.01 and older)
Western Digital WD TV HD Media Player 2nd Gen - model: WDBABF0000NBK-NESN (firmware 1.01.70 and older)
Western Digital WD TV Live HD Media Player 1st Gen - model: WDBAAN0000NBK (latest beta Firmware v1.03.35 and older)
Western Digital WD TV Live Plus HD Media Player 1st Gen - model: WDBABX0000NBK (latest Firmware v1.03.29 and older)
Vizio VBR100 firmware unknown

This list of info ahould be done as a Sticky in this thread,
PAJAK GADAI FS
post Aug 24 2012, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(Xstan @ Aug 24 2012, 02:10 AM)
U can check frm the list I gv earlier. But I guess the S485 is Cinavia compliant.

Try check out Desa @ 1U for the S485 unit which I head is selling at RM499. Not sure if it's Cinavia compliant.
Desa home theatre at one u? You mean they have a branch there? Are you working there...

Added on August 24, 2012, 12:51 pm
QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Aug 24 2012, 08:55 AM)
Manage to find the bpd s485 with fr m07.r.0427. So this unit is confirm not cinnavia infected? Thanks!

This post has been edited by PAJAK GADAI FS: Aug 24 2012, 12:51 PM
alesi616
post Aug 24 2012, 04:36 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Aug 24 2012, 08:55 AM)
The list is missing firmware version for Sony BDP-S380, Philips BDP3200, BDP3300....these few bluray players are quite common in the market......anyone can share the firmware version which is non-CINAVIA compliant?

thanks!
PAJAK GADAI FS
post Aug 24 2012, 07:50 PM

QUOTE(Xstan @ Aug 16 2012, 10:38 PM)
Sony BDP S485 which has good ratings & reasonable price player. I got it at @ RM499. Since its a bargain, I got 2nd unit as spare.. Really ...no regret as the price for this old model is high in demand & am lucky as it was not Cinavia comply. Now good price is RM599 at many stores. Originally is RM799 me heard.
Mind telling us what's the firm ware no. Thanks

Xstan
post Aug 24 2012, 11:15 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(PAJAK GADAI FS @ Aug 24 2012, 11:49 AM)
Desa home theatre at one u? You mean they have a branch there? Are you working there...

Manage to find the bpd s485 with fr m07.r.0427. So this unit is confirm not cinnavia infected? Thanks!
No..I'm from Ipoh. Just happen to see it while shop there. Donno if it's Desa or something. Remember near a video outlet at new wing. Remember it's few shops away from Bosini.

My current Sony Player firmware is as u mentioned & yes, it's not infected.
PAJAK GADAI FS
post Aug 25 2012, 09:03 AM

QUOTE(Xstan @ Aug 24 2012, 11:15 PM)
No..I'm from Ipoh. Just happen to see it while shop there. Donno if it's Desa or something. Remember near a video outlet at new wing. Remember it's few shops away from Bosini.

Thanks! gonna get 2 units for Rm440 each.
Mea Culpa
post Aug 26 2012, 04:20 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Aug 24 2012, 04:36 PM)
The list is missing firmware version for Sony BDP-S380, Philips BDP3200, BDP3300....these few bluray players are quite common in the market......anyone can share the firmware version which is non-CINAVIA compliant?

thanks!
philips bdp cannot match up sony in terms of playability IMO, servo is a bit noisy even when running ori bd-rom, doesn't boot BD-R properly sometimes you need to cycle 3-5 times to get it to work. i prefer the smoother sony.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Aug 26 2012, 04:20 PM
alesi616
post Aug 26 2012, 07:14 PM

810 posts

GIANT hypermarket is doing Philips bdp3200 clearance sale, rm279.... cant find sony bdp-s380 anywhere now.
eye
post Aug 27 2012, 03:37 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(nobody#2 @ Aug 12 2012, 11:52 AM)
For share - this unit have 2 HDMI output
Sony BDP-790
Is there any user of this player, I asked the sales assistant, since there is no button on the player, so how do I control the unit, then he told me everything is under control by the remote control. Is it true?
the s790 has touch buttons at the top of the unit:

left hand side top > on/off touch button

right hand side top > eject, stop & play lighted buttons

u can also download sony's media remote for android & ios phones/tablets to control the s790 via wifi connection. i enjoy controlling the s790 & tv via my ipad, no need line of sight smile.gif

This post has been edited by eye: Aug 28 2012, 04:09 PM
Bishop
post Aug 27 2012, 10:44 PM

Diagonal Views
816 posts

QUOTE(eye @ Aug 16 2012, 06:24 PM)
two good bdp that supports 2hdmi outputs :

sony s790

panasonic bdt500

if u buy from spore, about s$499 for the s790, the bdt500 about the same price, klang valley can't find the models at all

some of the newer tvs have audio relay control on their hdmi2, u can connect an hdmi out from the tv to an older amp.
Any where locally can get them?

How can I check if the tv can by-pass the audio out?
PAJAK GADAI FS
post Aug 28 2012, 01:03 PM

QUOTE(PAJAK GADAI FS @ Aug 25 2012, 09:03 AM)
hi need advise from anyone who knows about home theater system...
I hooked up my Sony blu ray player s485 to my Dennon amp...and when i was playing bluray movies with DTS HD M audio,
how come i don't see the DTS HD MA appear on the amp screen but instead the surround sound is stated MULTI IN.
What does it mean? Does this means that its already DTS HD MA.

Before this i was using my PS3 to connect into the amp..and usually it will auto detect the surround sound and the DTS HD Master will appear instantly on the amp screen when the movie starts.

Just wpndering is there any prob with my player or system? or its meant to be MULTI IN since the player has DTS HD... ..

Any Bros here can help out....

Thanks!
eye
post Aug 28 2012, 02:39 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Aug 27 2012, 10:44 PM)
Any where locally can get them?

How can I check if the tv can by-pass the audio out?
the s790 is now listed on sony malaysia website for rm1099, maybe u can get them at the sony centres.

yr tv manual should state whether u have ARC or not. my panney vt50 has ARC via hdmi2, tried to get it to work with my old onkyo 807, but failed ... most probably, the 807 doesn't support ARC sad.gif

This post has been edited by eye: Aug 28 2012, 04:05 PM
sunnyboy
post Aug 28 2012, 02:56 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(PAJAK GADAI FS @ Aug 25 2012, 09:03 AM)
is it still available?
Skylinestar
post Aug 28 2012, 08:53 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(PAJAK GADAI FS @ Aug 28 2012, 01:03 PM)
hi need advise from anyone who knows about home theater system...
I hooked up my Sony blu ray player s485 to my Dennon amp...and when i was playing bluray movies with DTS  HD M audio,
how come i don't see the DTS HD MA appear on the amp screen but instead the surround sound is stated MULTI IN.
What does it mean? Does this means that its already DTS HD MA.

Before this i was using my PS3 to connect into the amp..and usually it will auto detect the surround sound and the DTS HD Master will appear instantly on the amp screen when the movie starts.

Just wpndering is there any prob with my player or system? or its meant to be MULTI IN since the player has DTS HD... ..
Any Bros here can help out....

Thanks!
looks like the BD player was set to decode the audio instead of letting the AVR to decode. audio settings can be changed in the BD player.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Aug 28 2012, 08:53 PM
PAJAK GADAI FS
post Aug 29 2012, 04:12 PM

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Aug 28 2012, 08:53 PM)
looks like the BD player was set to decode the audio instead of letting the AVR to decode. audio settings can be changed in the BD player.
so i should off the DTS audio in the audio setting?
eye
post Aug 29 2012, 05:28 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(PAJAK GADAI FS @ Aug 29 2012, 04:12 PM)
so i should off the DTS audio in the audio setting?
leave the dts audio on as DTS

u have to select BIT_STREAM output via HDMI to the receiver

setting for BD audio mix, set to OFF

jasonctx
post Aug 30 2012, 09:10 AM

71 posts

any recommendations for a good and reasonable priced 3d blu ray player? thanks. dont mind bout the cinavia as i only watch original blu rays. Thanks.
vcxv
post Aug 31 2012, 02:52 PM

403 posts

can anyone recommend pioneer bdp 140? i do mind about cinavia though ;p
PAJAK GADAI FS
post Sep 1 2012, 12:20 AM

QUOTE(eye @ Aug 29 2012, 05:28 PM)
leave the dts audio on as DTS

u have to select BIT_STREAM output via HDMI to the receiver

setting for BD audio mix, set to OFF
Ok bro...I try and see. Thanks lotsa!

little_beginner
post Sep 1 2012, 04:07 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(PAJAK GADAI FS @ Aug 24 2012, 11:49 AM)

QUOTE(Xstan @ Aug 24 2012, 11:15 PM)

I also looking for blu ray player currently. Bro Xstan, just to confirm, i thought that bdp s485 fw m07.r.0427 is cinnavia infected? Only those Fw older than m06.r.0415 is all cinnavia free right?
Xstan
post Sep 1 2012, 07:03 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(little_beginner @ Sep 1 2012, 04:07 PM)
I also looking for blu ray player currently. Bro Xstan, just to confirm, i thought that bdp s485 fw m07.r.0427 is cinnavia infected? Only those Fw older than  m06.r.0415 is all cinnavia free right?
V

No is not. Only after 0.06+ is infected. Confirm if it's .0427 is not.
little_beginner
post Sep 1 2012, 07:14 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Sep 1 2012, 07:03 PM)
V

No is not. Only after 0.06+ is infected. Confirm if it's .0427 is not.
Sorry , where the 0.06 came from? I cant fit into the fw blink.gif
Xstan
post Sep 2 2012, 02:15 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(little_beginner @ Sep 1 2012, 07:14 PM)
Sorry , where the 0.06 came from? I cant fit into the fw  blink.gif

It's R.0615
little_beginner
post Sep 2 2012, 09:32 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Xstan @ Sep 2 2012, 02:15 AM)

It's R.0615
ok i'm clear
wen9x88
post Sep 2 2012, 06:31 PM

2,933 posts

understand that here is not the right place to ask.
just would to have some suggestion on the bluray player.
budget RM250-RM300.

Xstan
post Sep 3 2012, 02:29 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Sep 2 2012, 06:31 PM)
understand that here is not the right place to ask.
just would to have some suggestion on the bluray player.
budget RM250-RM300.

Still Sony Model 190?

alesi616
post Sep 3 2012, 10:29 AM

810 posts

GIANT sell Philips BDP3200 for rm279, stock clearance smile.gif
frogprince619
post Sep 4 2012, 12:04 AM

31 posts

Where can I still get Sony BDP-S485 in Penang? Thank you!
wen9x88
post Sep 4 2012, 12:41 AM

2,933 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Sep 3 2012, 10:29 AM)
GIANT sell Philips BDP3200 for rm279, stock clearance smile.gif
Which giant?
Until when?
alesi616
post Sep 4 2012, 09:16 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Sep 4 2012, 12:41 AM)
Which giant?
Until when?
every Giant store nationwide, wHile stock last..
wen9x88
post Sep 4 2012, 11:29 AM

2,933 posts

great,just go viva home giant,dont have over there.

garyhew
post Sep 11 2012, 12:13 PM

40 posts

[quote=Xstan,Aug 24 2012, 11:15 PM]

sounds like best denki to me

Xstan
post Sep 11 2012, 11:18 PM

175 posts

[quote=garyhew,Sep 11 2012, 12:13 PM]
[quote=Xstan,Aug 24 2012, 11:15 PM]

sounds like best denki to me

[/quote]

Ya..it's Best Denki. I just recal.
MugenK20A
post Sep 12 2012, 02:31 PM

1,244 posts

go Senheng rclxms.gif
ExcelBoy
post Sep 14 2012, 12:23 AM

44 posts

Who can Jailbreak Pioneer Bluray player to watch all region Bluray disc & read Chinese subtitles?
They are now selling here:
http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=151894...cf436dbb9c40944
geforce1999
post Sep 15 2012, 10:49 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(ExcelBoy @ Sep 14 2012, 12:23 AM)
Who can Jailbreak Pioneer Bluray player to watch all region Bluray disc & read Chinese subtitles?
They are now selling here:
http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=151894...cf436dbb9c40944
Good news, look like dvd will be extinct very soon....
Xstan
post Sep 16 2012, 02:48 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Sep 15 2012, 10:49 PM)
Good news, look like dvd will be extinct very soon....
But only in China I presumed.
terrykoh
post Sep 16 2012, 03:41 PM

Hi...anyone out there knows where I can get a Sony/Samsung Blu Ray player which is free of Cinavia in Penang?
little_beginner
post Sep 17 2012, 12:11 AM

76 posts

Hope they gonna spread it to outside. Waiting for sony jail breaker.

Added on September 17, 2012, 12:12 amHope they gonna spread it to outside. Waiting for sony jail breaker.

This post has been edited by little_beginner: Sep 17 2012, 12:12 AM
frogprince619
post Sep 19 2012, 01:53 PM

31 posts

Found S-485 last unit with FW M7R.0263 @ RM599. Took it.
Now any idea if this FW should be upgraded to M7R.0427? And how?
yellow_label2207
post Sep 20 2012, 01:38 AM

332 posts

anyway to fix the cinavia?
or i have to buy another blu ray player?
been using ps3 before.
Xstan
post Sep 20 2012, 01:42 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(frogprince619 @ Sep 19 2012, 01:53 PM)
I doubt so.
sonerin
post Sep 20 2012, 07:31 AM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(yellow_label2207 @ Sep 20 2012, 01:38 AM)
anyway to fix the cinavia?
or i have to buy another blu ray player?
been using ps3 before.
Is not because of the player but the firmware
yellow_label2207
post Sep 20 2012, 11:28 AM

332 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Sep 20 2012, 07:31 AM)
Is not because of the player but the firmware
if it's firmware problem, any way to solve it? icon_question.gif
el3xtrosky
post Sep 21 2012, 03:37 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(mensa @ Oct 5 2011, 12:23 PM)
using sony bdp 370..throw everything can play...(so far) dvd region free..fast start up..no regret smile.gif
Usually, where do you buy your bluray movies? Can it play region b bluray (eg, from amazon.co.uk)? hmm.gif
mensa
post Sep 21 2012, 06:12 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(el3xtrosky @ Sep 21 2012, 03:37 AM)
Usually, where do you buy your bluray movies? Can it play region b bluray (eg, from amazon.co.uk)? hmm.gif
98% of my collections are bought from amazon smile.gif
el3xtrosky
post Sep 22 2012, 01:24 AM

73 posts

I found this Samsung BDE 5300 at senq sunway penang. kind of cheap RM399 but through you guys' experience, does it play region b and a bluray.. anyone has experience?

This post has been edited by el3xtrosky: Sep 22 2012, 01:24 AM
Xstan
post Sep 22 2012, 03:30 PM

175 posts

No. Only play region A. But at Amz UK u can buy Region Free disc. It's still cheaper than US.

Anyway, if u can find any player that can play all region bluray at that price & free from Cinavia, do let us know. This is BIG news than.

This post has been edited by Xstan: Sep 22 2012, 03:35 PM
yellow_label2207
post Sep 25 2012, 12:51 PM

332 posts

can recommend me a BD player without cinavasia problem below rm600?
alesi616
post Sep 25 2012, 04:34 PM

810 posts

it‘s not abt the price now, only those old stock bluray player (with old firmware) dont have CINAVIA problem.

new 2012 model, or old 2011 model but new stock all got CINAVIA issue.

either spend More time/efford looking for old stock, or dont Buy now, wait for china-fella come out with CINAVIA-free player next time
Xstan
post Sep 25 2012, 11:32 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(yellow_label2207 @ Sep 25 2012, 12:51 PM)
can recommend me a BD player without cinavasia problem below rm600?
There's still plenty of old Sony S485 player w/o Cinavia infected. But chk their firmware.

Mea Culpa
post Sep 26 2012, 10:15 PM

5,184 posts

Sony S-190 is going for an amazing RM299.00. Great playability, but it may be cinavia compliant.
sunnyboy
post Sep 28 2012, 12:07 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Sep 26 2012, 10:15 PM)
Sony S-190 is going for an amazing RM299.00. Great playability, but it may be cinavia compliant.
where?
Xstan
post Sep 29 2012, 12:02 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Sep 28 2012, 12:07 PM)
where?
Saw it @ Tesco. U can bring cinavia bd to test or chk it's firmware.
little_beginner
post Sep 30 2012, 05:29 PM

76 posts

At courts saw sony bdv e190 for rm899. Cinivia infected any one tried before?
wwloon
post Oct 5 2012, 04:00 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(frogprince619 @ Sep 19 2012, 01:53 PM)
I found the update file to firmware version M7R.0427 for the S-485.

http://www.sony.co.za/support/download/464782

You can download it and update your player... AT YOUR OWN RISK. Please share your result here.
BlackWoods
post Oct 6 2012, 09:26 AM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

Sony Playstation 3.
Still the best bang for buck, can play game + DVD & BLURAY movies on it for just around RM900 now.
What else can you ask?
wiNd
post Oct 6 2012, 09:38 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Oct 6 2012, 09:26 AM)
Sony Playstation 3.
Still the best bang for buck, can play game + DVD & BLURAY movies on it for just around RM900 now.
What else can you ask?
3D Blu-rays too! rclxms.gif
podrunner
post Oct 7 2012, 06:56 PM

2,214 posts

How does one test for cinavia? Am looking at Panasonic bdt220. Does anyone know if this is "infected"?

Has anyone tried a region free hack for blu ray discs?

This post has been edited by podrunner: Oct 8 2012, 09:53 AM
thkhai
post Oct 9 2012, 09:36 AM

143 posts

Now I m getting the new Sony bdp-s490 3d blu-ray, the function is gud ....
alesi616
post Oct 11 2012, 03:49 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(thkhai @ Oct 9 2012, 09:36 AM)
got CINAVIA issue? can play pirate disc?
Skylinestar
post Oct 11 2012, 04:25 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(thkhai @ Oct 9 2012, 09:36 AM)
does it have time search feature?
how's the subtitle rendering for mkv video file? can post a screenshot?
thkhai
post Oct 11 2012, 08:18 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(alesi616 @ Oct 11 2012, 03:49 PM)
got CINAVIA issue? can play pirate disc?
I m not sure, bcoz now i open for pre-order only, i haven get the stock yet.....
this is the link
http://www.sony.com.my/product/bdp-s490

Added on October 11, 2012, 8:21 pm
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 11 2012, 04:25 PM)
does it have time search feature?
how's the subtitle rendering for mkv video file? can post a screenshot?
I will post a review when i m get the stock on 1st Nov.....
this is the link, u can look the feature here http://www.sony.com.my/product/bdp-s490

This post has been edited by thkhai: Oct 11 2012, 08:21 PM
diagoro
post Oct 11 2012, 08:35 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(xpilon @ Oct 3 2011, 10:50 PM)
Hi Bro,

If you look for Full HD Media Player then I would recomend Popcorn Hour. You won't regret.
Hi bro which shop is selling popcorn hour?
pixit
post Oct 14 2012, 04:55 PM

111 posts

hi all,
anyone knows how this LG BP-120 Blu-ray player performs? Is it cinavia infected? Any others option recommend?

Mea Culpa
post Oct 18 2012, 12:44 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(pixit @ Oct 14 2012, 04:55 PM)
hi all,
anyone knows how this LG BP-120 Blu-ray player performs? Is it cinavia infected? Any others option recommend?

When it comes to BD-R and LTH , i wouldn't consider LG, unless im only going to use BD-ROM.

you'll may get issues disc kept ejecting for no reason, until u cycled a few times, servo issues? not sure.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Oct 18 2012, 12:45 PM
pixit
post Oct 18 2012, 04:16 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Oct 18 2012, 12:44 PM)
When it comes to BD-R and LTH , i wouldn't consider LG, unless im only going to use BD-ROM.

you'll may get issues disc kept ejecting for no reason, until u cycled a few times, servo issues? not sure.
So, what is your recommendation? Sony having protection issue and mkv playback issue as well zzz

Skylinestar
post Oct 18 2012, 08:48 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(pixit @ Oct 18 2012, 04:16 PM)
Sony having protection issue and mkv playback issue as well zzz
please clarify
pixit
post Oct 18 2012, 09:25 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 18 2012, 08:48 PM)
please clarify
Sony will not play if the mkv files is compressed and CINAVIA protection issue.
Skylinestar
post Oct 18 2012, 10:50 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(pixit @ Oct 18 2012, 09:25 PM)
Sony will not play if the mkv files is compressed and CINAVIA protection issue.
ok..i thought it has problem playing with any mkv files. just the cinavia afterall. sweat.gif

if all movies are cinavia protected...and all current and future media players have cinavia, will this be the end of internet downloaded, bd ripped movies?
pixit
post Oct 19 2012, 02:44 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 18 2012, 10:50 PM)
ok..i thought it has problem playing with any mkv files. just the cinavia afterall.  sweat.gif

if all movies are cinavia protected...and all current and future media players have cinavia, will this be the end of internet downloaded, bd ripped movies?
I think they (sony) implemented cinavia protection mostly for Sony Pictures movie for copyrights. But, the protection is not unbreakable just that who are willing to take the risk tongue.gif beside no one is gonna pay them for it right? If the situation is like what you said "the end of internet downloaded" , then those pro will come out and break it for sure biggrin.gif
willkso
post Oct 19 2012, 06:23 AM

993 posts

QUOTE(pixit @ Oct 19 2012, 03:44 AM)
I think they (sony) implemented cinavia protection mostly for Sony Pictures movie for copyrights. But, the protection is not unbreakable just that who are willing to take the risk  tongue.gif  beside no one is gonna pay them for it right? If the situation is like what you said "the end of internet downloaded" , then those pro will come out and break it for sure  biggrin.gif
The problem is that most if not all blu-ray player produced after Feb this year will be cinavia compliant. Even old player with firmware update will be cinavia compliant also. So, as long as you're playing cinavia 'infected' content with cinavia compliant blu-ray player, then you will face the same issue with Sony player.
Mea Culpa
post Oct 19 2012, 10:32 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(pixit @ Oct 19 2012, 02:44 AM)
I think they (sony) implemented cinavia protection mostly for Sony Pictures movie for copyrights. But, the protection is not unbreakable just that who are willing to take the risk  tongue.gif   beside no one is gonna pay them for it right? If the situation is like what you said "the end of internet downloaded" , then those pro will come out and break it for sure  biggrin.gif
those "pro" will need some EXPENSIVE measure perhaps a "mod chip" , that requires reverse engineering of the players firmware, but i believe that is NOT going to happen, why you said? if you have 1000 firmwares you'll need 1000 kind of mod chips, not feasible, its over 5 years cinavia is still kicking butts.

Playstation is different, they have limited versions.

Even if you can bypass cinavia detection, you'll still cant removed it, without distorting the audio track.

It has low entrophy yet extreme error correction rate, let say you manage to filtered 9,999 out of 10,000 of the encoded bytes, 1 is enough to trigger the protection. Its futile to resist... get originals smile.gif

Nowadays a new non-cinavia 3d players is collecting RM600-700 ..

Added on October 19, 2012, 11:18 am
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 18 2012, 10:50 PM)
ok..i thought it has problem playing with any mkv files. just the cinavia afterall.  sweat.gif

ripped movies actually meant for PC platform, it will always be cinavia free for PC tongue.gif softwares can be reverse engineered at lesser difficulty VS hardwares... i think.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Oct 19 2012, 11:19 AM
Xstan
post Oct 20 2012, 12:59 AM

175 posts

Why does many think Cinavia only affected Sony bd player ? Again I repeat what other says...all latest player mfg after Feb2012 is to comply to Cinavia or else u can't play original bluray.
skylinelover
post Oct 26 2012, 10:10 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

my father just buy a pirated bluray n when he plays it,,,the sound will b suddenly muted after a while with appearance of the COPYRIGHT warning...is this the sign of CINAVIA protection???using samsung bluray player here

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Oct 26 2012, 10:12 AM
sonerin
post Oct 26 2012, 12:47 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 26 2012, 10:10 AM)
my father just buy a pirated bluray n when he plays it,,,the sound will b suddenly muted after a while with appearance of the COPYRIGHT warning...is this the sign of CINAVIA protection???using samsung bluray player here
Yes it is
formalin
post Oct 29 2012, 12:58 PM

114 posts

Can anyone HELP? icon_question.gif Been using my Pioneer BDP-120 since 2010 without problem even with Ahem Disc. Yesterday it suddenly refuse to play some of the same BD which it play the day before. But No problem with DVD and some BD? rclxub.gif Pls HELP icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by formalin: Oct 29 2012, 01:00 PM
sonerin
post Oct 29 2012, 05:56 PM

8,739 posts

Any error of it just wont play ? If no error, there are possibilities of the BD is not good
Mikeyz
post Oct 29 2012, 07:18 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(formalin @ Oct 29 2012, 12:58 PM)
Can anyone HELP?  icon_question.gif Been using my Pioneer BDP-120 since 2010 without problem even with Ahem Disc. Yesterday it suddenly refuse to play some of the same BD which it play the day before. But No problem with DVD and some BD?  rclxub.gif Pls HELP icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
If is the same ahem discs that refuse to play and there are no particular error then definatly is the disc itself, ahem discs tend to have playback issue when it is either played few times or the disc may be dirty at some part.
willkso
post Oct 29 2012, 08:58 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Oct 29 2012, 08:18 PM)
If is the same ahem discs that refuse to play and there are no particular error then definatly is the disc itself, ahem discs tend to have playback issue when it is either played few times or the disc may be dirty at some part.
The ahem disc should be part of the issue as they never have proper QC. I admit I do buy those cheap blu-ray disc but to my horror.. Drive Angry can't be play after 8 mins into movie. The Battleship I can finish playing the whole movie but both disc can't be rip to BD-ISO. Always read error message. I don't have any problem ripping ori blu-ray disc so far.
sonerin
post Oct 30 2012, 07:19 AM

8,739 posts

I guess we understand the problem on the quality of the disc. Is a total waste just to buy it and is not working well. Is not cheap as well
formalin
post Oct 31 2012, 11:24 AM

114 posts

It is nothing to do with the Disc..but the firmware
csyow331
post Oct 31 2012, 06:58 PM

41 posts

i am planning to buy a blu ray player, how can i test if the player is cinavia compliant?

need to play 'ahem' BD for half an hour then only can confirm (check whether the movie is muted or not) whether the player is cinavia complaint or not?

thanks.
ayvin
post Nov 2 2012, 12:34 AM

26 posts

Anyone bought LG bluray player ? Heard that it is free from cinavia issue..
sonerin
post Nov 2 2012, 07:36 AM

8,739 posts

If is 2 years old player most likely is not cinavia compliant
Maknusia
post Nov 2 2012, 02:32 PM

997 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Nov 2 2012, 07:36 AM)
If is 2 years old player most likely is not cinavia compliant
unless you had upgraded the firmware, via LAN (if its connected with auto upgrade?)
Mea Culpa
post Nov 11 2012, 05:17 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(ayvin @ Nov 2 2012, 12:34 AM)
Anyone bought LG bluray player ? Heard that it is free from cinavia issue..
hmmm nope, its not. Regardless of brand, newer players all have cinavia.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Nov 11 2012, 05:18 PM
m8upaddict
post Dec 2 2012, 10:58 AM

Is this solution valid for Blu |Ray players , it focus on PS3 though... but mentioned Blu Ray players. I am trying to get a fix for my Philips BDP5500 which is likely Cinavia protected....

Melbourne, Victoria -- (SBWIRE) -- 10/25/2012 -- The PS3 Movie Fix or Movie Fix 2.0 is also known as that which that gives no more error messages. This is a solution for Play station 3 and Blu-Ray owners. Through this, you may play any movie you want. This is considered to be the first and only working solution. This is a product that gets rid of all error messages, if the playback has halted or audio being muted. Almost all movies will have or already have this problem, so this might do something about it.

The Movie Fix 2.0 solution is a new version that includes support for Blu-Ray compatible players. As endorsed, previous version also required you to set up a media server, but now you can play them directly from a USB or hard drive if you want to. And this version has free updates. The people behind this made sure that they are able to update their product with the latest tweaks and methods, making sure you get what you need. And you will get free updates for life when getting this product.

When you start using this product, you can be sure that this is Windows compatible specifically with the Windows XP, Vista and Windows 7. And you do not have to worry if you are a MAC user because this works for Mac OS X, from version 10.4 to the latest 10.7 version. You can be sure that the 24/7 Support is included in the support ticket and e – mail system making sure you get the help you need. In fact, the product supports the most common video formats including DVD, VOB, AVi, DivX, WMV, MPG, MP4, MOV, MKV, DV, FLV.

Every wise customer will make sure that there is a money back guarantee once they try to purchase any product. And the money back guarantee is true to this product. If for some reason this will not work, you will get the full amount back. And you have got 90 days to return the product. You do not have to worry because this is safe and secure purchase. This is sold through Clickbank, one of the largest and most respected vendors on the net. There are just more than enough reasons for you to be able to enjoy this product once you start using it.

The Movie Fix 2.0 wants you to know about it is that all firmware is supported. You do not need to have a certain firmware to get the product to work properly. This is an international product that works on all Playstation 3 consoles, whether it is a JAP, US or EU version. And you can order from which ever country you are in. you do not need to jailbreak your console in order to get the product to work. And there is no modcips or soldering. This is a warranty that it will not harm your PS3 warranty.

To discover more about the Movie Fix 2.0 Visit the Official Cinavia Movie Fix 2.0 Website

This post has been edited by m8upaddict: Dec 2 2012, 10:59 AM
och721229
post Dec 13 2012, 06:19 PM

191 posts

i just bought panasonic 3d blu ray player DMP-BDT220 few days ago and already watched 3-4 ahem 3d blu ray movies with no problem at all ,so my question is it Cinavia Free blu ray player ? What is the symbol of Cinavia player ? Or Cinavia will just work on non 3d blu ray disc only cox i haven't play non 3d blu ray movies yet ?

This post has been edited by och721229: Dec 13 2012, 06:29 PM
peet
post Dec 16 2012, 12:51 AM

397 posts

Just an update, info was given to me by the sales guy at Desa Home Theatre Kepong.
All new models now are Cinavia-compliant. Exception 1 or 2 models like the Pioneer he showed me which costs RM1,500+.

I asked about Sony BDP S380 but that model no longer in production. Pls do correct me if I have been given wrong info. Thanks.
alesi616
post Dec 16 2012, 06:31 PM

810 posts

try philips bdp3200 old model, bdp3300 is cinavia
noobz97
post Dec 19 2012, 12:47 AM

29 posts

I bought Sony HD750 TV....
Come with Free Sony BDP-S490
I wonder S490 is Cinavia-compliant, Can play Ahem dics???
Can anyone tell me...

This post has been edited by noobz97: Dec 19 2012, 12:53 AM
geforce1999
post Dec 19 2012, 08:57 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(noobz97 @ Dec 19 2012, 12:47 AM)
I bought Sony HD750 TV....
Come with Free Sony BDP-S490
I wonder S490 is Cinavia-compliant, Can play Ahem dics???
Can anyone tell me...
Seems like S490 is Cinavia free... http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=56837157

Correction on 27th Dec! Seems like S490 is Cinavia enable http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=57076201

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Dec 27 2012, 07:59 AM
noobz97
post Dec 21 2012, 11:49 PM

29 posts

which brand player can play Ahem 3D disc???
thx a lot
XLG
post Dec 24 2012, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(och721229 @ Dec 13 2012, 06:19 PM)
i just bought panasonic 3d blu ray player DMP-BDT220 few days ago and already watched 3-4 ahem 3d blu ray movies with no problem at all ,so my question is it Cinavia Free blu ray player ? What is the symbol of Cinavia player ? Or Cinavia will just work on non 3d blu ray disc only cox i haven't play non 3d blu ray movies yet ?

Where did you get this set and how much the price?

Are you happy with the set and is there any issues?

Skylinestar
post Dec 25 2012, 07:45 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

If the BD player can play Battle:Los Angeles (test for 1 minute) without problem, is it confirmed that the player is Cinavia free?
Mea Culpa
post Dec 26 2012, 05:55 PM

5,184 posts

the cinavia free 3D capable S485 is still in the market for around RM450-550 but not many.

Added on December 26, 2012, 6:41 pm
QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 25 2012, 07:45 PM)
If the BD player can play Battle:Los Angeles (test for 1 minute) without problem, is it confirmed that the player is Cinavia free?
Nope, try it pass 40 minutes.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 26 2012, 06:41 PM
Skylinestar
post Dec 26 2012, 08:17 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Dec 26 2012, 05:55 PM)
Nope, try it pass 40 minutes.
That means we have have no idea which part of the movie will trigger the cinavia alert? sweat.gif
Mea Culpa
post Dec 27 2012, 12:06 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 26 2012, 08:17 PM)
That means we have have no idea which part of the movie will trigger the cinavia alert? sweat.gif
The purpose of such algorithm is to make it much harder to pin point and to crack.

Added on December 27, 2012, 12:22 amYou can check the Cinavia infected BD titles here.

http://blog.dvdfab.com/cinavia-protection.html#

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 27 2012, 12:22 AM
Mikeyz
post Dec 27 2012, 10:29 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 25 2012, 07:45 PM)
The Cinavia error will pop out on effected titles between 20-30 minutes of your movie playback. And if you stop the movie or replay, it pop out instantly unless whole system is shut down.

RoxyMunky
post Jan 29 2013, 09:30 AM

MalaoZai
1,852 posts

QUOTE(och721229 @ Dec 13 2012, 06:19 PM)
for anyone who is interested in this model.

harvey norman Mid Valley is running promotion for it at RM420.

i was tempted to get one, but skipped it as i wasn't fond of 3D player~ laugh.gif
kumarss
post Feb 4 2013, 11:48 PM

19 posts

To all sifus, can i know where to buy BDP S790 Sony 3D blu ray player?
myqd
post Feb 5 2013, 11:33 AM

2,247 posts

got myself Samsung BD-E5300,a simple BD player,watched few durian BDs including Beyonce,Adele,Inception,Apocalypto....so far no Cinavia yet,touch wood smile.gif
geforce1999
post Feb 5 2013, 12:14 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Feb 5 2013, 11:33 AM)
got myself Samsung BD-E5300,a simple BD player,watched few durian BDs including Beyonce,Adele,Inception,Apocalypto....so far no Cinavia yet,touch wood smile.gif
Try some of the Cinavia BD from the list here and you will know. The latest Cinavia BD title that I encouter recently is Resident Evil: Retribution.
myqd
post Feb 5 2013, 01:33 PM

2,247 posts

opssss,ok,the list on which page ?
myqd
post Feb 5 2013, 01:48 PM

2,247 posts

found this online :
http://www.digital-forums.com/showthread.p...Cinavia-affects

Blu-ray players/media players that Cinavia affects:

Sony Playstation 3 (PS3) firmware 3.10 or higher
Sony BDP-S185/BDP-S186 (fw: M09.R.0033 or higher) BDP-S390 (fw: M11.R.0147 or higher)
BDP-S280/BDP-S480/BDP-S485/BDP-S580/BDP-S780 (fw: M07.R.0615 or higher)
BDP-SX1000 (fw: F01.R.0102 or higher)
BDP-BX39/BDP-BX59/BDP-S590 (fw: M11.R.0320 or higher)
Samsung BD-Dxxxx Series BD-Exxxx Series
Philips BDP5200, BDP6000 (fw: 1.42 or higher)
Pioneer BDP-V6000
Marantz UD5005 UD7006
LG BDP550 (fw: 8.31.283.C)
Denon DBP-1611UD (fw: MCU Ver 100/07.04.2011) [NOT CONFIRMED] DBP-2012UDCI
Panasonic DMPBDT220

Affected titles - could be BD or DVD:

The Wolfman (Universal)
Shutter Island (Paramount)
The Losers (Warner Bros)
Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Universal)

Battle: Los Angeles (Sony Pictures)
Sucker Punch (Sony Pictures)
Just Go With It (Columbia Pictures)
Red Riding Hood (Warner Bros)
Paul (Universal)
Fast Five aka Fast & Furious 5: Rio Heist (Universal)
Hall Pass (New Line Cinema / Warner Bros)
The Hangover Part 2 (Warner Bros)
Priest (Sony Pictures)
Bridesmaids (Universal)
Bad Teacher (Sony Pictures)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 (Warner Bros)
Zookeeper (Sony Pictures)
Friends with Benefits (Screen Gems / Sony Pictures)
The Change Up (Universal)
Horrible Bosses (New Line Cinema / Warner Bros)
30 Minutes or Less (Columbia Pictures / Sony Pictures)
Tower Heist (Universal)
A Very Harold And Kumar 3D Christmas (Warner Bros)
Moneyball (Sony Pictures)
Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows (Warner Bros)

Underworld Awakening (Sony Pictures)
Wrath Of The Titans (Warner Bros)
American Reunion (Universal)
21 Jump Street (Sony Pictures)
Battleship (Universal)
Men in Black III (Columbia Pictures / Sony Pictures)
Snow White and the Huntsman (Universal)
Ice Age: Continental Drift (Blue Sky / 20th Century Fox)
Ted (Universal)
The Amazing Spider-Man (Columbia / Marvel)
The Lorax (Universal)

List of DVD Releases confirmed with Cinavia

Takers (Sony Pictures)
The Tourist (Sony Pictures)
The Social Network (Sony Pictures)

The Roommate (Sony Pictures)
Dylan Dog Dead of Night (20th Century Fox)

Project X (Warner Bros)
Wrath of the Titans (Warner Bros)

List of Blu-ray Discs confirmed with Cinavia

The Losers (Warner Bros)
Karate Kid (Sony Pictures)
Salt (Sony Pictures)
The Other Guys (Sony Pictures)
Resident Evil: Afterlife (Sony Pictures)
Takers (Sony Pictures)
The Tourist (Sony Pictures)
How Do You Know (Sony Pictures)
Burlesque (Sony Pictures)

The Green Hornet (Sony Pictures)
Paul (Sony Pictures)
The Adjustment Bureau (Sony Pictures)
Sucker Punch (Sony Pictures)
The Roommate (Sony Pictures)
Priest (Sony Pictures)
Dylan Dog Dead Of Night (20th Century Fox)
Larry Crowne (Universal Studios)
The Smurfs (Sony Pictures)
Friends with Benefits (Sony Pictures)
Life, Above All (Sony Pictures)
Straw Dogs (Sony Pictures)
Midnight in Paris (Sony Pictures)
Colombiana (Sony Pictures)
Don't Be Afraid of the Dark (Sony Pictures)
Moneyball (Sony Pictures)
Higher Ground (Sony Pictures)
Courageous (Sony Pictures)
The Ides of March (Sony Pictures)
Bucky Larson: Born to Be a Star (Sony Pictures)
Restless (Sony Pictures)
Drive (Sony Pictures)
The Thing (Universal Studios)
Anonymous (Sony Pictures)
The Rum Diary (Sony Pictures)
London Boulevard (Sony Pictures)
The Skin I Live In (Sony Pictures)
Jack and Jill (Sony Pictures)
Carnage (Sony Pictures)
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (Sony Pictures)
In the Land of Blood and Honey (Sony Pictures)
A Dangerous Method (Sony Pictures)
The Adventures of Tintin (Sony Pictures)

Underworld: Awakening (Sony Pictures)
The Vow (Sony Pictures)
The Woman in Black (Sony Pictures)
Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance (Sony Pictures)
In Darkness (Sony Pictures)
21 Jump Street (Sony Pictures)
Project X (Warner Bros)
Footnote (Sony Pictures)
Wrath of the Titans (Warner Bros)
Salmon Fishing in the Yemen (Sony Pictures)
Lockout (Sony Pictures)
Detention (Sony Pictures)
The Raid: Redemption (Sony Pictures)
A Separation (Sony Pictures)
Meeting Evil (Sony Pictures)

geforce1999
post Feb 5 2013, 02:36 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Feb 5 2013, 01:33 PM)
opssss,ok,the list on which page ?
Opps... sorry forgot to attached the link. http://blog.dvdfab.com/cinavia-protection.html#
sonerin
post Feb 5 2013, 02:40 PM

8,739 posts

Its time to support original
myqd
post Feb 5 2013, 03:31 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Feb 5 2013, 02:36 PM)
Opps... sorry forgot to attached the link.  http://blog.dvdfab.com/cinavia-protection.html#
thanks geforce for the link smile.gif

QUOTE(sonerin @ Feb 5 2013, 02:40 PM)
ya,that's my new year wish tongue.gif but honestly,i did buy original BD,i got Mamamia,Apocalypto,Ninja Assasin,Transformer,Spiderman,Avatar,Narnia.....

one thing i hate original BD,they normally dun have chinese subtitles sad.gif
er650
post Mar 18 2013, 11:40 PM

QUOTE(sonerin @ Feb 5 2013, 02:40 PM)
Yaaa Right.... I bought hundreds of pounds of Original BD.

But forgot to look out for region cry.gif now all BD can't play due to Region locked...
damn TuLan...
Support la Support vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif

vmad.gif
All these Paranoid counter-piracy stance are only driving us honest users toward ahem"pirated"ahem BD & BDP only la
vmad.gif
cmonstar
post Mar 19 2013, 06:39 AM

132 posts

Ya, i kena that Cinevia wit Underworld
robinsonz
post Mar 23 2013, 11:02 PM

206 posts

guys, I went to HIFI shop 2 days ago, got info that some of the samsung and pioneer BD player with Cinavia are able to break already, the shops charged RM100-200 to break it. But I dont have the exact model.
Mea Culpa
post Mar 24 2013, 11:58 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(robinsonz @ Mar 23 2013, 11:02 PM)
guys, I went to HIFI shop 2 days ago, got info that some of the samsung and pioneer BD player with Cinavia are able to break already, the shops charged RM100-200 to break it. But I dont have the exact model.
The jail break on pioneer disabled its internet feature.
kasturiGM
post Mar 25 2013, 03:34 AM

26 posts

hello..there is too much to look at on BD player..
i don't even know the term anymore as i quit catching up bout technology few years back.....can any one of u help me recommend a blu ray player that can play most of my video files in my external hard disk and has a karaoke function as well..
and how much does the cost ranged?
sonerin
post Mar 25 2013, 10:35 AM

8,739 posts

go to electrical store to ask the help of salesman to recommend
kasturiGM
post Mar 25 2013, 02:09 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 25 2013, 10:35 AM)
go to electrical store to ask the help of salesman to recommend
iv been there...
first of all not all salesman person knows about the stuff too...sometimes i asked 3 person, 3 of them gave different answer...
second of all none of the electrical store that i have been has the blu ray player that i need..
i did some google and found 2 or 3 model that has karaoke function but dont know which store selling them..i have been to best denki, sen q, jusco, desa home centre, and harvey norman..
i guess these days they separate the function into different category...no longer has multifunction entertainment system..

sonerin
post Mar 26 2013, 10:23 AM

8,739 posts

honestly, I never seen a BD player with karaoke function.
willkso
post Mar 26 2013, 04:15 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 26 2013, 11:23 AM)
honestly, I never seen a BD player with karaoke function.
Sony BDP-S485. have 2 mic input.. biggrin.gif
sonerin
post Mar 26 2013, 04:21 PM

8,739 posts

Well with 2 mic input is just an additional input. That is not karaoke function.
willkso
post Mar 26 2013, 11:04 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 26 2013, 05:21 PM)
Well with 2 mic input is just an additional input. That is not karaoke function.
It has the key control. So, that's basic karaoke function and not just additional input.
htkaki
post Mar 28 2013, 11:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(er650 @ Mar 18 2013, 11:40 PM)
Yaaa Right.... I bought hundreds of pounds of Original BD.

But forgot to look out for region  cry.gif  now all BD can't play due to Region locked...
damn TuLan...
Support la Support  vmad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  mad.gif

vmad.gif
All these Paranoid counter-piracy stance are only driving us honest users toward ahem"pirated"ahem BD & BDP only la
vmad.gif
What BDs that you have in Reg B?
normality78
post Apr 25 2013, 07:28 PM

46 posts

So if i only watch normal DVD, i shld not be buying BR dvd player right? Thought of buying Sony BDV-N590 or Philips HTS 5563. But i only watch normal ahem DVD instead of ahem BR disc
lkj
post May 1 2013, 10:00 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(kasturiGM @ Mar 25 2013, 03:34 AM)
hello..there is too much to look at on BD player..
i don't even know the term anymore as i quit catching up bout technology few years back.....can any one of u help me recommend a blu ray player that can play most of my video files in my external hard disk and has a karaoke function as well..
and how much does the cost ranged?
Philips BDP3300K, 3380K, 3480K et al have Karaoke. USB 2.0 for flash drive/external hard drive and plays MKV, AVI files etc. Go to Philips Malaysia website for more details. Prices generally starting around RM300+ and higher depending on features such as 3D, Wi-Fi built in (or not), Smart TV, Skype, web browsing.
Alan Yee
post Jun 10 2013, 11:30 AM

1,031 posts

Hi. I'm new to the Bluray Disc format.

Recently, bought a Philips HTS3562/98.
This is a 3D Bluray home theater, 5.1 Channel, with 600W output, Bought at a really bargain price, with a free Wi-Fi dongle.

So far, not encounter any issue on playability. It can play MKV, MP4, MOV, RMVB, AVI, M2TS, TP, WMV with no issue.
I test it with my Hitachi 750GB external hard disk, be it a 1080p or 720p file, it can play it nicely, without any lag.
The only verdict is the USB port is not supplying adequate power to power up the hard disk, I have to supply an external power supply for the hard disk.
Other than that, it play nicely with every format that I throw in.

It has a hidden feature as well, which is not mention in the official website. This player is DLNA certified, which means you can stream media file to it to play.
I installed a free DLNA server in my Windows XP PC, so far so good.
But, the RMVB file is not playable via DLNA, but not much an issue, since all my files mostly are high quality MKV, MP4, or MOV.
Other issue is on the subtitle, where for external SRT file, it will not decode to its original charset, it only support english SRT.
Example:If I have a subtitle SRT file with Unicode chinese character, the player won't decode the Unicode character.
But, the player do support decoding the subtitle embedded in the MKV file properly. The player can decode subtitle in idx format as well.

Been played on one ahem Bluray Disk, no issue is found, but I won't play it much since I more focus on the internet download.

Now a day, the first criteria to consider buying a Bluray Player is 3D playability.
This is quite confusing for consumer, where most BD player on the market is not equip with this feature, which cost a few hundred ringgit less.

Second, look for Divx+ HD certified product. This is the certification that let the Smart TV, or the Bluray player to play high quality MKV, MP4, or MOV files without any issue.
However, there is exception to this, where the Sony BDV-E290 3D Bluray home theater actually can play those file as well, even without the certification, but the playability is still an unknown issue.

Third, look for DLNA certified product. This is not so important if you don't fancying the technology, but is a very good way to play media from the file in the PC or laptop.
Now, you don't need to save or transfer your media file to pen drive, or external hard disk in order to enjoy all the high quality playback on your player via USB.
Instead, just share out the folder in your laptop, connect your player and laptop via Wi-Fi, and you can directly play those file from the player via your laptop flawlessly.

So, this is a happy purchase.
I have tons of MKV, MP4, and MOV in my PC, and I just playing those file via DLNA.
The player will recognize the audio format in the file, be it Dolby 5.1, DTS 5.1, AAC, MP3, it plays all.

All the 1080p mp4 file that I download from Youtube is also playable. I like to download 1080p music video from Youtube.

This post has been edited by Alan Yee: Jun 10 2013, 11:39 AM
Mea Culpa
post Jun 10 2013, 12:33 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(normality78 @ Apr 25 2013, 07:28 PM)
So if i only watch normal DVD, i shld not be buying BR dvd player right? Thought of buying Sony BDV-N590 or Philips HTS 5563. But i only watch normal ahem DVD instead of ahem BR disc
BEWARE! cinavia compliant bd player will NOT play DVD or downloaded video fornat that was originally ripped from cinavia protected BD titles.

Cinavia protecten on bd player is not just built to block copied bdr but just any media played on it which carries the cinavia watermark.

To play cinavia protected titles R*P from Blu-Ray. A dedicated dvd player and media player are much preffered.

Anyways support oris.. :-)

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jun 10 2013, 12:44 PM
Alan Yee
post Jun 10 2013, 03:30 PM

1,031 posts

Very sad to say that all the branded Bluray player are implementing the Cinavia Technology.
I have browse many of the Bluray player manual, including the model for Sony, Panasonic, Philips, LG, all has Cinavia Notice, or Copy Protection notice.

All the Bluray player do mention the use of Cinavia Technology which "limit the use of unauthorized copies of some commercially-produced film and videos and their soundtracks. When a prohibited use of an unauthorized copy is detected, a message will be displayed and playback or copying will be interrupted."

I will try to play the ripped title in MKV with Cinavia protection in the HTS3562/98, which is mentioned in this forum.

I have played Final Fantasy VII : Advent Children Complete, John Carter, Fast & Furious 3,4,5, lots of Apple's Trailer in MOV format, and lot's of Full HD music video in MP4 format, downloaded from Youtube.

So far, not having any issue.
Mea Culpa
post Jun 10 2013, 03:55 PM

5,184 posts

Resident evil : Retribution bd ripped has cinavia watermark but dvd / dvd ripped r cinavia free tho.. U can use this title for testing of cinavia.
Alan Yee
post Jun 11 2013, 12:31 AM

1,031 posts

Ok, tested the BD ripped Resident Evil : Retribution, and Battle Los Angeles.
Whole movie can be played without issue.
Played via DLNA.

Philips HTS3562/98
Mea Culpa
post Jun 11 2013, 11:25 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Jun 11 2013, 12:31 AM)
Ok, tested the BD ripped Resident Evil : Retribution, and Battle Los Angeles.
Whole movie can be played without issue.
Played via DLNA.

Philips HTS3562/98
Could be....

1. You might have a cinavia free player. Is there any mentioning of cinavia in the manual?

2. Cinavia protection is limited to usb and disc playback.

3. The bd-rip had bd audio track removed (demux) and replaced (remux) with dvd audio track which is cinavia watermark free. Provided the audio length fits nicely.
Alan Yee
post Jun 11 2013, 05:12 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Jun 11 2013, 11:25 AM)
Could be....

1. You might have a cinavia free player. Is there any mentioning of cinavia in the manual?

2. Cinavia protection is limited to usb and disc playback.

3. The bd-rip had bd audio track removed  (demux) and replaced (remux) with dvd audio track which is cinavia watermark free. Provided the audio length fits nicely.
Cinavia restriction is mentioned in the user manual. But it doesn't mention how the Cinavia works.
The sound track for both movie file is Dolby Digital 5.1.
The soundtrack is "undefined", which is not defined as "English" as the soundtrack language.

Will try to playback the file from USB.
Alan Yee
post Jun 12 2013, 09:21 AM

1,031 posts

Tested with Battle Los Angeles, Sucker Punch, The Adjustment Bureau, and The Hangover Part II from USB HDD, no issue encountered.
Philips HTS 3562/98
Mea Culpa
post Jun 12 2013, 03:01 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Jun 12 2013, 09:21 AM)
Tested with Battle Los Angeles, Sucker Punch, The Adjustment Bureau, and The Hangover Part II from USB HDD, no issue encountered.
Philips HTS 3562/98
Confirm u hav cinavia free audio track movie files. The sony bdp-s190 fails dvd and usb test.
Or perhaps u hav cinavia free firmware?

The moment of truth. . Test with bdr bdmv with cinavia.

Even if it has cinavia its still a good buy since most of the ripped cinavia titles works. Good thing they can make it cinavia free. Good thing cinavianot in dvd disc yet.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jun 12 2013, 06:38 PM
Alan Yee
post Jun 13 2013, 10:11 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Jun 12 2013, 03:01 PM)
Confirm u hav cinavia free audio track movie files. The sony bdp-s190 fails dvd and usb test.
Or perhaps u hav cinavia free firmware?

The moment of truth. . Test with bdr bdmv with cinavia.

Even if it has cinavia its still a good buy since most of the ripped cinavia titles works. Good thing they can make it cinavia free. Good thing cinavianot in dvd disc yet.
I actually upgrade the system to the latest firmware v1.56.10, release on 2013-02-07, since the first day I use the system.
The firmware added Youtube and Picasa function, which is, for me, not a big deal.

After reading this forum, I actually quite worried on this Cinavia stuff.
Well, it may be fine on playing all the internet downloaded media with AVC/H264 compression, it doesn't guarantee on the Bluray and DVD disk playability.

Maybe someone can recommend some Cinavia affected ahem Bluray for BDR/BDMV test doh.gif
Mea Culpa
post Jun 13 2013, 10:44 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Jun 13 2013, 10:11 AM)
I actually upgrade the system to the latest firmware v1.56.10, release on 2013-02-07, since the first day I use the system.
The firmware added Youtube and Picasa function, which is, for me, not a big deal.

After reading this forum, I actually quite worried on this Cinavia stuff.
Well, it may be fine on playing all the internet downloaded media with AVC/H264 compression, it doesn't guarantee on the Bluray and DVD disk playability.

Maybe someone can recommend some Cinavia affected ahem Bluray for BDR/BDMV test doh.gif
Original dvd doesnt carry cinavia, so this means a copied one should play just find.

Im specifically refering to dvd9 that is converted from original bluray. These are dvd9 pressed disc from china.

Id suggest dont buy the bdr just borrow it, it will still play but muted after 20 mins or so. You can google for the cinavia infected titles list.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jun 13 2013, 10:47 AM
Alan Yee
post Jun 13 2013, 11:17 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Mea Culpa @ Jun 13 2013, 10:44 AM)
Original dvd doesnt carry cinavia, so this means a copied one should play just find.

Im specifically refering to dvd9 that is converted from original bluray. These are dvd9 pressed disc from china.

Id suggest dont buy the bdr just borrow it, it will still play but muted after 20 mins or so. You can google for the cinavia infected titles list.
10s for your suggestion.
Unfortunately, non of my friend are fancying the bluray or high definition file format, so no luck to even borrow a copy.
Since the ahem bluray disk price nowaday is dropping to the price nearing ahem DVD, will consider buying some for collection and testing purpose.

By googling the list, seems most of the title release under Columbia Pictures/Sony Pictures, and some Warner Bros are affected.
ronaldkwok
post Jun 14 2013, 08:44 PM

656 posts

Just to share my experience on playing ahem BD with Cinavia protection on my HTiB Panasonic SC-BTT190. I played ahem BD Parker (it's a Sony!) using DTS HD MA and sure enough, the audio muted after about 20 minutes with the Cinavia protection message. Then I switched the audio to DD 5.1 and played for about 40 minutes without any problem. I then switched back to DTS HD MA and surprisingly it was able to play. But after another 20 minutes or so, the audio muted again. So I switched to DD 5.1 and again it played without problem. Thus it would appear that the Cinavia protection is only on the DTS HD MA track and not on the DD5.1 track, at least on this movie. Or the DD5.1 track has been remuxed in this case. Thus it seems you can watch your movie in full HD audio for Cinavia protected BD if you don't mind the inconvenience of watching it at periods of 20 minutes each with sufficient intervals in between. This is not conclusive so I hope others will also share their Cinavia experience here. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Jun 14 2013, 08:48 PM
Alan Yee
post Jun 14 2013, 09:27 PM

1,031 posts

Today tested "Total Recall" and "Men In Black 3" on ahem Bluray Disk, the Cinavia watermark finally shown up on both titles.

The Cinavia affect the "Total Recall" Dolby TrueHD English track, and affect the "Men In Black 3" DTS HD Master Audio English track.
Both title pop out the watermark around 20 minutes of continuous play, and the audio is muted.

I turn off, and then turn on the system, the system resume the play from where it halted, and after 20 minute, the Cinavia warning is shown again.

So conclusion is, HTS3562/98 is affected with Cinavia on Bluray Disk.
However, the system is playing fine on ripped media, no issue found on DLNA and USB HDD playback.
I have played ripped Total Recall, Men In Black 3, Colombiana, Moneyball, Zookeeper, Wrath of the Titans, no issue found.

I purposely download and test Moneyball and Zookeeper title from other source where I normally not download, and no issue is found.

So, like it or hate it, the Cinavia is here with every new Bluray player.
There are China made Bluray players in the market though.
Today saw a 3D Bluray player from HKV starting from RM299, with the feature on par with every branded player.
Dunno this player is affected or not.
low98944
post Jun 14 2013, 10:53 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Jun 14 2013, 09:27 PM)
Today tested "Total Recall" and "Men In Black 3" on ahem Bluray Disk, the Cinavia watermark finally shown up on both titles.

The Cinavia affect the "Total Recall" Dolby TrueHD English track, and affect the "Men In Black 3" DTS HD Master Audio English track.
Both title pop out the watermark around 20 minutes of continuous play, and the audio is muted.

I turn off, and then turn on the system, the system resume the play from where it halted, and after 20 minute, the Cinavia warning is shown again.

So conclusion is, HTS3562/98 is affected with Cinavia on Bluray Disk.
However,  the system is playing fine on ripped media, no issue found on DLNA and USB HDD playback.
I have played ripped Total Recall, Men In Black 3, Colombiana, Moneyball, Zookeeper, Wrath of the Titans, no issue found.

I purposely download and test Moneyball and Zookeeper title from other source where I normally not download, and no issue is found.

So, like it or hate it, the Cinavia is here with every new Bluray player.
There are China made Bluray players in the market though.
Today saw a 3D Bluray player from HKV starting from RM299, with the feature on par with every branded player.
Dunno this player is affected or not.
So cheap! Come with Dolby TrueHD? How about DTS HD Master Audio?

Most of the cheaper branded cheaper Blu-ray player only has DTS HD Master Audio but don't support Dolby TrueHD. Some very cheap branded Blu-ray player don't even have both of them. tongue.gif
sonerin
post Jun 14 2013, 11:18 PM

8,739 posts

BD is kind of a little high end thing. So is good to stick to the more branded player. I mean if we want to enjoy home entertainment, we should go all for it.
vcxv
post Jun 30 2013, 03:13 PM

403 posts

Hi I m using s485 n ps3 as my bdp. However recently I just realized I accidentally bought region b bluray.
What are the cheapest option to play region b bluray?
What are the options for region free bluray player ?
19 Degree South
post Jun 30 2013, 06:21 PM

1,682 posts

So much trouble now ah to watch blueray? PD can't play huh....to watch a movie buy ori...not sensible to me. None of the movies that I watched more thn once.
Alan Yee
post Jul 1 2013, 09:25 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jun 30 2013, 06:21 PM)
So much trouble now ah to watch blueray? PD can't play huh....to watch a movie buy ori...not sensible to me. None of the movies that I watched more thn once.
I would say that Bluray is still very new to the market, the branded player now are still quite expensive (unless the China made player)
All the branded player will have Cinavia implemented, and all player are region base, Malaysia fall into region A, so just make sure buying region A disc will do.
Well, it is still not region free, PD without Cinavia will have no issue, but PD with Cinavia will have issue.
19 Degree South
post Jul 1 2013, 12:53 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Jul 1 2013, 09:25 AM)
I would say that Bluray is still very new to the market, the branded player now are still quite expensive (unless the China made player)
All the branded player will have Cinavia implemented, and all player are region base, Malaysia fall into region A, so just make sure buying region A disc will do.
Well, it is still not region free, PD without Cinavia will have no issue, but PD with Cinavia will have issue.
Oic....haven't really even touched DVD for the past three years. Now online is very easy. Lucky I turned down those freebie blueray player on offer . After reading this thread then I realized there are so much thing about this little player. Too bad... I am cheapo and only goes for pirated! tongue.gif
Alan Yee
post Jul 1 2013, 01:53 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jul 1 2013, 12:53 PM)
Oic....haven't really even touched DVD for the past three years. Now online is very easy. Lucky I turned down those freebie blueray player on offer . After reading this thread then I realized there are so much thing about this little player.  Too bad... I am cheapo and only goes for pirated!  tongue.gif
Haha.... I'm going pirated too.....
Bluray is much more cheaper than before, but they still wouldn't down to a price that is consider affordable for us.
The sole reason will be DVD, because DVD is not yet a dead format, they are still very popular.
Most people are still satisfied with DVD.

With online provider are pushing the online content, such as HD streaming, and movie downloading, Bluray are facing stiff competition.
The only light that will shine on Bluray will be the 4K video, where Bluray will be more suitable to store the large video content than online steaming.
ronaldkwok
post Jul 2 2013, 12:48 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Jul 1 2013, 09:25 AM)
You can get many entry level branded BD players for about RM299 and even some older models at RM199 so it is not that expensive considering a branded HDMI DVD player will also cost above RM200. For those planning to move into the BD world, the best deals nowadays would be to get a Blu-ray HTiB (Home Theatre in a Box) where you will have a 3D BD player plus all the speakers for full HD 5.1 audio that will sound much better that the TV. Lately I saw many older model HTiB going from RM500 upwards such as my own Panasonic BTT190 at RM599 and Philips HTS3541 at RM529. Granted this will not sound as good as a separate system but that would cost you much more.
Though all branded BD players are region locked, it is a good thing that Malaysia is in Region A, the same as USA so all BDs will not have regional playability issues if you order from Amazon US. Even if you order from Amazon UK (in Region B), many of the BDs are region free (i.e Regions A, B, C) and will play in our local player. As for Cinavia protected discs, at the moment not all BDs are affected, mostly new releases from Sony Pictures so there are still plenty of choices for those of us who cannot afford ori. Cinavia protected discs are not totally unplayable, I believe you can still watch Cinavia protected discs if you do not mind the inconvenience of watching your movie in broken strectches of 20 minutes each. (Not sure if this is true of all Cinavia discs, I tried one such BD that way so others may want to confirm this. notworthy.gif ) Well, you cannot have everything and we should be thankful that we are in Bolehland!
sonerin
post Jul 2 2013, 05:47 PM

8,739 posts

I guess majority is just like to watch the movie and don't really too much into the detail of sound or those special feature. Is totally ok to get the most budget player
19 Degree South
post Jul 2 2013, 08:32 PM

1,682 posts

Pardon me for a noob question. So what's the popular brand now? I am not into ori disc! Just don't see the point of paying for watching only once.
Alan Yee
post Jul 2 2013, 08:36 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jul 2 2013, 08:32 PM)
Pardon me for a noob question. So what's the popular brand now? I am not into ori disc! Just don't see the point of paying for watching only once.
Most budget branded BD player, get from LG, and buy it from Tesco, it is around RM200++.
It can play MKV, H264, RMVB, from External HDD.

King of playability : Sony, Philips.
19 Degree South
post Jul 2 2013, 10:53 PM

1,682 posts

QUOTE(Alan Yee @ Jul 2 2013, 08:36 PM)
Most budget branded BD player, get from LG, and buy it from Tesco, it is around RM200++.
It can play MKV, H264, RMVB, from External HDD.

King of playability : Sony, Philips.
Thanks dude. I just got my Sony w804 tv. Should be getting the Sony player ba. biggrin.gif
Alan Yee
post Jul 3 2013, 12:23 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jul 2 2013, 10:53 PM)
Thanks dude. I just got my Sony w804 tv. Should be getting the Sony player ba. biggrin.gif
Sony player will be able to play MKV and RMVB too, even external HDD, FLAC, and Super Audio CD.
But the official website or catalog don't high light all these feature.

But be careful, other member here do mention the Cinavia protected title will also affect in MKV and MP4 format.

Skylinestar
post Jul 3 2013, 01:17 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 2 2013, 05:47 PM)
I guess majority is just like to watch the movie and don't really too much into the detail of sound or those special feature. Is totally ok to get the most budget player
Yes, majority of people just wanna know the story...hence watching a movie. True videophile immerse into the movie.
If a person just wanna know the story, buy the VCD copy at Speedy store.

This post has been edited by Skylinestar: Jul 3 2013, 01:17 PM
Alan Yee
post Jul 3 2013, 02:18 PM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jul 3 2013, 01:17 PM)
Yes, majority of people just wanna know the story...hence watching a movie. True videophile immerse into the movie.
If a person just wanna know the story, buy the VCD copy at Speedy store.
Correct, normal DVD player or media player will satisfy most people.
Alan Yee
post Jul 4 2013, 12:46 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Jul 2 2013, 12:48 PM)
You can get many entry level branded BD players for about RM299 and even some older models at RM199 so it is not that expensive considering a branded HDMI DVD player will also cost above RM200. For those planning to move into the BD world, the best deals nowadays would be to get a Blu-ray HTiB (Home Theatre in a Box) where you will have a 3D BD player plus all the speakers for full HD 5.1 audio that will sound much better that the TV. Lately I saw many older model HTiB going from RM500 upwards such as my own Panasonic BTT190 at RM599 and Philips HTS3541 at RM529. Granted this will not sound as good as a separate system but that would cost you much more.
Though all branded BD players are region locked, it is a good thing that Malaysia is in Region A, the same as USA so all BDs will not have regional playability issues if you order from Amazon US. Even if you order from Amazon UK (in Region B), many of the BDs are region free (i.e Regions A, B, C) and will play in our local player. As for Cinavia protected discs, at the moment not all BDs are affected, mostly new releases from Sony Pictures so there are still plenty of choices for those of us who cannot afford ori. Cinavia protected discs are not totally unplayable, I believe you can still watch Cinavia protected discs if you do not mind the inconvenience of watching your movie in broken strectches of 20 minutes each. (Not sure if this is true of all Cinavia discs, I tried one such BD that way so others may want to confirm this.  notworthy.gif ) Well, you cannot have everything and we should be thankful that we are in Bolehland!
The Philips HTS3562/98 that I own is around RM699 with free Wi-Fi dongle.
I can tell you that the basic Home Theater System is sounding very good, already miles better than a TV speaker.

With 5.1 system, you really get many boost in sound.
You got 5 satellite speakers, plus one sub woofer.
Yes, it may not sound good in the store, probably not so loud, or it is overwhelm by other better sounding system, which is breaking the RM1000++ mark.
But when you set up properly at home, put in high quality audio track, these thing just sound so good, and they actually can get pretty loud.
The sound is crystal clear, with plenty of sound adjustment.
I own 2 budget branded home theater system, and believe me, they can sound pretty loud, and no sound distortion what so ever at high volume.

The price is even killing the computer speaker, where at the same price you pay for HTS compare with computer speaker, HTS just sound much better than these speaker, and offer a DVD player.
What I means is you can replace your computer speaker with the HTS, they are now available in very cheap price.
sonerin
post Jul 4 2013, 10:48 AM

8,739 posts

Loud sound does not mean is good. Without quality they are just noise.
Alan Yee
post Jul 4 2013, 11:05 AM

1,031 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jul 4 2013, 10:48 AM)
Loud sound does not mean is good. Without quality they are just noise.
Yes, this is one of the misunderstanding for common buyer.
But, normally, branded HTS sound good.

19 Degree South
post Jul 4 2013, 12:23 PM

1,682 posts

I am contended just with tv speakers. If really a good movie...I go cinema watch. Lol.
johannong
post Dec 26 2013, 11:43 PM

319 posts

Dear sifus and all, notice the last posting was in July. May I know what's cooking now...in terms of playability model and brand?? Prefer 3D player. On another note, I am currently playin with my PS3 2008 model(2nd gen) but the cinavia is really running me mad!!!! They say PS3 scores but mine is otherwise! Can't live with that kinda horse***t therefore die die must upgrade to a decent, worry free player.. Can all sifus advise pls??
cutypuppy
post Dec 27 2013, 02:06 PM

331 posts

QUOTE(johannong @ Dec 26 2013, 11:43 PM)
Dear sifus and all, notice the last posting was in July. May I know what's cooking now...in terms of playability model and brand?? Prefer 3D player. On another note, I am currently playin with my PS3 2008 model(2nd gen) but the cinavia is really running me mad!!!! They say PS3 scores but mine is otherwise! Can't live with that kinda horse***t therefore die die must upgrade to a decent, worry free player.. Can all sifus advise pls??
Get the Pioneer BDP-3220K, 3D BD player, i just get it last month & it play all the BD include ahem 1, so far so good...
johannong
post Dec 28 2013, 12:24 AM

319 posts

Thanks! Just visited local disc store. Plenty of customers adviced "HongKong Video" player...Everyone claimed 101% playability! The store owners himself is using Pioneer BD3110 (I guess none 3D version) and he is satisfies with it. I think Pioneer could be the winner for time being as the shop running 10hrs daily everyday...ha!
Mea Culpa
post Dec 28 2013, 05:39 AM

5,184 posts

Not sure bout the quality parts/components.

But this hk company is quite popular with their portable dvd/mp4/tv player.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 28 2013, 05:39 AM
johannong
post Dec 28 2013, 01:20 PM

319 posts

That's the thing Mea, when you got urself Yamaha, PSB, marantz lining up and all sudden HongKongVideo brand... just don't find myself cutting in..! La...I wanna wait and see if PS4 could do better job. But my sense is telling me it will boil down the same after all.. Sony... Well if I am running out patient dose, Pioneer BD3220 is the one.
chanhin
post Dec 28 2013, 04:57 PM

1,615 posts

IMO, the Oppo 103 quality is good enought for me.
cutypuppy
post Jan 23 2014, 04:39 PM

331 posts

After several usage, the Pioneer 3220K finally appear the Cinavia error, but this not happen to Bluray yet, it happen to a DVD "SALT" that i bought few years back...strange...
Tesseract
post Feb 20 2014, 06:18 AM

hi guys, anyone knows where to find oppo blu ray players here in Klang Valley?
sonerin
post Feb 20 2014, 08:29 AM

8,739 posts

CMY
piscesguy
post Feb 23 2014, 09:01 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Still using my classic BD55 as my main player, and S190 as my secondary player..

After all these years, all remain good.
sonerin
post Feb 23 2014, 03:34 PM

8,739 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Feb 23 2014, 09:01 AM)
Still using my classic BD55 as my main player, and S190 as my secondary player..

After all these years, all remain good.
Wow you got back up player
statsmk
post Feb 27 2014, 01:30 PM

hi guys, where can I buy the cheapest ahem bluray movies in klang valley?
piscesguy
post Feb 27 2014, 01:41 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(statsmk @ Feb 27 2014, 01:30 PM)
hi guys, where can I buy the cheapest ahem bluray movies in klang valley?
USED ORI bd movies are cheap now, y buy ahem? rclxub.gif doh.gif

pls refer to my signature... tongue.gif laugh.gif

Mea Culpa
post Feb 28 2014, 02:37 PM

5,184 posts

Its better to buy used bd-rom than ehem bd-r, if you plan to keep tham as bd collection.

Bd-r uses dye that is prone to degradation, especially those organic type or LTH, after few years the bdr might not be readable anymore. Bdr media quality is an issue.

Ori bd-rom disc is a pressed disc, they can last very long.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Feb 28 2014, 05:03 PM

0.1893sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:17 PM