9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Silver as investment V2, Don't cry, buy now.

chef
post Nov 19 2011, 09:22 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(fookeesan @ Nov 19 2011, 10:40 AM)
Hi Guys,

May I know where I can get a vacuum air-tite cover for 1kg Pamp Silver Bar?

Thank you.

I think the only way you can put it in air tite container is to buy those lock and lock tupper ware. smile.gif comes in many sizes and it's air tite, put in some silica gel or charcoal or chalk to keep it fresh. how many bars are we talking about?

Anyway, I only seal it in ziplock bag and put in tupper ware, so far no tarnish, and if it's kilo bar, nobody will be too upset with the looks of the silver, they will only be interested in shining coin, not large bars.

chef

PS You bought this kilo bar recently? how much? from 1stopgold?

Added on November 19, 2011, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(cruzzie73 @ Nov 19 2011, 11:29 AM)
Chef, it's not always big boys' toys. Small money can always start with small properties (or other small investments), and upgrade when more capital becomes available.

Quality of investment is independant of the size of its capital. It's the return and its speed that matters.

Added on November 19, 2011, 11:35 amoh, and its consistency too.
Well, after talking to taurus, I do think I should start looking at some real estate, most of my friends made their fortune in real estate.

But without at least a certain amount of cash in hand, it's beyond most people's reach.

I believe there are working class and student here who would say real estate are way way beyond their reach, so that is why I say "big boys toys" not as in the millionaire type of big boys, but those with say RM 50k to RM 200k in the bank doing nothing, those should be invested.

Anyway, I'm surely seriously looking into those now, once I get my addiction away from silver and gold. smile.gif

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Nov 19 2011, 09:27 PM
chef
post Nov 20 2011, 12:47 AM

350 posts

well, not really, keeping it from the air prevents it from becoming yellow (tarnishing) or growing white spot.

big or small bars, it is susceptible to such environment attacks, but for 999 bars, not that bad, poured bars are even less so.

chef
chef
post Nov 20 2011, 06:35 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(tzkhoo @ Nov 20 2011, 05:35 PM)
how do we know whether the silver we buy is not smuggled good @ not paying tax
Well, like someone mentioned to me, All those bars and coins selling at incredible price, are people who have connection with the custom and thus, "tax free" and they are the one committing the crime on your behalf, like property said, as long as the silver is in your hands, it's not relevant.

on the other hand, gold chain and necklace could be from robbers and those I would consider blood gold, which I hope most of you are decent enough not to buy jewelry from unknown source. buy bars with certificate.

chef

PS Any of you guys out there selling gold? or am I looking at the wrong place? anyone can point to me where people are selling gold bars (small 20 to 50g) not from a shop but individual investor?

thanks.
chef
post Nov 20 2011, 11:21 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(taurusbull @ Nov 20 2011, 10:55 PM)
Property, your statement is not totally correct. When you buy a smuggled good without paying tax, you are commiting a crime as well. The only safety valve is that when you are caught by the authorities, you can play innocent and claim you are a victim, not knowing that the seller is selling smuggled good. Further you can "bodek" that Malaysian custom is very efficient, therefore not possible for smuggled good into Malaysia. If this good is a smuggled good, then our Malaysian Custom is really below par.

Many reported stories on smuggled cigarettes, liquor and cars. Gold is tax free, silver buy/sell is still low, therefore no stories in the press, doesn't means they don't happen.

Silver coin with legal tender comes with 10% sales tax and 5% import tax. For good indication, any 1 oz silver coin sold below RM135 has to come into Malaysia without paying tax, otherwise the seller is earning nothing or incurring loss. Sometime importer get lucky, and the good just got shipped into Malaysia without Custom imposing tax, and that situation is totally an innocent act on the part of the importer. However custom still have the legal right to impose tax retrospective on all previous goods imported into Malaysia for up to 7 years based on statutory legislation on commercial transactions.
I guess property is just putting it in a blunt way, if you buy silver bar from a seller, it will be a hassle and doubting the seller integrity to ask him to proof that his bar has custom duty duly paid.
I wouldn't believe any seller would show you their tax form, but of course they can issue you the invoice.

To be fair, if we follow strictly on rules and law, precious metals are not allowed to be shipped by courier service, then we will have no way to buy or sell PM overseas.

chef

PS I guess this is where business people comes in. biggrin.gif
chef
post Nov 21 2011, 11:17 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(taurusbull @ Nov 20 2011, 11:59 PM)
Chef,
We are in the forum, any positive facts need to be illustrated further, otherwise some readers may follow them as gospel truth to their own detriment. Nobody is absolutely right or wrong, as I already put it clearly before. It is always based on planes of reference.

1) There is a law, you broke it not knowingly, but not caught, you are ok for now, may come back for you to rectify later.
2) There is a law, you broke it purposely, if you caught, you are nailed.
3) Someone broke the law, you support their action, you knowingly broke the law.
4) Someone broke the law, you are ignorant, you are a victim, and law will be lenient to you.

The above is totally different than you knowingly courier your precious metals, as you and the customer are taking a business risk. Someone ask why LGSG only sell silver but not gold. I answered earlier that gold is sold in many brick & mortar goldsmith shops that customer can buy easily and are not willing to take higher risk buying from unknown internet dealer. Of course there is equivalent Gold Lot Shop but their sales vs goldsmiths ratio is minute in comparison. Customer are willing to take higher risk in buying from internet dealer because silver is not easily available in the brick and mortar (goldsmith) shops and the potential investment return are predicted to be higher. High risk high return for silver, Low risk low return for gold. Again it falls back to supply and demand for any commodities.
Well, absolutely true, no argument from me here.

Anyway, it really seemed to be a little quiet here, seemed like many people moved to somewhere secret I don't know about smile.gif or we are just craning our neck waiting for the price to make the next drastic move.

I'm hoping to catch silver at USD 30+, if not, well good news all around too.. at the time of posting, USD 32.15 smile.gif

chef

chef
post Nov 22 2011, 09:00 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(stonkong @ Nov 22 2011, 08:44 AM)
Chef is load now
Hi, what does that mean? I'll contact you in advance before meeting up o.k?

Anyway, touched my target price but I didn't catch it at USD 30.59, was busy trading my coins and bars. small amount lah, but meeting very experience people who are in this since 2007 and before.

Anyone got into gold? or anyone want to swap their gold with my silver? smile.gif I just want a small piece of action in gold, is all, my heart is still with silver though.. wub.gif

chef

chef
post Nov 22 2011, 11:39 PM

350 posts

oh i have some gold, swapped for silver, now i want to get some back, this is the right time, but i'm so loaded with silver... so want to swap some back.

chef
chef
post Nov 23 2011, 01:17 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(taurusbull @ Nov 22 2011, 11:54 PM)
Bro, before you do that, please check the silver/gold ratio.

Ratio >45, silver is cheap relative to gold, swap your gold for silver
Ratio < 45, silver is higher price relative to gold, swap your silver for gold.

45 is arbitrary ratio for now given the current situation, and it may change when there are changes in fundamental for the 2 precious metals.

Now the ratio is >53, meaning silver is cheap relative to gold, you should swap your gold for more silver.

Chef,
Not advisable to execute your thought.

Added on November 22, 2011, 11:56 pm
However, if you keep all your silver, and you have spare cash, then buying gold is no harm, at least the metal is lighter when you are on the run.

Added on November 23, 2011, 9:12 am
Gold silver ratio is now 51.7, still high, meaning silver still cheap relative to gold.
Thanks for your advise,

I've thought about it too, but I would like to spread my portfolio instead of having everything in silver. silver gold ration used to be 1 to 12 (years ago), it may go haywire to reach 1 to 100 before leveling back. Like you said, nobody knows, calculated risk is all we can do.

AND the most important thing is, I'm giving such a good offer to lowyat people here, to swap silver for gold, yet no takers. really must find alternative market, ha ha...

Actually the main reason is, from my perspective, I have over invested in silver, so now I'm moving to gold. either using spare cash, or liquidating my silver at this great price and move some funds to gold.

By the way, I've got a tube of ASE 2009 and 2010, any taker? PM me price, thanks.

chef

chef
post Nov 23 2011, 06:50 PM

350 posts

Hey goldchan!!

Aren't you on holiday? hey, go rest lah, don't monitor the market, have a good holiday, don't bring your notebook to the beach, I always think that is not the way to holiday. Unless you are back already, which means you had shortened your holiday? sad.gif

Taurus,

Oh, I thought you wanted to buy my ASE, so you were just checking my selling price for illustration. sad.gif Anyway, I've already swapped over 100oz of coins for bars already, so I walk the talk too, and talk the walk. smile.gif

As for your proposal, well, I'm really not that crazy to do such extreme swap, you are really looking from the wrong perspective, I think most silverian knows that if I swap, we will be using the dollar equivalent for the swap, which i think is what chrischin and basist are thinking too. Meaning, 1oz of gold at RM 5,800 will be swapped for same or maybe a little more like RM 6,000 worth of coins or bars from me. (meaning say 2 tubes of ASE plus 2 or 3 sunshine bar etc etc....)

chef

PS I understand your point about coin being overpriced due to tax and such, but still there are demands for it during good times. There a re a few school of thoughts here, I'm one who balances both, coins and bars. While others are pure bars, and some pure coins or rounds.

chef
post Nov 23 2011, 07:54 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(taurusbull @ Nov 23 2011, 07:29 PM)
Chef,
I am interested with ASE, any year, if I can get at same price as last time I bought from you. I didn't take your price for pure illustration.

You are right, coin have numismatic value and collector premium, and there are large audiences seeking the certain coin. I always make it clear from the perspective of "pure silver" consideration, to qualify my comments.
Oh, ha ha, o.k. sorry about that.

I constant switch between bars and coins, at times thinking from different perspective. so I'm not the right one to comment which is better, my only thoughts is a simple, when times are good, coins sells, when times are really bad, bars will bring you around.

chef

chef
post Nov 24 2011, 12:01 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(taurusbull @ Nov 23 2011, 07:56 PM)
GoldChan,
You have the points right. It boils down to willing buyer willing seller; from Oversea Mint/Bullion dealer to Importer, Importer to dealer, dealer to endbuyer. The silver market is still not mature as compare to gold, and the banks are shunting it due to price volatility and storage logistics, giving room for middlemen to "cari makan".  Every business started with high margin, follows by more competitions, and eventually gavitate to market level profit margin that company with the best business model and efficiency will survive. This silver for non-instituational entities are only temporal and transient in nature.

Chef,
I am just giving my opinion on the benefits of keeping your silver instead of changing for gold, an honest advice for a new friend, since you posted your desire in the forum. No malaise but pure sincerity. As the saying goes, MYOB, Mind Your Own Business, is very true indeed.
Hey taurus, it's o.k. it is a forum afterall, we discuss our opinion and share point of view. giving advise to each other with good intention are great, don't read my post wrong, we all are really here to discuss and share..

But I really have no intention to trade 1oz gold for 51oz silver, and that was not my offer anyway. So I got to clarify it before someone PM me and make me trade base on that ratio, then I die... smile.gif

Hey guys, any one want to trade say I give you 2 tube of ASE (2009 and 2010) and a tube of fiji taku 2011, for a 50gram pamp suisse gold bar, plus some top up from me?? PM me o.k? or some 10oz bar...

chef

chef
post Nov 24 2011, 09:30 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(taurusbull @ Nov 24 2011, 01:26 AM)
Business is always about willing buyer willing seller.

To proof my point of gold to silver ratio, I (buyer) am offering 1 oz  gold (ASE, Maple or Phil) to swap 51 oz silver (ASE, Maple or Phil) with you (seller). Is a conclusive offer from me to you and not your offer to sell to me. Your answer should be a Yes or No, without any insinuation. SLS is selling 1 oz Maple Gold Bullion at RM6,000.

Now your offer of 60 oz (ASE + Fuji) coins + Top Up for a 50g Pamp Suisse gold bar (1stopgold price at RM9,061.94) making a non-conclusive offer of 1 silver coin = RM151.03 - Top Up/60. The offer is non-conclusive as your Top Up was not spelt out. If your top up is RM1,200, then I will take your offer making it RM131/oz of silver coin. SLS is now selling at RM135/oz for purchase of 1 tube (20 coins) of ASE.

It is a simple case of clear buyer but unclear seller for the above potential transaction.
Well, if you really need a firm answer, mmm for your first offer, No. Second offer, No. Thanks anyway... sincerely, just didn't meet my expected value.

For my offer, well, I think the admin had mentioned before, he will close one eye on selling our stuff here, on occasion. He also did mentioned that monetary offer is to be taken off line using PM, so I am unable to make a fix price offer.

And hey, everybody knows to ask for "PM me your offer" even in SLS. so what's wrong with such offer? come on, loosen up... negotiation is fun.

Finally, an advice from the admin, not from me, lowyat is meant for discussion, ads for sales and purchase is to be done by PM or FB group. Let's follow the rules set down for their own reason..

I wasn't offering a sale, I was just offering a swap, when it becomes a "Dollar value" offer, well.... having said that, I better remove my signature prices, in case we are getting too noticeable.

Let's close this case shall we? I'm o.k. to continue our negotiation offline using PM, but for posting, let's move on to discuss about silver and well, why not gold...

chef

Hey guys and gals, anyone knows what's really happening to silver? and gold for that matter?

Added on November 24, 2011, 9:34 am
QUOTE(chrischin @ Nov 23 2011, 10:13 PM)
Some very good discussion going here boyz. Keep up the "good quality posting" going.

I have never liked silver for 1 reason - too cumbersome!

I just cannot imagine needing to buy RM10,000 worth of silver. All i needed to do was to buy 2oz+ of gold coin - kau thim. Thereafter, just put the coin in my shorts and no one will know. But to buy RM10,000 worth of silver, wah, how many bars do i need to buy? Wanna "lari" also difficult. Some more dont know where to buy then. 

That was precisely my issue exactly 1 year ago!
I believe it true also.

but as I mentioned in my long ago posting, I think some of us will eventually upgrade to gold one day, as the saying goes, "silver is the poor man's gold" so one day, some of us would love to move on when we can afford to buy gold.

I'm on the verge, ha ha, although I traded my few pieces of gold away a month ago, I want to come back and get some gold now.

And now we know!! you put your gold in your pocket everywhere you go? biggrin.gif who did you buy it from? I'm thinking mysmartgold, as I have never deal with them before, good time to start.

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Nov 24 2011, 09:34 AM
chef
post Nov 24 2011, 06:14 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(mingophoria @ Nov 24 2011, 03:47 PM)
Another thursday poison.

[attachmentid=2551410]
Hey hey!! How did you get hold of this set?? So are you selling it or just to poison us all... sad.gif

Anymore available?

chef
chef
post Nov 24 2011, 06:33 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(cruzzie73 @ Nov 24 2011, 10:33 AM)
Nobody (not us retail investors) knows what exactly is happening to gold and silver but technical analysis tells that both metals are still trapped with the bear. The return of the bull can only be confirmed when their prices break the resistance at 1750 and 35 and able to stay beyond there for at least 2-3 days. Till then, we may be seeing further drop. For silver, if it does drop, next strong support will be at 29, if that's broken, it will test 25.5, and if that's broken, it will test the level where lots of silver investors have been longing for, 23.5 (this is the latest updated level from the earlier targetted 22.5). 

Disclaimer: This is what I see from technical analysis, this does not serve as an investment advice. Do not make your investment decision based on this piece of opinion without further research on your own. As mentioned earlier, nobody really knows what's going to happen.

Just sharing,
Cheers.
I think we are in short supply of analysis like this for a long time. And no need to put in disclaimer lah, we are here to share our point of view and if anyone really take your word for it, well they are just too lazy to do their homework and finding someone to blame for mis-management of their investment.

Like I was sharing with someone, there was mention of another round of margin call soon, not sure when, but like your analysis, the price was aiming at below USD 30 and a possible of USD 25 as the final resting place, before rising to heaven. ha ha....

Yet, market are just not so predictable, if anyone have such info, please share. smile.gif

Good luck guys!!

chef

Added on November 24, 2011, 6:52 pm
QUOTE(chrischin @ Nov 24 2011, 01:37 PM)
Cruizzie73, thanks for the technical readings. Do post them more often.

Taurus, thanks for continuing the 2nd part of the story. After some long hard look, finally got myself into what chef called the "poor man's gold".

I have a slightly different method of investing in silver. From what i could get currently, the 1oz bars is not much different from the 5oz or 10oz bars (in terms of pricing per oz). So, for that reason, i do not mind investing in just the 1oz bars. For storage, the 10oz bars are good - keeping things neat and tidy, even in small space. The 100oz is just cumbersome. Too rectangle to be used as a dumb-bell and maybe difficult to dispose off in the future. So, for the time being, i am still sticking to the 1oz bars and maybe some more 10oz ... until a time when i can find really cheap source of 100oz bars (a very minimal premium above spot).

Nevertheless, i am of the view that the gold to silver "investment" ratio ideally is 2 to 1. For every dollar of silver, the investment portfolio should hold 2 dollars in gold. And out of this, two-third in physical and one-third in paper. Reason? In case i need to liquidate/sell, paper has very low spread and is extremely liquid. Physical pm is simple for long term investment. How long? Probably a very long term.

Just sharing my personal investment view point.

Added on November 24, 2011, 1:54 pmOh and Chef,

Mysmartgold is quite ok to deal with, though parking there is a bit of a struggle and they are perpetually running out of the 50g pamp bars.

And no and yes, i do know people who always has a 10g pamp in their wallet. Well, just like people wearing a Rolex except much cheaper and easily traded for $ when needs arises,  biggrin.gif

If you happen to be around mysmartgold area, give me a buzz and we can go for a drink, (and no, i dont work for them).
I'm hoping to graduate to gold someday. Like what you said, silver really takes up a lot of space. True, we all know from long ago posting, silver is undervalue, no doubt about it, and that one day it will rise to lower ratio in relation to gold (as taurusbull recently reminded us about it) But keeping them is becoming a hassle. I sure hope one day I can go jogging with a few bars of gold like you, ha ha...

Then we have the other discussion about paper investment and physical, never ending discussion also. But I have recently come to realise what you said is very true, as long as we don't go back to stone age, paper investment for silver IS VERY LIQUID. No need to advertise, haggle and deliver, just walk to the counter and say "sell it, update my book" and that's it! money in the pocket. Or if done online, just click click and money in your bank. By the way, can recommend where and how you trade paper silver? can give some pointers? Would like to study it.

Sure, I'll look you up, I was around there but not looking for mysmartgold though, went to some old building nearby to meet a customer. Are you walking distant to his shop? I hate looking for parking space, especially those triple parking area.

chef

Added on November 24, 2011, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(kakiayam @ Nov 23 2011, 07:48 PM)
guys, dont know whether you guys facing this kind of problems. As we see the gold price raise up to 1900+ and suddenly drop to 1500+, its 1700 now but your parents especially father will say something beside your ears. Normally they will say the gold price is unstable now, it is keep dropping and dont buy it now until it stable. For me i think its really nonsense because how could someone without any knowledge in gold/silver
is asking you not to buy it now. The above case also happen for those who trade in stock market or forex.
Well, I do face this problem too, people telling me not to buy gold, price is high, wait till it's stable or manageable.

Then gold price will be around USD 2,500 per oz. AND THEN you buy. smile.gif ( I am kidding....)

Your future is in your hand, how you live your next hour, day or weeks, are based on the decision you make yourself, people around you can only advise. You should not blame anyone if you take the wrong advise, because in the end, you make the decision to follow the advise, so it is still your own decision what you should do, and you live the consequences of your decision.

buy or sell? study the market, listen to market expert, or common people like us here, who just share our thoughts about gold and silver. But I think the general sentiments is, gold and silver will appreciate in value in years to come. At least everyone here believe that. So if you need re-enforcement of your believe in Precious Metal, just come here and talk to us. smile.gif we will boost your confident level.

On the other hand, I have talked to my friends about silver, nobody is interested. Gold, people think I'm growing old already. ha ha.... Anyway, still the same advise from everyone here, buy with your spare cash, gold or silver. keep it to yourself. On the other hand, if you are borrowing money from your dad to buy, then well, you really have to explain your way out... biggrin.gif

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Nov 24 2011, 07:10 PM
chef
post Nov 25 2011, 09:39 AM

350 posts

Hey, so now experts are revising their outlook on gold and silver price for next year.

Silver only at USD 35 and gold at USD 2,000. what the....?

Sometimes these trader/experts are just playing it safe and like cruzzie mentioned, when asked to comment on market price, they just pulled whatever news they can find on the net and say it's caused by this and that.

But of course, the good news is, at least they are both moving up, just not as high as we wished.

The expert (this is from barclay) also mentioned that, in the event that the economic outlook is bleak and we have a crisis, all PM (gold and silver) will be down as well, equally affected. So how can this be? every available funds goes to real estate or currency?

what you guys think?

chef

chef
post Nov 25 2011, 09:02 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(8181 @ Nov 25 2011, 07:05 PM)
Majority mentality are like that, always waiting for the next big drop. And when it goes up, than they rush into it.  biggrin.gif  Luckily my dad and wife layan buying PM's as well.
Wow, this discussion is going great! And all the important point was brought up.

Hey 8181, I've yet to meet your dad, I guess will missed the chance as he should be overseas by now? Was hoping to learn something from him about gold.

Anyway,

I think that's why we are among the pioneers of silver, if everyone knows and believe in silver and gold, well, it wouldn't be at such a low price now would it? Always see problems as potential opportunity. 99% of the people will think PM are useless, but when the marketing is done properly, and more people are starting to notice them, the price will rise quickly and many people will be chasing after it, and buying at high price. We, who had already bought our share or PM, will reap the benefit of keeping or adding or liquidating our PM in exchange for well, cash, real estate or food.

chef

Added on November 25, 2011, 9:10 pm
QUOTE(potenza10 @ Nov 25 2011, 06:59 PM)
Thanks for opinion...now one of my biggest challenge is my wife's view towards convert fiat money to silver/gold.her big question mark in her head is 'what if one day PM are become worthless?'..for her, keeping money in the bank is more comfortable than buying gold or silver...and she's acting more like a cop, asking me how much have i bought gold/silver bla bla bla..
Well, then I am lucky.

I talked to her for a while, (a few months though) and recently, she just handed me some cash and told me, just buy for me whatever you think right, price and product wise. Just manage for her, is all she said.

So I have her full support in this. I guess you would have to convince your wife about this, since she has access to your bank account smile.gif if not directly, at least thru you. You can't hide it for long, PM especially silver are so large, leave it at the wrong place she might just thought it's rusted metal and throw them away. sad.gif

Good luck, spend time sharing your views and some war story of vietnam, africa and germany.

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Nov 25 2011, 09:10 PM
chef
post Nov 25 2011, 09:30 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(chrischin @ Nov 25 2011, 04:11 PM)
Thank you everyone for your valuable information.

Can i do a little survey here ......

What will happen if the price of silver drops to USD25 and stayed on there for 3 months. What would your individual reaction be?

(i am not saying that the price WILL hit there, but i am asking what IF the price hits south and stay there for a while).
Hmm...

Personally, If I'm working and I come into monthly salary at the end of every month, yup, I will buy, hang around and monitor the price, stay the same, salary come in, buy again, hang around again... etc...

On the other hand, if I have already set aside a sum of money to buy at USD 25 per oz (say 1/3 of my spare cash), I would have made the decision there and then in the first few days to make the purchase of silver at USD 25/oz. Then if the market remains at that price, well, I wouldn't do anymore purchasing or selling (unless I need money urgently).

Like some of you who mentioned in version 1 or silver investment, you buy some when the price hit certain benchmark, then if it fall, you buy some more, if it rise, you buy less or not at all. I hope you guys get what I mean.

So in summary, If the price hit USD 25, I will buy, then forget about it as long as the price remains around there, if it falls again (to my next benchmark) I will buy some more. If instead it rises, I will wait for it to hit my target selling price and liquidate those EXTRA (I'm stressing EXTRA oz of silver, not all) silver to buy something or move into other investment. (such as gold, real estate, platinum, currency, holiday etc...]

Chef

PS don't shoot me at the mentioned of PM to Fiat money, we still need fiat money to live, and as a means to convert back to PM in the near future.

My 2oz worth

Added on November 25, 2011, 9:39 pm
QUOTE(potenza10 @ Nov 25 2011, 09:12 PM)
Yes..i hope so.silver is new for me, gold also the same.just start to buy them from last month.luckily i got quite handsome bullet after withdraw my epf to buy house.with the surplus money, i do some homework to find alternative way to park my monies...
Whoa!! glad to have you on board.

Well, spreading your portfolio is important. I used to put everything into one and hope till I go crazy that I reap the rewards, now I know better. House and gold and silver are something solid you can see and hold or touch. So they are important investment, but I must also say, when times are bad, say price of PM fall by half, those people against PM investment will say "I told you so" and we have to take it and swallow it in whole.

And that is the time to come here and we help boost each other morale. thumbup.gif

But good times are coming, because news from singapore and malaysia are now poised for low growth and bad economies 2012. I just hope PM will not get drag down as well, and at this juncture, I must add a comment that might not be welcome. Do look at USD and RMB as currency to invest.

chef

Added on November 25, 2011, 10:03 pm
QUOTE(property101 @ Nov 25 2011, 09:16 PM)
in my case, it's my female boss who started looking into PM  sweat.gif  no need convinced her at all. haha...
lady tend to worry more. my female boss wanted to buy PM, even took a seminar on how to invest properly but eventually didnt buy any (even until today). i offered to share half of the cost for her first purchase, kinda like a joint purchase, 50-50 but yet she didnt buy any
Hmm... It goes to show, man makes decision faster than woman, especially in terms of investment. Anyway, try to show her you buying and selling silver, and at the same time, making some money, bring her to some transaction meeting, she will start to see it in different light.

Anyway, guys!!

So it's confirm that the lunar dragon pamp suisse is the first of the lunar calendar design, meaning every year they will change the design according to the year. We were speculating that the dragon is a new design to replace fortuna, but I guess the suisse saw perth mint success and wants in on chinese market!!

chef

Added on November 25, 2011, 10:18 pm
QUOTE(property101 @ Nov 25 2011, 09:16 PM)
in my case, it's my female boss who started looking into PM  sweat.gif  no need convinced her at all. haha...
lady tend to worry more. my female boss wanted to buy PM, even took a seminar on how to invest properly but eventually didnt buy any (even until today). i offered to share half of the cost for her first purchase, kinda like a joint purchase, 50-50 but yet she didnt buy any
Hmm... It goes to show, man makes decision faster than woman, especially in terms of investment. Anyway, try to show her you buying and selling silver, and at the same time, making some money, bring her to some transaction meeting, she will start to see it in different light.

Anyway, guys!!

So it's confirm that the lunar dragon pamp suisse is the first of the lunar calendar design, meaning every year they will change the design according to the year. We were speculating that the dragon is a new design to replace fortuna, but I guess the suisse saw perth mint success and wants in on chinese market!!

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Nov 25 2011, 10:18 PM
chef
post Nov 26 2011, 12:15 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(marcuslpm @ Nov 26 2011, 12:07 AM)
madness. haha. make underground storage  flex.gif
Good idea, if you stay in a house with some land, dig a hole, bury your silver and plant some trees. Draw a treasure map and keep that behind some photo frame. Then that will be what you leave to your grand children. treasure map. Provided, you don't dig it out within a year to sell it off and splurge your money somewhere smile.gif

chef

chef
post Nov 26 2011, 06:38 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(mingophoria @ Nov 26 2011, 08:29 AM)
Bank Negara to look into enacting new law to govern gold and silver trading

todays news from the star

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...59&sec=business

Wats ur opinion about it?
I suspect it just gives the bank an excuses to selling paper gold and silver. I doubt it is for physical. Don't see any possibility of silver bars being traded with banks or even TOMEI shop. it's too much hassle for too little profit,. and if they really do it, their spread and premium will be very high.

chef

chef
post Nov 27 2011, 10:40 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(taurusbull @ Nov 26 2011, 07:17 PM)
This BNM regulation was triggered by a few Physical Gold Investment Schemes that pay 3%/month income while holding your physical gold, and they had go bust. I think one company is called Gold Label.
The main issue for us is BNM may need PM trader to obtain license before you can sell, otherwise you are breaking the law. Licenses similar to Money Changer, Pawn Shop, and Money Remittance,  may be too high for small trader to even get started.
Well, I think it's for the best for the industries, so people don't get con into scheme like this.

There's too many of them and a friend of mine was proposing a similar scheme to me, forgot the name of the website, promised 2% return every week, so most normal people will know within 50 weeks they get back whatever they put inside, so they start to put more. They even mentioned some datuk or son of someone is involved, and planning to launch a credit card. Just to assure people that the scheme is for real.

Now we are going to see more of the bust as people starts to withdraw their investment and these company who have nothing to back up will close down VERY FAST.

I hope none of you guys are in this, if you are, withdraw now, and wait and see yeah??

chef

PS Anyway, big company like TOMEI who wants to join in the fun can only mean more choices for end users, I don't think they are a threat to sellers here, since they would be playing with kilo and 100oz type I'm sure. Even if they sell 1oz bar, like gold, will have VERY HIGH premium.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0583sec    1.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:27 AM