9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Silver as investment V2, Don't cry, buy now.

chef
post Dec 6 2011, 05:54 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(property101 @ Dec 6 2011, 09:47 AM)
i bought some maples in last night bulk purchase, not using it for ASE. thanks chef for your kind offer  rclxms.gif
the coins should be laminated, but not sure though cuz havent get the coins. if each coins is laminated then no need for the tube.
if i need it i ask from u can? drinks on me  laugh.gif
Sure, no prob.

In case I don't get to meet you for the drink, I'll send the thing by poslaju, then get the drink a few months later. ha ha... but if we get to meet, bring along the maples, would like to take a look at the condition. too bad I missed the chance.

chef

chef
post Dec 7 2011, 12:46 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Dec 6 2011, 10:17 PM)
thanks Chef for my first good deal smile.gif
learn alot from our chat also, now my mom also want to buy alraedy...haha poison her already
Well, didn't get to talk to you much, maybe next time got more time we can swap news too.

chef

PS At least your mum is very supportive, many mums of silver stacker here don't appreciate silver at all. Or they are free to bring them along for me to meet them and I will convince them why silver is worth the investment.

Added on December 7, 2011, 12:50 am
QUOTE(property101 @ Dec 6 2011, 10:19 PM)
haha...i will poslaju a teh tarik for u ok?
didnt know u are interested in bulk purchase too, next round if i happens to know it, i will notify u earlier
Well, I was one of those who started the bulk purchase here, you probably didn't know. Not the FIRST one, but among the poineer, while most people are looking around to buy direct, I got together a few brothers here to buy the kook 2011 and kook 2012.

I still owe 2011 to some of the nice bro who did not chase me for it, and for that, I'm very appreciative.

Anyway, keep me informed o.k? the problem is, I got too many email and website to visit, everytime I sit down, I need 2 hours to finish all my readings, replying, quotation and appointment making before I can take a drink. Imagine!! sad.gif

chef

PS Remind me the next time if we get to meet while you are passing some good deals to me, I will bring along the empty tube for you.

This post has been edited by chef: Dec 7 2011, 12:50 AM
chef
post Dec 8 2011, 12:14 PM

350 posts

Well, it's really true.

Although being a 3rd party helps to make the story nicer, I brought my wife out to meet with a a few silver seller when she is free, and when we talk until as if the silver is going to explode, WOW! she just come to me and tell me "invest this money in silver or gold, tell me when I make money" and that's it.

Having someone supportive is a great feeling. Of course on the other hand, if you convinced someone to invest with their hard earn money, they will ask you constantly "hey, make money already or not? WAH! loose money ah? must sell now leh, why you tell me to invest!!" I think that will be worst right...?

Anyway, only DEATH in life is guarranteed. nothing else in life is 100% sure, invest yourself, if your relative ask you what they can do to earn some money, tell them the bank give you 0.5% interest, but there are always better alternatives. Then you can bring in the story about GOLD, then SILVER.

chef

PS Sometimes we talk about silver being the next best thing, but we know Platinum, palladium and Rhodium are PM too, anyone knows about these metals? bought any? I'm thinking just to buy a small piece to see what are they. smile.gif

Hey prophetjul, can you tell me where I can find a shoeshine boy in malaysia? never seen one, unless you are talking about MISTER MINUTE, the high class shoeshine boy. smile.gif

Persoanlly, if 50% of the population is buying Silver, I don't think I will sell mine, since it will get even more rare, I will most likely use it to trade for maybe, a bungalow at bangsar, or office suite at twin tower.... hee hee...

This post has been edited by chef: Dec 8 2011, 12:18 PM
chef
post Dec 8 2011, 08:12 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(cruzzie73 @ Dec 8 2011, 01:47 PM)
Did not pay much attention to Platinum, Palladium, and Rhodium but the impression is that their prices are less volatile than gold and silver. The issue about these metals is their liquidity, who are we going to sell to when we want to dispose them off? At the moment, the only choice i know is to buy from Kitco, and sell back to Kitco. If you have other channels to sell these precious metals, please share.
Well, not really lah. I was just thinking, maybe one day, some smart scientist found a VERY IMPORTANT use for rhodium, like fushion or fission for power generation, and every 1g can generate power enough for KL for 1 month, WOW!! JACKPOT!!

(dreaming, and maybe those figurines are dreaming too, they are not really thinking)

So I'm really tempted if I have a lot of spare cash, I will just buy a tube of these metals just for the sake of keeping. and improving my stock pile of PM.

Added on December 8, 2011, 8:16 pm
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 8 2011, 01:52 PM)
Shoeshine boy as a figure of speech....maybe in Msia, its the waiter?   biggrin.gif

i told me friends to buy gold in 2004. Only 4 bought. Two sold out at $700. Only two left.
At that time i only told them this:

a) You dont need the money for the next 5 years
b) This money normally kept in FD
c) The returns will be better than FD

i managed to convinced my better half in 2008 to sell out of her Financial stocks overseas.
i have trying that since 2005. Managed to convince her of the coming USA financial crsis.
Whew!  Just in time!  She sold HSBC at sterling 9....now around 5....plunked the monies into gold at $800
and the rest is history.........

If 50% buying means this is the euphoria/greed stage.....after that it will be down the cliff......
This is a typical bull phase........

Damn! I should have been your friend since 2004. Where have you been hiding?? smile.gif your wife must love you/gold/diamond all in the same category.. biggrin.gif

Nice chart, comparing the gold chart to this, I would say we are near the GREED!! but with real potential to grow, I think we really are at the ENTHUSIASM stage for GOLD and bear trap for SILVER.

Anyone else finish thinking and care to share your thoughts? smile.gif

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Dec 8 2011, 08:17 PM
chef
post Dec 9 2011, 03:37 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Dec 8 2011, 10:30 PM)
1. palladium 10x rarer than gold if I 'm not mistaken. we just don;t know how the market will value it's rarity.
I missed the boat in buying them at low prices. Did recall someone mentioning buying palladium when it was about USD200/oz
got the chances when it is USD300/oz but i was greed. after USD400/oz i forget about it already.
well, if you hold quite a lot of PM then some palladium and platinum will be great.

2. those who early bird in gold, most of them that i know off are very quiet one. Does not disclosed much about gold investment.
very slow to propagate the message back then lah.

3. i get to know gold via peak oil. when i begin to search for peak oil solution.within 2 weeks after understanding peak oil i found gold.
but too bad wasted 1.5 year procastinating then only buy and only to buy at peak USD1010/oz.  mad.gif
watch from RM2200/oz to RM3200/-
then stuck from march 2008 until sept 2008.
luck did not buy silver at that time because don't know where to get if not stuck for 2 years at USD21/oz
Wow, thanks for the input, that's why you really are the PM guy, who not only knows something about all PM, but has almost experience them first hand.

Anyway, think positive, maybe palladium becomes rusted or change state after keeping for 2 years. we are not sure how iron man keep his palladium, but I'm sure we are not rich enough to buy the correct storage container for keeping it properly.

But I do hope to own a small amount one day, what's investing in PM while you do not own every kind and know about all types.

chef

Added on December 9, 2011, 3:43 pm
QUOTE(cruzzie73 @ Dec 9 2011, 11:49 AM)
haha it does look terribly similar and looks like we're in bull trap waiting to be slaughtered.
But these phases usually last 3-5 years each, or even longer.
If that is true, then we are still at late stealth phase / early institutional investor phase. Or at most, we are at bear trap. Look at institutional investors, have they really come in to the silver market yet?
I think we need to see the chart from further distant. the chart shown could be too short period, like cruzzie said, we have to look at 5 years or 10 years chart. So the small chart we are looking at have lots of spike, but I think we are approaching media attention and many people are starting to invest in silver now.

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Dec 9 2011, 03:43 PM
chef
post Dec 9 2011, 04:50 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Dec 9 2011, 04:27 PM)
just to inform that in this website when its mention Free to post=COD. I thought its normal mail for the book I bought until they inform me. Anyway thumbs up for the service since they're willing to send it to my parents place by hand at Subang Jaya although haven't receive it.

Added on December 9, 2011, 4:31 pm

not to dampen ur spirit chef however nobody i know talk about silver. so i think its still at beginner stage even though the price have risen alot. in fact i know about it when i was just reading all the topic in this Finance and I find it fun, supportive and informative, thanks to all of u guys here

anyway from the price perspective  it looks like its at the media attention part from the graph like i said previously
Ha ha, no problem. you are not dampening my spirit, in fact, there are opinion of me not very supportive of silver investment, but I'm glad you see that I am.

I think when I said many people are into silver now is because, compared to what it was a few months ago, there isn't that many silver seller in the market. suddenly in the DIP to USD 26 per oz period, there was a surge in number of seller and now the great news is, collector/small time investor like us are getting very low price. So let's enjoy the fruits of many supplier who are feeding to us, grab ALL you can.

chef
chef
post Dec 11 2011, 01:14 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(RRR @ Dec 11 2011, 10:38 AM)
I did read some of the articles from your website which really open up my mind to this PM, sometimes I'm quite lazy to read.
Even Mike Maloney "Guide to Investing in Gold and Silver" I listened to the audio book.
Anyway special thanks to (not in particular order) :
Property101
chef
taurusbull
chunyen2020
goldchan
& others for all your contributions.
Without you guys guidance I'll not be looking at this PM at all
You're welcome, and hey, where did you get the audio books? I drive a lot, so if I get to listen to them in the car, it will be SUPERB!!

So we learn from each other too, everyone has something to contribute! Hope to get the audio books errr... free.. downloaded? smile.gif if not, let me know where to get it..

chef

chef
post Dec 12 2011, 06:39 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(chunyen2020 @ Dec 12 2011, 05:19 PM)
Because this is a cycle? Nothing doesn't change in this world.
When something changes, another thing will change hence cause chain reaction.
This reaction will then try to find its equilibrium point.
So are gold and silver.
That's profound and deep thoughts...

It's like GAIA, where the earth is trying to heal itself from pest and virus. And we happen to be the virus. So when the world starts to behave sickly like more earth quake and extreme weather, it is just killing off the unwanted inhabitant and some other creature will take over us, like we take over dinosaur from pre-historic times.

Everything balances it self, and the world is forever "work in progress".

Anyway, learn from history is important, learning the right thing from history is even more so. But everyone's views is different, what our teacher teaches to a class of 40 student is general, how each of them learn and what they learn is really up to themselves.

Sorry, getting a little long winded smile.gif

Anyway, Gold price quite a major correction compared to the normal USD 20 - 50 price movement. Silver is following around but not by much, so it show's it's fundamentally strong.

chef

Added on December 12, 2011, 6:42 pm
QUOTE(kei18kun @ Dec 12 2011, 12:20 PM)
anyone knows the market price for this coin? 2011: Grizzly Bear & Timber Wolf
Hi Kei18kun,

You are graduating very fast!! smile.gif usually people buy bars and rounds and it takes a while for them to move to coins and those with premiums. I think maybe you're a collector by heart. But don't get over excited and over buy with "non spare cash" as you will be very affected by the spot price movement daily.

Wolf is usually Above RM 200, anyone offer lower GRAB!! grizzly err, not sure, I do have a few I would keep, not selling though. But you should keep the whole series, which include cougar also.

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Dec 12 2011, 06:42 PM
chef
post Dec 13 2011, 10:18 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Dec 12 2011, 10:22 PM)
theory and practice is a different thing.
In theory is only applicable when U have a liquid market where U can sell and buy anytime.

in practice for silver,
you may be able to buy at any time right now at roughly around the price you targeted, but to sell at your target price will depend on the volume and type of goods you have. maybe at one goal you can sell 1,000 oz at SLS, but if market is dumping 10,000oz at same prices at SLS whether individual or combined.
i doubt you can sell off all of them unless U cut prices to very low.
seller beware.
I'm heeding your advice. Anyone try selling your stash at market rate, you will get slow respond or no respond. But of course, if you are selling below market price, then you should be able to sell them easily, while making a few enemies. And as the saying goes, there's always someone selling cheaper than you, if they wanted to. So if you set your target price at USD 60 spot price, you can only sell your stock when it's USD 65.

Personally, tried to sell bars at market rate or a few RM below market rate. took me weeks to sell off. But of course, didn't do it at SLS or LSGG then, that was a few months back. So now have learn to sell below market rate loh...

chef

Added on December 13, 2011, 10:23 am
QUOTE(Quinn @ Dec 13 2011, 12:34 AM)
Just to let u know that I have requested Manesh Patel to do a free webinar on Ichimoku this Saturday 17th Dec 2011, 7.30pm.

Please register at https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/883633160 and you will receive the instruction on how to attend this webinar.

You can ask questions or request a forecast.

See you there!
yeah, you been around? do drop by occasionally to tell us good or bad news sometime... smile.gif

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Dec 13 2011, 10:23 AM
chef
post Dec 15 2011, 12:22 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(chunyen2020 @ Dec 14 2011, 11:19 PM)
Really can see USD26 soon. Haha..
Wow, the price as of my posting is USD 28+, that's crazy!! dropping to reach the price where everyone goes crazy a few months back....

Are we looking at below USD 26 this time?? great times a coming!!

chef
chef
post Dec 15 2011, 09:07 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Dec 15 2011, 08:34 AM)
according to many studies, use old small car is the best, the amount of energy needed to build a car will required a car to run for 100,000 miles b4 the energy investment is returned.
Hybrid car is net energy loss if you calculate the whole life-cycle of it unless U can get 250K km out of it.

Added on December 15, 2011, 8:40 amwell for a start U can dig a well (10cm wide) if U have a landed property such as corner house or banglo.
investment RM5k. manual pump water supply.
the rest of the things I wish is it so simply.
in the end it's about people U deal with and those whom stay nearby u.

Added on December 15, 2011, 8:42 amland for palm oil and durian is just for lazy investor.
I think kancil has the best consumption saving, we should all be using these for traveling within city proper. Anyone who owns a large car (especially an SUV) are just sucking up the world energy.

I don't think you can get a well easily, I was setting up a water collection system in my house, for watering my vegetable. which I think will only last us a few days. The seeds we have to buy a lot, charcoal? rice? I think we will never be able to prepare enough to last us thru a real crisis until PM becomes ready to take over as currency...

Well, at least I know I can trade durian with basist with some of my silver bars!! ha ha....

chef

Hey chan, what do you think of the current dip in price for PM? comment please?
chef
post Dec 16 2011, 12:28 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(GoldChan @ Dec 15 2011, 11:17 PM)
battery life span dependent on local temperature. Malaysia is hotter so the battery will have a shorter life-span, some said 3 years some said 8 years.
consider luck lah.
for more reading
http://www.google.com/cse?cx=0061928344167...0car&gsc.page=1

Plug-in electric :- this one will not happen in most part of the world.
petrol station take years to develop.
gas station until now only limited to Klang valley not nation wide.
U add another Plug-in, there is no ROI in the infrastructure cost.

Added on December 15, 2011, 11:28 pmi got the exact figure now.
http://www.wired.com/autopia/2008/05/the-ultimate-pr/
As Matt Power notes in this month’s issue of Wired, hybrids get great gas mileage but it takes 113 million BTUs of energy to make a Toyota Prius. Because there are about 113,000 BTUs of energy in a gallon of gasoline, the Prius has consumed the equivalent of 1,000 gallons of gasoline before it reaches the showroom. Think of it as a carbon debt — one you won’t pay off until the Prius has turned over 46,000 miles or so.

There’s an easy way to avoid that debt — buy a used car. The debt has already been paid. But not just any used car will do.

It has to be something fuel efficient. Like, say, a 1998 Toyota Tercel that gets 27 mpg city / 35 mpg highway miles. The Prius will have to go 100,000 miles to achieve the same carbon savings as the 10-year-old Tercel. Get behind the wheel of a 1994 Geo Metro XFi, which matches the Prius’ 46 mpg, and the Prius would never close the carbon gap, Power writes
Nice explanation, learn something today.

Anyway, I USED TO DRIVE A BMW X7, my petrol consumption easily RM3k monthly. Wow, stupid me, not very environmentally friendly and very show off, and it's my own car, not even my company car ... so now downgrade to a lousy car, still I think I am not doing enough. I should start riding a battery powered bike, and use solar charger to charge my battery.

But what you said have merit, we should measure carbon debt and start paying off, one person at a time. off the aircon, start taking public transport, and we all do our part.

Anyway, enough about energy and expensive lifestyle, like a previous post mentioned, this IS a SILVER INVESTMENT thread. Hey goldchan, can you PM me where I can read up something about carbon debt?

chef

Added on December 16, 2011, 12:37 am
QUOTE(Quinn @ Dec 15 2011, 07:56 PM)
Silver has completed its cycle AB=CD. Time to evaluate what it wants to do next around the level $28.6
Well, it's just hovering and doing nothing much today. I guess you are right in that sense. Anyone with bullets left should put a few rounds into it now and poise for more...

How about you yourself quinn?

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Dec 16 2011, 12:37 AM
chef
post Dec 18 2011, 07:12 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Dec 17 2011, 11:39 AM)
2009 panda is RM300++ market price. wink.gif
Panda really not cheap lah, I know someone loaded with bullets also don't dare to shoot at panda coins. It will take lots of time, money and care to buy, check and verify all panda coins bought are original.

I had consider it before, most likely I will aim for it when I finish my kooks collection.

chef

Added on December 18, 2011, 7:18 pm
QUOTE(GoldChan @ Dec 16 2011, 02:26 PM)
my regrets are
1. i should have keep all my panda rather than selling it off cheaply last time.
2. Should have completed all the panda years when it is still cheap in 2008/2009.
just a bit stingy back then on numismatic.
Chef:
BMW X7 = Bring me women but the X 7 means
bring me women x (times) 7 times.  rclxms.gif

is it true arh!
Sorry, almost missed your post, I skip a few pages, silver thread is alive and kicking...

No lah, those attracted to it are not women, they are gold diggers. biggrin.gif

Hey, you already have very good collection of various types of numis coins, I think what you have can last you a life time...

Anyway, thanks for the recent sales, next time I will try to squeeze more time to have tea with you.

chef

Added on December 18, 2011, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(ballackahn @ Dec 16 2011, 03:24 PM)
I'm myself am new in the field of buying silver, but there a proverb that says, if you don't know, READ. i suggest you try to find this book from Dr. Kong Voon Sin titled 'Silver - The New Shine'. the book should tell you enough about the basics of the investment.

Once you are done with that, u could start following the forum to keep yourself updated with the happenings.

have fun investing!

it looks like you had read the book, mind sharing what it says in a short summary? I'm getting too old and my eyes are not good reading e-books or normal books, will be great if you can share with the lot of us, we are all great learners and love good discussion.

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Dec 18 2011, 07:27 PM
chef
post Dec 19 2011, 02:15 PM

350 posts

Hey guy, something to share from an article.

"In 1950 there were 10 bn ounces of silver above ground available which was sufficient for 140 months of supplies but by 1970 available supplies were sufficient for only 70 months and by 1990 15 months and by 2010 11 months."

Today, silver is dipping again, could it be ready for a jump soon? major support level is USD 25 - 26. any comment?

Usually before a jump, it will break the support level by just a little, big institution will come in and buy cheap silver (major central bank who wants to swap lousy USD for PM), so a good time to buy should be near the support level. which, translate to RM, should be just below RM 100 per oz for bars and rounds.

chef

This post has been edited by chef: Dec 19 2011, 02:24 PM
chef
post Dec 20 2011, 10:11 AM

350 posts

I don't think so, I think if the price goes to that extreme end, this place will be more lively!! it's the stagnant position of spot silver that is driving everyone nuts just waiting to see.

I'm still buying 20 to 40 oz on occasion. I'm thinking of sharing my purchase of pamp dragon silver bar with everyone at low price. Both 1oz and 100gram bars. Anyone interested?

1oz pamp dragon silver bar around RM 17X and 100gram around RM 6XX. It's sort of a group buy. limit to low qty per person.

It's not firm, just thinking out loud... PM me if you are interested.

chef
chef
post Dec 20 2011, 02:55 PM

350 posts

I think all your answers are right.

For people who buy silver to hedge against inflation, we will just hold on to it and slowly sell off as and when we need it, example, WOW I can buy a bungalow for 5 pieces of 1oz gold bar, surely I will take it out and swap for the house.

On the other hand, for those who are trading and collecting, it will be just like gold. There are people buying gold at current high price, so when silver goes to USD 150 per oz, many of us will think it will go to USD 300 per oz one day, so we will still buy.

But as in my previous post, china needs the silver to continue production those important component, so when the price goes to USD 25 per oz, I understand that CHINA will import large qty of silver using USD, thus keeping more silver in their vault while throwing away those useless USD. double happiness. China is secretly doing this so no one else in the world starts to panic, and do the same thing. So our job here, is to encourage more friends and family to buy silver and gold while it is cheap (compared to USD).

chef
chef
post Dec 20 2011, 04:12 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(cruzzie73 @ Dec 20 2011, 03:23 PM)
All of us can dream about this but it will unlikely happen within our lifetime.

Reason: unlike fiat money, physical commodity and properties are limited in quantity. The inflation we are experiencing is caused by the unlimited supply of fiat money, thus losing its perceived value. In other words, inflation is the lost value of fiat money. What we see in property and gold/silver price hike now is actually inflation.

But when you compare a commodity to another commodity, physical good to another physical good, there is no such thing as inflation. There is however, changes in the value of the items depending on real demand and supply situation between the 2 comparing items. But since silver/gold and properties are limited in supply, both having growth in demand, both will rise in value. One may rise faster than the other, but i don't see gold/silver rising faster than properties by 100 times. (currently 100oz gold = 1 house) Unless there is reason for demand for PM to increase 100 times more than properties, or supply of property grows 100 times more than PM, it is unlikely to happen.
Well, maybe not in malaysia, but it may happen to places which properties are over inflated. example indonesia, property built in poorly planned area are over sold at very high price, when super (not hyper) inflation kick in, everyone dump the poor investment (such as this property) and park their money with PM.

=====
Real life example,

Gold price went from RM 40 per gram to RM 200 per gram (5 times it's value and could still rise)

Singapore property for a 5 room apartment original launch price RM 300k, was over sold by property boom at the price of RM 1.4 million, and then went down to about RM 700k 6 years ago. Now it's back to RM 1.5 to 1.6 million.
=====

So the possibilities of not one of the commodity over paced the other, but that of the other commodity coming down to meet half way. brows.gif

Anyway, it's not a prediction, just an open discussion. laugh.gif But I guess 100 times both ways are not really likely, but I exaggerated, maybe 10oz or 20oz of gold bar can buy us a decent RM 300k terrace house.

chef

PS Anyway, let me know what time to meet up with you o.k? it's a short visit to KL this trip, today up, tomorrow back down to JB.

chef
post Dec 23 2011, 10:14 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(SeeD @ Dec 23 2011, 08:16 PM)
Just curious about the Malaysian market on the Australian Lunar Series 2 Dragon coins.

I have a few at hand wondering if anybody wants them in Malaysia.
Well, it really depends on how much you are selling it. PM me if you are thinking of selling. The forum does not allow people to sell their silver with price here.

Anyway, you into silver investment? how did you come by the silver coins anyway?

chef
chef
post Dec 26 2011, 12:16 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(chrischin @ Dec 25 2011, 10:25 AM)
Hi guys, Merry Christmas and a Happy New YEar to all ...

I wanna discuss the Gold Silver Ratio with you all,

I always hear / read that historically gold to silver ratio has been 12:1 / 15:1 etc and etc.

Jonathan's in his book Why gold, why silver says, "for the first 2000 years the average gold silver ratio has been 12 to 1".

I am not sure what he meant by "the first 2000 years".

Looking up at wikipedia, this is what i got -

The gold/silver ratio is often analyzed by traders, investors and buyers.[4] In Roman times, the ratio was set at one to 12 or 12.5.[5] In 1792, the gold/silver ratio was fixed by law in the United States at 1:15,[6] which meant that one troy ounce of gold would buy 15 troy ounces of silver; a ratio of 1:15.5 was enacted in France in 1803.[7] The average gold/silver ratio during the 20th century, however, was 1:47.[U][SIZE=7][8] The lower the ratio/number, the more expensive silver is compared to gold. Conversely the higher the ratio/number, the cheaper silver is compared to gold.

So, in today's time, what ratio should i be looking at (without taking into consideration the amount of silver above ground) to determine if silver is cheap or expensive in relation to gold.

PS : IS this the appropriate place to discuss this here or in the Gold thread? I very much prefer to do most of my discussion here in the silver thread - which i refer to as my home for precious metal (although i am more bias towards gold).

PSS : an article related to the above
http://seekingalpha.com/article/298288-gol...ing-opportunity
Hi chrischin,

Well, the simple way to know the ratio now is by looking at kitcosilver.com page, they have a ratio calculation which shows that now, silver is 5

Personally, I consider myself graduating from silver to gold (as gold is referred to as big brother, AND it's more expensive, NOT because it is better or more chance of profiting etc...) Although from one glance, silver is surely way below the original ratio and it should correct itself ONE DAY, the problem is, nobody knows when the ONE DAY will be. Many expert predict it will be sometime soon, as in next year to the next 10 years. It's like predicting the market price of silver, nothing is firm, although silver is getting rarer, the price is being suppressed to make it economically viable to buy and use by country like china to product goods at affordable price.

Anyway, In short, look at kitco page and you see silver gold ratio to be 55 to 1. silver is cheap compared to some period in the past. But there are occasion when only gold is accepted as currency while silver is like worthless metal.

We are all betting on silver ratio shrinking to normal level, which will be 12 to 1, but will that day come? nobody knows. Is that day a good omen? maybe not. If one day, industry found a replacement metal for silver, they may allow silver price to self adjust, but if there is no longer a demand for it as industrial metal, will the price drop further down to a ratio of 100 to 1? No body will question gold as Money/Currency, most of us here are pushing people to believe in silver, but how successful it will become a PM in high demand like gold, we will never know.

chef

PS I just approached a small gold shop (not those old china man shop, this shop run by 30 year old manager) about selling silver bars, no customer, low turn over, and yet, told me they have no space for silver.

PPS What I'm saying is, at the CURRENT market, gold is easily traded, convert back to cash. While silver although has great potential in the future, are not liquid enough for short term investor.

chef
post Dec 26 2011, 11:00 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(chrischin @ Dec 26 2011, 11:36 AM)
Hey guys,

Finally i found a chart dating back some 600+ years for gold silver ratio. The chart shows that from 1344 to early 1800, the ratio is somewhat fixed at 15 : 1. It is until 1850 (there about) when the US (i believe) demonetized silver, that the ratio began to spiral up to the mid 40s to 1. and thereafter, the ratio has been fluctuation between that level and even as high as 153 in the year 1939.

http://goldinfo.net/silver-600.aspx

I always wondered why people like Mike Maloney always says that historically, the ratio was 15 to 1. Alas, i found the chart showing the ratio.
Hey, great chart!!

Well, it's normal for people who is selling a particular product to extract info that is pro what he sells and make it his point. Ignoring the other facts that is not helpful. I am in sales, sometimes I do that too, as many people only want to hear the good and not filter out what should be themselves. So, sometimes providing a little information and ignoring some is better than presenting the whole scenario and many of the audience will not know what you are trying to say. smile.gif

But for people who can crunch lots of data in their mind, the more info, the better. Anyway, silver and gold are both great PM to invest in, but looking at the price of all metals like tin, copper and such, I do think silver will rise quite quickly. Knowing from my first hand knowledge that china is TELLING all their citizen to buy silver and gold, so it does mean something. Just remember to spread your investment to a comfortable level.

chef

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0598sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:30 AM