QUOTE(jayjay @ Mar 19 2012, 09:44 PM)
have to disagree here
Here is my take on rare item vs high premium mass silver vs low premium mass silver silver investment
Rare Item: Numismatic coins, collector coins, limited edition coins (keyword: limited in production quantity)
High Premium: More expensive to buy per Oz. Mass produced. Internationally branded and well recognized.
Examples: Generally any 999 silver coin (America Silver Eagle)
Low Premium: Cheapest way to buy silver, mass produced with little/no artistic value
Examples: Any silver bar, any silver round (1kg bar from Public Gold, Pamp Suisse bar)
Click to view table
[attachmentid=2746021]
Not quite sure which statement you disagree.
Well, 1oz LF is not limited mintage, so I consider it as a high premium item.
IMO, any high premium items are for collection and not really for Ringgit to silver value.
Eg: Perth Mint 1oz Silver Lunar Dragon normal bullion (NIGHTMARE for everyone, luls)
Well, if you insist that limited mintage is for the rare items, then those examples i listed above are not high premium.
The table you listed is quite useful for the newcomers reference.
But IMO, the "Easy to find buyer" is very subjective, don't think high premium items are as easy as to be sold compared to the low premium items.
Maybe it's because you refer ASE as high premium items, therefore the statement is there.
Just FYI, ASE is not a high premium item. Check their prices at APMEX, ASE is just USD1 more expensive than low premium bars.
(Expensive or not is very subjective and I take USD1 as not so expensive.)
Cheers!