Debit Card V3
limeuu
May 27 2014, 08:55 PM
anyone knows that is the current charges for using mbb's atm/debit card plus/visa system to withdraw money from a foreign atm?.....maybank says they charge a flat rm12 per transactions, but what is visa's charge?....used to be 0.5%, what is it now?......
limeuu
Aug 4 2016, 12:03 AM
this was posted in the maybank gold/platinum thread, but i will post it again here for info...
the maybank pure atm card (black/yellow) will continue to be valid until end of 2017, ie next year....after which maybank intends to migrate everybody to a debit card of some sort...
this is NOT a policy of bnm as some believed, but an individual bank policy....in fact, some banks have already completely removed the pure atm card, eg rhb bank...
nor is it a compatibility issue, as maybank's migration timetable is well past the bnm's pin based payment card migration deadline....
in some other countries, they continue to exist side by side, with account holders being issued both cards at the same time...
fyi...
limeuu
Aug 7 2016, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(MillkTea93 @ Aug 7 2016, 06:15 PM) hi  I just received my new maybank debit card.. BUT i cannot active my new debit card at atm and m2u.. I try to contact maybank by facebook page.. they said need to wait their system update .. so just call me to wait... == so much potong sim loh... i worry about my old card .. still dont know it active or not.. zzz they are obviously swamped by the load....why not just try the old card at some atm machine?....they are everywhere...instant answer...
limeuu
Aug 8 2016, 01:10 PM
You get up to 52 days free credit....
limeuu
Aug 8 2016, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 8 2016, 02:01 PM) how much is that worth or how significant is that to your purchase? If the sum is big, it is significant....and to some people who are financially tight, that is breathing space.... A colleague's daughter's uni fees is 45k quid a year....how significant is that?...
limeuu
Aug 8 2016, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ Aug 8 2016, 06:43 PM) then again if someone with 45k/year spending power, the saving would not be that significant to him/her relatively. eh.....it's 45k quid....  to the uninitiated, quid is the colloquial term for the british pound.... This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 8 2016, 11:10 PM
limeuu
Aug 9 2016, 09:50 AM
Debit cards need change to pin based payment system.... ATM cards are already pin based....whether need change depends on the policy of individual banks.
limeuu
Aug 23 2016, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(aromachong @ Aug 23 2016, 08:58 PM) i am still using maybank old debit card should not be a problem right? maybank has not indicated when they expect to complete their switch over, the official deadline was 1 Jan, not moved back to 1 July 2017...since it MUST be changed, and it's the same debit card anyway, just change lah... They have indicated the pure ATM card will continue to be usable at the ATM till end 2017....
limeuu
Aug 23 2016, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(mamamia @ Aug 23 2016, 10:01 PM) Is it? No wonder I didn't receive any SMS or notification that asked me to chnsge card since I'm holding the pure ATM card.. Good to know that I don't need to change it since I won't use the debit card function. maybank has not indicated what they will do after end 2017...they may, like most other banks, decide to discontinue the pure atm card, and migrate everybody into a debit card.... contrary to what some here believe, the atm system is separate from the visa/mc payment platform used in debit cards...and migrating all cc/dc within the visa/mc platform into pin based cards will NOT interfere with the bank's own atm system, nor with the interbank atm network meps...
limeuu
Aug 25 2016, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(kcsy1221 @ Aug 25 2016, 11:33 AM) Hi, I made a request to replace my maybank atm card via maybank2u portal. I received the Maybank Debit Card. Can I just use this as an ATM card without activating the debit card? Any kind advice? Fyi, I still can use the old ATM card after I received the Debit card. The reason I replace the ATM card because sometimes the ATM machine can't read my card then I need to gosok the card abit to make it work.  the bank atm platform is separate from the visa/mc payment platform....so if you have both cards, both will be able to access the atm... this is normal overseas as well....i have both atm and visa/mc debit cards for my accounts in uk and australia, and both can access the atm...the atm card is also linked to the local eftpos payment system, and can also be used for payments at merchants linked to the eftpos network... the visa/mc debit payment platform is based on their already extensive credit card payment system...hence they are competitive....no need extra hardware...
limeuu
Aug 26 2016, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(FirstAidKit @ Aug 26 2016, 11:10 AM) Using this type of Maybank debit card. Do I need to change to the latest card? and how I should do it? need to change to pin and pay by 30 June 2017, free if by end of this year...go to any branch....or road show....
limeuu
Aug 30 2016, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(devildevil87 @ Aug 30 2016, 01:57 PM) [attachmentid=7424119] Getting this sms from RHB.. What is Opt-in mean? Also,can we use debit card to pay for uber service? Yes, DC under visa/mc platform can be used to pay for uber... Don't know what opt in..just call that no to ask loh...
limeuu
Aug 31 2016, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(milo.dinosaur @ Aug 31 2016, 07:09 PM) Is there a surcharge when you pay with debit card in retail stores? Just now I got extra RM0.50+ for a RM60+ bill at The Store. No....what's the 50 send extra for?....they will have indicated what's it's for...
limeuu
Sep 4 2016, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Sep 4 2016, 09:57 PM) Not necessarily so. I use RHB BSA option 2, with RM8 diamond debit + online banking facility. Can opt for non-fee card with BSA option 1 but without online banking facility.
Option 1 allows online banking too, if you also have other accounts or credit cards which allows you to register for rhb now....you will be able to see that bsa and add into your display list....and perform transactions...
limeuu
Sep 5 2016, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(sms2u @ Sep 5 2016, 10:28 AM) i still no see any letter from bank negara to enforce to use debit card instead of normal ATM. Any one see or know more detail? There is no such directive.... It's up to individual banks to decide if they want to keep their own ATM cards or migrate completely to visa/mc branded debit cards....
limeuu
Oct 2 2016, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(darksin_90 @ Oct 2 2016, 04:25 PM) Want to ask, I use my new pb debit card to pay for my McDonald's meal , once I slot in my card transactions straight approved without keying in my 6 digits pin. Is this normal? The total amount is less than rm10 though.. That sounds like a pay wave transaction.... machine picks up your RFID signature before you say in?....
limeuu
Oct 2 2016, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(dannychen @ Oct 2 2016, 06:56 PM) that is normal swipe transaction. no pin nor signature required. Now I am confused...I thought all 'swipe' transactions will need pin verification....only RFID "wave" payment is pin free, up to rm250?...
limeuu
Oct 5 2016, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(laymank @ Oct 5 2016, 02:55 PM) Message from Maybank on Debit card: Dear Valued Customers, You can have the new MyDebit Card delivered to you at NO CHARGE via Maybank2u by following these simple steps: Log on to Maybank2u Click on "Card Management" Click on "ATM/Debit Card" Verify your mailing address and accept the terms and conditions Follow the on-screen instructions Upon successful verification, your new MyDebit Card will be delivered to you for FREE within 14 working days. I thought it has always been possible to request for the new pin and pay replacement cards via maybank2u?...did that for 2 cards 2 months ago....and also activate and set pin online too....
limeuu
Oct 6 2016, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(HMMaster @ Oct 6 2016, 05:04 PM) I also wanted to know. Both my CIMB and Maybank card are pure ATM card (without debit card feature) Do I need to change them? Can't answer for cimb, but maybank black yellow ATM cards will continue to be usable till end of 2017.... apparently maybank have not decided what to do after... There is no official instruction to migrate everybody to a debit card, just individual bank's policy....a pure ATM card system can run alongside the visa/mc co-branded debit card without any problem...
limeuu
Oct 7 2016, 12:44 PM
you will likely have to pay for the replacement card once past the migration campaign....