finally got my cashback from cimb debitcard bonus points redemption
200 points=RM$1

ryan18
post Nov 11 2014, 12:04 AM

2,406 posts

saw a Maybank ad on the newspaper today:10% paywave transactions cashback for debit card(capped at $30)
when want to find more details in website,nothing is there

Maybank always like to do this,promo something in newspaper,and when people want to find out more in the website.the promo havent been updated yet

This post has been edited by ryan18: Nov 13 2014, 11:01 PM
ryan18
post Jan 13 2015, 12:18 AM

2,406 posts

public bank debit card 25% cashback
https://www.pbebank.com/Personal-Banking/Pr...U-Campaign.aspx
ryan18
post Feb 5 2015, 12:30 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(Invince_Z @ Feb 4 2015, 05:37 PM)
what's the perks having maybank payWave debit card? mine is plat, in both debit card info in maybank website, i see everything is same. only card design is different.

on another hand, do cimb debit card have msos? i wanna buy xiaomi goods also hard.
sometimes maybank have promo:10% cashback for paywave transactions(RM$30 cap per month)
current promo:every 5 paywave transactions, $5 cashback(also RM$30 cap), in aeon supermarket $30 paywave transaction get $5 aeon voucher

thats why i convert from normal cherry debitcard to maybank platinum debit card with paywave (cashbacks earned more than offset the $12 fees)
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions

http://i-love-freebies.blogspot.com/2015/0...on-voucher.html

This post has been edited by ryan18: Feb 5 2015, 12:37 AM
ryan18
post Feb 6 2015, 01:14 AM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(Invince_Z @ Feb 5 2015, 01:00 PM)
I don't get it..what is 'cash back' in layman terms?

applied to aeon supermarket only or includes aeon big also? aeon is far, but aeon big is near near only.
what is cashback?
cashback means indirect discount,since it will be credited to account next month/get money for spending money
eg you purchase $20 from aeon big and pay using paywave. let say there is a promo 5% cashback.usually maybank will credit the cashback (in this example $1) to your account

for current promo Enjoy RM5 Cashback for every five (5) Visa payWave transactions at the participating merchants' outlets (including AEON BIG)
ryan18
post Feb 16 2015, 11:01 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Feb 16 2015, 11:43 AM)
Hey maybank TGV promo

All shows weekend included before 6pm is flat RM10

for Standard hall Premium Seats aswell? Looks good
from Maybank promo T&C

RM 10 Everyday for Standard Halls before 6pm

Applicable for Standard and Preferred seats daily for STANDARD HALLS and movies before 6 pm only.
Not Valid for 3D, Twin, Premium, Beanie, Luxe, IMAX, INDULGE and any other on-going promotions and offers.
Maybank Mastercard, Visa and AMEX credit or debit card must be used to enjoy this offer.
Valid only at Ticketing Counter. Not valid for Online and Mobile App Ticketing.
ryan18
post Apr 23 2015, 02:07 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 21 2015, 02:48 PM)
Get a RFID shielded wallet or put aluminium foil around the card
Paywave can only be used for transaction below RM100 or 150
ryan18
post May 29 2015, 10:05 PM

2,406 posts

File a dispute transaction report with cimb.worst come to worst maximum liability rm250,otherwise bank will refund back all.but it's a very slow process.if 8 weeks no reply. File a report also with bank negara

This post has been edited by ryan18: May 29 2015, 10:05 PM
ryan18
post Aug 6 2015, 09:00 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Aug 6 2015, 08:54 PM)
Wondering if anyone familiar with my inquiry here.

I'm looking for a prepaid cash card. Something like tunemoney card or Ambank's nextG card.

Ok, simple enough, right? Hehe. Except that I need the prepaid in foreign currency. In euro to be exact. Meaning, say I can walk in to the bank branch and give them €1,000 cash to be preloaded in the prepaid card.

This card I want to use in Europe over a few months. I know you'll ask why not just debit card?

If debit card, my bank account is in MYR. So every few days I spend, it can be on or against my favor depending on the exchange rate. On certain days when EUR to MYR is good, then OK lah, but when MYR is dropping like right now, I'll be worse off.

In short, I'm trying not to use my debit or credit cards that is backed by my local MYR balance.

Anyone has any ideas of any bank or institution (like Tunemoney) that offers foreign currency prepaid card?

tl;dr looking for prepaid cash card in Euro currency to be used in Europe for a few months; not looking for debit/credit card that will use unfavorable exchange rate to my local bank account
https://www.airasiaezpay.com/our-cards/aira...-ezpay-passport This
ryan18
post Dec 20 2015, 12:43 AM

2,406 posts

CIMB Debit card is a hit and miss case, sometimes can sometimes cannot(only recently have this problem) before this wont kena reject unless unsufficient fund

And it seems cashbacks and points for debit card are reduced since few months ago.looks like free for life credit card seems to be an option now
ryan18
post Dec 21 2015, 11:12 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(??!! @ Dec 20 2015, 06:08 PM)
CIMB Debit card got cashbacks and points?
Only got points
ryan18
post Dec 21 2015, 11:21 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Nov 23 2015, 01:38 PM)
Hi guys...I have received this message today from Maybank (I think..?).

Is this legit? The number is indeed from Maybank, but asking IC no just like that is a bit worrying. sweat.gif
And can I use this card on Steam after enabling it? Or do they still block such transaction?
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...d=/mbb/Personal
ryan18
post Dec 21 2015, 11:36 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Dec 21 2015, 04:35 PM)
if u got read CIMB announcement..u need call CIMB customer service to active back
Huh what announcement, the only announcement is about pin based card in the website?
Ok saw it lol funny they didn't send me the optin sms I used online transactions quite a bit

This post has been edited by ryan18: Dec 21 2015, 11:47 PM
ryan18
post Nov 23 2016, 11:00 PM

2,406 posts

new account and debit card from CIMB
CIMB Tesco Savers A/c,CIMB Tesco Debit Mastercard
5% cash back within the first 2 months on Tesco spend when you sign up
0.3% pa on Savings a/c balance
1 year funds transfer fee rebate via CIMB Clicks
Point system
Tesco
RM1=1 Clubcard point
Extra 1 point for every RM3 spend in Tesco
spending other than Tesco RM6=1 Clubcard point

The bad news is Debit card annual fee is RM19.08(18 exclude gst)!!!!!
ryan18
post Dec 9 2016, 07:52 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 6 2016, 02:49 PM)
OCBC Malaysia is still using ATM card.

MBSB got ATM/debit card ?
quick update:finally OCBC Malaysia issued their Debit card

This post has been edited by ryan18: Dec 9 2016, 07:52 PM
ryan18
post Dec 9 2016, 07:54 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Dec 8 2016, 04:55 PM)
No solid answer for your CIMB annual fee question but think of it this way, since they're one of the big banks in Malaysia or in ASEAN too they can rape you with whatever they want to charge you with.
consider it a fee for ASEANwide ATM withdrawal at CIMB (CIMB Singapore,CIMB Niaga,CIMB Thai) ATMs
ryan18
post Dec 14 2016, 01:18 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Dec 14 2016, 10:35 AM)
Maybank is also ASEANwide isn't? biggrin.gif In the case of CIMB, I'll put it as "they all come from the same family of robbers"...You know, I know.
Ya but Maybank charge for Maybank SG/Indonesia withdrawal lol
ryan18
post Dec 24 2016, 03:58 PM

2,406 posts

just a little note for those using Paywave/contactless function on Public Bank debit card
for the past months, have been trying to maximising my use of paywave on my public bank debit card, as you can get a 50% cashback on each transaction (max $10 per transaction, $50 per month)
recently, paywave transactions failed and now i know why LOL read below

What is the transaction limit amount for Contactless Functionality?
The cumulative transaction limit amount is defaulted to RM500. However, the
contactless transaction is up to RM250 per swipe in Malaysia.
3. What do I need to do when I reached my limit of RM500?
When your cumulative contactless transactions have reached RM500, you are required:-
 To perform another transaction with PIN entry at the Point-of-Sale (POS) terminal
OR;
 To perform ATM transaction with PIN entry
Once either action has been made, the limit will be reset automatically.

ryan18
post Dec 24 2016, 04:47 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(nicedudette @ Dec 24 2016, 04:07 PM)
What I did: Go to Mydin on the 1st of every month, and buy groceries. Just make sure each receipt is RM20 or less and cumulative total is RM100 or more. So far the cashback for October and November has been credited in full (2 * RM50)
how did you reach the RM500? I stopped once I reach the RM50 cashback limit
haha i think i used more than RM500 on contactless transactions since i get my card
ryan18
post Dec 24 2016, 05:03 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(nicedudette @ Dec 24 2016, 04:49 PM)
Have you received your cahsback yet? Full amount ?
I'm very kiasu so I always try to buy all my groceries/pay all my bills/buy all the stuff I want on the 1st because cards usually have limited cashback on a per month basis
not full as some transactions is end of month(finish quota) but so far got $60 for Aug-Nov not bad la free money from bank haha

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0324sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:16 AM