Debit Card V3

laymank
post Jul 11 2017, 03:06 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(realitec @ Jul 11 2017, 02:50 PM)
Hi all, how do I cancel my debit card? For example my CIMB debit card left RM20 which cannot withdraw as it is set as minimum credit. Can i go to bank to cancel and get back the RM20?
to get back the RM20, you may have to close the Current or Saving account associated with the debit card.
if you still want to maintain the account, best to keep the debit card, cause most banks practice a fee if you were to withdraw cash < RM5k over the counter.
laymank
post Aug 21 2017, 11:32 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Aug 21 2017, 11:22 AM)
if that the case then I would be charged for annual fee yearly for no reason since I am not using the debit card functionality besides ordinary cash withdrawal which ordinary ATM card can already do it.. puke.gif  doh.gif  ranting.gif  cry.gif
couldn't agree more.

for people with credit card, it's highly unlikely they would use a debit card. but is now made to pay annual fee for it. sad.gif
laymank
post Aug 21 2017, 01:47 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Aug 21 2017, 01:16 PM)
no..is the debit card that charge money, not the account..
if retain using ATM card for the account then should be no charge..
if use debit card then got charge..
now inform that the ATM card will no longer be usable soon..ask us to change to debit card..that means the fee is coming..
I hv write to ask the bank whether there is an option to retain using ATM card..let see how it goes..
I think write to Bank Negara more effective.
laymank
post Sep 18 2017, 08:02 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Sep 17 2017, 10:43 PM)
Really? Sigh. sad.gif Are you saying that I have to change to OCBC debit card and pay RM 8.48 annually, just to retain the ability to perform fund transfer (IBG and IBFT) via OCBC Online Banking? 

Well, I have a saving account with Standard Chartered Bank. Even though I terminated my Standard Chartered debit card, I can still perform fund transfer (IBG and IBFT) via Standard Chartered online banking website.

In the Fixed Deposit thread (https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4154481/), some people open basic saving account, without a debit card. For sure, they have access to the internet banking website, in which they can transfer the principal and interest to their saving account in other bank, upon the maturity of the fixed deposit.

Is it possible that the linkage between online banking website and debit card is different for each bank in Malaysia?  hmm.gif
from my understanding, the online banking does require a card to be linked, be it credit, debit or ATM card.
if you cancel it afterward, the access would still work, just that you won't be able to unlock your account without using a card in the future if you accidentally lock your account.

and yes, the ocbc staff also told me that the staff is also required to pay RM8.48 for the debit card.
laymank
post Sep 20 2017, 03:55 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(Nom-el @ Sep 20 2017, 03:40 PM)
I do not think it is necessary to get a debit card to unlock the account. I believe it can be performed over the counter at the account holding / home branch or contact centre. Different banks have different procedure though.

OCBC does not provide a basic savings account with no annual fee? EasiSave is the basic savings account with unlimited withdrawal option, by right, it should have annual fee. However, there is no annual fee charged on this account and no annual fee on the ATM card. All OCBC ATM cards have no annual fee, only a one-time fee. So, it does not matter if there is only 1 option. That is how it was originally. 

However, recently OCBC introduced debit card to replace ATM card. The debit card comes with an annual fee and they charge everyone including EasiSave account holder? Even if they do not charge you on the card, maybe they can argue that they can charge you on the account since the account allow for unlimited withdrawal. I wonder if they can actually do that without offering the no annual fee option. hmm.gif
Fees and charges info are available - OCBC Fees and Chargeshttps://www.ocbc.com.my/assets/pdf/Conventional%20and%20Islamic%20Banking%20Fees%20and%20Charges.pdf

laymank
post Mar 21 2018, 01:35 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Mar 15 2018, 10:14 AM)
Anyone here using bigpay me prepaid card?
I already using it since last week and quite satisfied with the card functionality. Since it can be topup using debit or credit card, those using credit card can collect point/ cash rebate beside earn big point from bigpay card as well.
The MCC code is 6012.

What I like is can view the transaction real time in phone and also airasia booking fees is waived ( since the parent company is airasia)
The downsite is you need to topup initial rm 50m then you can get the card. you can however use the card until the balance is zero, so no minimum balance require.
ATM withdraw for local is RM 6 and oversea RM 10.
Also the card number is emboss exactly like credit card ( the number you can feel) but no name emboss on the card.

No annual fees for now so its good to have especially you book airasia ticket.
Does the debit card come with paypass feature?
laymank
post Mar 21 2018, 03:08 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Mar 21 2018, 02:11 PM)
It is a Prepaid card.

If I top up RM1,000 using Maybank FCB VS, I will get RM20 rebate from Maybank.
Then I withdraw RM1,000 at a local ATM, I will be charged RM6(.36?)
Then use the money to pay Maybank.
I hope it will work! Too good to be true.
Yea, next time can withdraw salary like that liao
laymank
post Mar 23 2018, 01:38 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(sendo7 @ Mar 23 2018, 12:25 PM)
Hi, does anyone use Maybank Visa Debit card before in overseas? Does it work in anywhere in the world as long as the ATM comes with VISA or PLUS logo? Thanks
if you are thinking of using the card for cash advance withdrawal from foreign ATMs, I would advise you against that, unless during emergencies.

laymank
post Mar 23 2018, 03:04 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(sj0217 @ Mar 22 2018, 09:29 PM)
Thanks for sharing !

I was thinking maybe can use SCB Gold Card to top up RM1,500.00  tongue.gif
SCG Cashback Gold seems feasible as it only excludes petrol and insurances.
laymank
post Mar 23 2018, 03:38 PM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(sendohz @ Mar 23 2018, 03:12 PM)
Good news then.
I better apply earlier.
Just did. Saw there is a new-to-bank offer of RM300, too.
laymank
post Mar 30 2018, 10:56 AM

4,232 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Mar 30 2018, 10:52 AM)
I've just tried paying the income tax through BYR Hasil with PB Debit card but comes with a 0.8% surcharge. Hmm, thought they shouldn't charge any surcharge on debit cards payment. Anyway I'll still pay twice next month to get the gov. cash back.

The balance of the tax balance, will pay through FCB cc in May to get the 10% cash back.

Cheers.
Why didn't you pay with FCB?

0.0273sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:14 PM