4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

TSeric_tan
post Jan 21 2013, 10:38 PM

264 posts

To program 3G is easy.... got lots of tutorial online.... dont need much programming...

but still harder than DD-WRT or stock firmware from Dlink/Asus/TP Link....

start at wiki.mikrotik.com....
TSeric_tan
post Jan 21 2013, 10:41 PM

264 posts

I dont think you can connect a HUB to the Mikrotik.. I dont think they recognise a USB Hub.... so at max you can use only 1x 3G device....
TSeric_tan
post Jan 25 2013, 10:37 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(gahkin @ Jan 25 2013, 10:19 PM)
hi, any guide to setup ? i refer the klseet site here.. no work ...  ohmy.gif
http://dumbpcs.blogspot.com/2011/09/mikrot...ient-setup.html

The only difference is that the current RouterOS will do a nslookup. You dont have to key in IP.
You may keen in the full address name instead and ROS will change it to an IP.

TSeric_tan
post Jan 28 2013, 11:30 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 21 2013, 08:23 AM)
Bro,

I need your advice,

Is there an easy way to configure RB751G 2HnD to use 3G USB Modems ( one or two modems at one go via USB Hub) , i read there are  ways of doing it but i found that they are quite complicated as i dun have a programming background

notworthy.gif
How is your setup coming along?

I have been using it at my new apartment for the last 2 days with a USB 3G dongle connected to the RB751G... no issues.. if you have any issues, just PM me directly.

Eric

TSeric_tan
post Jan 29 2013, 09:08 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 29 2013, 01:49 AM)
Thanks bro,

Still dun have time to try it out,

Using Asus RT N-16 now.

I will PM you when the need arise.

notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Asus N16 is their top end router... should be able to do all that you need, including sharing using the 3G dongle...

The N16 can QOS and bandwidth control right...

The highest spec that I have is only the N13U....
TSeric_tan
post Mar 4 2013, 08:43 PM

264 posts

You on software or hardware encryption?

I also had another setup, and seem to peak at 6~7Mbps too... but for their setup, the bandwidth is sufficient.... however the latency is not acceptable....

TSeric_tan
post Mar 10 2013, 09:04 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(DeLarafi @ Mar 10 2013, 03:13 AM)
Hai.. i got problem here...

i have a RB750GL connect to my unifi BTU... and Trunk both vlan500 and vlan600 to prot 5 to connect to my RB750...
but seem like my RB750 cant recieved any trunking from the RB750GL...
anyone could help.. coz i conect the RB750 with the Hypptv that use vlan600 connection...
Not sure how trunking will traverse past the first router. Only read about it, but never try it...

Are both units running as Routers? I don't see any problem connecting 2 of the routers together....
What are you static Routes used? DHCP server? and IP Range for each router?
TSeric_tan
post Mar 10 2013, 09:11 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(amirsubhi @ Mar 10 2013, 02:45 AM)
I am having problem configuring the NAT loopback until found the solution for dynamic ip (guideline was for Fixed IP)

for Dynamic IP, what we can do is by running and schedule every 10 min, a script to update the dst-address of the hairpin nat/nat loopback

a script as simple as

CODE
/ip firewall nat set 'Hairpin Nat' dst-address=[:resolve yourdyndns.dnsomatic.com]

Hairpin Nat is the comment of your Hairpin NAT rules

or below might work too(untested)

CODE
:global currentIP;

:local newIP [/ip address get [find interface="ether1"] address];

:if ($newIP != $currentIP) do={
   :put "ip address $currentIP changed to $newIP";
   :set currentIP $newIP;
{
:/ip firewall nat set 'Hairpin Nat' dst-address=$currentIP
:/log info "Hairpin NAT Dynamic IP updated";

or just put additional line at your dyndns/dnsomatic script
I previously had issue with NAT and all. I tried the hairpin, also didn't work for me.... in the end, i just use the following version

CODE

chain=dstnat action=dst-nat to-addresses=<int destination IP> to-ports=<int destination IP port>
    protocol=udp in-interface=pppoe-out1 dst-port=<WAN Port>

You can read my post about it here.

TSeric_tan
post Mar 10 2013, 03:12 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(DeLarafi @ Mar 10 2013, 02:16 PM)
Ok..the (A)RB750GL will do the unifi dialing, and trunk both VLAN ID 500 & 600 to port 5...
then from port 5 will connect to the (B)RB750...
setting for the RB750 will get VLAN500 to share with port 2 3 4, while port 5 will only share VLAN600..

any idea how can i set the (B)RB750?
I think you should test your setup, and confirm that you can access internet and IP TV on your RB750GL.

Because on my setup, only the PPPOE dialer is on VLAN 500. After that, all other ports is not on any VLAN. I didn't bother with IP TV, but the theory should be same.

An easier setup would be, Port 5 on the RB750GL set to VLAN 600. Port 2~4 is just normal, no need setup VLAN, it should just work. PPPOE dialer (port 1) on both VLAN 500 & 600.

Then you can connect your RB750 (as a switch) to any of the port 2~4 to share the internet, while you access IPTV from the RB750GL port 5.

TSeric_tan
post Mar 10 2013, 05:04 PM

264 posts

Just set all the ports as 1 Switch, and then you set the VLAN accordingly.

Should work just like a switch with VLAN capabilities.
TSeric_tan
post Mar 13 2013, 03:57 PM

264 posts

If you try to understand what is being done, you'll be able to solve your problem.

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Switch_Chip_Features

Follow the above steps and set "switch all ports"

Then after that, set the VLAN on the required port.

Good luck
TSeric_tan
post Mar 13 2013, 04:49 PM

264 posts

Be a MAN, do the RIGHT thing!

TSeric_tan
post Apr 21 2013, 02:01 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(raydha @ Apr 21 2013, 08:15 AM)
Any mikrotik model can set up ppoe connection?
1- create streamyx adsl ppoe connection (above statement little bit confusing)
2- wifi capabilities/hotspot

prefer one box rather than multiple box(bridge). Thanks
Any Mikrotik router can do what you need....

Wifi capabilities only on models with built in Wifi/APs

Hotspot service is available on all Mikrotik Routers, even those without built in Wifi, can still have the service via external APs
TSeric_tan
post Apr 29 2013, 08:58 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 29 2013, 02:47 PM)
You got RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN  at RM 460? including shipping?

Lately been playing with Raspberry Pi, no time to go with Mikrotik move back to Cisco 1841 for my house setup.. The mikrotik is good as all in one, and wifi, but still far off from being a router and VPN. I still prefer the Cisco command line. Maybe is me, but cisco command line are much easier to understand.
Mikrotik also got command line, similar to Cisco.

I used to use all command lines for Mikrotik, but lately very lazy, use all GUI.

Of course kenot compare with Cisco features la... but for that price point.... Cisco also cannot compare tongue.gif
TSeric_tan
post Apr 30 2013, 08:30 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Apr 29 2013, 11:04 PM)
well said.... if cisco can come up with something at least 2x mktik pricing i'll be surprised

this thread like quiet down.. guess everybody mikrotik all humming away perfectly without problems
I always tell my customers, Mikrotik is "Poor Man's Cisco".... has got all the features we need, at a fraction of the price tongue.gif
TSeric_tan
post Apr 30 2013, 09:30 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 30 2013, 08:55 AM)
It don't have all, I would say only fraction of the features. Nevertheless Miktotik are strong in Wifi area.
I didnt say have all, I said have all that is needed/required!
Maybe I should ask, what features that Cisco that you USE, is not available in Mikrotik?

I don't use Mikrotik as APs, I use Ubiquiti products for that.

TSeric_tan
post Apr 30 2013, 09:45 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 30 2013, 08:53 AM)
Not comparing features lah, I know the pricing are difference, but if compare stability and support. This Mikrotik support are really typical support like D-link, and TP-Link level. Really plan to replace the mikrotik with cisco for the price they office, but after testing and trying get support really give up. Is good for all in one, but for specific jobs like VPN, DMVPN, and routing still have to put more juice and support.

Maybe is me, but I find the mikrotik syntex are not easy to understand.
In my first job, I used to maintain Cisco 4600 Switches + Routers (15 years ago)....
Of course the Cisco has got loads of features and potential. But for our university setup back then, we didn't do anything sophisticated.... basic layer 3 switching, routing and some basic firewall.

I agree that Cisco is more reliable, and have got more advance in features compared to lots of other brands.
If I have the budget, I would also like to use Cisco, Juniper or even try Huawei products.

However, I no longer work for big corporation with crazy budgets. In the SME environment, IT budget is limited, and I have to allocate for other equipment in office.

I feel that Mikrotik has got a great price/performance ratio.

Confirm support cannot compare with Mikrotik. Then again, if you paid half your Cisco service contract to a company, you will get all the support you need.... On most days, I just go to the forum and see what other users are doing....

BTW, how much does Cisco cost nowadays? I am sure the pricing would be much more affordable than 15 years ago....

TSeric_tan
post Apr 30 2013, 12:39 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 30 2013, 12:19 PM)
New Cisco price are at the premium price. But if you know where to look, used unit is not very expensive smile.gif I can get below 1k for 1841, and 1k++ for 2811 for the used unit.

I start Cisco by chance, I was left with bunch of 1721 to managed, which I can't do any testing and trial on production. I learn by buying cisco at my own expenses. And learn cisco switching when I implement Avaya gateway. So everything for cisco I learn pratical without any class.

Mikrotik are good for small scale, but still can't sort out how to do remote implmentation, and remote support. Not easy when branches are few hundreds to few thousands miles. Cisco you get support direct or 3rd partiy expert which are cheaper and easier to find. In my previous company I configure the cisco, and send the unit to other brances at oversea. So far it work for many of the country.

My hosue are CISCOed smile.gif + Mikrotik wifi. Maybe later will get mikrotik RB2011UAS. I prefer less power usages look like Mikrotik are one of the option. Will have to play around with what Mikrotik can do, and the option I have to VPN to the other sites i current have wink.gif
I didnt have the luxury to play with Cisco product. Once the system is up, my job was to maintain... since it is a production system, I cannot play/experiment with it. Didn't have a spare cisco to play with, except those software emulator we used for classes.

I configure all my Mikrotik, and use SSH to remote access (or even GUI), for offsite support. This is assuming that the internet is already running.

As for VPN, they have VPN services. However, only a few selected High End Mikrotik comes with Hardware VPN encryption. All other models, use software encryption, thus the slower VPN throughput, and also limited connection before you max out the router. If you use lots of VPN services, you'll need to look for the Mikrotik with VPN Encryption chip, or alternative brands.

You should try some Ubiquiti AP products and also Point 2 Point products. I feel that it is better than Mikrotik.... in fact, in the forums, most people use Mikrotik Routers + Ubiquiti P2P products.

I am sure with your background, you'll be able to maximise what the Mikrotik can provide you. You have the technical know-how, just need to learn the syntax and new RouterOS language

TSeric_tan
post Apr 30 2013, 02:22 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Apr 30 2013, 01:29 PM)
For Cisco, you shoud try GNS3 aka GUI of "Dynamips" it run on actual CISCO IOS, but older h/w. http://www.gns3.net/  you should try. I am sure you know where to find the ios smile.gif

How I wish it come early, it will save me lots of money.

I don't need AP lah, only for house no need to Strong AP. I need mostly VPN allow me to managed some of the servers on other site.
Yes, we used some of these emulator to build the big and test some networks... but nothing beats using real routers in Class...

No fun, to use those emulators... last time in Australia (where I worked), you can rent the Cisco lab, to do and learn and setup routers.... they charge by the hour!!

TSeric_tan
post May 3 2013, 02:28 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 3 2013, 12:38 AM)
Yeah, RM460. Low Yat Plaza where got shipping, have to go there to buy lah.

Here are some pics, not mine. Too lazy to take pictures.

https://picasaweb.google.com/quindor/RB2011UAS2HnDIN

Mine came with 12v PSU. I've read some units in other countries comes with 24v PSU. Also comes with a micro USB to USB adaptor. Other than that, same old RouterOS. Haven't really had time to play around with it yet. UniFi setup no probs. WLAN, VPN, Hotspot still disabled, maybe will setup and test this weekend.
Which shop?

I saw RM475 at Viewnet

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0233sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:02 AM