9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

kwss
post Jan 13 2024, 03:31 PM

1,207 posts

Let me tell you all about future proof: It doesn't exist.
My experience with network are from Frame Relay to 800G Ethernet.

Just put a conduit and replace whatever cable down the road as need.

There is no RJ45 standard for anything above 10Gbps, so whatever CAT after 6A is irrelevant. Which 25G or 40G use RJ45? None!

Even for Single Mode Fiber, you have different connectors. 400G and 800G all requires MPO. You are going to rip everything out if you need that speed some day.
MPO connector don't work for lower speed module anyway so you cannot install it today, unless 400G / 800G is what you need right now.

Then there is the upcoming 224G SerDes for 1.6Tbps link. How future-proof you want?

This post has been edited by kwss: Jan 13 2024, 03:32 PM
kwss
post Jan 13 2024, 03:50 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 13 2024, 03:38 PM)
You future prove untill how long you want to stay in the house. 20-50years for me. Landed

Wifi 7 is out may be wifi 20 is out then. As  good as cable
Conduit is the most future-proof. You can put anything inside it.
New mesh system starts having SFP+ port.
Some telcos have Fiber To The Room (FTTR) offering.

Nobody sells RJ45 above CAT6A, except cable manufacturer. It is fact.

RJ45 is only mandatory for PoE but guess what, now there's Power over Fiber (PoF) on the market.
RJ45 for anything faster than 10Gbps don't exist today, won't exist tomorrow.
kwss
post Jan 13 2024, 04:47 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 13 2024, 04:38 PM)
cable manufacturer RJ45 for cat8 is only 10Gbps?
Name me one hardware that has RJ45 port faster than 10Gbps.
Apa yang you tak faham ni...
You having buyer's remorse or what
kwss
post Jan 13 2024, 06:00 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 13 2024, 05:37 PM)
I am confuse you said RJ45 now you said RJ45 port
Jeez...
There's no IEEE standard for RJ45 products faster than 10Gbps.
All cable manufacturers are just selling you thin air. SCAM

Their whole 40Gbps and 2000 Mhz claim make no sense because it's something that don't exist today, never exist before. Tak pernah wujud!

Your CAT8 cable has zero performance difference compare to CAT6A. Just way more expensive, heavy, thick, ugly and impossible to crimp.

It's the same scam they pulled with CAT7. What does "better shielding" even mean?

If their stuff works then nobody want DAC cable. Same thick and ugly shit.
kwss
post Jan 14 2024, 01:30 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 13 2024, 08:34 PM)
10 years down the road. We don't know how far RJ45 will go. I don't want to heck my house wall again. I learn a lesson with cat5.
Instead of putting a conduit, you chose to bury non-standardized cable in your wall.
Looks like you didn't really learn anything.

After having buyer's remorse, you are here telling people to commit stupidity. How sinful.

I'm here telling everyone anything above CAT6A is a scam. There's no IEEE standard, no product at all. You literally get sold a SATA 8 cable for future-proof and better gaming experience.
kwss
post Jan 15 2024, 09:59 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(maxiscool @ Jan 14 2024, 06:44 PM)
Now I sort of manage to trunk the port now under 50, however I am able to access Internet but when I try to access local address, ie.. 192.168.1.1, the page stuck on loading, and I try to to ping the address, there is response.
Any area should I look at?

For case like this, just do packet capture on your machine. Start capture, access the problematic IP, stop capture.
Then analyze it. No guesswork.

QUOTE(cyberic @ Jan 15 2024, 08:22 AM)
The key point here is concealed wring is PITA when comes to re-wiring/repair. Just use cat 6/6A today (cheaper cost for 10G), 10Gbps should be sufficient for most home for many years. Cat 5e cable can achieve 5Gbps within 50 meters. it is even possible for 8Gbps.

Want future proof and ease of maintenance, don't do concealed wiring.
Fully agree. There are so many stick on wall and high bend radius fiber optic cable right now. That's how they do FTTR.
Want to DIY, go Corning ClearCurve
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 01:50 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 24 2024, 10:24 AM)
Not the same for UDP jitter
What's the story now? Previously your cable cut 2ms off your latency. Now your story become it reduces jitter by 0.1ms?

The YouTuber is clueless on what he is measuring but you are malicious in a disinformation campaign.
He only did the measurement once for each cable. If he did it multiple times he would immediately know his flaw.

Tell me how a strand of copper affect jitter? Electron don't choke.
It's more like the difference in serving IRQ.
Windows is not a real time OS and even with a real time OS, there's no hard and fast rule for IRQ related jitter.

You need to stop your bullshit. You cannot possibly have a response time faster than a cat. You aren't born special, definitely not the chosen one.
Where is the timing screen shot i asked in Unifi forum? Or the traceroute other member asked in international routing issue?

You are king of making shit up. Just like you said your game looks blur on Unifi but super sharp on Maxis LTE.
So much about networking but cannot even supply one screenshot or traceroute or even the IP address of your game server.
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 03:08 PM

1,207 posts

You basically admitted you game better with higher latency. 22ms higher to be exact.
No freaking way your local network will have that much latency to cut, even if you are using WiFi.

Says the guy who can feel 1ms difference and a 0.1ms jitter.
Maybe you should go on Guinness Books of Records.

No traceroute, no screenshot, no IP address. 100% feeling
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 03:23 PM

1,207 posts

Game server IP. Nobody wants your IP address. Put your traceroute in international routing thread. Don't sembang kencang.
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 04:31 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 28 2024, 04:02 PM)
No point putting trace routes. You can’t tell at all. Anyway to prove my point. What ip you want me to ping. I do it tonight.

Gaming is no all about ping. Is about how fast it respond.
After all the talk about reducing latency and your baseless claim of problems, you want me to provide an IP address to prove a point?
What point do you want to prove with my IP address?

Suddenly ping time has nothing to do with your game response time too? That's not what you claim previously.

Reduce 1ms, can feel it.
Increase 22ms, game is so much better.
Ping basically measure response time.
Now all of that are suddenly irrelevant
All according to you.
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 05:14 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 28 2024, 05:08 PM)
I eat hacker for breakfast. I told you this yet you cannot believe. I tell again ping and respond time is different yet both of them are related. Just opening Lowyat website there is different already. You don’t know what are you looking. You only look at ping ping ping.
A hacker who cannot even provide his game server IP address.
I'm still waiting for the timing graph screenshot. If it's slow as you claim the timing graph will show it, even just 1ms different.
People in international routing thread is still waiting for your traceroute.

Kuat kelentong. Sembang kencang. Bodoh sombong.

This post has been edited by kwss: Jan 28 2024, 05:14 PM
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 05:31 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 28 2024, 05:23 PM)
My nick in game is SirOlgaC4 go inquest about me in MBT. Malaysia Battlefield team.
Doesn't change the fact you make shit up and blame everything except yourself.
Plus that stupid expensive cable that you have been promoting didn't even help you. What a big fat scam.
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 05:43 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 28 2024, 05:38 PM)
You don’t know what to look. You only look at ping ping ping.
Says a guy who cannot provide fact and his only argument is "I eat hacker for breakfast"
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 05:48 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 28 2024, 05:46 PM)
Go ask blacktubi. He understands what am I talking about. Is some where in maxis tread
Your tactic now become throwing names around. How pathetic
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 06:17 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Jan 28 2024, 06:05 PM)
Actually right sometimes the "feel" of the game is not even related to the ping to the server larh.

I played FIFA last time in 3 different countries (US, UK, MY), and MY feel at my home with wired everything good networking loses feel wise compared to Hotel wifi in UK, i was like WTH this is a completely different game, everything is so smooth and fast. US set up was also wired, i would say it would be in the middle "feel" wise LOL. At that time i was also using those Netduma routers to force which server regions i will connect to (for MY and US).
A feeling is just that: A feeling.
It could be overloaded server or other factor. If the ping is good and consistent with no loss, the network is good.
But this guy said Unifi gave him blurry image while Maxis LTE gave him sharp image. He did clarify it's not streamed via GeForce Now or others. How does that make sense?

Also the point of this whole thing is he keep spreading disinformation wanting people to buy his cable.
Suddenly he post a YouTube video showing his cable has like 0.1ms better jitter than the "worst" cable.
Now he said he is trying to "help" people future proof their house. Previously he claim to get 2ms better latency, make his game better and stuff.

This post has been edited by kwss: Jan 28 2024, 06:18 PM
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 06:29 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 28 2024, 06:05 PM)
Maxis got intel14 tm got intel10. Do the respond time the same? Same request to the www. Who’ is faster to respond.

Please use your brain.
What are you saying now? How many ms you saved after upgrading from 10th gen to 14th gen?

Biar betul...

You are the guy who is all about saving 1ms. Suddenly I am the bogeyman of ping ping ping

This post has been edited by kwss: Jan 28 2024, 06:30 PM
kwss
post Jan 28 2024, 09:15 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 28 2024, 08:11 PM)
There is server which is 30hertz  and there is server with 60hertz. Go and google about game server.
It's a server issue then. Your cable won't help you and you shouldn't blame the network.

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 28 2024, 08:52 PM)
You really need to shut up.
You are his partner selling cable too?
kwss
post Oct 25 2024, 08:26 PM

1,207 posts

MikroTik and Ampere co-developing a groundbreaking product line with server-class CPUs
Riga, Latvia & Santa Clara, CA, USA – MikroTik, a leading European IT manufacturer, and Ampere®️, an innovative US-based leader in Cloud Native Processors, are proud to announce a collaboration to develop a new line of products featuring state-of-the-art server-class CPUs that will push the boundaries of cost-effective, efficient, and powerful networking.

This trailblazing collaboration aims to bring unprecedented value to a wide range of users – from data network hobbyists and small offices to global enterprise conglomerates that are looking to leverage better infrastructure to potentially save millions of dollars.

The new product line, set to debut in the coming months, will capitalize on MikroTik’s flexible networking software – RouterOS – combined with Ampere’s cutting-edge Cloud Native Processors. The result is a suite of solutions designed to meet the needs of data centers, cloud service providers, edge computing specialists, and a broad spectrum of IT professionals who require top-tier performance without breaking the bank or sacrificing power efficiency.

“MikroTik’s upcoming Ampere-based products will bring the high-performance networking that enterprises need, but at a dramatically smaller cost and energy footprint,” said Jeff Wittich, Chief Product Officer at Ampere. “We are excited to collaborate with MikroTik to bring innovative, efficient solutions to market.”

“This collaboration will not only empower individuals and small businesses, but it will also deliver truly scalable solutions for larger organizations seeking to reduce operational costs. We believe this is a major leap towards creating a more connected, smarter world with a better accessibility of technology, which has been our mission from the start,” said John Tully, CEO of MikroTik.
Source: https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/spaces/ROS/b...rver-class+CPUs

This is interesting. I hope they finally has a "run to completion" engine to compete with Cisco, Nokia and Juniper.

Product for comparison:
Cisco 8000, Cisco 8500, Cisco ASR 9900
Nokia 7750 SR, Nokia 7730 SRX
Juniper MX304, Juniper MX10004/8

This post has been edited by kwss: Oct 25 2024, 08:26 PM
kwss
post Jan 28 2025, 04:57 AM

1,207 posts

I tested it on a rb750gr3 and it's proven working. It works on an ancient rb450g too!

HOWTO enable IPv6 fasttrack:
Step 1:
Go to IPv6 > Settings.
Enable IPv6 Forward and Allow Fast Path.

Step 2:
Reboot the router.

Step 3:
Go to IPv6 > Firewall
Delete everything inside Filter Rules, NAT, Mangle. You must delete them all. Merely disabling the rule won't work well.

Step 4:
Go to IPv6 > Firewall > Filter Rules.
Add the following:
Chain: Forward
Action: Fasttrack connection

Step 5:
Go to IPv6 > Settings
Verify it is working

HOWTO do firewall:
Step 1:
Go to IPv6 > Firewall > Raw
Add whatever rule you want here.

Example (Block access from Internet to your Mikrotik DoH resolver):
Add the following rule:
Chain: prerouting
Protocol: tcp
Dst Port: 53
In Interface: NOT ! <interface name>. Add all your LAN interface and bridge here
Action: drop

Repeat the same thing again for UDP port:
Chain: prerouting
Protocol: udp
Dst Port: 53
In Interface: NOT ! <interface name>. Add all your LAN interface and bridge here
Action: drop

HOWTO More efficient CPU usage for IPv4
Basically repeat the same thing for IPv4 > Firewall.
Remove everything in Filter Rules.
Add Chain: Forward, Action: fasttrack connection.
If your SoC support hardware NAT, enable it: Hw. Offload

Add everything you want to block inside Raw.
The default firewall rules are kind of useless and CPU intensive since Filter Rules is stateful while Raw are stateless.

Useless in the sense they can all be rewritten using stateless rule.
For blocking bogon, add them into routing table and blackhole instead of matching address list. It is super fast!

This post has been edited by kwss: Jan 28 2025, 05:02 AM
kwss
post Feb 2 2025, 05:40 AM

1,207 posts

Anime4000
I deleted all my Filter Rules and never put them back as I use Raw for all my firewall.
If you are using NAT66, you don't need all the Filter Rules either since they are just emulating the IPv4 NAT for people using GUA.

I think the performance of IPv6 Fasttrack will be the same as IPv4 Fasttrack if you use NAT. In RouterOS both IPv4 and IPv6 share the same conntrack configuration.

This post has been edited by kwss: Feb 2 2025, 05:40 AM

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:50 PM