Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

cyberic
post Sep 13 2025, 12:27 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 13 2025, 11:50 AM)
The BT10 is the same class to the E7 yo.
The price difference is huge!
You also need PoE injector because the UCG Fiber's PoE output is not enough for the E7.

There is no direct comparison with the UCG Fiber so I will leave it to you
UCG max got 2.5G ports but missing the 10G ports like UCG fiber. Too bad there is no RB5009 alike with 2.5G ports.
cyberic
post Sep 17 2025, 09:00 AM

1,127 posts

FYI. Tested the ONR Skyworth wifi 7, can get 10xxMbps. Then U6 pro, I only get 8xxMbps at very close range. I'm sure Asus BT10 cat reach 1xxx easily.
cyberic
post Sep 18 2025, 10:55 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Sep 17 2025, 11:53 PM)
i like ceiling wifi we run Cable i don't need MLO we can work ROAMING without disturbed disconnect wifi
yah i know POE Switch need it
Mikrotik wifi not need it
Mikrotik like RB5009 OR CCR2xxx waiting all port 2.5G Port

WHY EAP670 still with look picture
EAP670 look like fair away 45 feet look very good 30 feet look good
but Ubiquiti can't beat EAP670 hmm  rclxub.gif

you think EAP670 they always make multiple hardware revision i am correct

ASUS don't want anymore because last time few month ago very bad news about Thousands Of Asus Routers Reportedly Affected By “ViciousTrap” Backdoor

so i plan get new latest mikrotik all port 2.5G delay

that why i plan AP with POE Switch
Do note that consumer wifi like Asus always good at speed and range. You might need 3 AP to get the speed and range like Asus. Enterprise AP is all about consistency and stability. Asus router still better for most home: simple, fast and very good coverage.
cyberic
post Sep 19 2025, 08:51 AM

1,127 posts

10G network still expensive. I would go with Flex 2.5G PoE switch if I don't have 10G computer and NAS.
cyberic
post Sep 19 2025, 10:14 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 19 2025, 09:57 AM)
Doing 10g wirespeed is not easy yo. Even 2.5g wirespeed switch is expensive.

Those el-cheapo 2.5g switch actually cannot do wirespeed. They just daisy chain a few chips together. You do get what you pay for.
You can see the teardown:

If traffic pattern is mostly North-South, then just wait until you have that Internet speed to upgrade.
- or -
Just buy the Asus and call it a day. You are getting the promised WiFi 7 improvement. No controller, no switch, no hassle.
Not exactly cheap but they do deliver.
Good point. That's why Asus BT10 is very tempting. Simple and fast.

Also. CRS304-4XG-IN should be good to expand the 10G port a bit.It's fanless. My ccr1009 very noisy sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cyberic: Sep 19 2025, 10:41 AM
cyberic
post Sep 20 2025, 01:47 PM

1,127 posts

I feel that whole wifi 7 thing is kinda screw up. AFC and MLO still doesn't work properly. Maybe wifi 8 can help clean up the mess. Ethernet or fiber is always better if possible to use.
cyberic
post Sep 20 2025, 03:46 PM

1,127 posts

The problem with 6Ghz is range, AFC supposed to help but as you mentioned, there are other restrictions to use it.

Also manufacturers should stop releasing product when the standard is not finalized, then hoping to update via firmware updates. As I understand, Galaxy s23 has the modem with the wifi 7 capable but disabled. Perhaps compatibility issues. Maybe same reason many vendors have compatibility issues to make it work for all.
cyberic
post Sep 20 2025, 04:45 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Sep 20 2025, 04:17 PM)
This might be a silly question, but what does the 'rc' indicate for RouterOS versions?

I noticed that ROS 7.20 is no longer 'beta' but 'rc' now.
Rc in the version means Release Candidate. Still in development lah.

There is no silly question, just silly not to ask when need help.
cyberic
post Sep 20 2025, 06:04 PM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 20 2025, 04:55 PM)
I thought only s25 have wifi7? I check with gsm arena spec and it seems that way too.

I remember it comes with Snapdragon x70 modem and FastConnect 7800, world 1st wifi 7? 😆
cyberic
post Oct 7 2025, 09:20 AM

1,127 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Oct 7 2025, 02:20 AM)
yah TP-Link cannot do cannot do roaming when using MLO
so i don't need MLO so very imported roaming hmmm
If MLO is not important, might as well just stick to Wifi 6 or 6E. Wifi 7 with MLO supposed to allow more speed but it is half baked now.
cyberic
post Oct 7 2025, 07:24 PM

1,127 posts

Mikrotik tour

This post has been edited by cyberic: Oct 7 2025, 07:30 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0198sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:07 AM