8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

weikee
post Jun 1 2013, 05:18 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 1 2013, 03:37 PM)
i think this would be the fastest, there is a small connecter inside that is connected to the internal attenna ?

http://www.edccomp.com/converter/323-anten...751u-2hnd-.html
rb250g can do 802.3ad ?
Only the build in external connector. And that is not working. I saw how a mikrotik owner did it. Many really pissed with the respond and support they get. This are things they should do it right the first time.
weikee
post Jun 1 2013, 07:14 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 1 2013, 06:01 PM)
oh okie.. care to share the url to that discussion ?
This one talk about the external antenna mod

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=58745

You do search in the same forum will find the 751 external antenna issue.
weikee
post Jun 15 2013, 01:15 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Jun 12 2013, 09:03 PM)
weikee

*) fix 1G linking with some Cisco devices (affects RB7xx, RB9xx, RB1100, RB2011, CCR);

hmm seems to be fixed leh.. go test it out
TQ, will test it out.
weikee
post Jun 20 2013, 09:54 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(SinaranX @ Jun 19 2013, 08:47 AM)
Just a few questions.

1)would this model RB951G-2HnD be suitable?
2)would the product be able to assign ip range for each port?
3)If yes for 2. Do I need to do the routing or the router would be smart enough for those two ip range to communicate?
Not sure on Mikrotik. If you have basic ACL, just put in RIP . RIP2, the router should do auto routing with (permit All All) in the ACL. If there are lots of data moving between the two IP zone you need to get a L3 switch with higher routing capacity.

The model you metion, the routing capacity does not reach 1Gbps, looking at the spec online with smallest packet size you get only 148.8Mbps rate, and higher the packet size faster the routing. But packet size are random. This is without rules, and on paper. In real life scenario it will not be at that level, may need to give some discount. Never the less, the 951 is pretty good for start and cheap for testing and trial.

Just buy and try la, not expensive.
weikee
post Aug 25 2014, 11:56 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(seng87 @ Aug 14 2014, 11:27 AM)
Ok boss.. understand what you wanted to present to me.. Gotta go restudy my CIDR.. LOL... And Thanks alot for the guidance..
Why do you want to use >252 IPs in one subnet? If you really have that many devices, is best to have it in VLAN, and use IP Helpder (DHCP Relay). This way you can have better network performance.
weikee
post Mar 14 2015, 04:45 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Mar 14 2015, 12:15 AM)
Even with experience running Cisco OS (many years ago) and got good knowledge in Networking.... I found it difficult setting up the RouterOS when I received by first unit. The syntax is all different, not to mention that everything is "manual" setup, including NAT, which is like auto on most "home routers"

Nowadays, they have some standard pre-set mode, which makes it easier. But I would reckon you would need to have good knowledge in Networks first, before attempting to use RouterOS.

If you are running ERP over LAN network, I doubt the RouterOS can help much, since its all LAN (unless you want to do QOS/queue). However if you want to setup Firewall, VPN or other services, I believe RouterOS can help you. But setup is not gonna be easy....

Be patient, and google for sample scripts, and work your way....
Cisco give the "en" mode full control, it basically can control every thing, I still love cisco. Mikrotik are similar just the lingo are difference. I too find it hard to catch the lingo, but google and its GUI help tremendously.
weikee
post Mar 14 2015, 04:53 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(hotwebs @ Mar 5 2015, 12:53 PM)
Hi I am interested on learning RouterOS, as i have the very basic knowledge in networking, is there anyway i can have the online training and is there anyone can share your experience about how good is RouterOS?

May i know how routerOS benefit on below setup?

Network cable are using CAT5E 100Mbps.
1 x 24 ports DES 1024R
1 x 24 ports DES 1024A
1 x Linksys LRT224 (router firewall)
1 x Dlink ADSL 2750E ADSL Modem
1 x Innacomm 3400v ADSL Modem
1 x Dlink NAS 323

besides on that, there are a lot of small 5ports or 8 ports normal switches connected to some other location for ports extension purpose. 

My target plan want to improve the current network speed and prepare for future ERP system.
This should be basic setup, nothing much can be tweak, ERP like eric_tan mention nothing much to do with router, unless you segment it to difference VLAN, and use the router to do the router which is not a good way. Usually is to get a switch with L3 swithing and do it on the switch side. If not, you will be loading the router for unnecessary routing and crash the router.

Most import is to make sure the network is running in Class-C or lower, if you use anything bigger than Class-C segment, it will cause network speed congestion due to broadcast.
weikee
post Oct 11 2018, 04:50 PM

12,019 posts

Hi All,

Long time didn't visit this thread. FYI (if it have not mention before) Mikrotik have a new feature for you to get the Unifi Dynamic IP and you can skip the subscription of noip or similar services.

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/Cloud

BTW, anyone using rbd52g-5hacd2hnd-tc ? Is it stable. Last i read it have some wifi connection speed issue.
weikee
post Dec 5 2018, 11:59 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(crashhog @ Dec 3 2018, 09:31 PM)
Hi Guys,

I have a Unifi Turbo 500Mbps on a Mikrotik RB750GL with Router OS v6.43.4(stable). Been using like a normal setup nothing fancy. Now I've moved to another house, I was planning to do like in the picture below.

Can anyone:
1. Point me to the right direction on how to configure the Mikrotik units?
2. Is RB750 okay for this setup?

Living room just get a switch that supports vlan will do. Mikrotik RB260GS can do the job.

My house use similar setup, but I didn't route vlan500 over, just 600 and 100(lan vlan)
weikee
post Dec 10 2018, 10:28 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(crashhog @ Dec 10 2018, 10:25 AM)
With a help of a friend of mine we ended up doing the same thing as you. I think there should be a guide (probably on Mikrotik's Wiki) on how to setup Unifi TV using a 2 router setup  smile.gif
Cool.
weikee
post Dec 13 2018, 09:26 AM

12,019 posts

Anyone here have update instruction to configure ipv6 for unifi? the one on the web don't seem to work. Running on firmware 6.43.7 may have some changes
weikee
post Dec 13 2018, 09:54 PM

12,019 posts

Found the problem

1) In DHCPv6 Client, uncheck the "address", by default is check. This is new features added

2) After that, i face rebinding issue when the router got reset, it hold the old prefix. Google and found the solution by adding script into ppp "on up:"

https://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=122420
This workaround works for me. Create an on-up script under the PPP profile. This will force a release (and subsequent renewal). This is mine:
Script:
:local interfaceName [/interface get $interface name];
:delay 10
:log info "profile-pppoe-isp client up: ipv6 dhcp-client release";
/ipv6 dhcp-client release [find interface=$interfaceName];

This post has been edited by weikee: Dec 14 2018, 09:09 AM
weikee
post Dec 13 2018, 09:54 PM

12,019 posts

BTW, i notice lowyat can't be access when i have ipv6 enable. Any idea why?

weikee
post Dec 31 2018, 05:58 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(mhwee @ Dec 31 2018, 05:08 PM)
lol that page is incomplete! Many people buy mikrotik router for before even study the setup first... hmm.gif

You have to set Firewall -- nat rules  . You also need to set dns settings.

Please follow this https://klseet.com/213-tm-unifi/unifi-mikro...setup-for-unifi

The setup are similar since all mikrotik router use same routerOS.

Ignore the masterport settings , since mikrotik removed masterport and slave port since routerOS 6.41 in Dec 2017
Yeah, i find the quick setup guide not working for me for my 2nd mikrotik (hap ac2) . I end up going back to my notes (from klseet also), and make some amendment due to changes in some setting after so many years. And it work again.
weikee
post Jan 6 2019, 06:00 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Jan 4 2019, 05:19 PM)
Hi, guys can you share guide. To setup ipv6 for the current firmware update.
I use below console command, "Unifi PPPoE" is my pppoe dialer interface, you need to replace it with your interface name.

- interface=bridge-local (bridge-local is my data vlan bridge, replace with your data vlan bridge name)

I have problem with some site like lowyat, therefore i temporary disable it. Didn't really spend extra time checking it.

/ipv6 nd
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=yes
/ipv6 dhcp-client
add add-default-route=yes interface="Unifi PPPoE" pool-name=general-pool6 request=prefix
:delay 10s
print

/ipv6 address
add address=::1 from-pool=general-pool6 interface=bridge-local advertise=yes

:delay 10s
/ipv6 nd
add interface=bridge-local ra-interval=20s-60s

/ipv6 firewall filter
add chain=input action=drop connection-state=invalid comment="Drop (invalid)"
add chain=input action=accept connection-state=established,related comment="Accept (established, related)"
add chain=input action=accept in-interface="Unifi PPPoE" protocol=udp src-port=547 limit=10,20:packet comment="Accept DHCP (10/sec)"
add chain=input action=drop in-interface="Unifi PPPoE" protocol=udp src-port=547 comment="Drop DHCP (>10/sec)"
add chain=input action=accept in-interface="Unifi PPPoE" protocol=icmpv6 limit=10,20:packet comment="Accept external ICMP (10/sec)"
add chain=input action=drop in-interface="Unifi PPPoE" protocol=icmpv6 comment="Drop external ICMP (>10/sec)"
add chain=input action=accept in-interface=!"Unifi PPPoE" protocol=icmpv6 comment="Accept internal ICMP"
add chain=input action=drop in-interface="Unifi PPPoE" comment="Drop external"
add chain=input action=reject comment="Reject everything else"
add chain=output action=accept comment="Accept all"
add chain=forward action=drop connection-state=invalid comment="Drop (invalid)"
add chain=forward action=accept connection-state=established,related comment="Accept (established, related)"
add chain=forward action=accept in-interface="Unifi PPPoE" protocol=icmpv6 limit=20,50:packet comment="Accept external ICMP (20/sec)"
add chain=forward action=drop in-interface="Unifi PPPoE" protocol=icmpv6 comment="Drop external ICMP (>20/sec)"
add chain=forward action=accept in-interface=!"Unifi PPPoE" comment="Accept internal"
add chain=forward action=accept out-interface="Unifi PPPoE" comment="Accept outgoing"
add chain=forward action=drop in-interface="Unifi PPPoE" comment="Drop external"
add chain=forward action=reject comment="Reject everything else"

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 6 2019, 06:03 PM
weikee
post Jan 7 2019, 07:50 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ahlong @ Jan 7 2019, 12:12 PM)
hi guys..

so need any pro user here to advice. im going to upgrade my router (RB951G-2HnD) that support my newly turbo-ed 800mbps. Atleast can support faster wifi speed than previous model.

thank you in advance
This router only support 2.4ghz, the wireless won't be able to support 800mbps. You need wireless with 5ghz. With 5ghz 2x2 mimo you maybe can achieve 800 speed at very close range.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jan 7 2019, 07:50 PM
weikee
post Jan 14 2019, 10:09 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 13 2019, 06:32 PM)
Trying out hAP AC2 as my RB750Gr3 was not fast enough to handle Turbo800 due to my use of local VLANs and a VLAN trunk for HyppTV and Internet.

Happy to report hAP AC2 more than capable. See the screen recording for CPU usage. HyppTV is also streaming at the same time as the test. Have to put off buying the RB4011 for now.  sad.gif

hAP AC2
ether1 - Unifi BTU
ether2 - vlan 50 and 600 trunk to RB2011UAS downstairs
ether5 - to my MacBook Pro (Thunderbolt GbE adaptor)

Fasttrack: ON
Bridge ports hw_offload: OFF (auto off due to vlans in bridge)

VLANs configured are 500, 600, 50 (ipv4 LAN), 56 (ipv6 LAN) and 70 (IoT LAN)

https://res.cloudinary.com/soonwai/image/up...t-cpu_usage.gif
Hap ac2 is good, but it generate higher heat than previous models. Now thinking to change to another model.
weikee
post Jan 28 2019, 11:51 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Jan 28 2019, 08:46 PM)
Can I use this method for TIME dotcom? Or TIME does not yet support for IPv6 in mikrotik?
Sorry don't have TIME to try. You need to try and see if you can obtain ipv6 address or not.
weikee
post Jan 29 2019, 09:14 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Jan 29 2019, 06:28 PM)
Ok limited stock arrived PM for details :-)

RB4011iGS+5HacQ2HnD-IN
Powerful 10xGigabit port router with a Quad-core 1.4Ghz CPU, 1GB RAM, SFP+ 10Gbps cage, dual band 2.4GHz / 5GHz 4x4 MIMO 802.11a/b/g/n/ac wireless and desktop case

[attachmentid=10174770]

[attachmentid=10174773]

[attachmentid=10174771]

[attachmentid=10174772]
Too powerful for 🏠 use biggrin.gif
weikee
post Mar 12 2019, 05:57 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Mar 12 2019, 09:42 AM)
Where did you guys buy mikrotik router now? i used to buy from a reseller here.. seems cant locate him anymore
I use lelong, and the seller is "Sublime", their price are good.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0240sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:53 AM