8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

weikee
post Sep 28 2012, 11:38 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Sep 27 2012, 07:03 PM)
Because Mikrotik routers are enterprise-grade product and is also affordable (at least compared to the likes of Cisco anyway).
Is not really an enterprise grade product. Is still far from Cisco on supported interface, routing, and vpn technology.

But is a good powerful flexible product at affordable $$$.
weikee
post Oct 10 2012, 08:34 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(CloudStore.com.my @ Oct 9 2012, 12:22 PM)
Just a update here, C-ZONE LOW YAT starts selling our products, you can now buy the MikroTik products from them.

C-Zone Sdn Bhd

Lot 2.56 & 57, Second Floor Low Yat Plaza
Off Jalan Bukit Bintang
52100 Kuala Lumpur, W.P
Malaysia

Tel    - 603.2145.8841 / 8842
Fax    - 603.2145.8845
Their price are so so only.
weikee
post Nov 12 2012, 03:58 PM

12,019 posts

Hi All,

What is the latest stable Mikrotik firmware for 751u?

Thinking to upgrade it, since mine is running outdated. Mine is V5.6 but stable. Last reboot was months ago.
weikee
post Nov 12 2012, 11:22 PM

12,019 posts

The external antenna perform worse than the build in. I am hopping the firmware fix the issue.
weikee
post Nov 13 2012, 08:23 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Nov 13 2012, 11:20 AM)
Did you change the antenna mode? You need to go into the wireless setting and change the antenna mode to "antenna-b" to enable the external antenna.
Yes and still suck. Even with the latest firmware.

Added on November 14, 2012, 4:04 pmLook to me is a know issue. Sigh

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?t=57847

This post has been edited by weikee: Nov 14 2012, 04:04 PM
weikee
post Nov 23 2012, 10:59 PM

12,019 posts

Me just looking to replace the crappy 751 with RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN, if wait is too long will mod the 751. The stupid mmcx external antenna reall suck.
weikee
post Nov 24 2012, 03:06 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kaisam @ Nov 24 2012, 01:34 PM)
how much the price for RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN ?

thank you.  biggrin.gif
Don't know. Ah well, is really not that enterprise product. Now thinking to switch back to my Cisco Cat switch and router.

Added on November 24, 2012, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Nov 24 2012, 01:53 PM)
RB2011UAS-2HnD is on the way to our inventory biggrin.gif
Can feed me the time frame? coming/on the way can be 1 week, 1 month, 1 quarter or 1 year?

This post has been edited by weikee: Nov 24 2012, 03:07 PM
weikee
post Dec 5 2012, 11:21 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Dec 5 2012, 08:06 PM)
So the MikroTik thread was really exist. I searched it everywhere now already found lol.

Btw the firmware 5.22 is already out, anyone have tried and do you get any issues on this firmware?
Read the mikrotik forum some users having iisue with the new firmware on some routerboard. Since it does not have any major changes I will leave it.

Added on December 6, 2012, 8:50 amYou can read more here:

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=67568&start=50

This post has been edited by weikee: Dec 6 2012, 08:50 AM
weikee
post Dec 10 2012, 11:35 AM

12,019 posts

Please try, wonder if it imporve the external Wifi

This post has been edited by weikee: Dec 10 2012, 11:35 AM
weikee
post Dec 10 2012, 05:52 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(miramar @ Dec 10 2012, 12:14 PM)
It's definitely a lot better. Finally it's usable. Previously even the TM DIR-615 has better wifi than it. Now even in the toilet, I can check my email.

Are there any hardware differences between the G and the U, aside from more RAM and the GB switch?

I'm going to try 6.0rc5 with the U and see if it's all in the OS.

@weikee: Do you know where to buy mmcx-rpsma converter pigtail? Thinking of trying an external antenna.
Don't waste money. I have one. Even 10ft away clear view from the antenna it get 1/2 strength signal.

Unless the new Firmware fix the problem. You can read in mikrotik forum I am not the first one complaning.
weikee
post Dec 18 2012, 02:38 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 17 2012, 10:50 PM)
I've tested winbox.exe with a few Wine implementations on the Mac.

Winebottler (Free)
CrossOver 11 & 12 (Commercial)
PlayOnMac (Free)

They all work well (including connecting with MAC). The only prob I've encountered is if you use the beta Mac drivers in Crossover 12, which does away with X11, dropdown lists are not displayed but still selectable.

PlayOnMac works the best for me. Mainly fastest startup time.

A little tip is that you can install thedude and winbox into the same bottle so you don't have to waste disk space with 2 separate bottles.
Alternative, use telnet command line.

But Mikrotik command line really not easy to pick-up. Maybe I am too use to cisco ios.
weikee
post Dec 20 2012, 03:00 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Dec 20 2012, 09:57 AM)
I just bought the RB751G and would say that it is a great Router for the price. It may not have all your torrent app to download stuff, but it is a solid SME level (or even enterprise level) router, with no home-user app.

If you need a good router (With VPN, bandwidth management, firewall, hotspot service........ the list very long.. etc etc), then get the RB. If you need something simple for home use, get the TP Link.

I have used it with the 3G Dongle before and it works fine (read here) *Implemented on my 433UAH unit, not the 751G, but it should be exactly the same*
Good luck

Eric
SME yes, Enterprise nah.. nothing beat Cisco in routing class. But is a good all in one for SME and techy.
weikee
post Jan 2 2013, 12:00 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Nov 24 2012, 04:04 PM)
According to the distributor, it should be arrived within a few weeks, they are settling SIRIM and import permits currently
What happen to the RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN stock?
weikee
post Jan 2 2013, 03:45 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Jan 2 2013, 03:23 PM)
Hi bro, we are already selling it, please find it at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2649105.

Thanks for asking! biggrin.gif
Cool,

RM 480.00, hmm cheap, neither expensive. Still if you can gip more discount will be lovely smile.gif

Look like I have to spend it next month, just got myself a 1921 for playing, and testing.
weikee
post Apr 24 2013, 01:08 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 23 2013, 10:30 PM)
Anyone tried RB951G-2HnD or RB2011UAS-2HnD yet? Are they good? What's the LCD on the RB2011UAS for?

I'm currently using RB751G-2HnD and RB750GL.
Think RB951G-2HnD having the same ext antenna issue.

Don't know about RB2011UAS,
weikee
post Apr 29 2013, 02:47 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 26 2013, 09:35 PM)
Who ask you to buy from Cloud? Landasan cheap mah, Low Yat even cheaper for some products.

Lowyat (Landasan)
RB751G $285 (???)
RB951G $300 ($295)
RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN $460 ($475)

Just got my RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN yesterday. Will post some comments after I get it up and running.
You got RB2011UAS-2HnD-IN at RM 460? including shipping?

Lately been playing with Raspberry Pi, no time to go with Mikrotik move back to Cisco 1841 for my house setup.. The mikrotik is good as all in one, and wifi, but still far off from being a router and VPN. I still prefer the Cisco command line. Maybe is me, but cisco command line are much easier to understand.

This post has been edited by weikee: Apr 29 2013, 02:48 PM
weikee
post Apr 30 2013, 08:53 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Apr 29 2013, 08:58 PM)
Mikrotik also got command line, similar to Cisco.

I used to use all command lines for Mikrotik, but lately very lazy, use all GUI.

Of course kenot compare with Cisco features la... but for that price point.... Cisco also cannot compare tongue.gif
Not comparing features lah, I know the pricing are difference, but if compare stability and support. This Mikrotik support are really typical support like D-link, and TP-Link level. Really plan to replace the mikrotik with cisco for the price they office, but after testing and trying get support really give up. Is good for all in one, but for specific jobs like VPN, DMVPN, and routing still have to put more juice and support.

Maybe is me, but I find the mikrotik syntex are not easy to understand.
weikee
post Apr 30 2013, 08:55 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Apr 30 2013, 08:30 AM)
I always tell my customers, Mikrotik is "Poor Man's Cisco".... has got all the features we need, at a fraction of the price tongue.gif
It don't have all, I would say only fraction of the features. Nevertheless Miktotik are strong in Wifi area.
weikee
post Apr 30 2013, 12:19 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Apr 30 2013, 09:45 AM)
In my first job, I used to maintain Cisco 4600 Switches + Routers (15 years ago)....
Of course the Cisco has got loads of features and potential. But for our university setup back then, we didn't do anything sophisticated.... basic layer 3 switching, routing and some basic firewall.

I agree that Cisco is more reliable, and have got more advance in features compared to lots of other brands.
If I have the budget, I would also like to use Cisco, Juniper or even try Huawei products.

However, I no longer work for big corporation with crazy budgets. In the SME environment, IT budget is limited, and I have to allocate for other equipment in office.

I feel that Mikrotik has got a great price/performance ratio.

Confirm support cannot compare with Mikrotik. Then again, if you paid half your Cisco service contract to a company, you will get all the support you need.... On most days, I just go to the forum and see what other users are doing....

BTW, how much does Cisco cost nowadays? I am sure the pricing would be much more affordable than 15 years ago....
New Cisco price are at the premium price. But if you know where to look, used unit is not very expensive smile.gif I can get below 1k for 1841, and 1k++ for 2811 for the used unit.

I start Cisco by chance, I was left with bunch of 1721 to managed, which I can't do any testing and trial on production. I learn by buying cisco at my own expenses. And learn cisco switching when I implement Avaya gateway. So everything for cisco I learn pratical without any class.

Mikrotik are good for small scale, but still can't sort out how to do remote implmentation, and remote support. Not easy when branches are few hundreds to few thousands miles. Cisco you get support direct or 3rd partiy expert which are cheaper and easier to find. In my previous company I configure the cisco, and send the unit to other brances at oversea. So far it work for many of the country.

My hosue are CISCOed smile.gif + Mikrotik wifi. Maybe later will get mikrotik RB2011UAS. I prefer less power usages look like Mikrotik are one of the option. Will have to play around with what Mikrotik can do, and the option I have to VPN to the other sites i current have wink.gif
weikee
post Apr 30 2013, 01:29 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Apr 30 2013, 12:39 PM)
I didnt have the luxury to play with Cisco product. Once the system is up, my job was to maintain... since it is a production system, I cannot play/experiment with it. Didn't have a spare cisco to play with, except those software emulator we used for classes.

I configure all my Mikrotik, and use SSH to remote access (or even GUI), for offsite support. This is assuming that the internet is already running.

As for VPN, they have VPN services. However, only a few selected High End Mikrotik comes with Hardware VPN encryption. All other models, use software encryption, thus the slower VPN throughput, and also limited connection before you max out the router. If you use lots of VPN services, you'll need to look for the Mikrotik with VPN Encryption chip, or alternative brands.

You should try some Ubiquiti AP products and also Point 2 Point products. I feel that it is better than Mikrotik.... in fact, in the forums, most people use Mikrotik Routers + Ubiquiti P2P products.

I am sure with your background, you'll be able to maximise what the Mikrotik can provide you. You have the technical know-how, just need to learn the syntax and new RouterOS language
For Cisco, you shoud try GNS3 aka GUI of "Dynamips" it run on actual CISCO IOS, but older h/w. http://www.gns3.net/ you should try. I am sure you know where to find the ios smile.gif

How I wish it come early, it will save me lots of money.

I don't need AP lah, only for house no need to Strong AP. I need mostly VPN allow me to managed some of the servers on other site.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0372sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:14 PM