Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.3, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

PoorMan
post Sep 8 2012, 04:18 AM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

It's only when in time of a problem/crisis, you'll see what differentiates a good product and a great product.

For the record, I don't think it's primarily iamsobloodysick's bad service per se but overall, the 'traditional' practice in Malaysia of not having an immediate one-to-one exchange when there is a manufacturing defect or defect on receipt. Panasonic Malaysia should support their dealers/resellers more proactively to differentiate themselves from their competitors.

Personally, I think stringfellow's demand is justified and we should follow the same standard in order to raise the 'acceptable' service level to the same as in the other more service-oriented countries.

This post has been edited by PoorMan: Sep 8 2012, 04:20 AM
PoorMan
post Sep 8 2012, 07:51 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

@stringfellow,

In your case, is it confirm a one-to-one exchange on Mon/Tues? Or is this still being subject to further 'verification'? Or are they going for the 'repair' option?

IINM, I think the dealers/resellers have to 'buy' (read: stock) the TV first from the manufacturer before selling to consumers to make a margin. This would explain why they will only stock the faster turnaround models to reduce business risk/storage cost.

This post has been edited by PoorMan: Sep 8 2012, 07:51 PM
PoorMan
post Sep 13 2012, 06:06 AM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(kakaroct @ Sep 13 2012, 02:16 AM)
Hey guys, I'm pretty amateur when it comes to AV stuff but I'm trying to learn a thing or two.

And I kinda have a thing for Plasma TVs now.

I understand you have to calibrate a Plasma TV to get the best out of it right?

And I understand you can either do it yourself or get a pro to do it for you.

After reading through this thread, I found some interesting links posted up by you guys and checked them out.

To all of you who own a Plasma, what do you guys actually do in terms of calibrating your TV set?

Do you,

1. Firstly start off with playing a slide show filled with pictures of different colours for a period of time?

- http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/hdt...ma-display.html

2. And secondly set your picture settings as per recommended by professionals?

- http://reviews.plasmatvbuyingguide.com/pan...picturesettings

Or is it vice versa?

Or is there another way to do it?

Would appreciate your replies and comments. Thanks. smile.gif

P.S. The links were taken from this thread, thank you to those who posted them up. Appreciate it!
You are right about the order.

From what I learned in this thread and others:

- turn down various the settings (brightness, contrast, color saturations) for the first few hundred hours or so
- exercise every individual pixels of the entire plasma screen. This means full screen and no black bars. You can use the slide show to accelerate the process. The idea is that every pixel across the screen is used evenly as much as possible.
- once this is done, the characteristics of your plasma screen should not change drastically, theoretically speaking. This is when you perform calibration and achieve settings that is consistent for some time.
- do note that each plasma screen has it's own characteristics and optimal settings may differ even though they are the same brand and model. There are various settings available in the internet for the models. You can try them out and see if you like them.

My plasma was calibrated by LYN forumer anfieldude. No regrets.
PoorMan
post Sep 27 2012, 10:20 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Sep 27 2012, 08:46 AM)
Hope that you can help me here.

Tried to hook up my Dell laptop to my V50K last night using HDMI cable. Selected the right HDMI channel on my V50K but still saw nothing.

I thought this is plug and play. What do I need to do to connect my laptop to my V50K ? I thought I have followed what was stated in the manual.

Many thanks.
I think there are special key presses on the laptop to send the display to external projector/monitor/TV.

Usually it's [Fn]+[F7] or [Fn]+[F8].
PoorMan
post Jan 16 2013, 02:36 AM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(fronaldo @ Jan 15 2013, 08:10 PM)
that i know..but if i change to beyond decoder but not subscribe HD channel (so no HDMI cable),is the pic quality will be better than using old decoder?
I think it's quite safe to say that Astro SD channels still has the best PQ using CRT (old TV). My old 29" Philips TV is paired with a 2nd Beyond decoder.

The Astro SD channels on HDTV will be slightly pixelated and soft even if using HDMI (can't be avoided). Personally, if you don't have a bluray player and don't plan to subscribe to Beyond HD, you ought to hold on to your old CRT TV.
PoorMan
post Mar 28 2013, 10:26 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(koh777 @ Mar 28 2013, 08:56 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  Sorry to ask again, break in is just to help reduce retention mark only?

Does break in also help to improve picture quality or other things as well???

Any sifus? Thanks in advance ^^
Apart from putting unnecessary stress on the plasma panel initially, the break in period is also to ensure stability of the plasma cells in a short amount of time. That's why it is important to work out all the individual pixels across the panel equally as much as possible.

Once broken in, it is time to calibrate to get the optimum PQ. With the pixels stabilised, your calibration results will last a longer time.

If you do the calibration before stabilising, your calibration may be out and you have to re-do the calibration again at a later point.

That's what I have learn from the sifus here.
PoorMan
post Mar 30 2013, 03:32 AM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(koh777 @ Mar 29 2013, 08:31 PM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif Thank you for sharing.

sweat.gif  sweat.gif  Sorry to ask, how to calibrate?? By myself or need to hire pro to do it??
You can find out more on calibration from the web.

For best results, I recommend a pro with the necessary tools and knowledge.

anfieldude is a LYN forumer that provides calibration services. He calibrated my V20 some years ago. You can try to PM him for more details.
PoorMan
post Apr 3 2013, 09:33 PM

Short of Fund and Spirit
2,664 posts

QUOTE(koh777 @ Apr 1 2013, 10:30 PM)
Thanks again  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif 

Is urs a v20 or vt20 ?

Actually i also owned a 42v20, going to be 2 years old soon.

Never break in or calibrate (never learn about this until lately sweat.gif  sweat.gif ) and not touching much on setting but use it on daily watching normal tv program only.

Can i ask around how much have to pay for a calibration service??

Does the picture quality really looks more better now (after calibartion)???
Mine is also 42V20 bought in 2010.

The calibration services can cost a few hundred RM and depends on how many input source you have. I'm not sure if the pricing model has changed. It's better if you PM anfieldude for latest prices.

For basic calibration without using reference tools, anfieldude has a stickied post in this forum that outlines the calibration methodology. Check it out.

0.0476sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:52 AM