130 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Micro Four Thirds (m43) User Thread V4, Pana & Oly mirrorless system camera!

jloi
post Nov 13 2011, 08:13 PM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Nov 13 2011, 12:28 PM)
ya 45mm is too tight for walkaround but is good for portrait

that,s y i dilemma in choosing, both r good lens with fast aperture which will deliver creamy bokeh,

my point is hopefully 1 lens can do all stuff like portrait, walkaround, street etc.

I have close to person face if i use 20mm and shot in portrait. But good for street. Walkaround

if i using 45mm lens then i might face problem when shooting landscape all those wide view.

Quite dilemma now. Both lens price quite affordable.
buy both then brows.gif
LinTao
post Nov 13 2011, 08:18 PM

717 posts

Hey I just wanna ask something, cameras like gf3 and pen ep3 are m43 cameras right? So their lenses are called m43 lenses? Can gf3 lenses be used on ep3? And also if I wanna get an adapter for my canon lenses to a gf3/ep3 , do I just get an adapter for canon eos to m43 then can use on both cameras?
lonelywolf90
post Nov 13 2011, 08:30 PM

363 posts

Hi guys,

I'm very new in this, hope you all can get me clear about all these..

Is EVIL and M43 the exact same thing?

I'm currently undecided whether to buy a DSLR or a M43/EVIL.

Please advice, thank you.
JekeChoo
post Nov 13 2011, 09:14 PM

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Nov 12 2011, 10:12 PM)
which lens shall i go..

panasonic 20mm F1.7
Olympus 45mm F1.8

usage > street, portrait, landscape, travelling, walkaround,
I having both! love 20mm for walk around, love 45mm for its bokeh and really great for portrait! I've too tried pana 25mm f1.4.. It just don't worth the price..
santaclaus
post Nov 13 2011, 09:20 PM

310 posts

im getting e-p3 soon ... im thinking which 1 better

a) trade kit lens for a 14-150mm lens

b) keep the kit lens and buy a telephoto 40-150mm lens

mostly using for travel ... so im thinking having 2 lenses n keep changing will be a bit troublesome , and do i need a hood?
JekeChoo
post Nov 13 2011, 10:20 PM

QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Nov 13 2011, 08:30 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm very new in this, hope you all can get me clear about all these..

Is EVIL and M43 the exact same thing?

I'm currently undecided whether to buy a DSLR or a M43/EVIL.

Please advice, thank you.
u can actually search on google and u ll get to find great answer.

yeah. Oly Pana M43, Sony Nex, Pentax Q, Nikon 1. these are all EVIL cameras.

so advs for dslr are:
-cheaper lens. as m43 lenses are so expensive. *of course they are much bigger than m43's lenses*
-better ergonomic.
-with viewfinder *which I only use at outdoor under bright sunlight*

advs for m43 are:
-small
-light weight
-convenient
-pretty

in terms of image quality It's comparable with dslr.
u can campare it using dpreview studio scene comparison.
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonicDMCGF3/page12.asp

paksiew
post Nov 13 2011, 10:43 PM

106 posts

Dear Sifus ... Why I still cant get the feel of my EP3, I felt that the Pic IQ is not as good as EP2 ... It should be better then the EP2 in terms of IQ rite ??
Help ...

By 45mm Ep3
shakiraa
post Nov 13 2011, 10:54 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

QUOTE(JekeChoo @ Nov 13 2011, 09:14 PM)
I having both! love 20mm for walk around, love 45mm for its bokeh and really great for portrait! I've too tried pana 25mm f1.4.. It just don't worth the price..
Hello bro, so confirm the 20mm f1.7 lens not good for taking potrait? sad.gif

thanks!
jloi
post Nov 14 2011, 12:58 AM

SHIN-EVOLTO
3,989 posts

QUOTE(LinTao @ Nov 13 2011, 08:18 PM)
Hey I just wanna ask something, cameras like gf3 and pen ep3 are m43 cameras right? So their lenses are called m43 lenses? Can gf3 lenses be used on ep3? And also if I wanna get an adapter for my canon lenses to a gf3/ep3 , do I just get an adapter for canon eos to m43 then can use on both cameras?
correct for all ur question.

1) gf3 and ep3 is M4/3 and use m4/3 lenses
2) panasonic lens can be use in olympus body and vice versa.
3) yes canon lens to m4/3 need adapter and kenot auto focus

Added on November 14, 2011, 12:58 am
QUOTE(paksiew @ Nov 13 2011, 10:43 PM)
Dear Sifus ... Why I still cant get the feel of my EP3, I felt that the Pic IQ is not as good as EP2 ... It should be better then the EP2 in terms of IQ rite ??
Help ...

By 45mm Ep3
what's wrong with the picture? ;/

This post has been edited by jloi: Nov 14 2011, 12:58 AM
sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2011, 01:03 AM

23,414 posts

It's always like that la.. when get new camera, always feel like something not right wan.
highwind85
post Nov 14 2011, 06:29 AM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 14 2011, 01:03 AM)
It's always like that la.. when get new camera, always feel like something not right wan.
+1...That's exactly what i feel now....feels like the photos i shoot with 60D is worse than e-pl1...
paksiew
post Nov 14 2011, 07:45 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(jloi @ Nov 14 2011, 12:58 AM)
correct for all ur question.

1) gf3 and ep3 is M4/3 and use m4/3 lenses
2) panasonic lens can be use in olympus body and vice versa.
3) yes canon lens to m4/3 need adapter and kenot auto focus

Added on November 14, 2011, 12:58 am

what's wrong with the picture? ;/
The smudge- ness is still there sad.gif

Added on November 14, 2011, 7:49 am
QUOTE(shakiraa @ Nov 13 2011, 10:54 PM)
Hello bro, so confirm the 20mm f1.7 lens not good for taking potrait? sad.gif

thanks!
All lens can shot portrait, depends how they are been used ...
20mm lens is a sweet lens ... in full frame terms 40mm ...

This post has been edited by paksiew: Nov 14 2011, 07:49 AM
highwind85
post Nov 14 2011, 08:10 AM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(paksiew @ Nov 14 2011, 07:45 AM)
The smudge- ness is still there sad.gif

Added on November 14, 2011, 7:49 am

All lens can shot portrait, depends how they are been used ...
20mm lens is a sweet lens ... in full frame terms 40mm ...
yeah..depends on what type of portrait you wanna take...
20mm is fine for environmental portrait...
if you wanna short face only portrait, then you have to get real close to the subject then distortion will be pronounced...
lonelywolf90
post Nov 14 2011, 12:37 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(JekeChoo @ Nov 13 2011, 10:20 PM)
u can actually search on google and u ll get to find great answer.

yeah. Oly Pana M43, Sony Nex, Pentax Q, Nikon 1. these are all EVIL cameras.

so advs for dslr are:
-cheaper lens. as m43 lenses are so expensive. *of course they are much bigger than m43's lenses*
-better ergonomic.
-with viewfinder *which I only use at outdoor under bright sunlight*

advs for m43 are:
-small
-light weight
-convenient
-pretty

in terms of image quality It's comparable with dslr.
u can campare it using dpreview studio scene comparison.
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonicDMCGF3/page12.asp
So, you're saying that EVIL and M43 are actually different systems right?

I did refer to certain sites via google, I still don't get it. Some say that they are the same while some say that they are different, please clear my head about this smile.gif

I was considering the D5100 from Nikon as the price seems affordable and it has great features plus the excellence in image quality(breath-taking), but when I ventured further into other systems such as EVIL & M43, I'm getting undecisive whether to purchase a DSLR.

What are your opinions about EVIL & M43? Will they become the future cameras and have the DSLRs phased out?
EVIL & M43 are very compact after all.

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1 seems to be a great device despite the limited kit lens(only two), on par with the D5100 Nikon or better? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by lonelywolf90: Nov 14 2011, 12:37 PM
subrok007
post Nov 14 2011, 12:40 PM

Squirtle
1,632 posts

QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Nov 14 2011, 12:37 PM)

I did refer to certain sites via google, I still don't get it. Some say that they are the same while some say that they are different, please clear my head about this smile.gif

I was considering the D5100 from Nikon as the price seems affordable and it has great features plus the excellence in image quality(breath-taking), but when I ventured further into other systems such as EVIL & M43, I'm getting undecisive whether to purchase a DSLR.

What are your opinions about EVIL & M43? Will they become the future cameras and have the DSLRs phased out?

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1  seems to be a great device despite the limited kit lens(only two), on par with the D5100 Nikon or better?  rclxub.gif
ppl here using m43 is only considered 1 thing that's LIGHTWEIGHT

perhaps i were wrong..

but m43 camera price almost equal to DSLR camera..
lonelywolf90
post Nov 14 2011, 12:52 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(subrok007 @ Nov 14 2011, 12:40 PM)
ppl here using m43 is only considered 1 thing that's LIGHTWEIGHT

perhaps i were wrong..

but m43 camera price almost equal to DSLR camera..
m43 price is almost equivalent to a DSLR because it's still new, right? Correct me if I'm wrong, I'm still very new to this =/

Another problem of these devices over a DSLR is the lack of a viewfinder, I suppose an optical viewfinder is important for quality shots, is it? Imagine what happens if you try to take a photo under the sun where the LCD screen will be washed out by the ray.

I'm trying to weigh the pros and cons because I'm deciding to buy a camera by December. I've been a fan of Nikon, but if the m43 suits me better, I suppose I'll have to go for the Lumix..

The Nikon D5100 seems to be perfect but people keep telling me to get a compact camera so that I wouldn't regret it, gosh..
sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2011, 01:13 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Nov 14 2011, 06:29 AM)
+1...That's exactly what i feel now....feels like the photos i shoot with 60D is worse than e-pl1...
The zen of shooting with viewfinder and LCD totally different so this effects the outcome. VF feels more intimate while LCD (dare I say) more accurate in framing.

QUOTE(lonelywolf90 @ Nov 14 2011, 12:37 PM)

Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1  seems to be a great device despite the limited kit lens(only two), on par with the D5100 Nikon or better?  rclxub.gif
Let's put it another way....

EVIL/MILC/ILC or whatever they call it is a category of cameras typically having a bigger sensor than compacts, have interchangeable lens and doesn't come with a mirror assembly.

Micro Four Third is just one system in this category. There's quite a few companies that is part of this system but only Panasonic and Olympus is active. Lens are interchangeable within the micro four third system... the lens will have a micro 4/3 logo.

Other EVIL/MILC/ILC/MILF systems includes Sony's NEX (E-mount) system, Nikon's 1 (CX mount) system, Samsung's NX system and Pentax's Q system.

Primary benefit of EVIL/MILC/ILC is that they are seen to be more portable and less geeky than DSLR's.

In terms of which is better... personally I prefer a DSLR + compact camera combo....though I'm following the developments with great interest..... YMMV... depends on the shooter.

lonelywolf90
post Nov 14 2011, 02:10 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 14 2011, 01:13 PM)
Let's put it another way....

EVIL/MILC/ILC or whatever they call it is a category of cameras typically having a bigger sensor than compacts, have interchangeable lens and doesn't come with a mirror assembly.

Micro Four Third is just one system in this category. There's quite a few companies that is part of this system but only Panasonic and Olympus is active. Lens are interchangeable within the micro four third system... the lens will have a micro 4/3 logo.

Other EVIL/MILC/ILC/MILF systems includes Sony's NEX (E-mount) system, Nikon's 1 (CX mount) system, Samsung's NX system and Pentax's Q system.

Primary benefit of EVIL/MILC/ILC is that they are seen to be more portable and less geeky than DSLR's.

In terms of which is better... personally I prefer a DSLR + compact camera combo....though I'm following the developments with great interest..... YMMV... depends on the shooter.
Owh I see, now I get the clearer picture, thanks for the explanation, sniper smile.gif

Now I've narrowed down further.. I just viewed the Lumix GX1, seems to be amazing with the optional tilt-shift Live View Finder, fast auto-focus(lost to Nikon 1's speed though), and the power zoom! However, it will be released in December, gotta wait for it.. An alternative would be the Lumix G3.

Then, I need to compare further with the Nikon D5100, I have great impressions of that camera. Later on, I will have to compare with the Canon EOS 600D & 60D too, looks awesome..

I've been using snapsort.com to compare, it helped me a lot.

Please advice me smile.gif

This post has been edited by lonelywolf90: Nov 14 2011, 02:15 PM
sniper on the roof
post Nov 14 2011, 03:07 PM

23,414 posts

No prob.. But dont just rely on snapsort. Not reliable.
lonelywolf90
post Nov 14 2011, 04:55 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 14 2011, 03:07 PM)
No prob.. But dont just rely on snapsort. Not reliable.
Thanks for the heads up wink.gif

I will do further comparisons through in depth browsing.

Do give me some suggestions over the mentioned cameras or websites if you have any.

Appreciate it, hehe. biggrin.gif

130 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:24 PM