7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN) thread v4.04, 404 Internet Hostel Not Found

rookie93
post Apr 23 2014, 10:08 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Jumper123 @ Apr 17 2014, 09:46 AM)
I'm considering to study at Uniten. A few questions.

Is Uniten's Mechanical Engineering degree still recognized by IMechE?
How big is the mechanical class?
For the number of credit hours per semester, do students need follow the recommended ones in the Uniten website or they can add/drop subjects as the like? Is there a limit to this?
How many hours of revision (excluding class time) on average, is required to have a decent cgpa (3.5)? (For an average student with lots of Bs and occasionally some As in high school)
I am currently entering 3rd year for ME and i speak of my current experience in Uniten.

1)yes, its still recognized by IMechE.
2) The mechanical class is ridiculously HUGE. and this has created a problem and its becoming worse and worse. They have increased the number of students but the number of lecturers, good ones, have not increased. Classes are incredibly packed, additional classes are being taught by part-time lecturers, who are mostly, NOT GOOD. The overall environment of study has gone down ALOT as compared to 2-3 years ago.
3) the recommended credit hours are just a guide. For final year, their recommendation is way over what is possible. as what i've heard from seniors, final year projects are not something to mess about with.
4)To have 3.5, you need revision almost every day. Again i speak of experience, (not bragging, as i do have 3.5 CGPA) There are quizzes almost everyweek. You need to score the quizzes, and the test 1 and test 2. The key to scoring in uniten subjects is high carry marks. The final exam is basically gone case. ITS NEVER EASY. i would suggest, study (this includes practicing questions, not just merely staring at the book) for about 4 hours daily. Then your 3.5 shall definitely arrive. It needs alot of focus and hardwork you shall be advised.
rookie93
post Apr 24 2014, 08:58 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Weeza @ Apr 24 2014, 05:24 AM)
you know what i am going to do . i will just download thermo lect from MIT university like boss and differential equation and calculus 3 from one of top 5 unis in the world , hehehehehehe not just notesss , videosssssss  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  .
TALKING ABOUT BEING READY FOR COLLEGE LIKE A BOSS
any other  bad teachers in uniten to download there subjects just in case  icon_idea.gif
i tried that, but its effective only to a certain point. Own study sources doesn't always work out like they should. D.E for me, i didnt need any other sources. Just trying out a few from the book worked. Thermo is a very much different story altogether. I for one, struggled to understand what i was doing [ well i know how to do most of the questions, but i just didnt know why i needed to do them] . And as for calculus, i remembered searching for video tutorials from a youtube channel named PatrickJMT, his teachings helped me tremendously. I wouldn't have got through calculus without his videos. rclxm9.gif
rookie93
post Apr 24 2014, 09:03 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(demolationz @ Apr 24 2014, 12:29 AM)
+1 for this. I did remember taking thermo with Prof Indra Mahlia. OMG ! worst lect ever !  cry.gif
Dr. Azree was not any better. These people have Assoc Prof, and Prof, to their names' , graduated from top university's like Imperial College for Dr. Azree's case, but they teach as bad, and sometimes even worse than any other part time lecturer.
rookie93
post Apr 24 2014, 09:45 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Jumper123 @ Apr 24 2014, 08:39 PM)
Thanks for the thorough information. Engineering is really a long marathon. What foreign language do you guys choose?
well. i regret to say this, but there aren't many, left nowadays. There used to be German, French , Japanese, and Mandarin language subjects. But now, there's only Mandarin left.
rookie93
post Apr 24 2014, 09:57 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(demolationz @ Apr 24 2014, 08:14 PM)
You take Circuit Analysis with who ? If Qisti. Walao ! masuk kelas already died !  shakehead.gif
So tension his class.

No question ask during class ? QUIZ ! You talking in class, he will said "Smart ady eh ? okay QUIZ !".
Even quiz also got like this :

Your Name :
Guy on your right :
Guy on your left :
Guy on your front :
Guy on your back :

If your quiz answer same with these guy. You got 0 !
During tutor. He will ask you to come infront. And solve the question ! Cannot answer, then pick one name to help you. Maigod !  cry.gif

mine was Dr. Marayati. She was a good lecturer. But circuit analysis was hard for me. Didnt have it easy. The tests were unusually difficult to score.
rookie93
post Apr 24 2014, 11:14 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Weeza @ Apr 24 2014, 10:00 PM)
@demolationz is bangi covered by unifi i am thinking of buying there vip5 service ? cuz i heard that maxim is terribly bad in Malaysia ?
yes there is unifi. i have no idea what's Maxim. Maxis seems to be quite good though.
rookie93
post Apr 25 2014, 09:08 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Weeza @ Apr 25 2014, 01:46 AM)
lool sorry i meant maxis . i heard at the broadband forum that its very slow and they down throttle after 6pm but almost every body seemed happy with unifi , and almost all of them say maxis have ping problem .
i see. i use maxis though. ummm. i do downloads, and iTunes updates and online browsing. i dont do online gaming on broadband though, so i've no idea about the ping issue. But for the rest, it seems to be very fast. Unifi would be awesome if your housemate or whoever you're sharing with, is not a ,movie streaming, IDM, Skype or Youtube freak.
rookie93
post May 2 2014, 10:47 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Nkodedd @ Apr 29 2014, 08:44 AM)
Hi! I'm going to putrajaya campus this may for foundation in IT.

I have few questions,
Is it true the hostel on campus is overly crowded at this moment?
How much the rent per month?
How many people per room?
1) Yes, the hostel on campus is like TOKYO. but foundation students are definitely gonna get a good night's sleep on campus though, so don't you worry. but start day 1 degree, you're on your own.
2) umm... its hard for me to explain though, but let me put it this way, single room is basically 335, (there's a more complicated option of sharing with more housemates, but you get a single room still, for 300). twin sharing is 240. there are units with 4 single rooms, units with 2 single rooms and 2 sharings (these are modified single rooms) and there are twin sharing units, with 2 rooms for 2 ppl in each room.

On a side note, the twin sharing apartments called, Kelompok Amanah is kind of a battleground of sorts, cause, traditionally, every year, there will be a period where the apartment is declared by the local district as DENGUE OVERRIDDEN. in 2013, one student DIED from dengue, the haemorrhagic case. So i've had my experience in twin sharings too. I would complain of the health issue from dengue mosquitoes and rats as well, the lack of privacy if you have a disturbing roommate, and a dirty environment, depending on your house/room mates.
rookie93
post May 2 2014, 10:52 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(stpmboy @ Apr 28 2014, 11:49 PM)
May i know hw difficult is it to get dean list in uniten?
its like you being Lee Chong Wei back in the London 2012 Olympics Badminton Final and your dean list is Lin Dan.

LOL. not really la actually. ahaha. just pay attention in classes, where you have good lecturers, who know what they're teaching. don't slack in the apartment after class.revise what has been thought, discuss with friends who have better understanding if you dont understand something. and the weekends is probably best spent on practicing questions and revisions, rather than going Mid Valley or The Mines. i'm not saying you have to lock yourself in every single day of the semester, but i would say, week 1 and week 2 of the semester should be the only time you allow yourself to enjoy. Week 3 onwards, no more playing around.
rookie93
post May 2 2014, 10:55 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(rambo.reco95 @ Apr 28 2014, 01:56 AM)
Hi there. I lost my id card last week. How do i get a new one....??. Ur help and advice is deeply appreciated. Thanks
go to the Security Department. its on The Loop building, (next to library bus stop), i forgot which floor it was, but its definitely upstairs. to the right of the building, if facing from the bus stop. i did this in 2012, so i dont know if there has been any change of venue since then. give it a try~
rookie93
post May 3 2014, 02:58 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(demolationz @ May 3 2014, 02:59 AM)
I'm staying outside now. RM250 for master bedroom (Double Storey House)  icon_idea.gif
where are you staying? i'm now also looking for house outside, but its so difficult to find the ones nearest to campus now. The cheap ones are all so far away that its impossible to stay.
rookie93
post May 3 2014, 03:01 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(stpmboy @ May 3 2014, 02:23 AM)
So is it better to stay outside compared to in-campus hostel? And around hw much can we get if were to stay outside for dingle room? Which area is preferable to stay if out of the campus? Thanks

i would say, yes. in campus hostel has one shitty policy of needing to move out every semester (4 months) and re-apply. the more senior u become, the lesser your chances are of getting it again. Its frustrating doing it for 4 years. Students have made thousands of requests to admin to scrape this system off for a more favourable one, but with a Hitler in the higher level admin, there's nothing us students can do to save ourselves from the admin's autocracy.
rookie93
post May 8 2014, 10:22 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(hero1298 @ May 7 2014, 10:22 AM)
Hi everyone  smile.gif

I've been reading UNITEN specific threads for quite some time now. I've been accepted to do BEng (Mechanical) at the university.

I completed my O level and A level abroad. My O level results were pretty good, however my A level results were ABB (I expected better but I don't know what went wrong  cry.gif  )
The thing is, I had ONE CRAP and LOUSY Chemistry tutor during my A levels. Unfortunately she was a deputy Principal in my college and I had to face a lot of problems due to her as I regularly complained of her teaching and marking methods (read from textbook). This was especially worse as the other chemistry tutors actually EXPLAINED the topic and gave summarised notes/important tips to the student, while mine did NOTHING. Just nothing. Just complaning how bad we all did in exams (she actually handpicked all good students, including me, from our O level results)

Cut short the story, I am really TERRIFIED of having another few stressful years being with incapable tutors, especially those dominating sorts. I am really worried reading stuff hinting that the good lecturers have slowly left UNITEN.

My main concern is, what if I'm unfortunate enough to get crap lecturers here as well *touchwood*? Can anyone please advice me what I should do, any possible solutions, alternative unis (I'm only interested in  Mechanical)

Thank you so much for your time, and God bless for those who can enlighten me on this issue  biggrin.gif
I for one, am studying Mechanical entering my 3rd year this June. AND I WOULD SAY ITS BAD CHOICE GETTING UNITEN for your courses at this time of its operations. To be honest, nobody should ever worry of not getting accepted into UNITEN for studies anymore these days. The admin has gone Uncle Scrooge style: "MONEY IS EVERYTHING, STANDARD?....WELL IF IT COMES IN CASH WE'll TAKE IT, NOTHING ELSE""

I came in for foundation in 2011 right after SPM. the syllabus of the subjects remains very very tough. its very thorough, you study very detailed into every content, which is why it can be said that uniten syllabus ranks on par or even higher than that of A/O/whatever Levels there is out there. When i first came in, the university was in its older times, where the lecturers were frighteningly good, they teach well, but when it comes time for tests and final exams, they'd rip into your brain and hurl every bit of meat out.. basically, lecturers mostly, were good, but finals were crazy difficult. Only the real deserving ones are able to achieve Dean's List.

MOVE INTO 2012, apparently the parent company of uniten, Tenaga Nasional Bhd,, had abit of crisis with subsidies of power generations etc, company was bleeding cash, so they decided to remove financial/professional support from the university. The fees and facilities in uniten is heavily subsidised, otherwise it would cost about the same as nottingham/monash. They remain subsidised till today, though its been slowly increasing over the last few years. The fees subsidies are absorbed by the university itself now. As a result, their bank accounts go into debt as well. As of 2014, the university is rumoured have a debt of 30 million. Thus, the admin is desperately pounding on as many students as possible for every sem's intake to offset the negative budget they've accumulated over the years. This means, less priority on minimum requirements, they just want money. THIS IS WHERE THE ACADEMIC STANDARD OF STUDENTS HAVE DROPPED siginificantly over the years.

Next, comes the withdrawal of professional support from TNB. this means, their professional staffs, like lecturers , researchers, lab technicians, are all called back into TNB employment rather than work in uniten. This has led to quite a handful of established, well-recognized and quality lecturers being withdrawn from uniten. they no longer work there anymore. And apparently, now on its own, uniten offers rather low salaries for lecturers, even professors and dr's. so... the better one's are not attracted, only the less capable one's accept the offer. so now, what you see in uniten's lecturers, about only 20% of them are still good, but 80% of them are ridiculous , as compared to the opposite ratio of good-ridiculous back in 2011. AND, with the large rise in student numbers, the start looking for part-time lecturers that are no good, from nearby unis who often dont care of student performance, they also come and go just for the pay.

Despite TNB , very much in the profit recently, support has never been returned to uniten. so now, the university is left to decline continuously. No new classes built, so current college of engineering is well beyond capacity. no new accommodations built, so good luck finding accommodations of-campus right after u finish your very first semester in uni. With the decline in quality of students, the students are no longer able to properly communicate in english. most of them are very much stuck with their respective languages like BM, Mandarin and Tamil. So you get the idea of the demography in the university too. ALL IN ALL ITS NOT GOOD.

As for alternatives, i was looking up on SEGI's 1+3 program with Southampton UK last time. see if that works for you, or if its still available now, SEGI by itself in terms of education quality is actually worse than uniten even today. Nottingham seems like a decent choice, its acknowledged by UK , but the Malaysia campus apparently brings with it, alot of foreign lecturers who speak with slangs.. so.. its not really ideal either... Monash is the one more likely to be the better of the lot i believe. though i have not heard of news of the campus itself, perhaps try researching more into names like MONASH, UTP and MMU. Those are the better ones to look for. CERTAINLY NOT UNITEN ANYMORE. Hope that helps.[[ i'll get into deep trouble if the admin has a user on this forum and is pissed. LOL!! ]]
rookie93
post May 8 2014, 07:42 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Jumper123 @ May 8 2014, 03:25 PM)
Wow. It sounded like some "inside info". You must either be very aware or you've close ties to the people running Uniten. That being said, are there any research that undergrads can take part in? Or something like operating or running a wind tunnel kinda thing?
haha.. this is something i feel needs to be shared with you guys cause , otherwise, you're in for big time disappointment. many of the existing degree students are very unhappy with how the admin is handling the university.. i have completed Year 1 and 2, and thus far, i have not known of any of my peers nor seniors, of handling any of such facilities. But, there are some interesting testing materials in the labs, though i've no idea if its for student research or lecturers' research...
rookie93
post May 8 2014, 07:45 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Weeza @ May 8 2014, 04:44 PM)
now you are saying this damn , after i planed everything , man i had to options mmu or uniten i choose uniten becuse of tnb but now after all this " talk " i gonna go there attend the first semester if i didnt like i will just complete  the year and transfer to mmu
yea, you could choose to credit transfer to another university if you find your experience in uniten not up to standard. The student council dare not reveal this much "hard talk" because, it somewhat spreads negative publicity for the university.
rookie93
post May 8 2014, 07:51 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(hero1298 @ May 8 2014, 06:33 PM)
THANK YOU MUCH my friend smile.gif You have SAVED me from four years of torture.

God bless you smile.gif
haha. welcome. biggrin.gif i myself was convinced into entering uniten last time by senior students in this forum too. But things have changed a damn lot since i entered back in 2011.. Its no longer worth to be proud of being a uniten student.
rookie93
post May 8 2014, 08:47 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Weeza @ May 8 2014, 07:55 PM)
noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo , why didnt you just said that like a month a ago why why why why why . i was really excited to go to uniten damn i am traveling from all the way from Egypt for this now you telling me this . .............. now i am not excited i am just scared  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  :cry
well... there is quite a large community of foreign students from your region here too. try to blend in with them, then perhaps things may not look so bad after all. haha.. besides, i'm not saying ALL is terrible. you just need to have a fair bit of luck too tongue.gif
rookie93
post May 8 2014, 09:23 PM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Jumper123 @ May 8 2014, 08:52 PM)
Dear senior, thanks for the info. It was all "bright" and "glorious" from the outside, with the hype of iMechE and its rankings.
I read from wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universiti_Tenaga_Nasional

that it has twinning with Purdue Uni in the US. I wonder if that still holds true
iMechE is a dying society in the university. its barely held itself with enough members. at least, for uniten's division. Aaah, on these overseas stuff.... it was known as PPOU, [Preparatory Program for Overseas Universities] , a degree transfer program where you would do foundation+ 1 year degree before transferring over to UK, US, Aussie as sophomore 2nd year students. This program is STRICTLY for overseas scholarship holders only, whereby they are sent to uniten by their respective sponsors to pursue this program. As from what i know of, ONLY JPA, MARA AND Yayasan Tenaga Nasional and Khazanah scholars have ever pursued this program.

Typically, uniten has 2 batch of scholarship programs for spm scholarship holders. The PPC [Program Pelajar Cemerlang] and the [PPOU, mentioned above]. These 2 programs are not available for private intake students. They cannot request to join these programs, as part to maintain its exclusivity for scholars. Their syllabus for foundation studies is exactly the same as that for the normal students intake, but their final exams are up one notch from the usual. Whereby, the PPC/PPOU students, take a separate final exam from their normal foundation counterparts. I;ve seen myself the final questions of their paper, and it really isnt fun... It would take an extraordinary student to able to ace their final exams. And they're required to maintain a 3.50 by their sponsors throughout the program otherwise, sponsorship would be taken away. So... these people are especially brilliant in their studies and as for my batch, well, most of them are 4.0's.... the PPOU's have left for universities, like Cornell, Michigan and Illinois. While, the PPC's, particularly the chinese(JPA) PPC scholars of my batch, have been on a 4.0 streak since foundation. not even one sem's final have they missed an A.. So.. they are indeed some "special stuff".

But.. end of the day, yeah, these overseas programs are not for regular students, and ever since JPA stopped scholarships in 2011, apparently the overseas program is now only exclusive for MARA and YTN overseas scholars, of which all of them are...... you-know-who.. brows.gif
rookie93
post May 9 2014, 09:43 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(Jumper123 @ May 8 2014, 10:59 PM)
Do new Year one degree students need to add/drop subjects? How about those who are transfer students?
Again this is something that is not functional in uniten right now.. We are left with missing subjects, blank timetables, and no ability to change anything to our timetables. I have no idea why the add/drop is still available seeing that none of us are able to do anything at all. Add/drop is basically to allow students to change subjects of study for the semester at the last minute. Whether u think the timetable is too free or too empty, you can either add more subjects which are suitable for whichever year you're in, or you think the sem is too much and you want it to be less heavy. But for more students, add/drop is to change time slots for your current subjects. Lets say you have a Friday class and your friends are in the Thursday class. So depending on whether there are empty slots for the thursday class, you can change from your friday class to the thursday class. Helps with your time management.

Transfer students may need to check with what subjects they no longer require, and then check the course structure on uniten website's -list of programmes-course structure. The course structure follows accordingly, so its not advisable to simply switch something from year 2,3,4 into year 1. The subjects progress constructively as drafted on the course structures.
rookie93
post May 9 2014, 09:51 AM

Captain Slow
647 posts

QUOTE(SwiftPooper @ May 9 2014, 09:05 AM)
Hey guys, I'm a SPM leaver planning on going for UNITEN, next intake. I still have my doubts though seeing theae posts here. My question is, is it more favourable to go for Diploma in ME or Foundation in ME? and can new students "balik hari" to the uni or do I have to stay in their hostel.
You still have doubts eh. My honest opinion for you is, yes, its full of doubts. I know its not helping your decision, but this is what's really happening in uniten right now so i thought its good for you potential new comers to realise this, and make a u-turn the last minute. Diploma is basically the same pathway as degree but you learn less. IF you take diploma, there is no need to take foundation. Diploma finishes in 2 or 3 years, with less subjects. Degree takes 4 years and completely fulfills Board of Engineers Malaysia's (BEM) requirements. And diploma for uniten is relatively new, so.. i tend to question whether there is enough lectureres,, facilities, labs and classes or not. Diploma courses started only last year. Foundation prepares you to go direct to degree in 1 year of studies. If you take diploma, then proceed to degree, you waste 1 or 2 years more than when you take foundation, unless you plan to stop on diploma only. Note, degree allows you to get jobs easier next time.

what do you mean by "balik hari?" ... generally, if you stay near, in KL or selangor, then its no problem that you can go back home on the weekends. and come back on sunday to hostel. So if thats what you mean by "balik hari" then yeah, you can. unsure.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1822sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:03 AM