8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> Rain water harvesting

TSeclipse-space
post Sep 11 2011, 09:31 PM, updated 13y ago

174 posts

Anybody got any experience? How much does it cost? And is it good?

Please share. THanks.
fyseng
post Sep 12 2011, 04:18 PM

206 posts

Nice PE water tank cost around RM 1500 for 200 gallon or you can get cheap poly tank for about RM200 but not very nice.

You also need a diverter and pump (optional).

I am also looking around for rain harvesting and total cost is about RM2000. Dunno is it really worth it or not.

enriquelee
post Sep 12 2011, 04:46 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,507 posts

What is the usage of the water you all harvested.
Bishop
post Sep 12 2011, 11:22 PM

Diagonal Views
815 posts

I think that should be the first question. What do you want to harvest the water for, only then we know the cost and its value.
AndersonNeo1989
post Sep 12 2011, 11:34 PM

I think before that you will need a rain gutter system to harvest the rain. Which mean the amount of harvest will be depends on the amount of rain fall on your roof. Rain gutter system cost is depend on the length of the rain gutter and the type of rain gutter. G.I rain gutter RM12/ft & Stainless Steel RM25/ft, UPVC pipe 3" RM4/ft,4" RM5/ft. If you want a water pump system I think will cost around RM2000 - 3000 or more, else you only need to harvest the rain to your water tank and take it out manually with buckets for use..?

This post has been edited by AndersonNeo1989: Sep 12 2011, 11:42 PM
TSeclipse-space
post Sep 13 2011, 01:09 AM

174 posts

Harvested rain water for WC and cleaning and stuff like that.

Maybe just the divider?
AndersonNeo1989
post Sep 13 2011, 07:26 AM

May be it is fine for the usage you want.
But what is divider..?
Mavik
post Sep 13 2011, 10:23 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,716 posts

My friend did a DIY for his rain water harvesting solution, but it was all done at his backyard. Basically he asked the contractor to divert the water from the roof into 2 large 100 gallon tank at the back. The tank he converted it by adding a pipe between the two tanks so that it shares the water and it becomes 200 gallons in total and an external pipe. Mainly uses the water to either water the plants behind and clean the back porch area. He has a large space at the back of the house, almost 20 feet.
zeese
post Sep 13 2011, 10:36 AM

Warning Level
1,805 posts

every once in a while, you need to clean up the tank.. because all dirts will accumulate in the tank.. and if there's any leaves or tree branch that land on your roof, it will go into the tank too.. So, it needs maintenance..
weikee
post Sep 13 2011, 10:54 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(eclipse-space @ Sep 13 2011, 01:09 AM)
Harvested rain water for WC and cleaning and stuff like that.

Maybe just the divider?
Harvest for WC, below something need to look into.

01) Filtering the rain water
02) Where you want to store the water?
03) Redirect pipe for WC, in case your harvest tank is empty
04) Pump, for pumping water to first floor WC.

KVReninem
post Sep 13 2011, 11:26 AM

IX
5,369 posts

Its possible if our locals have the adequate expertise. But we are too theory like we cant do a real thing. Architecture body have not really emphasize on it..

Its like they dont rectify the design need of sustainability; prefer hype it like the world now.

enriquelee
post Sep 13 2011, 01:48 PM

10,507 posts

I believe individual residential unit doing water harvesting is not viable.
Construction site and factory lot might look more feasible to do it.
AndersonNeo1989
post Sep 13 2011, 05:54 PM

Last time I saw was the factory use the water recycle for cooling the factory temperature by pumping the water over the rooftop over and over again. lol.
weikee
post Sep 13 2011, 07:43 PM

12,019 posts

Maybe specify the budget and see if is doable. Can cost up to many thousand for proper system. I know new building in Singapore collect A/C condensate water for plant and w/c and many non drinking purpose.

http://www.bca.gov.sg/GreenMark/others/ggwater.pdf

Page 4, and 6
enriquelee
post Sep 14 2011, 08:36 AM

10,507 posts

QUOTE(AndersonNeo1989 @ Sep 13 2011, 05:54 PM)
Last time I saw was the factory use the water recycle for cooling the factory temperature by pumping the water over the rooftop over and over again. lol.
Yeah, factory need a lot of water for different activities.
Construction also can use the water for cleaning and construction.
bugijun
post Sep 14 2011, 09:38 AM

532 posts

i think in kl, when u want to built bungalow the authority will request the owner to built a rain harvesting system...
kelvyn
post Sep 14 2011, 10:09 AM

3,172 posts

The government is planning to impose this condition on new development.

Read here

Most developer selling high end properties are using this as their selling point.
enriquelee
post Sep 14 2011, 06:18 PM

10,507 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Sep 14 2011, 10:09 AM)
The government is planning to impose this condition on new development.

Read here

Most developer selling high end properties are using this as their selling point.
Aiseh, this means we have to pay more.
phoenix69
post Sep 14 2011, 07:43 PM

1,836 posts

I thought you just need to do this
Get a tank,
Install pipes from to roof to the tank.
Add some Denggi/Aedes mosquito poison to the tank water once in a while.
Wash the tank regularly.
Get Mangkuk type baldi to get at the water.
Ta daaa..... rainwater harvested. rclxm9.gif
Cheap and Simple tongue.gif

kelvyn
post Sep 14 2011, 08:33 PM

3,172 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Sep 14 2011, 08:43 PM)
I thought you just need to do this
Get a tank,
Install pipes from to roof to the tank.
Add some Denggi/Aedes mosquito poison to the tank water once in a while.
Wash the tank regularly.
Get Mangkuk type baldi to get at the water.
Ta daaa..... rainwater harvested. rclxm9.gif
Cheap and Simple tongue.gif
That's kampung style... biggrin.gif

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:29 PM