QUOTE(yok70 @ Jun 22 2013, 04:16 AM)
A writing on Apple:
http://seekingalpha.com/article/1515082-st...es?source=yahooIt said, "What's more compelling is that the bonds it recently issued become less valuable as rates increase, allowing Apple to book an accounting profit on the reduction in the debt. It is essentially shorting its own long-term bonds, while at the same time investing in short-term securities. "
What does it mean? I don't understand. Isn't the interest rate payment for the bond holder fixed rate? Then what's the difference for whether the bond is "valuable" or not?
Sifu please teach me.

Aha.. I see. Yes, the (bond) interest rate is fixed and the investor will get what he/she invested at maturity but the issue is as interest rate rises, the bond value goes down. If the investor does not hold the bond till maturity, he/she decides to sell it, then they'll lose money -that's why bond holders now are nervous.
The author of the article is implying that AAPL knows about the rising interests therefore short sell its own bond (which it already has a fix interest at time of sale) and take the profits to buy short term higher interest securities. I am not sure if AAPL plans to do that but it's just so happen coincidentally Fed plans to 'taper' down next year news got the bond bears excited.
AAPL may or may not be able to take advantage of this but the fact is AAPL already got more than 100 blns in long term investments outside USA which it already accumulated more than the interests it's paying for bond holders. I don't think this is a big deal.
Share prices move only when there is game changer product.. now everyone wants to know what next big thing coming out from AAPL lab.
This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jun 24 2013, 12:34 PM