US stock discussion v4, Bulls-Bears HUAT AH!! Pigs get slaughter
danmooncake
Feb 8 2013, 09:51 PM
Next week AAPL investors conference is going to bullish mode for traders because they anticipating more money to be returned to investors. Not sure where they're going to take it but I'll be looking for a pull back buy here.
yok70: what you've found on wiki on preferred stock is correct. Preferred shareholders get priority over dividends and debt obligation but it's not very liquid. It can be converted to common and sold on open market later.
IMO, the AAPL story here is always about growth. If the growth declines, the stock will decline - doesn't matter how much money they're making. Fundamentally strong.. cash position is more than certain countries GDP but AAPL is like what hedge fund manager Einhorn has said, they have 1920's mentally where they like to hoard cash and they're not putting it to good use - therefore depressing the stock price. A lot of institutional investors will abandon ship if stock price falls below last year Jan low (around 400-420).
danmooncake
Feb 9 2013, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Feb 9 2013, 12:00 AM) moving fassssssssst to $500, too bad i already unloaded. Again, Apple always have something in the coffers whenever the price punctured. Don't believe? Could be.. now, it is very news driven. I'm calls tonight to ride this up.. going to exit around 478-479 if we get there.
danmooncake
Feb 9 2013, 03:19 AM
Ka ching! 478.50.. I'm out. Going to take a few days of break for New Year!
danmooncake
Feb 11 2013, 11:09 PM
Happy CNY! Opportunity to Fatt Choi here! Going to another week of slow grind up.. in some AAPL 500 calls for $1.05.
danmooncake
Feb 12 2013, 09:22 AM
I got out when AAPL drops back to 480.. AAPL 500 weekly calls at 1.55 (+47%). These few trading days been like this: get in during morning pull back.. peak around mid sessions, trim some there and set in with trailing stop. Hopefully, it will get to $495-$500 level before turn around. Then, I'll play some PUTs. This post has been edited by danmooncake: Feb 12 2013, 09:22 AM
danmooncake
Feb 12 2013, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(yok70 @ Feb 12 2013, 12:48 AM) Agree with you, it's a 50:50 for long term.  Long term investment - must find a stock that is not volatile-lah. AAPL, AMZN, FB, LKND, even GOOG also the same thing. Too volatile. Only stocks with higher than 3.5% dividends yield, less than 1 beta, you can see it won't move like that and that's the one you can play for much longer term. All others.. I just consider them as trading only and make money, then cabut.
danmooncake
Feb 12 2013, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Feb 12 2013, 08:18 PM) that 500$ weekly is amazingly with fast movements. was 0.40c and shoot to 1.05 within 1 day. I placed 3 put at $500, 5 at $550 Yes, superfast... now I think it's time to play PUT side. Tim Cook will speak at the Goldman Sachs Tech conference, so traders will sell into the pop tonight. I'll watch for opportunity here. This post has been edited by danmooncake: Feb 12 2013, 10:57 PM
danmooncake
Feb 12 2013, 11:27 PM
Looks like 475 holding well. Mixed signals here. No position at this time. T.Cook saying "AAPL does not have 'depression' mentality' directly addressing that hedgefund manager Einhorn comment.
danmooncake
Feb 12 2013, 11:38 PM
Back to the same trading channel for AAPL. This post has been edited by danmooncake: Feb 13 2013, 12:05 AM
danmooncake
Feb 13 2013, 11:47 PM
Like a clockwork. Same pattern again, calls in play for AAPL 465 weeklies. Exit target: 473/474 area. This post has been edited by danmooncake: Feb 13 2013, 11:47 PM
danmooncake
Feb 14 2013, 12:09 AM
473.50... ka-ching. Target achieved. That's it tonight for me.
danmooncake
Feb 14 2013, 06:30 AM
Gosh.. I should have ride the PUTs train after exiting the calls. AAPL back to declining channel. Maybe tomorrow, we'll see a gap down to 460 or lower.
danmooncake
Feb 15 2013, 09:55 PM
No gap down.. standing still. No trades for me tonight unless indicator showing movement.
danmooncake
Feb 16 2013, 01:14 PM
Yikes..Spooky.. AAPL closed near 460. Darn machines read my post the prior day. Anyway, will play again next week. This post has been edited by danmooncake: Feb 16 2013, 01:14 PM
danmooncake
Feb 20 2013, 11:17 PM
Continue to play PUTs for AAPL... enter 456 (stop 458). Possible breaking below 450 today. If it does, that would be a nice, I'll look for 445-446 to exit.
Same downside pattern goes for gold (playing GLD) but monthly PUTs.
danmooncake
Feb 21 2013, 03:47 AM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Feb 21 2013, 01:00 AM) 449 breaks. My put OPTIONS was sold earlier when Apple at -3.00 Long at 500 MAR call. Nice.. I need AAPL to drop to 447'ish to cover my PUTs. Shorting Gold (via GLD Puts) also working at the moment. Price channel moving downwards. Also, MPEL got smashed badly.. but price at low 19 is interesting. I'm ready to fire some buys (long side).
danmooncake
Feb 21 2013, 06:30 AM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 21 2013, 06:19 AM) i am interested in COH for investing but not at the current price  Waiting for more bad news for its lineup. Why ar, any news/data U want to share? Yikes really ugly price chart for COH! Kena whacked after bad earnings last month or what?
danmooncake
Feb 21 2013, 06:38 AM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 21 2013, 06:34 AM) Yup + ineffective new line up Short term looks woof woof However, looking @ their expansion execution + business management thus far, IMHO looks to be worthwhile if bought at a discount. From brief look, longs should stay away from COH. Really poor price action at this level. Every pop will be sold. IMO, better play here is TIF (comparable to COH in the Consumer Discretionary sector).
danmooncake
Feb 21 2013, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(zamans98 @ Feb 21 2013, 09:59 AM) i stopped MPEL once it crossed 10$ and hopped on remembered those days when LVS is just $30-40. LVS whacked down from $55 to $49 in 2 weeks! Not just LVS, MPEL and others pulling back. Commodities (eg. base metals copper, gold, silver) all tanking overnight - made their first move. The general market is looking for 5-10% pullback here. Not sure can get it or not. Seems like a lot of support at SP500 1495-1500 level now. If rallies later, ..must sell to take profit.
danmooncake
Feb 21 2013, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Feb 20 2013, 11:17 PM) Continue to play PUTs for AAPL... enter 456 (stop 458). Possible breaking below 450 today. If it does, that would be a nice, I'll look for 445-446 to exit. Same downside pattern goes for gold (playing GLD) but monthly PUTs. Covered my PUTs at 444.. slightly better than I expected but had to leave it overnight for a little more down draft. This post has been edited by danmooncake: Feb 21 2013, 11:22 PM