US stock discussion v4, Bulls-Bears HUAT AH!! Pigs get slaughter

danmooncake
post Dec 28 2012, 05:29 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,125 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Dec 28 2012, 03:36 AM)
Tim Cook's stock awards was being punished for bad performance? Down 99% from last year's!  shocking.gif
Wow....I wish this sort of thing can happen to Malaysia's company!  cool2.gif
Performance based reward systems... that's how it should be done. rclxms.gif

danmooncake
post Dec 28 2012, 10:16 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Dec 28 2012, 09:05 AM)
Most of the big local are controlled by family business. So hardly happen biggrin.gif
Aiyo, that's the problem-lah!

All public listed companies should reward their executives based on performance, regardless of who they are.
Also, families member should not hold key executives positions otherwise where got corporate transparency?

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 28 2012, 10:16 AM
danmooncake
post Dec 28 2012, 11:37 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(Myoswee @ Dec 28 2012, 12:42 PM)
Will the latest fiscal cliff drama have any effect on punters investors like us?   unsure.gif

Currently there is no capital gain for people investing from outside of US.

Investment income tax rates. Bush and Congress in 2003 cut taxes on capital gains and dividends, most of which go to high-income taxpayers. These cuts are set to expire at year-end too.

If no action is taken, the long-term capital gains tax rate will rise to 20 percent from 15 percent for the top four tax brackets. At the bottom, they will rise to 10 percent from zero.

For full article click here ----> http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/12/27/...E8BQ0L520121227
Yes, it doesn't address what happen to non-US citizen investing in US. I hope no cap gain still exist for non-US citizen otherwise it will cut into my profits. sweat.gif
I don't care much they do with dividends 'coz I'm much not into that at all.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Dec 28 2012, 11:38 PM
danmooncake
post Dec 31 2012, 05:23 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(max_cool29 @ Dec 30 2012, 01:28 PM)
I'm in a blur right now and really badly need the help from you guys. I'm plan to open an accounts to trade option, any recommendation?

I had been reading from page 1, first tread until second tread... getting blur....help
What's your option trading plan? Cover Calls? Put/Calls Spread? Naked Puts/Calls?
Different plan will need different tools - some brokerage offers you a swiss knife but could be expensive.

What kind of tools are you looking for?

Tell us more first. I think some here who is familiar with the tools/platform that you're looking for could recommend their brokerage or
post their likes or dislikes.

Added on January 1, 2013, 4:13 amDEC 31st.. FINAL RALLY TIME of the YEAR!! drool.gif

Added on January 1, 2013, 11:58 pmDarn US Congress... got a bungee cord playing over the cliff here. mad.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 1 2013, 11:58 PM
danmooncake
post Jan 2 2013, 10:11 PM

10,125 posts

When I looked at their "bungee cord" fiscal deal.. it just a patch work. US increased taxes for their "higher than average" income earners only for those who earned more than $US 400K/year. Looks like Obama's 250K ceiling has been raised much higher. No way, they can extract much taxes from those because there are just so few of those income earners (less than 1%) and the higher the income, they're much smarter to find ways to pay less tax.

Again, no debt ceiling being addressed, just kicked that can down the road.
I think we'll just another chance to sell again hard in Feb/March. brows.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 2 2013, 10:24 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(Myoswee @ Jan 2 2013, 10:18 PM)
Chase high tonight? tongue.gif
Nope. I'll wait for opportunity to trade. Need for a little gap fill first. nod.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 2 2013, 10:29 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(netmask8 @ Jan 2 2013, 10:26 PM)
Fiscal Cliff flew off .. But, real disasterous/ drastic problem is the Debt Ceiling..

IMHO, i think short term ang pow will be good enough for CNY Water Snake Zodiac, But with extreme caution trading discipline method application till 28th Feb 2013. 

Year 2013 = Water Snake?? But, snake zodiac fixed element is fire? 
Water plus Fire?? =  Stock Market Volatile ?

Best Year will be year 2014, whereby Horse(Fixed element Fire) and Year 2014 = Wood,
which favour Auspicious Chinese Animals and Year elements ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chinese_zodiac

To be on very safe-mode environment, wait until the fear factor index reaches 35pts and above.

Enjoy Trading + Investing.
Waah.. Horoscope Trading. If it is going to be volatile, then I like Year of Snakes! brows.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 3 2013, 11:18 PM

10,125 posts

Long AAPL calls on that last dip to 544'ish. Let see how this go. tongue.gif

If AAPL can close above 550, more bulls will join in. drool.gif

danmooncake
post Jan 4 2013, 09:43 PM

10,125 posts

I got stopped out during mid day sell of when AAPL dips below 545. mad.gif
Fed suddenly announces they're going to stop treasury buying soon... market is topping again here.
Going to see a pull back soon. Going to play the short side. wink.gif

Dec jobs numbers came inline with consensus (155K) but I think the bulls was expecting much higher number because
of the preview of ADP yesterday (215K for private payroll).

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 4 2013, 10:11 PM
danmooncake
post Jan 4 2013, 11:52 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(FLampard @ Jan 4 2013, 10:46 PM)
haiz finally laid off the last portion of my AAPL

dont want to touch this anymore
It's tough to play AAPL unless you willing to ride the choppy wave.

I'm in PUTs now.. looking good with -10 pts downside.
Some analyst put out bearish news that AAPL may be looking at -30% less than expected sales because of bad retail numbers.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 4 2013, 11:52 PM
danmooncake
post Jan 5 2013, 05:47 AM

10,125 posts

Ka Ching., ring the register for AAPL puts.. I'm out 526. Good enough for this weekend.
Totally insane market. biggrin.gif
danmooncake
post Jan 5 2013, 11:53 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 5 2013, 11:24 AM)
I thought US markets behave orderly of late, fearful of politicians at times. hmm.gif
Orderly? No way.. It is always irrational. Does not always go the way you expect it go to, not inline
with the economy.

US economy is like still crawling in this recovery mode but market doesn't reflect this.
A bit too far ahead.. all pumped up by the Fed with artificial low rates. Sooner or later, chickens will come home to roost.
danmooncake
post Jan 6 2013, 01:42 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Jan 5 2013, 08:20 PM)
Apple turned to be performing, coming off strong - being pushed for the Q4 result soon.
I think so too.. the support at $500 holds out till end of 2012 and the whoosh below that didn't happen.
So, institutional money will start pouring back in again when they about release earnings later.
Looks like we got more opportunity to make money off this fruit. drool.gif

danmooncake
post Jan 9 2013, 10:46 PM

10,125 posts

AA got good earnings as early starter.

All eyes on banks now to see if the market can go higher or not..
let's watch WFC this Friday to get the first start to see how they do.
All financials are expected to be good after end of last quarter.

danmooncake
post Jan 10 2013, 01:48 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(countdown @ Jan 10 2013, 01:15 AM)
may i humbly ask, do you guys trade on earnings smile.gif? meaning hold an opened position till the announcement announced?

do you observe the option open interest of a stock that's going to make earning announcement as part of your decision makings? Yesterday, the call open interest as well as its volumn of AA showed a high value at its ATM compared to its Put.
I do.. sometimes it depends on the stock. AA is a pretty boring stock.. been meadering around 8.5 to 11.50 for past 4 quarters.. not much happening since it is just the first to report as Dow component. Perhaps give a glimpse into market sentiments.

I traded on MPEL prior to earnings.. got a wind fall then, did the same for LVS prior to earnings.. got burned! Ouch!

It's difficult.. almost like a coin toss. It's all depends on whether the majority will to see if they beat
the estimates or not.

The next big one is AAPL, coming up in next two weeks. Supposedly everyone is eyei'ng the big quarter. (PD - are you watching this? brows.gif ).

I'm not holding any long or short for AAPL overnight prior to earnings. Just day trade and go from here.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 10 2013, 01:50 AM
danmooncake
post Jan 11 2013, 07:29 AM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(countdown @ Jan 10 2013, 09:42 PM)
AAPL too expensive for a newbie like me. Most of the time, I trade with AAPL's suppliers which are closely correlated n more affordable entry point tongue.gif
Yeah, the commons are pricey. But, options are ok. Take your pick.

But.. if you notice the price action.. whether it is $500 or $5.. the percentage move is what's count. wink.gif

danmooncake
post Jan 11 2013, 09:14 PM

10,125 posts

WFC Q4 results:
EPS: 0.91c vs 0.89c
REVS: 21.9bln vs 21.3bln estimates

Pretty much inline... nod.gif

But, market looks toppy here.

danmooncake
post Jan 14 2013, 09:56 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(Myoswee @ Jan 14 2013, 08:40 PM)
Aapl under 500 now  drool.gif  drool.gif

A lot of margin call today  brows.gif  brows.gif

What's the p/e ratio for aapl now?

Ah, i'm missing the apple fanboy now

Hope he is still fine
Oh wait... I did saw a print of 499.96.

Pretty nice gap down (-20 pts), then it moves back up to 505-506. This is due to
a report by WSJ that AAPL cuts its Q1 iPhone5 component order due to weaker than expected demand.

Going to be volatile open but if 500 holds here. I may want to get some here for gap filled play tonight when markets opens later. Just need to watch for opportunity here. drool.gif

Update:
Waah.. L2 seeing a lots of sell orders for AAPL. Going to watch big drop. drool.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 14 2013, 10:14 PM
danmooncake
post Jan 14 2013, 10:41 PM

10,125 posts

Allright, got some calls to play at 502.. holding tight stop now at 498.

I'll exit if we get to 509-510 area.
danmooncake
post Jan 14 2013, 11:26 PM

10,125 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jan 14 2013, 10:58 PM)
Apple won over FB for Best Dramatic Stock Award.  tongue.gif
Just a week ago, some analysts saying that AAPL may exceed 50 mln iphones sale..

Now,..AAPL got -3% because of the rumor that WSJ reported that iPhones sales "MAY" decrease dramatically
in Q1 based on their component order.

Completely 180% turn. doh.gif

It's that what's makes the market... it's completely irrational and unexpected. laugh.gif

61 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:16 AM