130 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V13, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

工藤新一
post Sep 11 2011, 09:16 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(yingxian91 @ Sep 11 2011, 09:14 PM)
Hi there, firstly, thank you for sharing the news.

Where is the source of this news? I can't find it on Asus site. And how do we upgrade BIOS? Just download the thing and run it?
Thanks for enlightening my problem.  smile.gif
Facebook Asus Malaysia, the news released on last friday, though u guys already know...haha...

http://www.facebook.com/notes/asus-malaysi...264641600222811
yingxian91
post Sep 11 2011, 09:22 PM

118 posts

Thank you, [PF] T.J. and 工藤新一 smile.gif

One more question,

Does that meant I can get my new problem-fixed N45SF laptop before this Friday? Or does Asus need to recall back all the laptops and then release it again?

I urgently need a laptop before this Thursday. sad.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 11 2011, 09:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yingxian91 @ Sep 11 2011, 09:22 PM)
Thank you, [PF] T.J. and 工藤新一 smile.gif

One more question,

Does that meant I can get my new problem-fixed N45SF laptop before this Friday? Or does Asus need to recall back all the laptops and then release it again?

I urgently need a laptop before this Thursday. sad.gif
Its a BIOS update (download a file and update, that's it, noneed to send back to factory etc.), and so far we cannot be 100% certain that it solves the issue completely.
If you're in a hurry, its best to not take the risk

工藤新一
post Sep 11 2011, 09:34 PM

472 posts

sifu T.J., u miss out my post~

Need recommend laptop that better spec than macbook air 2010 11"
brand: any
Price: Less than 2100
Must be light weight
Usage: surfing online, music and movie.
battery life: macbook air can last 11 hours?! is it standby time?

My autie wanna get it~
yingxian91
post Sep 11 2011, 09:37 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 11 2011, 09:32 PM)
Its a BIOS update (download a file and update, that's it, noneed to send back to factory etc.), and so far we cannot be 100% certain that it solves the issue completely.
If you're in a hurry, its best to not take the risk
Thank you for your advice.

If that's the case, can you please recommend me some good Asus laptops? 14 inch, below 3k, good webcam if possible, I need the laptop to run Autocad and Photoshop. But these 2 software are not really a big deal for the laptop nowadays, right?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 11 2011, 09:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yingxian91 @ Sep 11 2011, 09:37 PM)
Thank you for your advice.

If that's the case, can you please recommend me some good Asus laptops? 14 inch, below 3k, good webcam if possible, I need the laptop to run Autocad and Photoshop. But these 2 software are not really a big deal for the laptop nowadays, right?
This one would be the closest in terms of performance nod.gif
Asus N43SL (Jay-Chou edition), i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M (2GB)@RM2799[Bang & Olufsen], *USB3.0, Colors: Gold/Red

Try to upgrade the RAM to 8GB is you have the budget, it'll help nod.gif

If you don't mind a 15" laptop, the N55sf (i5) is a great choice as well~

Added on September 11, 2011, 9:42 pm
QUOTE(工藤新一 @ Sep 11 2011, 09:34 PM)
sifu T.J., u miss out my post~

Need recommend laptop that better spec than macbook air 2010 11"
brand: any
Price: Less than 2100
Must be light weight
Usage: surfing online, music and movie.
battery life: macbook air can last 11 hours?! is it standby time?

My autie wanna get it~
Sorry about that bro, I am getting old laugh.gif
Well, the MBA 2011 are powered by some rather serious specifications haha~
I believe this is the closest rival:
Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E120, i3-2357UM + Intel HD3000 + (1366x768)@RM1799 (FreeDOS), RM1999 (W7HP) [1.5kg], 18 months on-site warranty, water resistant keyboard, Colors: Red/Black

You can consider those powered by AMD E-450 as well, but they're not as good as the Intel ULV processors (in terms of CPU power, that is); they excel in GPU performance instead, which is not really necessary for your aunt's usage

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 11 2011, 09:43 PM
工藤新一
post Sep 11 2011, 09:48 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 11 2011, 09:40 PM)
Sorry about that bro, I am getting old laugh.gif
Well, the MBA 2011 are powered by some rather serious specifications haha~
I believe this is the closest rival:
Lenovo ThinkPad Edge E120, i3-2357UM + Intel HD3000 + (1366x768)@RM1799 (FreeDOS), RM1999 (W7HP) [1.5kg], 18 months on-site warranty, water resistant keyboard, Colors: Red/Black

You can consider those powered by AMD E-450 as well, but they're not as good as the Intel ULV processors (in terms of CPU power, that is); they excel in GPU performance instead, which is not really necessary for your aunt's usage
or maybe I should ask her to stick to macbook air? lol
any 13" light weight?
yingxian91
post Sep 11 2011, 09:58 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 11 2011, 09:40 PM)
This one would be the closest in terms of performance nod.gif
Asus N43SL (Jay-Chou edition), i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M (2GB)@RM2799[Bang & Olufsen], *USB3.0, Colors: Gold/Red

Try to upgrade the RAM to 8GB is you have the budget, it'll help nod.gif

If you don't mind a 15" laptop, the N55sf (i5) is a great choice as well~

Thank you again. I do find that I'm quite picky on the screen colour display of the laptops. That's why I like Asus as I felt the screen colour is nicer than other brands. Do my personal feeling on this matter is with any evidence?

How about other brands which are fit into my criteria? For eg, HP, Lenovo, Dell.

Really, thank you for helping me. biggrin.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 11 2011, 09:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(工藤新一 @ Sep 11 2011, 09:48 PM)
or maybe I should ask her to stick to macbook air? lol
any 13" light weight?
13" lightweights:
Dell (not sure how light is considered light for your aunty haha) laugh.gif
Inspiron 13z, i3-2330M + Intel HD3000@RM1899, 2GB RAM; colors: black/red *No VGA port
Inspiron 13z, i3-2330M + Intel HD3000@RM1999, 4GB RAM; colors: black/red *No VGA port
Inspiron 13z, i3-2430M + Intel HD3000@RM2149; colors: black/red *No VGA port
Vostro V131, i3-2330M + Intel HD3000@RM2099[1.82kg], W7HB

These are all more powerful than the MBA, but then of course, they have much shorter battery lives

Added on September 11, 2011, 10:01 pm
QUOTE(yingxian91 @ Sep 11 2011, 09:58 PM)
Thank you again. I do find that I'm quite picky on the screen colour display of the laptops. That's why I like Asus as I felt the screen colour is nicer than other brands. Do my personal feeling on this matter is with any evidence?

How about other brands which are fit into my criteria? For eg, HP, Lenovo, Dell.
Really, thank you for helping me.  biggrin.gif
Different laptop models will have different screen quality etc. Personally I think the N43SL's screen is a bit dim, especially when at lowest settings sad.gif
Mind sharing your:
Budget, preferred laptop size and usage? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Sep 11 2011, 10:01 PM
yingxian91
post Sep 11 2011, 10:07 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 11 2011, 09:58 PM)

Different laptop models will have different screen quality etc. Personally I think the N43SL's screen is a bit dim, especially when at lowest settings sad.gif
Mind sharing your:
Budget, preferred laptop size and usage?  hmm.gif
Thank you. biggrin.gif

What do you think which model offers good screen quality?

Below 3k budget, 14 inches, and it's for architecture usage (Autocad and photoshop is a basic software requirement) and I do yearn for powerful graphic card also plus good screen quality. smile.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 11 2011, 10:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yingxian91 @ Sep 11 2011, 10:07 PM)
Thank you.  biggrin.gif

What do you think which model offers good screen quality?

Below 3k budget, 14 inches, and it's for architecture usage (Autocad and photoshop is a basic software requirement) and I do yearn for powerful graphic card also plus good screen quality. smile.gif
Hmm, for that budget its hard to get a laptop with good performance + good screen quality I'm afraid.
Generally Sony units will have good displays, but are quite expensive:
Sony Vaio VPCCA15FG, i5-2410M + AMD HD6630@RM2999[2.45kg], backlit keyboard; colors: Orange/Pink/White/Green/Black/Blue/red; 2 years warranty [promotion ends 4 Sept]

Others:
Lenovo Y470, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GT550M@RM2999[JBL]
Dell Inspiron 14R (N4110), i7-2620M + AMD HD6630@RM3099, *Big Giant Plaid!Lid
Asus U46Sv-WX023v, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2999[2.14kg]; USB3.0, Asus optical mouse

工藤新一
post Sep 11 2011, 10:26 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 11 2011, 09:58 PM)
13" lightweights:
Dell (not sure how light is considered light for your aunty haha)  laugh.gif
Inspiron 13z, i3-2330M + Intel HD3000@RM1899, 2GB RAM; colors: black/red *No VGA port
Inspiron 13z, i3-2330M + Intel HD3000@RM1999, 4GB RAM; colors: black/red *No VGA port
Inspiron 13z, i3-2430M + Intel HD3000@RM2149; colors: black/red *No VGA port

These are all more powerful than the MBA, but then of course, they have much shorter battery lives

okie~ thanks~
any sony brand suit?
sony more choice of color~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 11 2011, 10:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(工藤新一 @ Sep 11 2011, 10:26 PM)
okie~ thanks~
any sony brand suit?
sony more choice of color~
Not much from Sony, at least none which suits your aunt's requirements.
Some within budget:
11.6"
Sony Vaio VPCYB15AG, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1599 [1.46kg], Colors: Pink/Lime green/White

14"
Vaio VPCEG16EG, i3-2310M + Intel HD3000@RM2099[2.3kg], colors: Black/Blue/Pink/White; 2 years warranty [promotion ends 4 Sept]

15.6"

Vaio VPCEL16FG, E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1899[2.7kg]; 2 years warranty

yingxian91
post Sep 11 2011, 10:44 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 11 2011, 10:19 PM)
Hmm, for that budget its hard to get a laptop with good performance + good screen quality I'm afraid.
Generally Sony units will have good displays, but are quite expensive:
Sony Vaio VPCCA15FG, i5-2410M + AMD HD6630@RM2999[2.45kg], backlit keyboard; colors: Orange/Pink/White/Green/Black/Blue/red; 2 years warranty [promotion ends 4 Sept]

Others:
Lenovo Y470, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GT550M@RM2999[JBL]
Dell Inspiron 14R (N4110), i7-2620M + AMD HD6630@RM3099, *Big Giant Plaid!Lid
Asus U46Sv-WX023v, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2999[2.14kg]; USB3.0, Asus optical mouse
I see. Great advice! rclxms.gif Thank you very muchhhh~~~ biggrin.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 11 2011, 10:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(yingxian91 @ Sep 11 2011, 10:44 PM)
I see. Great advice! rclxms.gif  Thank you very muchhhh~~~  biggrin.gif
If you have the time, do check out each model. It'll help you decide nod.gif
Happy Hunting!
LiMcZ
post Sep 11 2011, 10:53 PM

454 posts

the recent released asus 1215B,isit good??
how about pavillion dm1-40001AU??
heard that it will be cheaper than 1215b with the same spec??
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 11 2011, 11:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(LiMcZ @ Sep 11 2011, 10:53 PM)
the recent released asus 1215B,isit good??
how about pavillion dm1-40001AU??
heard that it will be cheaper than 1215b with the same spec??
Here are all the specifications:
11.6"
Fujitsu LifeBook PH521, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1689[1.4kg], W7P
Dm1-3206AU, AMD E-350 + AMD HD6310@RM1599[1.47kg], W7 HP 3 years warranty, HP External 2.0 HDD, HP optical mouse, HP backpack
Dm1-4000AU, AMD E-450 + AMD HD6320@RM1399[1.47kg], W7S, HP AIO printer, HP External 2.0 HDD, HP optical mouse, HP backpack
Dm1-4000AU, AMD E-450 + AMD HD6320@RM1399[1.47kg], W7S, Microsoft Office 2010, HP optical mouse, HP backpack, HP stereo headsets

12.1"
Dell's Inspiron M102z, AMD E-450 + AMD HD 6320 + (1366x768)@RM1499[1.56kg]
Asus's upcoming Eee PC 1215B, E-450 + AMD HD6320 + (1366x768)@RM1299[1.45kg] -> upcoming

Spec-wise they're more or less similar, with the Lenovo being better in terms of CPU power though (but loses out in terms of GPU performance)
The Dm1 is too new, so there's nothing much we can comment on haha
As for the 1215b, it'll probably be the same as the previous one, only different in specs:
http://www.laptopmag.com/review/laptops/as...e-pc-1215b.aspx
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Asus-E...ok.55843.0.html
Cap Jones
post Sep 12 2011, 12:07 AM

294 posts

Laptop with gddr5 rm3.5k ? any size any brand
Koki
post Sep 12 2011, 12:25 AM

3,142 posts

QUOTE(Cap Jones @ Sep 12 2011, 12:07 AM)
Laptop with gddr5 rm3.5k  ? any size any brand
I don't think you can get anything with GDDR5 at that price...
BanG_DeaD
post Sep 12 2011, 12:32 AM

168 posts

Guys, wad do you think about the Asus A53SV-VX053V ?
Just wanna know whether this laptop got any known problem anot..
You guys dont have to recommend me other laptops biggrin.gif

Thanks rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by BanG_DeaD: Sep 12 2011, 12:33 AM

130 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:50 PM