4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V13, NEW Users - be SMART user :read page 1

Eiraku
post Sep 2 2011, 09:43 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Long hold back button?
Eiraku
post Sep 4 2011, 03:40 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Sep 4 2011, 03:34 PM)
hmmmm twcalenderwidget doesn't seem to be there even after copying the apk file to system/apps
Reset permissions and restart? I THINK you need the TWframework as well.

Anyways, I've ordered some M3 Estocs to test, but I've gotta say, unless we buy about 10x units, it's still gonna be considerably more expensive then a pack of SGP protectors. Also, there's only one per pack vs the SGP's 2.
Eiraku
post Sep 4 2011, 03:43 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(lowyatlurker @ Sep 4 2011, 03:40 PM)
2000mAH samsung LARGE battery @@"

reported some casing is still compatible. any source to get one? interesting
Just wait a few more weeks, and it should be available locally. For cheap.
Eiraku
post Sep 4 2011, 05:47 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Sep 4 2011, 03:58 PM)
yeah... it's in the TWlauncher but not available for selection in GOLauncher

Added on September 4, 2011, 4:04 pmsweet battery... i'm in if you guys are ordering in bulk
Hmm, weird.

Added on September 4, 2011, 5:51 pm
QUOTE(FiReWoLf @ Sep 4 2011, 04:57 PM)
May be some of you found this already, but it's a tough glass protector for S2.  Check out the video too  drool.gif

http://www.sgpstore.com/cell-phone/samsung...las-series.html
Am using this, no complaints except reduced back/menu button sensitivity (now it registers touch near the icon ONLY which might actually be a good thing).

Using it with a Walnutt bumper case, no problems.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 4 2011, 05:52 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 4 2011, 06:48 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 4 2011, 06:36 PM)
i use gmote.
Gmote can stream video meh?

Anyway, you can try Flex, VLC stream and convert, or other pure streaming solutions too.

For me, I usually stream remotely through 3G, and I've only had limited success with DonutPlayer/Server, tho. So for me no real AIR VIDEO alternative on Android yet.

For WIFI streaming things are a lot simpler, and the built in Allshare works fine too.

Buuuut, I have the AnimeWatch app to stream the latest of everything from AnimeHidden.com servers so no real loss there.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 4 2011, 06:50 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 4 2011, 07:23 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 4 2011, 07:03 PM)
yes it can.
mp3s no problem at all, but HD videos its not smooth since its buffering quite abit...either that or something wrong with my modem.
did a speedtest with s2 connected to my 4mb streamyx, my s2 download speed maxes out around 400-500kbps...ideally should be around 3.4mbps.
but upload speedtest is fine
Interesting. Router config issues? My UniFi 5MB gets a nice solid 5mbps downstream (and nearly twice as fast upstream, weird).

What ROM/Kernel/Modem Combi are you running?

@TLTD: Screen is fingerprint/scratch RESISTANT not PROOF. You can run it naked without a SP if you're the careful type, but it STILL can get scratched.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 4 2011, 07:30 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 4 2011, 07:30 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(yang90 @ Sep 4 2011, 07:28 PM)
Between this two microsd card,sandisk microsdhc class 4 32gb and kingston microsdhc class 10 32gb,which should i choose?

usage:1080p HD movie,gaming etc
Sandisk should be enough, unless you have bottomless pockets. The cl10 is only MARGINALLY faster.
Eiraku
post Sep 4 2011, 11:14 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(keyzjh @ Sep 4 2011, 09:55 PM)
Hey Eiraku, are you interested to start a bulk purchase of the Estoc+ for LYN members? I read in the xda thread that for 3 pieces + shipping cost to Singapore, it costs about SG$26 per person.

Not sure if 10x units is a problem though, there seem to be interest here. How much do you roughly think it will cost if theres 10 units or so?
I need to go back to Gmarket to calculate, but it should be around $22-24 each (usd) for a bulk of 10, the thing itself is $19.99 sans shipping.
Eiraku
post Sep 5 2011, 12:28 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 5 2011, 12:10 AM)
All SGS II come with travel charger which output only 0.7A? did anyone using third party charger with higher output can charge faster?
Samsung Travel charger is capped at 700ma because the kernel limits input to about 600/700ma (with a wall charger, it ONLY FREAKING TAKES 250ma with USB). With the nymph kernel, the cap is raised to 800ma, and with a proper higher output charger, it should charge slightly faster.

And the battery is REMOVABLE people, plus I doubt a 100ma output hike is gonna stress the battery THAT much, I mean, you using your SGS2 for 5 years issit?

Oh, and the iPhone charges at 1000ma with a wall charger and 500ma with USB.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 5 2011, 12:30 AM
Eiraku
post Sep 5 2011, 12:36 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 5 2011, 12:30 AM)
Basically I just want it charge faster like 30%? hahaha..If the battery suppose to be can use for 3 years..I don't mind it shorten it to 1 year if charging fast..
Eiraku, you using the Samsung Travel charger?  hmm.gif
Nokia's three pin AC10X, 1200ma charger(s). Best microusb charger I know of.
Eiraku
post Sep 5 2011, 05:35 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

I think, like MMS, it needs data to be on to operate. Reason being, unlike other OSes, Android seems to shut down the video streaming AND MMS data connections WITH packet data when you turn data off.

It's like all connections using data in any way is considered "data" overall in Android (for some reason, maybe because of the fact that Android came from the US where they have complex data tiers from each carrier to consider) while for us, only packet data is really considered "data".

IINM anyway. Like iOS, Android is quite carrier centric.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 5 2011, 05:38 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 5 2011, 05:51 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Oh. And if anyone of you are wondering about skins (stuff like Incredible Shield), I have both the exceedingly cheap Gadgetshieldz and Best Skins Ever. My take on both:

BSE:
- Good coverage (no home button/camera module skin) and good cutouts (back speaker cutout not 100% spot on.
- Very little orange peel.
- Great service and really fast shipping.
- Slightly thicker and harder to apply (but should provide more protection).
- Less saperate parts.
- Reasonable price + shipping (about RM50-60)
- Very clear 24 hours after installation (better as a SP).

GadgetShieldz:
- Superb coverage (camera module and home button skins included) and superb cutouts.
- Some orange peel
- Slow shipping and so-so service (maybe I got unlucky).
- Cheap like no tomorrow (RM30 ish for a complete protector set with free, but slow, shipping).
- Slightly thinner and easier to apply.
- More saperate parts.
- Not as clear as BSE after 24 hours.

Both come as skin only and needs a wet application using water + some dish soap (with device off).

Also, the screen protector of both is not on the same league as SGP in terms of feel and clarity, although they might protect better as they're thicker.

But I already have my Glas + Optics combo anyway.

So verdict? Just get both lol, especially because GS is so cheap.

But if you MUST have ONLY one and already have a good SP (and can stand the snail pace shipping) get the Gadgetshieldz simply because you can buy 2 for the price of 1 BSE (and almost 4 for the price of one bloody Incredible Shield, which isn't even that good to begin with).

If you DON'T have a good SP already, consider the BSE as it's slightly clearer after drying out.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 5 2011, 06:25 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 5 2011, 07:46 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Sep 5 2011, 07:08 PM)
are both of it matte finished?

cause the matte finishing makes it antifingerprintable... if that's a word
Not quite matte, yet not really glossy either. Rubbery, I guess, and while you can leave finger trails on them, it's actually quite hard to leave actual finger prints.

BTW, I now have some ready stock for OTG, just in case anybody's interested brows.gif
Eiraku
post Sep 5 2011, 07:52 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 5 2011, 07:48 PM)
This is second time today you are asking. If the app has afree version download from market. If you are asking for free paid versions go read my page 1 post 1 first few comments in red
I hope you are not one of those many ex iphone users always looking for such free apps
Even in the iPhone section these people get quick free vacations the moment they ask about Jack Sparrow.
Eiraku
post Sep 5 2011, 07:58 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(antt00 @ Sep 5 2011, 07:54 PM)
GPS software is only as good as the map. Meaning the map is most important. Here in malaysia for android papago have the most update from MFM.
But really, Papago has such a crappy UI that I myself use Sygic most of the time, unless I'm in some ulu place not on the Sygic map.

If I'm using the SGS2 for nav duties at all lah. I have an old half-broken N86 I ONLY use for Garmin XT anyway, considering NONE of the nav apps on Android (or iOS for that matter) has proper support for speedtrap POIs.

@DestEX: diff map types, but MFM develops for both.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 5 2011, 08:03 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 6 2011, 06:51 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(cyberic @ Sep 6 2011, 06:22 PM)
anyone here own the samsung extended battery already? It looks good also with the new back cover.
Also, it "solves" the heat issue.

Really guys, I've had my old iPhone 4 get EVEN hotter then the SGS2 ever did, and keep in mind that thick glass is a MUCH better insulator then thin plastic (makes you wonder how hot the insides of the iP4 gets). My old E71 gets blardy hot too, even scorching sometimes.

Only reason the SGS 2 SEEMS to get so hot is the fact that the back cover is so thin. Get a case, or get the 2000mah batt and the heat "issue" will go away.

On a side note, my Momax eXpower extended batts seem to be OTW. It might just arrive before my Spider-Foot ones at this rate - if Pos Malaysia does their work properly lar.

Which they aren't doing for the OTG batch I posted before the Raya hols (and two parcels right at the end of that week) - it's been more then a week and all SIX parcels are STILL not even registered in the track and trace database. Stop holidaying oiii Pos Malaysia, people need to make a living here.

Also, the SGS 2 works fine with the Apple Magic Mouse, a hell of a lot more then it does with the iPhone 4 (which is to say, not at all).

@ohmlawx: Yay, somebody else using NM. A shame it ALSO tints your screenshots though.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 6 2011, 06:56 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 7 2011, 09:20 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Sep 7 2011, 07:41 AM)
ROFL!! thumbup.gif
hey wait, this is not something to be happy about rite?  doh.gif
I'm a loyal Celcom Axiata supporter... the company, lol.

Well, Celcom the company also like to troll people with spam SMS what?
Eiraku
post Sep 7 2011, 10:01 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 7 2011, 09:56 PM)
Yes, my pendrive is FAT32..Finally I know what is the problem already..it's because my Sandisk Cruser..it cannot detect..it might be cause by high capacity?
I tried 2 Kingston Pendrive, 1 is 8GB, another 1 is 2GB..no problem at all  laugh.gif

Anyone tried on hard disk? must be in FAT32 also? how to make it read NTFS?  hmm.gif
File System Errors on the Sandisk? I'm using an old 8GB Cruzer as my primary pendrive, no problems here.

HDDs all need external power, EXCEPT one: the 120GB Samsung S1 1.8' ExHDD. Works fine, no external power needed. ONLY the 120GB one though. And formatted to Fat32.

To read NTFS you need a Fuse.ko included kernel and some scripts (DroidScript) to mount it at startup. The newest Nymph has the module, but there's issues actually making it work.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 7 2011, 10:04 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 7 2011, 10:59 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 7 2011, 10:38 PM)
MUGEN, a very good and proven reliable battery maker offer its MUgen 3500 mAH at US$ 100

Spiderfoot offer is US$10

So just use your intelligence to gauge how good, reliable, lasting is Spiderfoot

I always advise if you want to use such cheap alternative batteries, do not charge these batteries inside the phone. Use those external charger docks to do it and in ebay plentiful, darn cheap US$3-5 only
I really doubt the quality and sensitivity of the supposedly built in power chip to cutoff charging. Sometimes I wonder whether there is any chip builtin. Of course they advertised there is
There's also claims that Mugen is simply over-priced these days. I've used their batts before, and while they did last about the same as Oris (same size extended cap BL-4L for the E71/N810), the electrical contacts on those were fragile as heck, IMHO, and it would frequently NOT WORK with my N810 unless spacers were used to tighten the fit of the battery against the cell contacts. Cells lasted okay though.

There's also the batteryboss controvesy (google for info).

And while I don't condone the Spider-Foot extended, so far the guys using 'em at XDA has not had a problem yet (VS the 2000mah Adinda that fried this ONE guy's SGS2). Cap has been measured with proper equipment too (it's actually 2450mah or so). BUT I have doubts TOO that the SF batts would last that long, I mean RM30??!

Just for the sake of testing, I have a couple on order. Will be pitting them against the Momax 2700mah eXpower that's I already have OTW and (if I get lucky), the Samsung 2000mah. Heck, I'll test the Mugen too if anybody game to lend me a unit.

One thing about Momax though, they have enough balls not to be caught up in the mah race. Look at their batts and you know (1400mah and 2700mah). IT feels like they're being realistically honest about it, because, it's always easier to lie about capacity (ehm, Adinda). Prices are NOT cekik darah too (ehm, Mugen).

Shame Sedio has no expacks out yet, as they make good quality, well priced batts too, and cases to match.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 7 2011, 11:07 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 7 2011, 11:22 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 7 2011, 11:05 PM)
I have very good experience with Mugen and I never hesitate to pay a premium for it. Have been using their battery for the about 10 years on my Windows Mobiles to Androids. NO complains at all. Yes I agree is overpriced. But if you compare it to Samsung original battery price, it is not that overpriced, I'd said is fair. Anyway Samsung original battery is indeed overpriced so comparatively along same argument, Mugen is overpriced

The guy who use the Andida is just plain unlucky I'd say. I also bought 2 units of the Andida 2000mAH from a fellow user here, and I can postively say is definitely not 2000mAH. It still perform well, about an hourv less versus the original. But what is there to complain for a RM30 battery compared to Samsung original RM 130

I have also order Momax 2700 and Mugen 3500 - hopefully will get it by next week
I got my original Korean stock (supposedly) batts from exportprive for RM60 each, and the new 2000mah packs can be had for about 190 WITH postage from an XDA member in Slovenia (which means that local price should be better at least), so I wouldn't say that Samsung batts are THAT expensive.

Unless the local distro and shops jack the price up la (like they already do with ALL original accessories). I mean I got the ori charging stand for RM35 (local price: 80), and the HDMI cable for RM90.

Granted of course, my "warranty" involves sending stuff back to Exportprive lol. Which I agree might be a hassle to some.

Anyways, at least you're gonna have both the Mugen and the Momax so can test against each other.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 7 2011, 11:25 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0422sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:24 AM