9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V13, NEW Users - be SMART user :read page 1

TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 06:37 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

[quote=Angelpoli,Sep 7 2011, 06:27 PM]
[quote=benny888,Sep 7 2011, 02:46 PM]
Since not rooted use mybackuppro to backup your
3rd party apps only. All data associated with the apps cannot be backup unless phone is rooted
This app also backup your contact, calendar, sms etc
There are 2 backup options
ic, k thanks. btw, since i need to wipe my phone, so will rooting it do the same thing as factory reset?

[/quote]
Rooting will NOT change any of your data or wipe/delete your data. Everything remain as it is. Please spend some mins to read page 1 post #5 on first subject rooting to understand more. I do not wish to repeat stuffs here again and again

Added on September 7, 2011, 6:38 pm[quote=destEX,Sep 7 2011, 06:24 PM]
i remember uncle benny said before it's not in usbstorage, try look around in sdcard see see

[/quote]
It is clearly shown in page 1 post # 8 on accessory : the thumb drive is nested under 2 levels below sdcard - go and see the photo I have taken

Added on September 7, 2011, 6:41 pmBefore some users complain I " whine" a lot - all new users please do spend some minutes to read page 1:

Post # 3 : Frequently Asked Questions
Post # 4 : Frequently Asked Questions Part 2
Post # 5 : Roms discussions, Tips & Tricks
Post # 6 : Roms/Flashing/Tips n Tricks Part 2
Post # 7 : Commonly used Apps, Recommended Widgets, Malaysian Telco Settings
Post # 8 : Accessories

You'd be surprised many of your queries are answered there

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 7 2011, 06:42 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 06:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Sep 7 2011, 06:44 PM)
May I ask what can be done if you connect a mouse to the phone? Does it support bluetooth mice? How would yo make it connect?
Just curious - why would you want to connect a mouse to the phone ??? To play games ? Anyway use the OTG cable will do - see page 1 post#8 accessory
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 06:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(TheLaptopDudeGuy @ Sep 7 2011, 06:46 PM)
Any user of sgp neo hybrid here? Thinking abt what case shud i get along with the s2...
Many users using this. Use the Search Topic below ( in this thread or last thread v11,12) and you will see all discussions on this case and the users using it. PM them for opinion if no one reply here

Added on September 7, 2011, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 7 2011, 06:19 PM)
Has Samsung release 2000mAH battery package? Asked about in Taipei (Samsung Showroom) and still havent released. There's one shop who quote me crazy price of RM170 without back cover, and claimed to be original.
Fair price-lah. Consider the original 1650 mAh goes for RM 130-150

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 7 2011, 06:51 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 07:00 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(rain0520 @ Sep 7 2011, 01:49 PM)
hi.. anyone interested to bulk order samsung desktop dock cradle? http://cgi.ebay.com.my/SAMSUNG-GALAXY-S2-S...6#ht_9146wt_905
This dock is selling for about RM 219. The online price is crazy expensive. You can get the dock at any Samsung outlet - saw it last month at lowyat 2 shops with big Samsung logo.
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 09:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(xYondaimex @ Sep 7 2011, 09:03 PM)
Why dont u try this one...its 3500mAh battery. kinda awesome. I would love if Somebody dare to try it and give a comment  biggrin.gif

http://www.mudah.my/Battery+Double+Capacit...S2-11362340.htm
This is actually spiderfoot battery - get it from ebay only US$10.
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 09:29 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(aiman39 @ Sep 7 2011, 09:24 PM)
I thought I already said earlier to use MyBackupPro if your phone is non rooted. Why are you asking again for confirmation. Please refer back my posts today
Your link is mybackuppro. Refer post #933

I mentioned using this app too in my FAQ 2 post#4 - please refer

Added on September 7, 2011, 9:32 pm
QUOTE(xYondaimex @ Sep 7 2011, 09:23 PM)
really? what does it mean by spiderfoot?  biggrin.gif
I read some users in this thread has already bought it and expecting it this week

http://www.spider-foot.com/3500mah-backup-...10eb-p-962.html

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 7 2011, 09:39 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 09:42 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(mickychunnie @ Sep 7 2011, 09:39 PM)
ok thanks shizuru ^^
btw where can i enable bluetooth in my phone? i can't find the bluetooth settings
Settings/Wireless Network/......

I see you are a new user - refer this video which I have posted in page 1 FAQ; you'll be surprised quite few things you can do without even realizing it. Details and more info on basic tips refer to my post #3

[/spoiler]
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 09:58 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

[quote=aiman39,Sep 7 2011, 09:51 PM]
[quote=benny888,Sep 7 2011, 09:29 PM]
I thought I already said earlier to use MyBackupPro if your phone is non rooted. Why are you asking again for confirmation. Please refer back my posts today
Your link is mybackuppro. Refer post #933

I mentioned using this app too in my FAQ 2 post#4 - please refer

Thanks... smile.gif sorry if causing this redundancy.

[/quote]
There are many repeated questions being asked. That's why an official thread is started to avoid common questions being asked. You are not the only one. This thread is the fastest growing thread , main reason also due to the repeated questions

I always encourage new users to read Page 1 - it will not answer all questions but will be a good guide to get one start easily

Another thing I always encourage , learn to us the "Search Topic" at bottom of page. Just type in your subject and you can see all the postings, example you want to know about screen protector - just type screen protector. You want to know more about Titanium Backup - just type "Titanium Backup" etc etc - you will see all the postings related to your search

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 7 2011, 10:00 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 10:17 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(frankgan @ Sep 7 2011, 10:07 PM)
hey guys,

recently i am facing strange problem,

When I use titanium backup - batch restore or batch backup - my phone just randomly reboot.

It is perfectly fine when I backup or restore the apps one by one

There is no fixed reboot pattern, sometimes it reboot on the first backup app, sometimes it reboot on the last backup app.

I have tried to flash to different roms - modaco gr5, cognition 1.51 and that do not seem to help

and before this, I have had problem reading zip in my clockwork mod until I use formatter to format the usb storage, and reformat it again in the phone.

What could be possibly wrong in this case?

Definitely not ahem apps problem coz I never install anything new. I have been using the same thing since i first bought the phone
Titanium Backup works flawlessly across all the roms I have tested . I'd say I have tested practically all the roms. It also works flawlessly on all my other androids smartphones and tablets ( across all the cook roms I have tested ) . So I can positively without any doubt tell you, it is NOT a rom issue nor is it an app issue
Some of the newer cook roms might cause force closure but this is easily rectified by uninstalling and reinstall the app
If you did not install any "ahem " apps, than I suggest you post your problems at Titanium Backup and give him a list of your apps you have installed for trouble shooting

Looks like your internal SD is slight corrupted causing the " reading" issue. It should be resolved if you have reformatted it. If you have backup your imei EFS folder , I suggest that you copy one over to external micro SD card. As if the internal SD fail, and your phone lost its IMEI, your efs folder cannot be restore back and your phone cannot detect the simcard at all making it a non-phone but just a PDA

Added on September 7, 2011, 10:20 pm
QUOTE(ashwin1234 @ Sep 7 2011, 10:10 PM)
To those of you who have already bought the USB OTG adapter, could you please give me a link to a trusted seller?

I have been looking for the HDMI adapter also, and a company called Kanex makes them for $29. Does anyone sell it locally here?

You can get the HDMI adapter at any Samsung outlets ; price RM 130+. The official retail is RM 149

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 7 2011, 10:20 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 10:25 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 7 2011, 09:56 PM)
Yes, my pendrive is FAT32..Finally I know what is the problem already..it's because my Sandisk Cruser..it cannot detect..it might be cause by high capacity?
I tried 2 Kingston Pendrive, 1 is 8GB, another 1 is 2GB..no problem at all  laugh.gif

Anyone tried on hard disk? must be in FAT32 also? how to make it read NTFS?  hmm.gif
My 16 GB Thumbdrives ( Kingston and Apacer ) - no problem reading it by the phone
It is definitely not a capacity issue

Harddisk must be FAT32 - I have tried on my Philip 120 GB and WD 500gb

NTFS - by default cannot yet. Since all my harddrive is FAT32 to cater usage for my Macs ; so I never test those hack solutions for NTFS. But I did test those hacks for my previous Acer Iconia to read USB NTFS ( borrow my friend HD just to test ) - works well

TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 10:32 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(frankgan @ Sep 7 2011, 10:22 PM)
well i suspect its my internal SD too. I am able to read the zip files after I formatted it but somehow the titanium backup still won't work normally.

I had the auto efs backup from modaco rom, do you think thats sufficient if anything went wrong? or i need to adb my efs?
UPDATE:

I have just tested on my backup root, it seems that it is really a titanium backup specific issue, it isn't rebooting on my backup root.

Maybe I should just post on titanium backup and let them troubleshoot it.  hmm.gif
Why don't you try to save your Titanium Backup to your external micro SD. By default it saves to internal SD. Saving to external is much better
Launch TB, Menu/Preferences - scroll down to select Backup Folder LOcation , select DETECT - select whole device. Before doing this , create a folder TitaniumBackup in your external SD card
If you can successfully manage TB with this, your internal SD card is problematic

I have posted in Page 1 post #6 a very easy app to backup your IMEI - 1 sec to backup, 1 sec to restore. NO need adb commands.

Modaco efs backup is stored in the internal SD card ; I'd think you can only use MOdaco rom to restore it ; so is not a generic backup which you can use with other roms. Use the app I have listed - guarantee will work across any rom include stock

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 7 2011, 10:33 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 10:38 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 7 2011, 10:30 PM)
Thanks Benny..by the way, I thought now Mac support NTFS already..that day saw one of my customer Macbook Pro able to detect and use NTFS external hard disk..  hmm.gif
YES , MAC support NTFS long ago. Just need to install the support software. But since day one my HD was on Fat 32 - I kept it that way. I can use my HD with any MAC ( example ,my children one ) without the need to install NTFS support on their Macs

Added on September 7, 2011, 10:42 pm
QUOTE(xYondaimex @ Sep 7 2011, 10:34 PM)
Is spiderfoot battery ok? or will harm the phone?
MUGEN, a very good and proven reliable battery maker offer its MUgen 3500 mAH at US$ 100

Spiderfoot offer is US$10

So just use your intelligence to gauge how good, reliable, lasting is Spiderfoot

I always advise if you want to use such cheap alternative batteries, do not charge these batteries inside the phone. Use those external charger docks to do it and in ebay plentiful, darn cheap US$3-5 only
I really doubt the quality and sensitivity of the supposedly built in power chip to cutoff charging. Sometimes I wonder whether there is any chip builtin. Of course they advertised there is

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 7 2011, 10:42 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 10:47 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I found this interesting thread at XDA :
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1251896

If the developers can incorporate this into their rom, this means we can use our external microSD as an added extension of the internal SD. This means those users who love to install a lot of stuff especially games can now auto install it directly onto external micro SD card. No need trying to use force move, apps2SD solution and for gameloft use the hacked solutions to move to external SD

Added on September 7, 2011, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(nomoredfox @ Sep 7 2011, 10:10 PM)
hmmm, make me wana switch to local firmware
service centre flash mine to ZS version

I am confuse here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1075278

DXKH2

Firmware info
PDA:DXKH2
PHONE: DXKH1
Date: 13/08/2011
Android 2.3.3

OLC (GLB, MM1, STH, SIN, SMA, THL, XTC, XTE, XME, XSP, XXV, XEV, XSE):http://www.multiupload.com/WSKKHBCS85

DXKH2 Stock Kernel:http://www.multiupload.com/2T2RBE5EG6
Password: intratech@XDA
Which file should i download ?? the OLC (size 200mb+) or stock kernal (size less den 10MB)  rclxub.gif
The bigger file is the firmware and the smaller file is kernel
You use only the stock kernel file if you wish to get rid of the yellow triangle during bootup - optional. Flash this kernel only after flashing the main firmware. Flash the kernel as PDA

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 7 2011, 10:54 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 10:59 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 7 2011, 10:58 PM)
True..buy Ace if you find battery life is everything for you..

You can't compare Galaxy S2 with Ace..both at different level..you are comparing - Example Audi A4 with Toyota Altis  doh.gif
No, more like BMW 525i with Proton Saga
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 11:05 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 7 2011, 10:59 PM)
There's also claims that Mugen is simply over-priced these days. I've used their batts before, and while they did last about the same as Oris (same size extended cap BL-4L for the E71/N810), the electrical contacts on those were fragile as heck, IMHO. Cells lasted okay though.

There's also the batteryboss controvesy (google for info).

And while I don't condone the Spider-Foot extended, so far the guys using 'em at XDA has not had a problem yet (VS the 2000mah Adinda that fried this ONE guy's SGS2). Cap has been measured with proper equipment too (it's actually 2450mah or so).

Just for the sake of testing, I have a couple on order. Will be pitting them against the Momax 2700mah eXpower and (if I get lucky), the Samsung 2000mah.

One thing about Momax though, they have enough balls not to be caught up in the mah race. Look at their batts and you know (1400mah and 2700mah). IT feels like they're being realistically honest about it, because, it's always easier to lie abour capacity (ehm, Adinda). Prices are NOT cekik darah too.

Shame Sedio has no expacks out yet, as they make good batts too, and cases to match.
I have very good experience with Mugen and I never hesitate to pay a premium for it. Have been using their battery for the about 10 years on my Windows Mobiles to Androids. NO complains at all. Yes I agree is overpriced. But if you compare it to Samsung original battery price, it is not that overpriced, I'd said is fair. Anyway Samsung original battery is indeed overpriced so comparatively along same argument, Mugen is overpriced

The guy who use the Andida is just plain unlucky I'd say. I also bought 2 units of the Andida 2000mAH from a fellow user here, and I can postively say is definitely not 2000mAH. It still perform well, about an hourv less versus the original. But what is there to complain for a RM30 battery compared to Samsung original RM 130

I have also order Momax 2700 and Mugen 3500 - hopefully will get it by next week

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 7 2011, 11:06 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 11:09 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 7 2011, 11:01 PM)
Yeah..for fuel consumption..Proton Saga is better..!! BMW 525i fuel consumption is very high..hahahahaha..
Same analogy-loh, SGS II as like BMW faster, hotter, burns more petrol.
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 11:13 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(ubsacc2004 @ Sep 7 2011, 10:58 PM)
i`m just know its so easy get hot.
If this is critical issue, buy a blackberry or Nokia symbian phone
I have used it for 4 months + and has yet to burn my hands or burn my ears. It is NOT hot - when you say hot we are talking about temperatures above 60 degree
Operating temperatures ranges from 25 degree at idle to 40+. EXtreme temperature I have hit is 48 when using it as wireless hotspot and GPS
If you cannot accept these ranges, you can forget getting any dual core Android

Added on September 7, 2011, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 7 2011, 11:12 PM)
How to calculate? lol..I always like on the display to check even there is nothing(SMS, Whatsapp, Talkbox)..so I really dont know how long I use..  laugh.gif
Benny, did you try to use 1A charger to charge Galaxy S2? do you think its faster compare to stock charger? I'm planning to get but just concern the different, it its the same, I won't get it  nod.gif
Just want it to charge faster  laugh.gif
I use 2A charger and I dont believe those theories it will spoil phone. I have been using the 2A for even my previous low eed Androids and Windows Mobiles. I used 2A as I need not switch car charger as it can charge all my tablets too ( which need 2A). But I don't use those capalang brand - I use Griffin and Kensington . Is definitely faster than those normal car charger ( 500mA) or mid range (1A)

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 7 2011, 11:18 PM
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 11:44 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Sep 7 2011, 11:29 PM)
i reli duno wat's going on wif ur SGSII. if reli so short battery life wat's the pain using litening rom, or probably more simple question: y use so canggih phone? doh.gif

even i on 3g n sync all the time my battery can last me from morning 9am till evening 8pm with 40++% left. on top of that i still got gaming n listening to music+ watch light novel wif 50% brightness on. always c u complaining bout the battery life sucks, n nvr c u do any corrective action on it. wat's the pain?  shakehead.gif
I'd suggest he gets a spare battery if he still wants to keep the phone. With 3G on ( mine is 24/7 on) , my phone can last me a working day 7 am to 5 pm. My heavy use only during lunch time where I browse at least 30-40 minutes - this period the battery will dip significantly. The rest of the time, it is acceptable to me. My phone is actively refreshing /updating : 3 email accounts every 30 mis, RSS and Tweeter updates every hour, some news sites every 1-2 hours, weather every 4 hours, 5-10 calls, few SMS, no MMS, no gaming. Overnite 12 pm till 7 am with all these background activities, every hour will drop 1.5-2 %
I am on Cognition 1.5.1 rom. Frankly I dont find Litening has better battery saving compared to many others
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 11:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Sep 7 2011, 11:28 PM)
I'm talking about 3 pin charger which use at home..not car charger..
so conclusion is higher Ampere can charge faster? As I know, SGS II running ninpo kernel can support 800mA..so which mean 1A and 2A charger should be charge at same speed right?  wink.gif
I don't use the original charger at all; still inside box. As similar to the car, I used a desk charger ( with USB port) with 2A output. It was previously bought to charge my ipad.
TSbenny888
post Sep 7 2011, 11:53 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Glenn90 @ Sep 7 2011, 11:50 PM)
sifus.. need some help here.. my phone keep auto rebooting non stop. any advice to solve this problem?@@
Read page 44 post # 869 , I have answer similar question

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:40 AM