15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

[WTS] Watt Meter with TNB Bill Calculator, Find out why your TNB bill is so high...

doobudbobud
post Oct 6 2011, 08:24 PM

Can it be used to calculate the amount of electricity used for an airconditioner for a period of time, say one month?
TSvMart@lowyat
post Oct 6 2011, 09:52 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(doobudbobud @ Oct 6 2011, 08:24 PM)
Can it be used to calculate the amount of electricity used for an airconditioner for a period of time, say one month?
Yes it can be setup to calculate the electricity cost of an air-con. However since air-con are high current electrical appliance, make sure the location of the power outlet get sufficient air flow.
Kindly refer to your pm inbox for pricing & discount on bulk purchase.
mintgadget
post Oct 16 2011, 10:55 PM

328 posts

pm me best price
TSvMart@lowyat
post Oct 16 2011, 11:35 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(mintgadget @ Oct 16 2011, 10:55 PM)
pm me best price
Hi, Please refer PM inbox for pricing details. Thanks.
mintgadget
post Oct 18 2011, 07:24 PM

328 posts

item received.. thank you dude.
presidentlky
post Oct 19 2011, 01:56 PM

pm me the best price + delivery .. thx
TSvMart@lowyat
post Oct 19 2011, 02:19 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(presidentlky @ Oct 19 2011, 01:56 PM)
pm me the best price + delivery .. thx
Hi, Please refer PM inbox for pricing details. Thanks. smile.gif
SUSendau02
post Oct 22 2011, 09:15 AM

3,180 posts

[user posted image

[/quote]

lu sin kar lan ar...

Power (W) is less than or equal to VA, bcoz power=voltage X current X power factor.

from ur testing, power= 129.8W
Voltage X Current= 129.65 VA

shows that there is inconsistency in ur instruments d.

dunno about AC power calculation, dun talk rubbish here. the measurement is all OUT!!

is ur instrument calibrated? dont mind show us the calibration cert?
TSvMart@lowyat
post Oct 26 2011, 06:04 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AC_power)
"Engineers use the following terms to describe energy flow in a system (and assign each of them a different unit to differentiate between them):
    Real power (P) or active power : watt [W]
    Reactive power (Q): volt-ampere reactive [var]
    Complex power (S): volt-ampere [VA]
    Apparent Power (|S|), that is, the absolute value of complex power S: volt-ampere [VA]
    Phase of Voltage Relative to Current (φ), the angle of difference (in degrees) between voltage and current; Current lagging Voltage (Quadrant I Vector), Current leading voltage (Quadrant IV Vector)"

"The unit for all forms of power is the watt (symbol: W), but this unit is generally reserved for real power. Apparent power is conventionally expressed in volt-amperes (VA) since it is the product of rms voltage and rms current."

"Practical loads have resistance, inductance, and capacitance, so both real and reactive power will flow to real loads. Power engineers measure apparent power as the magnitude of the vector sum of real and reactive power. Apparent power is the product of the root-mean-square of voltage and current."

Link to full article : AC power

QUOTE(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electricity_meter)
Electricity meters operate by continuously measuring the instantaneous voltage (volts) and current (amperes) and finding the product of these to give instantaneous electrical power (watts) which is then integrated against time to give energy used (joules, kilowatt-hours etc.).

Link to full article : Electricity meter

Simple experimental test setups :
System A = Computer with 50% efficiency power supply unit
System A = Computer with 80% efficiency power supply unit

Calculation using Apparent Power (Pavg = Vrms x Arms)
System A = 227v x 0.57A x 10hour = 1.294kWh
System B = 227v x 0.50A x 10hour = 1.135kWh

Calculation using Real Power (power=voltage X current X power factor)
System A = 227v x 0.57A x 0.5 x 10hour = 0.649kWh
System B = 227v x 0.50A x 0.8 x 10hour = 0.908kWh

From the examples above, it shows that if TNB is using Apparent Power to calculate & charge it's customers, those with higher efficiency electrical appliances are paying less than customers with lower efficiency electrical appliances. In contrast, those with higher efficiency electrical appliances will have to pay more if Real Power is used to calculate TNB bills.
As you might know that computer power supplies with higher efficiency are much more expensive that those of lower efficiency and this is the same for electrical appliances such as those with inverter technologies are much more expensive as well. So if Apparent power is used to calculate TNB bills, it will be silly to spend extra on getting higher efficient models as you will be paying more for monthly electrical bills. rclxub.gif
If you or any electrical engineers with experience or knowledge on the design of electrical meters used by TNB for residential and industrial can provide some details/explanations on 'spending more money on higher efficiency products will result in paying more for electrical bills' we will gladly remove the accuracy test as it will be deem improper & misleading.

In any case, the Multifunctional Watt meter is not meant for professional who require utmost accuracy in his/her equipment or tools as professional tools does not comes in $100 price range. It is a device market for it's Plug and Play, easy and safe to use by user of all age and technical knowledge. Below are examples of usages :

Usage Example 1 - Determine which water boiler is greener before purchasing
1. At your parents/relatives/friends house, plug-in the wattmeter & write down the power usage when it is boiling the water.
2. Switch the wattmeter to total power consumption mode (kWh) & write down the numbers after 12/24 hours.
3. Test again with other brand/model of water boiler.
4. You will be surprise that the brand/model with a lower max power (watt) indicated by the manufacturer does not always translate to lower electrical bill. The frequency of the re-heating is crucial too.

Usage Example 2 - Determine when to service your air-con
1. Plug your air-con into the wattmeter when it is new or newly serviced.
2. Write down the max power consumption & the temperature setting on the air-con.
3. Plug your air-con into the wattmeter again after a few months.
4. If the power consumption increase at the same temperature setting, it is time to service your air-con.

Usage Example 3 - Determine the electricity use by your tenant.
1. If you rent out a room or sharing a rented house, it is wise to charge the electrical bills according to usage.
2. Plug in the air-con or other electrical appliances (1 appliance for 1 wattmeter) into the wattmeter in the rented room.
3. Switch the wattmeter into total power consumption or power consumption cost mode.
4. Charge the tenant periodically base on his/her usage.

For those who require utmost accuracy in their tools, we would like to recommend Uni-T UT231/UT233 (without calibration certificate) or Fluke 345 (with calibration certificate). Both models can be use to measure Active Power, Apparent Power, Reactive Power, Power Factor and many more. Kindly send us a pm for pricing. Below are links to official product page :

Official web page : UT231 (Single phase with PC interfacing and temperature measuring features)
Official web page : UT233 (Three phase with PC interfacing feature)
Official web page : Fluke 345

QUOTE(endau02 @ Oct 22 2011, 09:15 AM)
lu sin kar lan ar...

Power (W) is less than or equal to VA, bcoz power=voltage X current X power factor.

from ur testing, power= 129.8W
                       Voltage X Current= 129.65 VA

shows that there is inconsistency in ur instruments d.

dunno about AC power calculation, dun talk rubbish here. the measurement is all OUT!!

is ur instrument calibrated? dont mind show us the calibration cert?
Lastly, we sincerely appreciate your efforts on sharing your knowledge but your vulgarity & rude attitude are unwelcome.
If you are going to rant, at least buy a unit to test it with your certified calibrated equipment & send us the result. We will gladly replace our simple test result with yours & give you the credit that you deserves. In the future, kindly stay cool & refrain from using vulgarity (in any language or dialect) in your choice of words if you are to post in our topics.

This post has been edited by vMart@lowyat: Nov 1 2011, 02:26 PM
ZenkiMon
post Oct 27 2011, 03:32 PM

23 posts

Btw, we need to say thanks to endau02. If not you wont share a lot knowlwdge and tips here.

free bump here

TSvMart@lowyat
post Nov 1 2011, 03:04 PM

29 posts

Thanks for the free bump. smile.gif
You have no idea how stunned I was.... imagine this :-
A lady comes in the morning & turn on her computer. See an email notification that someone reply in 1 of the sales topic that she's in charged. Open the link & greeted by an unkind message.... relay the issue to the tech, tech says he is busy evaluating new product samples.... cry.gif sit there don't know what to do for days until the tech is free to resolve the situation and finally put an end to her torment. sweat.gif
brandiebarnie
post Nov 1 2011, 10:10 PM

I m interest on it, PM the detail please.
TSvMart@lowyat
post Nov 1 2011, 10:16 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(brandiebarnie @ Nov 1 2011, 10:10 PM)
I m interest on it, PM the detail please.
Hi, please refer to PM inbox for pricing details. Thanks.
1stLaksamana
post Nov 4 2011, 05:21 PM

279 posts

im interested to purchase a unit. do you do COD?
stan001
post Nov 11 2011, 01:50 AM

623 posts

Ordered one unit. Very fast response. Made payment transfer, items shipped out the next day and I received it the following day with my building management office. I know PosLaju always comes when I cam not around...

Sometimes, I think ordering online it is even faster than COD bcos COD still need to find free time, drive to the location, parking/tolls/petrols and then drive back ...

A very short review of the product after a few hours of usage and questions about the product..

- For my unit, the money ($) sign is in UK pound sign... no big issue...

- User Manual is a little confusing even for people like me that actually read user manuals... ( I know most people hate reading it .. )

Those functions short form are a bit cryptic, but I figure it out after a while..
AV - Voltmeter
EC - Electricity Consumption
PC - Power Cost
PW - Curent power ( ON this screen most of the time )
RT - Ratio ( no idea what is this )

Questions on the Setup screen ?

1. What is standby power ??

2. What is ratio of operation condition ?

I made a few measurements around the house... these are average over a few minutes..

42" Plasma - 150W
Kettle (takes only 3mins to boil 1.75l water) - 2500W
Fan - 36W
Compact FL - 12W
DIY nightlight - 3 LED powered by 5V Nokia charger running 24hrs - 0.9W

Desktop PC , using a 500W Xigmatek PSU
standby - 1.2W
CPU 0% - 75W
CPU 50% when playing facebook games - 110W
CPU 100% - 135W
22" LCD Monitor - 24W

Macbook Pro 13"
0% - 22W
100% - 37W

1stLaksamana
post Nov 11 2011, 10:27 PM

279 posts

ordered a unit, m2u-ed, emailed the details and got the item shipped on tuesday via pos laju, received on thursday. not sure why POS LAJU was unable to deliver next day since i am staying in a major town in KL.

product packaging is good. saw some chinese wordings on the box, checked the product and user manual, can't find the information on where it is made. perhaps it's my oversight, can someone point out to me? been fiddling with the product for the last couple of hours. so far so good. manual is in english, satisfactory and understandable (some manuals in english are ridicules due to the direct translation from chinese to english)

thumbs up for the seller, excellent sales and customer service follow up.
brandiebarnie
post Nov 12 2011, 08:50 PM

Trusted and Honest Seller, very nice provide receipt and warranty.
Good responsibility solve minor issue in 1day that parcel stuck at Poslaju.

Product Feedback:
This is a rare gadget. After survey this gadget at KL around 3weeks only know nobody sell this gadget.
It is China made. The meter quality quite nice but the box not attract people.
So, if seller wouldn't post some sample, nobody know it is rare and useful.

The picture show are connecting to
-home theater 5.1c 30-80W
-desktop PC 170-220W
-nokia charger 1W

I m a newbie for electric calculation stuff but,
the accurate Watt for this gadget is 99% correct.
The watt meter will keep fluctuate if u connect like speaker, PC.
It won't stable down for those who don't know about this.
The most important for me to use this gadget are to read kWH and Watt.

Thanks provide a rare product and service.
Keep it up and have a nice day.
stan001
post Nov 14 2011, 05:58 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(brandiebarnie @ Nov 12 2011, 08:50 PM)

The picture show are connecting to
-home theater 5.1c 30-80W
-desktop PC 170-220W
-nokia charger 1W

I m a newbie for electric calculation stuff but,
the accurate Watt for this gadget is 99% correct.
The watt meter will keep fluctuate if u connect like speaker, PC.
It won't stable down for those who don't know about this.
The most important for me to use this gadget are to read kWH and Watt.
The meter will measure the current drawn by the PC, so if the CPU is high, it will draw more current... and these days the CPU hv power saving mode, so when idle, the CPU will lower the speed/GHz to save power and run the CPU much cooler...

Home Theater/amp is producing sound and driving the speakers, so if sound have more bass, *boom* *boom*, it will use more power ... haha

TSvMart@lowyat
post Nov 14 2011, 11:48 PM

29 posts

@ stan001
I am told that the manufacturer programmed the watt meter currency symbols according to the plug configuration :
US : $
CN : 元
EU : €
UK : £

As for the 'Standby power' & 'Ratio' settings :
Standby power : A threshold where the machine is in sleep mode or non-active mode.
Ratio : Is the ratio between the active and the standby mode of the machine that is plugged into the wattmeter.

Btw nice short review i must say. smile.gif

Lastly, thanks everybody for the feedback and for sharing your knowledge and tips. notworthy.gif
ZANTARA133
post Nov 15 2011, 02:32 PM

pm me best price

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:04 AM