Samsung Galaxy 5 - CyanogenMod 7.1 Thread

starz92
post Sep 8 2011, 10:33 PM

1,679 posts

QUOTE(alexysc @ Sep 8 2011, 09:42 PM)
Yes, not much difference from JP6, if any. (I think there's no difference).
i see.thanks smile.gif
btw, anyone using blackmarket alpha apps and faced any problem downloading apps from there>? As for me,i keep on getting "problem parsing with package".Same goes with my sis's galaxy ace. so i am wondering if anyone get the same problem i did?
josenigel
post Sep 8 2011, 11:13 PM

227 posts

Facing some FC's when Link2SD is in Auto. After installing it, proceeded to install some apps. Installed Papago first then L2SD did its work but after linking, I tried to open Papago it FC. I installed it again and then it worked.

Faced the same thing when I tried Sygic but this time, it just didn't want to open. It kept FC'ing. I unchecked Auto Link and re-installed Sygic and then I managed to run the app.

Anyone else with this kinda issue? For now, I have un-checked Auto Link sad.gif

Added on September 8, 2011, 11:15 pm
QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 8 2011, 10:33 PM)
i see.thanks smile.gif
btw, anyone using blackmarket alpha apps and faced any problem downloading apps from there>? As for me,i keep on getting "problem parsing with package".Same goes with my sis's galaxy ace. so i am wondering if anyone get the same problem i did?
I never tried Blackmarket, for me I am using AppChina if I have the need for some eherm apps rclxms.gif
Even tho it's in Chinese, but I can roughly figure out the menus. Some apps are in Chinese language but most are English thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by josenigel: Sep 8 2011, 11:16 PM
technod
post Sep 9 2011, 03:25 AM

58 posts

This is a guide for someone from froyo like myself without knowledge of CWM or watsoever.

1) After you've completed flashing CWM with Odin, your phone will bring the CWM menu.

2) Everything will be done here on until finish.

3) Oh ya make sure u already have ur sd card inside (no need simcard can oso).

4) Download cm1.2, hotfix2, and goggleappt into ur pc.

5) Under CWM menu, mount ur sd card. Transfer files from pc into ur sd (memory card).

6) Go find back the files in CWM menu, > install zip from sdcard > choose zip from sdcard.

7) Install in sequence (IMPORTANT) - i) CM v.1.2 ii) hotfix2 (get latest update) and iii) gapps

8) Reboot (DON"T DATA WIPE) and ur now using Gingerbread (2.3.5)!!

IT'S SUPER FAST! rclxm9.gif

Thanks for the guidance from everyone here!!!

This post has been edited by technod: Sep 9 2011, 03:34 AM
alexysc
post Sep 9 2011, 11:48 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Sep 8 2011, 11:13 PM)
Facing some FC's when Link2SD is in Auto. After installing it, proceeded to install some apps. Installed Papago first then L2SD did its work but after linking, I tried to open Papago it FC. I installed it again and then it worked.

Faced the same thing when I tried Sygic but this time, it just didn't want to open. It kept FC'ing. I unchecked Auto Link and re-installed Sygic and then I managed to run the app.

Anyone else with this kinda issue? For now, I have un-checked Auto Link  sad.gif

Added on September 8, 2011, 11:15 pm

I don't have the problems you mentioned. Link2sd is working well for me.

Tip : Don't link Link2sd to sdcard. Leave it in the phone's internal memory. This should work well.
starz92
post Sep 9 2011, 02:17 PM

1,679 posts

any idea why my internal memory decreased to 57mb from 100mb overnight? i clearly remembered when i updated to v1.2 hotfix 2 yesterday,it was 100 mb.i only installed 2 games and all the games had been linked to sd card by link2sd.
alexysc
post Sep 9 2011, 02:29 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 9 2011, 02:17 PM)
any idea why my internal memory decreased to 57mb  from 100mb overnight? i clearly remembered when i updated to v1.2 hotfix 2 yesterday,it was 100 mb.i only installed 2 games and all the games had been linked to sd card by link2sd.
Open Link2sd, go to > menu > more >>>> Relink library files and also >>>Link dalvik-cache files. Your internal memory should be restored back to normal.

With Link2sd, the internal memory normally remains stable no matter how many apps you installed, EXCEPT system apps which are stored in the phone's memory. System apps are default launcher, contacts, calculators, default camera....etc., etc. These apps shouldn't be removed unless you know how to replace them with another similar app like default launcher with another launcher.
josenigel
post Sep 9 2011, 03:55 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(alexysc @ Sep 9 2011, 02:29 PM)
Open Link2sd, go to > menu > more >>>> Relink library files and also >>>Link dalvik-cache files. Your internal memory should be restored back to normal.

With Link2sd, the internal memory normally remains stable no matter how many apps you installed, EXCEPT system apps which are stored in the phone's memory. System apps are default launcher, contacts, calculators, default camera....etc., etc. These apps shouldn't be removed unless you know how to replace them with another similar app like default launcher with another launcher.
I did a re-partition using CWM and I only realized just now that the partition is ext3 and not 4. Is this typical? I think thats why I was having issues with my L2SD. I set it to ext4.
alexysc
post Sep 9 2011, 04:06 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Sep 9 2011, 03:55 PM)
I did a re-partition using CWM and I only realized just now that the partition is ext3 and not 4. Is this typical? I think thats why I was having issues with my L2SD. I set it to ext4.
Whether it's ext3 or ext4, it doesn't matter for Link2sd. Even with FAT32 partition (2 partitions) it'll work. The only difference is that ext4 is more advanced and therefore faster. But if your sdcard class is lower than class 6, there is no difference. Only with class 10, there'll be obvious difference in the speed.

If you Link2sd is working, then your sdcard partition is already recognized and mounted. If not, it won't work.
josenigel
post Sep 9 2011, 04:10 PM

227 posts

Ah I see. Thx for clearing that up alex biggrin.gif

Added on September 9, 2011, 5:02 pmWhen you 1st install L2SD, you are made to chose an option of the 2nd partition. Which do you set it to, ext3, ext4 or FAT32? Sry still a noob with this sad.gif

This post has been edited by josenigel: Sep 9 2011, 05:02 PM
alexysc
post Sep 9 2011, 06:06 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(josenigel @ Sep 9 2011, 04:10 PM)
Ah I see. Thx for clearing that up alex biggrin.gif

Added on September 9, 2011, 5:02 pmWhen you 1st install L2SD, you are made to chose an option of the 2nd partition. Which do you set it to, ext3, ext4 or FAT32? Sry still a noob with this sad.gif
Mine's ext4. I've tested choosing ext3 and L2sd cannot recognize and mount my partition. Same with ext2 which I tested. Finally choosing ext4 works alright. This means even if you're not sure of your partition ext, it doesn't matter. Just keep on choosing one which can be mounted, and that's the partition type on your sdcard.
starz92
post Sep 9 2011, 09:33 PM

1,679 posts

QUOTE(alexysc @ Sep 9 2011, 02:29 PM)

i tried to relink library files but it force closes everytime i clicked it(process.com.duak.link2sd).as for link dalvik cache files,there's no files found when i clicked it.
alexysc
post Sep 9 2011, 09:47 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 9 2011, 09:33 PM)
i tried to relink library files but it force closes everytime i clicked it(process.com.duak.link2sd).as for link dalvik cache files,there's no files found when i clicked it.
Delete or move file -

05mountsd in /system/etc/init.d

to sdcard then rebooted the phone because you may have that script which conflicts with L2D.

To do this, use root explorer, go to -

system/etc/init.d, press mount rw on top right corner, now simply move 05mountsd to sdcard and reboot.

This post has been edited by alexysc: Sep 9 2011, 09:49 PM
starz92
post Sep 9 2011, 11:42 PM

1,679 posts

QUOTE(alexysc @ Sep 9 2011, 09:47 PM)
Delete or move file - 

05mountsd in /system/etc/init.d

to sdcard then rebooted the phone because you may have that script which conflicts with L2D.

To do this, use root explorer, go to -

system/etc/init.d, press mount rw on top right corner, now simply move 05mountsd to sdcard and reboot.
thanks a lot..relink-ed the library files and now i got 107mb of free space smile.gif
alexysc
post Sep 10 2011, 01:00 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(starz92 @ Sep 9 2011, 11:42 PM)
thanks a lot..relink-ed the library files and now i got 107mb of free space smile.gif
You're most welcome. tongue.gif
TScuriouso9
post Sep 10 2011, 11:01 AM

252 posts

v1.3 out now. Radio app working! whistling.gif
http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/(d...axy5'-port/
or see 1st post.

This post has been edited by curiouso9: Sep 10 2011, 11:03 AM
alexysc
post Sep 10 2011, 11:23 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(curiouso9 @ Sep 10 2011, 11:01 AM)
v1.3 out now. Radio app working!  whistling.gif
http://www.madteam.co/forum/development/(d...axy5'-port/
or see 1st post.
It's advisable not to use the stock radio app as the volume is stuck at 100% and may blow your phone's speaker. Just wait for the next hotfix which Psyke has mentioned he'll fix it.

If you want Mike's Spirit Radio in which the volume can be adjusted, but seeking stations is not working yet, you may download it here :

http://www.mediafire.com/?cfve2y6z9215ufj
TScuriouso9
post Sep 10 2011, 11:44 AM

252 posts

ah..that great. thanks for the link
alexysc
post Sep 10 2011, 01:36 PM

60 posts

Hey Folks,

My sis after upgrade to v1.3 experienced continuous samsung logo boot-loop on the phone.

Does anyone experience this same problem?

She resolved the problem by downgrading back to stock froyo and re-install CWM .tar and restore back the backup which is v.1.2 + hotfix2.

So, if anyone wants to upgrade to the latest version, v.1.3, it's highly advisable to BACKUP with CWM first!.... or else you'll get a big headache restoring back you stuffs.
chonkit
post Sep 10 2011, 01:41 PM

419 posts

QUOTE(alexysc @ Sep 10 2011, 01:36 PM)
Hey Folks,

My sis after upgrade to v1.3 experienced continuous samsung logo boot-loop on the phone.

Does anyone experience this same problem?

She resolved the problem by downgrading back to stock froyo and re-install CWM .tar and restore back the backup which is v.1.2 + hotfix2.

So, if anyone wants to upgrade to the latest version, v.1.3, it's highly advisable to BACKUP with CWM first!.... or else you'll get a big headache restoring back you stuffs.
woah..was planning to update after my phone charged..thx for the info ya..will take ur advice to backup b4 upgrade it..
need7
post Sep 10 2011, 02:36 PM

135 posts

I use the step on page this page. but it stuck on boot load screen? How to fix it..

i use backup or flash back to old firmware still no luck on stuck on boot screen.

21 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:22 AM