English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, Man Utd 3 Chelsea 1

Wan
post Sep 2 2011, 10:37 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(dundermifflin @ Sep 2 2011, 08:38 AM)
to be frank, im quite disappointed SAF not adding a CM, preferably top class CM. Anderson and Cleverley have a great start, but they have doubful injury records.

while our best CM pairing last season, Carrick and Giggs only played few minutes this season. Fletcher is recovering and perhaps will gain match fitness on Scotland's games. Gibson still on our book.

im still convince with our CM numbers and qualities to retain PL crown, but not in CL. but still, i trust SAF judgement. he'll prove doubters wrong again and again (including me)

i have always been of the opinion tat for the past 5 years, while we dont have the best cms around, its nt as bad as our fans thought it is. We are a level below the best(barca) but we are as good as anyone else out there. When available(fletch) and in form(carrick/ando), we're more than a match for any team.

While i wud have like to see a sneijder, im not disappointed at all to see us going with what we have. To me ando will finally grow to be tat main guy in midfield. Carrick once he get going in november will protect ahe back 4, n fletcher once up and running will make the midfield solid..and we have giggs as backup to provide the guile and creativity when needed.

Cleverley have been a nice surprise so far. Hes done very well considering hes been playing out on the wings/attacking positions mostly. While we cant expect him to play as well as he has done regularly, we can take heart in knowing tat against barca, city, spurs and arsenal he's been heavily involved n played well alongside ando of all people.

Its not perfect yet, but together with the front four, going forward, we are gonna hurt a lot of people. Pace, movement, quick passing, touch, control, the skills.. N everyone works hard to chase the ball. Relentless at the back of the badge..was this in saf's plan all along?

Added on September 2, 2011, 10:42 am
QUOTE(dlct87 @ Sep 2 2011, 08:00 AM)
Pogba is which type of players? more defensive type? or more attacking minded?
he's a cm who need someone to do the dirty work next to him. Too bad we play away at leeds in cc.

This post has been edited by Wan: Sep 2 2011, 10:42 AM
zenix
post Sep 2 2011, 10:55 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(VerdictReview @ Sep 2 2011, 10:32 AM)
This guy really tall 186cm 3cm higher than Carrick, good for us since United lacks of height player.
alot of people mistake him for being viera 2.0 but he doesn't do the dirty work ... actually look at his video's he looks more like an AM.

QUOTE(Wan @ Sep 2 2011, 10:37 AM)
i have always been of the opinion tat for the past 5 years, while we dont have the best cms

actually i'm with the opinion we don't need someone like sneijer to lead our attack.
we have alot of players to do that in ando/cleverly/fletch/carrick/pogba (if)/morrison (if).
but we don't have a proper midfield destroyer.
though i think thats the old thinking and SAF wants to make all our CM capable of being AM/DM as well.
to emulate what barca has now and we had in 92 it looks like SAF wants to have a team who plays for each other and knows each other.....bringing a prima donna with high wage demands and a real drop out isn't a solution.

This post has been edited by zenix: Sep 2 2011, 10:56 AM
dlct87
post Sep 2 2011, 11:03 AM

474 posts

---
i do think Pogba will be given a chance though to play against Leeds, maybe pairing up with either Carrick or Fletcher (or even both if Fergie goes with 4-5-1)..since its Leeds i don't think SAF will field too many reserves/academy players unless he really wants to take the risk THAT much

but the date is 21st Sept if I'm not mistaken, we will just be playing Chelsea on the 18th, and will be traveling to Stoke on the 24th....so its kinda hard to tell how SAF will rotate his squad though sweat.gif sweat.gif

p/s: one thing for sure, he has one pair of long legs....its a bit out of proportion compare to his upper body sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by dlct87: Sep 2 2011, 11:06 AM
zenix
post Sep 2 2011, 11:06 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Sep 2 2011, 11:03 AM)
i do think Pogba will be given a chance though to play against Leeds, maybe pairing up with either Carrick or Fletcher (or even both if Fergie goes with 4-5-1)..since its Leeds i don't think SAF will field too many reserves/academy players unless he really wants to take the risk THAT much

but the date is 21st Sept if I'm not mistaken, we will just be playing Chelsea on the 18th, and will be traveling to Stoke on the 24th....so its kinda hard to tell how SAF will rotate his squad though sweat.gif  sweat.gif
this year our academy has bear fruit and SAF has a selection nightmare drool.gif
you can understand why he didn't need to buy when SAF already told the academy and youth team managers what he wanted from day 1.
Wan
post Sep 2 2011, 11:12 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

i agree bc without fletcher at top form, we do miss his all action plays. Hopefully with cleverly playing so well, we dont need tat kinda player. Hes gd going forward while at the same time working hard in midfield n be a nuisance all the time
dlct87
post Sep 2 2011, 11:15 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Sep 2 2011, 11:12 AM)
i agree bc without fletcher at top form, we do miss his all action plays. Hopefully with cleverly playing so well, we dont need tat kinda player. Hes gd going forward while at the same time working hard in midfield n be a nuisance all the time
but some times both Cleverley and Anderson bombing forward so much until both of them will be caught off position lol...hopefully they will find a balance between each other on attacking and defending, we will need to understand that the way we play now (relentless passing game) isn't reaching top notch yet, so there will be time where these passing will not work and will give opponents an open space and directly attacking our back 4...
zenix
post Sep 2 2011, 11:17 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

Stars pencilled in for Kuffour testimonial

sos

how time flies i remember he was a youngster and cried when united won their first UCL under SAF

sos 2
s[H]sIkuA
post Sep 2 2011, 11:20 AM

live in the present
2,162 posts

i have always been of the opinion tat for the past 5 years, while we dont have the best cms around, its nt as bad as our fans thought it is. We are a level below the best(barca) but we are as good as anyone else out there. When available(fletch) and in form(carrick/ando), we're more than a match for any team.

While i wud have like to see a sneijder, im not disappointed at all to see us going with what we have. To me ando will finally grow to be tat main guy in midfield. Carrick once he get going in november will protect ahe back 4, n fletcher once up and running will make the midfield solid..and we have giggs as backup to provide the guile and creativity when needed.

Cleverley have been a nice surprise so far. Hes done very well considering hes been playing out on the wings/attacking positions mostly. While we cant expect him to play as well as he has done regularly, we can take heart in knowing tat against barca, city, spurs and arsenal he's been heavily involved n played well alongside ando of all people.

Its not perfect yet, but together with the front four, going forward, we are gonna hurt a lot of people. Pace, movement, quick passing, touch, control, the skills.. N everyone works hard to chase the ball. Relentless at the back of the badge..was this in saf's plan all along?

Added on September 2, 2011, 10:42 amhe's a cm who need someone to do the dirty work next to him. Too bad we play away at leeds in cc.
When talking about midfielders our team seems to be way weaker on paper compare to other top teams in Europe nod.gif That's why its hard to say we stand a greater chance to win the CL but in league, having a depth like our squad certainly plays a major role all these years
pyroboy1911
post Sep 2 2011, 11:21 AM

A Great Achievement
950 posts

I think now that cleverley is being a regular, SAF asked him to stay back, at least behind Ando. Noticed that since the first game against Brom, he doesn't enter the box as often as he did when in friendlies or the Community Shield. No surprise there coz SAF will definitely have a central player in the field, though that might mean his attacking link up won't be fully utilized. Hope he learns to be smart and knows the right time to go forward, I think in that aspect he is better than Carrick and Fletcher. Kinda sad seeing him shooting straight to the keeper in the Arsenal game though laugh.gif we all know he could do better than that.
Wan
post Sep 2 2011, 11:27 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

im posting ths frm a 3 year old e66. Lol. Igt i havent posted tat. Hoho.

This post has been edited by Wan: Sep 2 2011, 11:41 AM
dlct87
post Sep 2 2011, 11:28 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Sep 2 2011, 11:27 AM)
y u post 2 identical posts? hmm.gif hmm.gif
zenix
post Sep 2 2011, 11:29 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

wan is actually a robot.
dlct87
post Sep 2 2011, 11:32 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 2 2011, 11:29 AM)
wan is actually a robot.
so he's experiencing a bsod attack? lulz
s[H]sIkuA
post Sep 2 2011, 11:32 AM

live in the present
2,162 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Sep 2 2011, 11:29 AM)
wan is actually a robot.
Actually you sounds more like a robot to me especially when you quote older post 2-3 pages back tongue.gif
Wan
post Sep 2 2011, 11:36 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(sHsIkuA @ Sep 2 2011, 11:20 AM)
When talking about midfielders our team seems to be way weaker on paper compare to other top teams in Europe  nod.gif That's why its hard to say we stand a greater chance to win the CL but in league, having a depth like our squad certainly plays a major role all these years

with tat midfield, we got to the final 3 out of 5 times. And we shud have made it 4 if the ref wasnt so bias against bayern(bommel countless fouls n even on a yellow continued to fou bt the ref said nothing, rafael 2 fouls n he was off). who got a stronger midfield than us? Barca is one, liverpool and sunderland(drew wit liverbestmidfieldeverpool) are the others..n maybe real at a push. Apart frm the spanish n english sides, the other teams arent tat impressive.
s[H]sIkuA
post Sep 2 2011, 01:08 PM

live in the present
2,162 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Sep 2 2011, 11:36 AM)
with tat midfield, we got to the final 3 out of 5 times. And we shud have made it 4 if the ref wasnt so bias against bayern(bommel countless fouls n even on a yellow continued to fou bt the ref said nothing, rafael 2 fouls n he was off). who got a stronger midfield than us? Barca is one, liverpool and sunderland(drew wit liverbestmidfieldeverpool) are the others..n maybe real at a push. Apart frm the spanish n english sides, the other teams arent tat impressive.
Well certainly it seems that way to the ABUs. They always said Fletchinho and Carrick are shit when compared to their so called bestest midfielders in the league whistling.gif
zenix
post Sep 2 2011, 01:09 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(sHsIkuA @ Sep 2 2011, 11:32 AM)
Actually you sounds more like a robot to me especially when you quote older post 2-3 pages back  tongue.gif
where got! laugh.gif

QUOTE(sHsIkuA @ Aug 30 2011, 11:58 PM)
Baru balik dari KL. Missed much of the action in the forum, I 8-2 it sad.gif

QUOTE(Wan @ Sep 2 2011, 11:36 AM)
too many fans are just too media brain washed into thinking "big name signings".
if memory serves me right we haven't done very well signing big name midfielders...think cyruff, veron, hargo.
Reimao
post Sep 2 2011, 01:32 PM

Hola~!
709 posts

FEck it. We got Carrick. That's all that matters. He will get his mantle back. WEE~!!
xkjon
post Sep 2 2011, 02:35 PM

104 posts

Bah, we don't need a big name signing. We already have a good enough squad that works well with each other. I just wanna see what happens to Ravel Morrison in the future.
budakhijau
post Sep 2 2011, 02:36 PM

102 posts

IMHO...our current crop is gud enuf to match any side including barca...what make ours standout than them for me is their hard work...they need to work their socks off... Give 200% for every match...even if they get 60-70 minutes on the pitch...work extra hard...next game SAF can rotate the squad...last season i tot lots of us give stick to ando...doubt his potential to take scholesy mantel...in our last game vs arsenal his assist to welbeck similar to scholesy does in UCL against roma kot if i remember clearly where rooney score... Now seems like us fan worry about wether our CM can track back when going forward n get counter attack if the passing sangkut...for me...what i see in our first 3 game this season...what i like to see the most...our player...all of the lads...track back at once when we lost the ball...i see the likes of welbeck, youngy, nani, ando, cleverley even rooney help to win the ball back... I see a lot of ashley young in our box n get the win ball back to attack...nani as well...seriously...ashley is all over the pkace to help the team...what i really luv to see is... They work their socks of for the team for the game 1000%...next game...get a restn rotate the squad team plays...i luv to see saf do that...though i know he luv to stick the to team that play n win together...esspecially the back 4...hahaha...still...SAF know the bestest...ggmu...

123 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0315sec    1.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:59 PM