CLOSED

wildwestgoh
post Jul 10 2012, 08:38 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(marc79 @ Jul 9 2012, 05:46 PM)
so high contrast? tonight i try your setting.

the dynamic function = save elect, but not nice to watch for movie... sad.gif
For your info, dynamic does not save electricity, it's just auto brightness/contrast adjust according to the display lightning, it gives a impression that it has high contrast ratio (false advertising as always).
And for your info, power saving is way too significant nowadays with LED backlit, the main component that drive the LCD panel is the one that consume the most power.
wildwestgoh
post Jul 11 2012, 04:09 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(lala...LOL @ Jul 11 2012, 03:08 PM)
under 600 maybe..but i cn up some more..juz i want best for watch movie..n good for gaming..but im not hard gaming person..juz casua.
Dell U2312HM. Why? well, take your time flip at least 10 pages back to read some comments on this.
Since you can fork up to RM 600, Dell U2312HM is at around RM580, a very good deal for its quality and service.
wildwestgoh
post Jul 13 2012, 08:55 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(alongeasy @ Jul 12 2012, 10:27 PM)
Im skipping pages... so forgive me if im asking what people asking before.
Which is better ???

1 BIG LCD MONITOR ( 27 inch above )

OR

2 NOT SO BIG LCD MONITOR ( 22/23 inch )

Im asking only for LCD MONITOR. So not TV MONITOR.
Your preference? If you're sitting further than 3' (feet) then 27" is much better choice (1080p).
If you're on a desk and under 2' viewing distance then 23".
wildwestgoh
post Jul 14 2012, 07:04 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 14 2012, 03:48 PM)
sorry , any owner using u2312hm ? would like to know whether it's hard to rotate to monitor and lifting it up down to adjust the height ?
compare to those old ultrasharp monitor 2311hm ? because those old model stand is difference compare to current new one .
Have tried the stand of the U2312HM, really easy and light to rotate, but of course it's best to use both hand to handle the panel.
wildwestgoh
post Jul 15 2012, 07:12 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 14 2012, 11:47 PM)
What about pushing it up and down ?
Ah, didn't state that clearly?
They're the same, just need a little force to do it, very easy, of course I assume you don't do it frequently? Might worn out the stopper and become loose after sometimes, but I haven see any problem with this type of stand so far.

Added on July 15, 2012, 7:19 am
QUOTE(mrkenn @ Jul 15 2012, 02:52 AM)
Oh btw guys. I have another question to ask.

If 20 inches monitor is big enough for me(But reso only 1600x900).

Or is it better to get 21.5 inches monitor because it has FULL HD reso(1920x1080)?

But, what matters is the pixel density right(PPI) right? If higher means nicer.

Basically 20 inches monitor with 1600x900 has about the same pixel density as 21.5 inches monitor with 1920x1080. So the qualify of the image is about the same, just depending which size of monitor i would like to choose(20 or 21.5)

Am i right guys?
Depends on your budget and resolution you want to get.
If you can sit further away then bigger the better, some people wants 27" 1080p.
I have a 23" 1080p and I don't see any visible pixels, and I'm sitting 2' away so PPI doesn't matter here.
If you're seriously about PPI then wait few more years for the PPI to get even denser, Intel predicted somewhere next year, 23" might get 3000x2000 or higher.
Look at Apple latest MacBook Pro, a good start.

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 15 2012, 07:19 AM
wildwestgoh
post Jul 18 2012, 08:21 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(mrkenn @ Jul 17 2012, 09:07 PM)
Bro if i use to game only? sit near. Really need 22 inches that big?

21.5 aka 22 = full hd.
20 inches = 1600x900.
Unfortunately only 21.5" and above has 1080p that I know so far, but if you don't mind the 900p only, then it's fine just take the 20" and be content with it, Full HD movie will get shrink-ed though, so it's your call. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jul 18 2012, 09:56 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(eternity4av @ Jul 18 2012, 09:39 AM)
morning guys, I need some recommendations, my intention is to watch Unifi's HyppTV with LCD Monitors, and my main concern is about the audio and HDMI connectivity. By right, the one and only options that I have is only LG IPS236v if I'm not mistaken, but I'm in love with DELL Monitors, from ST2320L, P2212H, U2312HM that range. Please advise me. I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks
Take the Dell, convert HDMI to DVI, use line-out to speaker icon_rolleyes.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jul 18 2012, 05:01 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(bl@ze @ Jul 18 2012, 04:37 PM)
Hi guys which option is better?  3x Dell U2312 or 1X Dell U3011?  I'm building a pc to play battlefield 3 and use SLI Gtx670.  If I buy used U3011 the cost will be similar however I've heard the Ips quality in the 2 monitors are not the same
Depends on your preference, if you does not mind the thick bezel then 3x U2312HM, otherwise U3011.
U3011 is H-IPS while U2312HM is e-IPS, both technology is greatly different if you focus on colour accuracy, which is why the high price (U3011).
And FYI, U3011 uses CCFL, if you're one that only take LED backlit then only U2312HM or the slightly higher resolution U2412M.

Hope this helps. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Jul 19 2012, 08:18 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(mrkenn @ Jul 18 2012, 09:34 PM)
Owh. Watch full hd video on youtube, i thought dont need a full hd monitor? oh...what's shrink-ed?
Take a 8MP picture and view in a small phone screen, and view on full screen, that's shrink, you decrease the size to make it full screen in order to view it all, same goes to movie, you might not notice until you compare with monitor capable of FHD (Full HD), there're some lost of details especially those high quality FHD movies.
Gaming is almost same but you won't notice as much as movies, vector image has much flexibility than still image. wink.gif
There're still some hardcore gamers on 17" or 19" CRT monitor out there (rare species??), they're on 1024x768 or 1280x1024 resolution. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 19 2012, 08:20 AM
wildwestgoh
post Jul 23 2012, 11:01 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jul 23 2012, 02:19 AM)
How do I adjust to 1600x900 ? u2312hm doesn't have the resolution set
You'll have to manually adjust it at the resolution panel, if it does not have such option, perhaps you can add it as additional resolution at either NVidia, AMD or Intel control panel (provided the driver support it), but beware that such resolution will not display correctly as expected, and using such resolution full screen shall see some pixels being doubled to fit the space thus it'll either looks blurry or the picture has double-image effect.
wildwestgoh
post Jul 23 2012, 03:37 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(wyh @ Jul 23 2012, 03:21 PM)
any recommendation for LED screen with digital input for 21.5" price lss than 450 "?
http://configure.ap.dell.com/dellstore/con...oc=T14ST2220LMY

Comparison of several other models
http://accessories.ap.dell.com/sna/sna.asp...ab=3&redirect=1

Or if you can, just go to local store, should have plenty of options and lots of much affordable price.

Note: Dell price is inclusive delivery to door step. Call for warranty also engineer will go to door step. thumbup.gif
Can use Bank draft/Cheque payment as well. wink.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 23 2012, 03:40 PM
wildwestgoh
post Jul 23 2012, 05:04 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jul 23 2012, 04:46 PM)
I have been waiting for reviews actually, it seems like nobody is selling it Garage Sales yet so I checked the pricelists, in fact only Startec's got it:

http://assets.hardwarezone.com/retailer_pr...pricelist_0.pdf

I'm not exactly sure though whether they have mistaken the model for IPS236V, which is an older generation, then again that was about RM600.

I read some Chinese reviews, seems to be pretty good. You know, nowadays people are all buying U2312HM for the roughly similar budget but I feel like buying something else.

Some images comparison between IPS234V and AOC e2352Phz in the review site.

Edit: Looks like images aren't allowed to be taken like that sweat.gif
Review isn't that convincing, need more professional reviews to see the calibrated result, overall screen brightness, backlit bleed, etc etc.
I'll still recommend Dell though, best service. wink.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 23 2012, 05:04 PM
wildwestgoh
post Jul 23 2012, 06:45 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jul 23 2012, 06:14 PM)
I wouldn't debate on the service part cause that's a no-brainer but their quality control is always a ? to me...
Good quality control does not guarantee you zero dead pixel.
wildwestgoh
post Jul 26 2012, 07:10 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(SecretSuperStar @ Jul 26 2012, 12:44 AM)
Where to get BenQ XL2420T ?

I got sick of all my Dell's 60hz monitors. Time to try for 120hz serious gaming.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2259287/all

wildwestgoh
post Jul 30 2012, 08:09 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(yewMP5 @ Jul 29 2012, 11:41 PM)
Hmmm....any recommendation for gaming+editing (Autocad, sketchup) monitor? Budget around 600 .....is IPS mon good for gaming? Hmm I'm interested in dell u2312hm but they say 8ms is not good for gaming.... hmm.gif
It's a delusion/hoax tongue.gif , I can game with my 16ms monitor (measured, advertised at 5ms).
That U2312HM is a true 8ms (reviewed, measured by professional), if you want a real hardcore FPS monitor, goes for those 120Hz monitor instead, those are true deals for hardcore FPS gamer when used in 2D mode.
As for graphics, any monitor is fine I guess, but if you want very very good color then U2410 or higher, U2312HM is basic entry IPS, for entertainment... I guess. hmm.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 1 2012, 07:22 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(chiangeg @ Jul 30 2012, 10:38 PM)
U2412M  20.30 inches (518.4 mm) x 12.70 inches (324.0 mm)
U2312HM  20.04 inches (509.2 mm) x 11.28 inches (286.4mm)

So, I don't lose any width biggrin.gif? but keep hearing people said in game can lose "Field of Vision" , but since both width almost same size and same width resolution and its 16:* too...so why I can lose vision?
This is why I need to ask the sifu here, I got many answer from different people sad.gif ... some said both same width but with better height and some said the right picture correct.
Definitely left one correct, cybersans already point out the measurement.
If it's the right one, the measurement (diagonal) would be the same for both black and red.
FOV from 23" to 24" is only very small amount, doubt you'll really notice it, only if you move to a 4:3 or 5:4 (you already knew it)
wildwestgoh
post Aug 1 2012, 01:58 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(chiangeg @ Aug 1 2012, 12:31 PM)
Ok thanks for the confirmation biggrin.gif

I read from other place, if 24inch 16:9 vs 24inch 16:10 will lose about 11% Field of Vision, but now is 23inch 16:9 vs 24inch 16:10 ...so it will be even less than 11% FOV.
Btw, already paid full amount Rm879 for Dell U2412M  rclxm9.gif ..stock will arrive tomorrow and I go pick up... also got FOC Razer Arctosa with 1 year warranty ... but I probably sell it away at Rm130-140 to relieve my wallet a bit.
Those comparison is actually mis-information, the numbers is not accurate since 24" 16:9 is also 1920x1080p, which means it's a comparison between 1080p vs 1200p.
I won't take losing that little pixels as losing a game in FOV, serious FOV would take something like AMD Eyefinity or nVidia Surround.
Some hardcore gamers even use CRT... hey.. that's 4:3 or 5:4, you lose even more FOV???!! doh.gif sweat.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 1 2012, 04:59 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(chiangeg @ Aug 1 2012, 02:37 PM)
The only concern now not many game would support native 1920x1200 ohmy.gif ... many games would either run as 1920x1080 and stretched to 1920x1200 or black bars on top/bottom or black bars on left/right.

I already have a quite good 23inch 1080P TN panel LCD, but I specifically bought Dell U2412M because I want to get better graphic in Guild Wars 2, I want more visual enhance excitement biggrin.gif (as my current 23inch have mediocre contrast)  .... but ArenaNet told me GW2 currently does not natively support 1920x1200...I would get stretched image or black bars in the game. I wanted Dell U2312HM at first but no stock, and I impatient and bought Dell U2412M instead, hope no major drawback for me.
That's weird for games that does not support 1200p and it can support 1080p, maybe I haven tried 1200p monitor yet (darn my wallet, come on... ).
But I'm sure most modern games able to support any resolution, just 1080p has become entertainment industries standard due to Full HD movies standard, this is especially the TVs, we're all just following the TREND. whistling.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 3 2012, 07:47 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(wl5354 @ Aug 3 2012, 07:17 AM)
Dell 23inch ISP monitor comes with dvi cable?
Yes, it's stated in its specification list, accessories included.

And... ISP => IPS.
wildwestgoh
post Aug 7 2012, 08:08 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Aug 7 2012, 06:37 AM)
rclxms.gif Yes~~ finally a bigger (much affordable? alternatives?) display.
If price is below RM1.5k then it's a steal, but most probably won't be on first launch. sweat.gif
Lets wait and see. wink.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0252sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:11 PM