9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Charsiew - Roasted Pork in KlangValley, Anyone knows where serves good charsiew?

lck*G9
post Sep 15 2011, 11:00 AM

2,026 posts

QUOTE(seven00 @ Sep 14 2011, 07:01 PM)
sorry go off topic... where is this stewed pork? i also wanna know
everywhere in thailand.. its' called kow kah moo
Icehart
post Sep 17 2011, 11:13 PM

14,899 posts

I personally tried Meng Kee Char Siew and it's nice but I don't like the way they force customers to order chickens together with Char Siew. They deny any single Char Siew order. Anyone here tasted their chicken? It's salty!

For my personal preference, I prefer Ah Khai's Char Siew located at Mei Yen, Seksyen 20, PJ. He has now shifted to Restaurant Mei Yen instead of Simon's Delights (The Chicken and Char Siew stall at both Simon Delight and Mei Yen bear the same uniform so please do not make a mistake).
mugenz
post Sep 19 2011, 12:33 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 17 2011, 11:13 PM)
I personally tried Meng Kee Char Siew and it's nice but I don't like the way they force customers to order chickens together with Char Siew. They deny any single Char Siew order. Anyone here tasted their chicken? It's salty!

For my personal preference, I prefer Ah Khai's Char Siew located at Mei Yen, Seksyen 20, PJ. He has now shifted to Restaurant Mei Yen instead of Simon's Delights (The Chicken and Char Siew stall at both Simon Delight and Mei Yen bear the same uniform so please do not make a mistake).
Into Mei Yen? As i know Mei Yen only operate at nite for the hokkien mee and fried lala.
So that means at nite also got ah khai's char siew?
C-Note
post Sep 19 2011, 04:38 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Best is in ampang..soo kee. Dont think theres any competition near it
Icehart
post Sep 20 2011, 12:58 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Sep 19 2011, 12:33 PM)
Into Mei Yen? As i know Mei Yen only operate at nite for the hokkien mee and fried lala.
So that means at nite also got ah khai's char siew?
Not sure about night but I am pretty sure they do open on afternoon as well.

Picture above is the mentioned Mei Yen restaurant. Are we talking about the same restaurant? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Icehart: Sep 20 2011, 12:59 PM
eueu
post Sep 20 2011, 01:13 PM

766 posts

Shah Alam Sri Muda, 阳光烧腊专商店

mugenz
post Sep 20 2011, 02:10 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 20 2011, 12:58 PM)
Not sure about night but I am pretty sure they do open on afternoon as well.

Picture above is the mentioned Mei Yen restaurant. Are we talking about the same restaurant?  hmm.gif
thats the one i mentioned. Usually i passby afternoon its closed.
Only open at night for hokkien mee and fried lala.
JenniJane
post Sep 20 2011, 09:47 PM

34 posts

Taman Sea got one...but i forgot the name.. they have the best siew yok and charsiewwwww
Icehart
post Sep 20 2011, 11:16 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Sep 20 2011, 02:10 PM)
thats the one i mentioned. Usually i passby afternoon its closed.
Only open at night for hokkien mee and fried lala.
Maybe you can try on Friday. I'm not sure what day they are closed but it's either Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday. smile.gif

Their facebook: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1...128519217209938

This post has been edited by Icehart: Sep 20 2011, 11:23 PM
mugenz
post Sep 22 2011, 10:28 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Then Ahkhai here i come this friday!~

Damn long didnt eat charsiew since working for 1year++ in heavy Malay populated area biggrin.gif
4everlove
post Sep 23 2011, 11:48 AM

97 posts

I love char siew too. Haven't try the one at Restaurant Overseas Imbi, coz dunno 1 plate will cost how much. There's a stall at Jalan Peel, which serve delicious char siew and Braised Pork Knuckle. It's located along the Shell Petrol Station at Jln Peel. The stall name is Jia Jia Lai. I've attached a link for easy reference: http://klchin.blogspot.com/2011/02/jalan-p...raise-pork.html
Open on weekends.

Another stall selling good char siew will be at a chinese coffee shop name Uncle Meng. At this shop, got many other stalls and one of it is selling chicken rice/char siew rice. It is located at Taman Shamelin Perkasa. If u know the cafe Pat Kin Pat San which is at the front row, then this chinese shop is located at the end of the row. U'll see this Uncle Meng shop, and the char siew only available around 11.30am onwards till sold out. Not open on Sunday.
Icehart
post Sep 23 2011, 11:05 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(4everlove @ Sep 23 2011, 11:48 AM)
I love char siew too. Haven't try the one at Restaurant Overseas Imbi, coz dunno 1 plate will cost how much. There's a stall at Jalan Peel, which serve delicious char siew and Braised Pork Knuckle. It's located along the Shell Petrol Station at Jln Peel. The stall name is Jia Jia Lai. I've attached a link for easy reference: http://klchin.blogspot.com/2011/02/jalan-p...raise-pork.html
Open on weekends.

Another stall selling good char siew will be at a chinese coffee shop name Uncle Meng. At this shop, got many other stalls and one of it is selling chicken rice/char siew rice. It is located at Taman Shamelin Perkasa. If u know the cafe Pat Kin Pat San which is at the front row, then this chinese shop is located at the end of the row. U'll see this Uncle Meng shop, and the char siew only available around 11.30am onwards till sold out. Not open on Sunday.
When was the last time you visit the shop?
I tried it few weeks ago and it was Ok only compared to the same stall I tried a year ago.
moody5
post Sep 24 2011, 03:57 PM

296 posts

I also like the char Siew fro jln peel
4everlove
post Sep 26 2011, 05:06 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 23 2011, 11:05 PM)
When was the last time you visit the shop?
I tried it few weeks ago and it was Ok only compared to the same stall I tried a year ago.
U meant Jln Peel stall or Uncle Meng stall? I didn't eat the char siew at Jln Peel for quite some time d (more than a year ago), but the last time i eat, the char siew is tasty and especially the braised pork is delicious. As for Uncle Meng's stall, my parents tar pau almost once a week, i eat a bit of the char siew, and taste just nice. I like roasted meat (siew yoke, roasted duck, char siew), just wondering where got stalls/shop which sells good roasted meat at night (still available after 8 or 9pm) around KL/Cheras area, anyone knows? Coz most stalls will close after lunch time or some shops also close by 7, 8pm.
Food2Buzz
post Sep 26 2011, 05:10 PM

Hungry Hogg, SS15 subang jaya also serve beautiful 5 layer siew yuk.

sailou
post Oct 12 2011, 02:34 PM

617 posts

Went to Meng Kee, Jalan Alor on Monday for lunch.

2 portion of char siew and chicken + 1 plate of vege = RM32!!

Although it is good, it doesn't mean you can do a daylight robbery on your customers. The place is barely filled. How many people can afford this price for lunch? Not coming back. Ever.
stimix
post Oct 12 2011, 03:07 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The name of restaurant = Spring Golden - At the back of Public Bank & dwon the street from Sri Kota FC & opposite NSK supermarket..Yeah as good as Meng Kee in Glemarie & cheaper abit..still expensive lah but cheaper than Glenmarie & Alor meng Kee for sure...Still wondering Jln Alor Meng Kee & Glenamrie really related?

QUOTE(eueu @ Sep 20 2011, 01:13 PM)
Shah Alam Sri Muda, 阳光烧腊专商店

sailou
post Oct 12 2011, 03:27 PM

617 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 12 2011, 03:07 PM)
The name of restaurant = Spring Golden - At the back of Public Bank & dwon the street from Sri Kota FC & opposite NSK supermarket..Yeah as good as Meng Kee in Glemarie & cheaper abit..still expensive lah but cheaper than Glenmarie & Alor meng Kee for sure...Still wondering Jln Alor Meng Kee & Glenamrie really related?
Yes. I think Glennmarie is the first, Alor is the branch or the other way round.
C-Note
post Oct 12 2011, 06:55 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Soo Kee Ampang Char Siew
ascend
post Oct 12 2011, 09:54 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(sailou @ Oct 12 2011, 02:34 PM)
Went to Meng Kee, Jalan Alor on Monday for lunch.

2 portion of char siew and chicken + 1 plate of vege = RM32!!

Although it is good, it doesn't mean you can do a daylight robbery on your customers. The place is barely filled. How many people can afford this price for lunch? Not coming back. Ever.
Very pricey! the last time i went there was nearly a year ago. RM7 for a plate of charsiew rice. It was like 6 or 7 very thin slices. There weren't that many people there on a Saturday afternoon. IMO, overhyped and overpriced. I think it's the same everywhere now in the Klang Valley. You don't get what you paid for.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:01 PM